DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18 and 21 in the reply filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Renumber as claims 1-7 for pending claims 1, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishida et al. (Nishida) (US 2015/0029534 A1) in view of Kato et al. (Kato) (US 2024/0168688 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nishida discloses an image forming apparatus (e.g., image forming apparatus 20, figure 1) comprising:
a network interface (e.g., a network N1, figure 1);
an operation panel including a touch panel (e.g., The operation panel 25 is hardware provided with an input unit for receiving an input from the user such as a button, a display unit such as a liquid crystal panel or the like. The liquid crystal panel may have a touch panel function, paragraph 90), and
a controller (e.g., controller 21, figure 3) configured to:
provide a mobile input function and a remote input function of the image forming apparatus to an operation terminal via the network interface, wherein the mobile input function and the remote input function are different input functions in which the image forming apparatus is enabled to accept input operations from the operation terminal via the network interface (e.g., The operation panel 25 is hardware provided with an input unit for receiving an input from the user such as a button, a display unit such as a liquid crystal panel or the like. The liquid crystal panel may have a touch panel function. In this case, the liquid crystal panel may also have the function of the input unit, paragraph 90);
in response to receiving access from the operation terminal via the network interface when none of the input functions is provided, start providing one of the input functions depending on what kind of access has been received (e.g., The card reader 28 is a so-called card reader (a card reading apparatus), which reads information from the card 90. The card reader 28 may be built in the image forming apparatus 20 or may be connected to the image forming apparatus 20 through an external interface (for example, an USB interface) provided with the image forming apparatus 20. The card reader 28 may be of a contact type or a noncontact type. The card 90 is not limited to the IC card, and may be a magnetic card as long as a unique ID (a unique card number) is recorded in each card. The card ID is ordinarily referred to as a universal ID or a card serial number, paragraph 90), wherein the controller starts providing the mobile input function regardless of whether the authentication information has been input, in response to receiving first access required to start providing the mobile input function from the operation terminal via the network interface, whereas the controller starts providing the remote input function in response to successful authentication based on the received authentication information and to receiving second access required to start providing the remote input function from the operation terminal via the network interface (e.g., The authentication controlling unit 221 controls the authentication process at a time of login by sending the authentication request, in which the card ID read by the card 90 installed in the card reader 28, to the authentication relay server 70. In a case where the authentication is successful, the user name of the authenticated user is returned from the authentication relay server 70. In a case where the authentication based on the card ID of the guest card is successful, the card ID is returned from the authentication relay server 70, paragraph 100);
after starting to provide one of the input functions, send display data to the operation terminal via the network interface, thereby causing the operation terminal to display an operation screen for operating the image forming apparatus from the operation terminal (e.g., The operation panel 25 is hardware provided with an input unit for receiving an input from the user such as a button, a display unit such as a liquid crystal panel or the like. The liquid crystal panel may have a touch panel function. In this case, the liquid crystal panel may also have the function of the input unit, paragraph 90);
receive operation data from the operation terminal via the network interface, the operation data indicating what kind of operation has been performed on the operation screen displayed on the operation terminal (e.g., in response to a call of a print function of the print data, which are stored in the storing server 60, the authentication controlling unit 221 causes a login screen to be displayed on an operation panel 25 (S301) and waits for a setup of the card 90 to the card reader 28 (S302), paragraph 126); and
perform a corresponding process depending on what kind of operation is indicated by the received operation data, wherein the controller sets a parameter when the received operation data indicates an operation related to setting of the parameter for image formation by the image forming apparatus (e.g., When the card 90 is set to the card reader (YES of S302), the authentication controlling unit 221 uses the card reader 28 to read the card ID recorded in the card 90 (S303). Subsequently, the authentication controlling unit 221 sends the authentication request where the card ID is designated to the authentication relay unit 71 of the authentication relay server 70 (S304), paragraph 127), whereas the controller performs image formation when the received operation data indicates an operation related to execution of the image formation by the image forming apparatus (e.g., the process on or after step S307 is not performed. In a case where the authentication is successful (YES of S306), the print information acquiring unit 222 designates the user name or the card ID returned from the authentication relay unit 71 and acquires a list of the print information from the storing server 60 (S307), paragraph 129).
Nishida does not specifically disclose receive input of authentication information via the network interface, and perform authentication based on the received authentication information.
Kato discloses receive input of authentication information via the network interface, and perform authentication based on the received authentication information (e.g., the login processing unit 21 may perform the aforementioned user authentication on the basis of user registration data (user identification information, property information and/or the like of registered users) stored in this image forming apparatus 1, or using the network interface 14, may access an external authentication server that manages user registration data and perform the aforementioned user authentication using the authentication server, paragraph 26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Nishida to include receive input of authentication information via the network interface, and perform authentication based on the received authentication information as taught by Kato. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Nishida by the teaching of Kato to use for particular application.
