DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scheer et al. (US. 2021/0351545 A1).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Scheer teaches a plug connector (100) for mating with a plug connector mating piece (200) along a connection direction, the plug connector (100) comprising:
a connector housing (See Reproduced Drawing 1) defining an outer receiving region (170) configured to receive the plug connector mating piece (200) along the connection direction, the outer receiving region (170) configured in such a way that, when the plug connector mating piece (200) is inserted into the outer receiving region (170), a mating contact socket (250) of the plug connector mating piece (200) can be inserted into the outer receiving region (170); a contact socket (120) arranged in the outer receiving region (170), the contact socket (120) being sleeve-like and defining an inner receiving region (122), the inner receiving region (122) is configured in such a way that, when the plug connector mating piece (200) is inserted into the outer receiving region (170), a contact pin (210) of the plug connector mating piece (200) can be inserted into the inner receiving region (122), the sleeve-like contact socket (120) having an inner lateral surface for making contact with the contact pin (210) of the plug connector mating piece (200), the sleeve-like contact socket (120) having an outer lateral surface for making contact with the mating contact socket (250) of the plug connector mating piece (200); and wherein electrical contact between the plug connector (100) and the inserted plug connector mating piece (200) is effected via at least one of the inner lateral surface and the outer lateral surface.
In Regards to Claim 2:
Scheer teaches the plug connector as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a contact spring (160) arranged on the inner lateral surface of the contact socket (120), the contact spring (160) configured to form an electrically conductive connection between the contact socket (120) and the contact pin (210) of the plug connector mating piece (200) that is inserted into the inner receiving region (122).
In Regards to Claim 3:
Scheer teaches the plug connector as claimed in claim 2, wherein the contact spring (160) is sleeve-like and, running around the inner lateral surface, is arranged on the inner lateral surface of the contact sleeve (120).
In Regards to Claim 4:
Scheer teaches the pl plug connector as claimed in claim 2, wherein the contact spring (160) is removably arranged on the inner lateral surface of the contact socket (120).
In Regards to Claim 6:
Scheer teaches The plug connector as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a guide pin (See Reproduced Drawing 1) arranged in the inner receiving region (122), the guide pin (See Reproduced Drawing 1) is configured to be inserted into a pin receiving region (230) of the contact pin (210) of the plug connector mating piece (200) counter to the connection direction.
In Regards to Claim 7:
Scheer teaches the plug connector as claimed in claim 1, further comprising an electrically insulating finger guard on the contact socket (120).
In Regards to Claim 8:
Scheer teaches a plug connector mating piece (200) for plugging together with a plug connector (100) along a connection direction, the plug connector mating piece (200) comprising:
a contact pin (210) configured to be inserted along the connection direction into an inner receiving region (122) defined by a contact socket (120) of the plug connector (100), the contact pin (210) including an outer contact surface configured to make an electrical contact with an inner lateral surface of the contact socket (120) of the plug connector (100) to electrically connect the plug connector mating piece (200) and the plug connector (100).
In Regards to Claim 10:
Scheer teaches a plug connector mating piece (200) for plugging together with a plug connector (100) along a connection direction, the plug connector mating piece (200) comprising:
a mating contact socket (250), the mating contact socket (250) being sleeve-like and defines a socket receiving region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the socket receiving region (See Reproduced Drawing 1) is configured to receive a contact socket (120) of the plug connector (100) counter to the connection direction, the mating contact socket (250) defines an inner contact surface; wherein electrical contact between the plug connector mating piece (200) and the plug connector (100) is configured to be effected via making an electrical contact between the inner contact surface of the mating contact socket (250) of the plug connector mating piece (200) and an outer lateral surface of the contact socket (120) of the plug connector (100).
In Regards to Claim 11:
Scheer teaches the plug connector mating piece as claimed in claim 10, further comprising a contact pin (210) configured to be inserted along the connection direction into an inner receiving region (122) defined by the contact socket (120) of the plug connector (100), the contact pin (210) defines an outer contact surface, wherein electrical contact between the plug connector mating piece (200) and the plug connector (100) is configured to be effected via making an electrical contact between the outer contact surface of the contact pin (210) and an inner lateral surface of the contact socket (120) and via making an electrical contact between the inner contact surface of the mating contact socket (250) of the plug connector mating piece (200) and the outer lateral surface of the contact socket (120) of the plug connector (100).
In Regards to Claim 14:
Scheer teaches the plug connector mating piece as claimed in claim 11, wherein the contact pin (210) is sleeve-like and defines a pin receiving region (230), and wherein the pin receiving region (230) is configured to receive a guide pin (See Reproduced Drawing 1) of the plug connector (100) counter to the connection direction.
In Regards to Claim 15:
Scheer teaches the plug connector mating piece as claimed in claim 10, wherein a contact spring (160) is formed on the inner contact surface of the mating contact socket (250), and wherein the contact spring (160) is configured to effect the electrical contact between the contact socket (120) of the plug connector (100) and the mating contact socket (250) of the plug connector mating piece (200).
