DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species V, figures 25-26 (claims 1-3, 5-8, and 12) in the reply filed on 06/09/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species do not illustrate mutually exclusive characteristics, since multiple claims are associated with multiple different species. The applicant also argues that the distinctions between the alleged species relate only to minor modifications, that would be readily recognized by a person having ordinary skill in the art as routine design choices, and that a reasonable number of species may be included in one application.
This is not found persuasive because while there are multiple claims that are associated with different species, the species themselves still illustrate mutually exclusive characteristics. As stated in MPEP 806.04(e) “Claims are definitions or descriptions of inventions. Claims themselves are never species. The scope of a claim may be limited to a single disclosed embodiment (i.e., a single species, and thus be designated a specific species claim). Alternatively, a claim may encompass two or more of the disclosed embodiments (and thus be designated a generic or genus claim). Species always refer to the different embodiments of the invention”. The individual claims may be “generic” to multiple species, but that does not change that the species/figures are mutually exclusive. The Election/Restriction requirement submitted on 04/10/2026 lists each species and their mutually exclusive characteristics.
Regarding that a reasonable number of species may be included in one application, the examiner agrees. However, that is when “A reasonable number of species may be claimed when there is an allowable claim generic thereto”, not that the multiple species would be examined for prior art (see MPEP 806 and 806.04). In this case, the species restriction combined multiple species, such as figure 25 and 26, which are different embodiments, into one species, which is a reasonable number of species which have different characteristics. If the generic claims were to be found allowable, then the rest of the species may be rejoined into a single application. Regarding that the distinctions between the alleged species relate only to minor modifications, that would be readily recognized by a person having ordinary skill in the art as routine design choices, the examiner respectfully disagrees since the various slits, openings, number of antenna elements, and the placement of each of these individual elements would create a different antenna with its individual resonant characteristics.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Azad et al. (US 2019/0173158, hereby referred as Azad).
Regarding claim 1, Azad teaches the following:
an electronic device comprising:
a housing (12, figures 1 and 5) comprising a conductive area (140, figure 5) forming an exterior of the electronic device (paragraph [0046]-[0047]); and
an antenna structure positioned in an inner space of the housing (figure 5), the antenna structure comprising:
a printed circuit board (paragraph [0053]) comprising:
a first surface, which faces at least one opening (142, figure 5) formed in the conductive area and corresponding to the antenna structure, and
a second surface facing in an opposite direction to the first surface (inherent that a printed circuit board will have 2 surfaces); and
at least one antenna element (144, figure 5) positioned on the first surface or positioned in the printed circuit board and closer to the first surface than to the second surface (paragraph [0053],
wherein the conductive area comprises at least one slit (142’, figure 5) extending from the at least one opening.
Regarding claim 2, Azad as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the at least one slit (142’, figure 5) comprises an open slit end formed at an edge of the conductive area (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 6, Azad as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the housing comprises:
a front plate at least partially forming a front surface of the electronic device (as shown in figure 1),
a rear plate at least partially forming a rear surface of the electronic device (as shown in figure 1), and
a lateral member at least partially surrounding a space between the front plate and the rear plate and at least partially forming a side surface of the electronic device (as shown in figure 1), and
wherein the conductive area is included in the lateral member (paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Azad as referred in claim 6 teaches the following:
wherein the at least one slit extends from the at least one opening to an edge of the conductive area corresponding to the front plate (paragraphs [0047] and [0051]).
Regarding claim 12, Azad as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the housing further comprises a non-conductive area (“Dielectric-filled opening 142”, paragraph [0057]) disposed in the at least one opening and the at least one slit and coupled to the conductive area (140, figure 5).
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon (US 2021/0126344).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon teaches the following:
an electronic device comprising:
a housing (as shown in figure 3A) comprising a conductive area (530, figure 8) forming an exterior of the electronic device (paragraph [0097]); and
an antenna structure positioned in an inner space of the housing, the antenna structure comprising:
a printed circuit board (510, figure 8) comprising:
a first surface (511, figure 8), which faces at least one opening (540, figure 8) formed in the conductive area and corresponding to the antenna structure, and
a second surface (512, shown in figure 9) facing in an opposite direction to the first surface; and
at least one antenna element (elements 520, figure 8) positioned on the first surface or positioned in the printed circuit board and closer to the first surface than to the second surface,
wherein the conductive area comprises at least one slit (formed in the areas between elements 841-845, figure 8) extending from the at least one opening.