In Regards to Claim 16:
Scheer teaches a plug connector system (10) comprising:
a plug connector (100) including a connector housing (See Reproduced Drawing 1) defining an outer receiving region (170) and a contact socket (120) arranged in the outer receiving region (170), the contact socket (120) being sleeve-like and defining an inner receiving region (122); and a plug connector mating piece (200) including a mating contact socket (250) defining an inner contact surface and a contact pin (210) defining an outer contact surface, the mating contact socket (250) being sleeve-like and defines a socket receiving region (See Reproduced Drawing 1) receiving the contact socket (120) of the plug connector (100) counter to the connection direction, the contact pin (210) inserted into the inner receiving region (122) of the contact socket (120) of the plug connector (100) along the connection direction, the contact pin (210).
In Regards to Claim 17:
Scheer teaches the plug connector system as claimed in claim 16, wherein the outer receiving region (170) is configured in such a way that, when the plug connector mating piece (200) is inserted into the outer receiving region (170), a mating contact socket (250) of the plug connector mating piece (200) can be inserted into the outer receiving region (170).
In Regards to Claim 18:
Scheer teaches the plug connector system as claimed in claim 16, wherein the inner receiving region (122) is configured in such a way that, when the plug connector mating piece (200) is inserted into the outer receiving region (170), the contact pin (210) of the plug connector mating piece (200) can be inserted into the inner receiving region (122), the sleeve-like contact socket (120) having an inner lateral surface for making contact with the contact pin (210) of the plug connector mating piece (200), the sleeve-like contact socket (120) having an outer lateral surface for making contact with the mating contact socket (250) of the plug connector mating piece (200), wherein electrical contact between the plug connector (100) and the inserted plug connector mating piece (200) is effected via at least one of the inner lateral surface and the outer lateral surface.
In Regards to Claim 19:
Scheer teaches the plug connector system as claimed in claim 16, wherein electrical contact between the plug connector mating piece (200) and the plug connector (100) is configured to be effected via making an electrical contact between the inner contact surface of the mating contact socket (250) of the plug connector mating piece (200) and an outer lateral surface of the contact socket (120) of the plug connector (100).
In Regards to Claim 20:
Scheer teaches the plug connector system as claimed in claim 16, wherein electrical contact between the plug connector mating piece (200) and the plug connector (100) is configured to be effected via making an electrical contact between the outer contact surface of the contact pin (210) and an inner lateral surface of the contact socket (120) and via making an electrical contact between the inner contact surface of the mating contact socket (250) of the plug connector mating piece (200) and an outer lateral surface of the contact socket (120) of the plug connector (100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheer et al. (US. 2021/0351545 A1).
In Regards to Claim 5:
All claim limitations are discussed with respect to Claim 1, Scheer does not teach wherein the inner lateral surface and the outer lateral surface of the contact socket provide a contact-making area of 80 mm2 for the electrical contact.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the inner lateral surface and the outer lateral surface of the contact socket provide a contact-making area of 80 mm2 for the electrical contact, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). To provide an electrically conductive contact point between the mating connector and the plug connector. (Scheer, Paragraph 27)
In Regards to Claim 9:
All claim limitations are discussed with respect to Claim 8, Scheer does not teach wherein the outer contact surface of the contact pin provides an electrical contact-making area of 45 mm2 for the electrical contact, and wherein the plug connector mating piece is designed for an electrical high-current connection to a cable with a cable cross section of 15 mm2 to 35 mm2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the outer contact surface of the contact pin provides an electrical contact-making area of 45 mm2 for the electrical contact, and wherein the plug connector mating piece is designed for an electrical high-current connection to a cable with a cable cross section of 15 mm2 to 35 mm2, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). To provide an electrically conductive contact point between the mating connector and the plug connector. (Scheer, Paragraph 27)
In Regards to Claim 12:
All claim limitations are discussed with respect to Claim 10, Scheer does not teach wherein the inner contact surface of the mating contact socket provides an electrical contact-making area of 95 mm2 for the electrical contact, and wherein the plug connector mating piece is designed for an electrical high-current connection to a cable with a cable cross section of 20 mm2 to 50 mm2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the inner contact surface of the mating contact socket provides an electrical contact-making area of 95 mm2 for the electrical contact, and wherein the plug connector mating piece is designed for an electrical high-current connection to a cable with a cable cross section of 20 mm2 to 50 mm2, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). To provide an electrically conductive contact point between the mating connector and the plug connector. (Scheer, Paragraph 27)
In Regards to Claim 13:
All claim limitations are discussed with respect to Claim 11, Scheer does not teach wherein the outer contact surface of the contact pin provides an electrical contact-making area of 45 mm2 for the electrical contact, wherein the inner contact surface of the mating contact socket provides an electrical contact-making area of 95 mm2 for the electrical contact, and wherein the plug connector mating piece is designed for an electrical high-current connection to a cable with a cable cross section of 50 mm2 to 120 mm2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the outer contact surface of the contact pin provides an electrical contact-making area of 45 mm2 for the electrical contact, wherein the inner contact surface of the mating contact socket provides an electrical contact-making area of 95 mm2 for the electrical contact, and wherein the plug connector mating piece is designed for an electrical high-current connection to a cable with a cable cross section of 50 mm2 to 120 mm2, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). To provide an electrically conductive contact point between the mating connector and the plug connector. (Scheer, Paragraph 27)
Conclusion
/NADER J ALHAWAMDEH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831