Regarding claim 3, Jeon as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the at least one slit (formed in the areas between elements 841-845, figure 8) comprises a closed slit end formed at an edge of the conductive area (as shown in figure 8).
Regarding claim 5, Jeon as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the at least one antenna element (520, figure 8) comprises multiple antenna elements (521-524, figure 8), and wherein the at least one opening (540, figure 8) is a single opening overlapping the multiple antenna elements.
Regarding claim 6, Jeon as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the housing comprises:
a front plate (302, figure 8) at least partially forming a front surface of the electronic device (as shown in figure 3),
a rear plate (311, figure 8) at least partially forming a rear surface of the electronic device (as shown in figure 3), and
a lateral member (318, figure 8) at least partially surrounding a space between the front plate and the rear plate and at least partially forming a side surface of the electronic device (as shown in figure 3), and
wherein the conductive area (530, figure 8) is included in the lateral member (as shown in figure 8).
Regarding claim 7, Jeon as referred in claim 6 teaches the following:
wherein the at least one slit (formed in the areas between elements 841-845, figure 8) extends from the at least one opening to an edge of the conductive area corresponding to the front plate (302, figure 8).
Regarding claim 12, Azad as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the housing further comprises a non-conductive area (“a non-conductive portion 540”, paragraph [0097], figure 8) disposed in the at least one opening and the at least one slit and coupled to the conductive area (530, figure 8).
Claims 1, 3, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khripkov et al. (US 2022/0102874, hereby referred as Khripkov).
Regarding claim 1, Khripkov teaches the following:
an electronic device comprising:
a housing comprising a conductive area (14, figures 7-8) forming an exterior of the electronic device (as shown in figures 2, 4, 6-8); and
an antenna structure positioned in an inner space of the housing, the antenna structure comprising:
a printed circuit board (12, figure 8) comprising:
a first surface, which faces at least one opening (4 and portions of 3, figure 8) formed in the conductive area and corresponding to the antenna structure, and
a second surface (inherent that a printed circuit board will have 2 surfaces) facing in an opposite direction to the first surface; and
at least one antenna element (5, figure 8) positioned on the first surface or positioned in the printed circuit board and closer to the first surface than to the second surface (antenna array 1 made of elements 5 is arranged on the first surface of the pcb 12 facing the opening 3/4 in the conductive area 2 of the metal frame),
wherein the conductive area comprises at least one slit (portion of 3 that extends vertically past the center opening, figures 2, 4, 6-8) extending from the at least one opening.
Regarding claim 3, Azad as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the at least one slit comprises a closed slit end formed at an edge of the conductive area (as shown in figures 2 and 8).
Regarding claim 5, Azad as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the at least one antenna element (5, figure 8) comprises multiple antenna elements, and wherein the at least one opening is a single opening overlapping the multiple antenna elements (as shown in figures 2 and 4-8).
Regarding claim 6, Azad as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the housing comprises:
a front plate at least partially forming a front surface of the electronic device (as shown in figures 2),
a rear plate at least partially forming a rear surface of the electronic device (as shown in figures 2), and
a lateral member at least partially surrounding a space between the front plate and the rear plate and at least partially forming a side surface of the electronic device (as shown in figures 2), and
wherein the conductive area is included in the lateral member (as shown in figures 2).
Regarding claim 7, Azad as referred in claim 6 teaches the following:
wherein the at least one slit extends from the at least one opening to an edge of the conductive area corresponding to the front plate (as shown in figures 2).
Regarding claim 8, Azad as referred in claim 6 teaches the following:
wherein the at least one slit extends from the at least one opening to an edge of the conductive area corresponding to the rear plate (as shown in figures 2).
Additional Comments
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Various rejections could be made using the other cited art such as Lee et al. (US 2108/0097275, figure 6A) and Yosui (US 2015/0214620, figures 1).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/AB SALAM ALKASSIM JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845