Regarding claim 6, Nishida discloses connectable with a memory configured to store first setting information indicating that the mobile input function is valid (e.g., there is a system where a print data is not immediately printed in response to a print instruction input by a user and are stored in a memory device provided inside a predetermined server or an image forming apparatus in association with a user name of the user, paragraph 4), and second setting information indicating that the remote input function is valid (e.g., When a user inputs a user name and a password through an operation panel of an image forming apparatus, the image forming apparatus performs an authentication process for the user name and the password, paragraph 4),
wherein the controller is further configured to, when none of the input functions is provided, perform: in response to receiving the first access from the operation terminal via the network interface, starting to provide the mobile input function when the first setting information is stored in the memory, whereas not starting to provide the mobile input function when the first setting information is not stored in the memory (e.g., one computer that includes a first receiving unit that receives a print request; a first specifying unit that specifies user identification information stored in a first memory unit in association with first identification information related to a transmission source of the print request, paragraph 10); and
in response to receiving the second access from the operation terminal via the network interface, starting to provide the remote input function when the second setting information is stored in the memory, whereas not starting to provide the remote input function when the second setting information is not stored in the memory (e.g., an acquiring unit that acquires second identification information from the print request when the user identification information is not specified by the first specifying unit; a second memory unit that stores data related to the print request in association with the user identification specified by the first specifying unit or the second identification acquired by the acquiring unit; a second receiving unit that receives the user identification or the second identification information from an apparatus connected with the information processing system through a network; and a sending unit that sends the user identification received by the second receiving unit or the date stored in the second memory unit to the apparatus, paragraph 10).
Regarding claim 9, Kato discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: when the first setting information is not stored in the memory, perform:
displaying a local operation screen on the touch panel (e.g., The operation panel 13 is arranged on a surface of a housing of the image forming apparatus 1, and includes a display device 13a that displays sorts of messages to a user and an input device 13b that receives a user operation. For example, a liquid crystal display is used as the display device 13a. A hard key, a touch panel and/or the like, paragraph 20); and
setting a parameter in response to an operation related to setting of the parameter for image formation by the image forming apparatus being performed on the local operation screen (e.g., The operation panel 13 displays an operation screen and the like using the display device 13a, to a user who is physically directly using the image forming apparatus 1, and detects a user operation by the user using the input device 13a, paragraph 21); and
performing image formation in response to an operation related to execution of the image formation being performed on the local operation screen (e.g., in accordance with a job request based on a user operation to the operation panel 13 or a job request received by the network interface 14 from an external device, the controller 16 performs data processing if required, and controls an internal device of the image forming apparatus 1 and thereby performs the requested job (e.g. a print job, a copy job, a facsimile transmission job, or the like), paragraph 24);
when the first setting information is stored in the memory, perform: displaying a standby screen on the touch panel in a state where the mobile input function is not provided; and starting to provide the mobile input function to the operation terminal via the network interface in response to receiving the first access from the operation terminal via the network interface while the standby screen is being displayed (e.g., The login processing unit 21 displays a login screen on the operation panel 13 when the image forming apparatus 1 starts, determines user identification information (e.g. a user ID, a pair of a user ID and a password, or the like) inputted to the login screen on the operation panel 13, and performs a user authentication process for this user on the basis of the user identification information, paragraph 25); and
after starting to provide one of the input functions, send the display data to the operation terminal via the network interface, thereby causing the operation terminal to display the operation screen for operating the image forming apparatus from the operation terminal, the operation screen virtually showing the local operation screen (e.g., and if the user authentication for this user succeeded, the login processing unit 21 allows the user to log-in and displays a menu screen for the user to instruct sorts of job requests, and otherwise if the user authentication for this user failed, the login processing unit 21 refuses the user to log-in and continues to display the login screen. Further, when the user performs a logout operation after logging-in, the login processing unit 21 displays the login screen again, paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 12, Kato discloses further comprising an external interface wherein the controller is further configured to: store the first setting information in the memory after obtaining the first setting information via the external interface; and store the second setting information in the memory after obtaining the second setting information via the external interface (e.g., the login processing unit 21 may perform the aforementioned user authentication on the basis of user registration data (user identification information, property information and/or the like of registered users) stored in this image forming apparatus 1, or using the network interface 14, may access an external authentication server that manages user registration data and perform the aforementioned user authentication using the authentication server. This authentication server may be a resource management server such as Active Directory server, paragraph 26).
Regarding claim 15, Nishida discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: when none of the input functions is provided, perform:
starting to provide the mobile input function in response to receiving the first access from the operation terminal via the network interface (e.g., The card reader 28 is a so-called card reader (a card reading apparatus), which reads information from the card 90. The card reader 28 may be built in the image forming apparatus 20 or may be connected to the image forming apparatus 20 through an external interface (for example, an USB interface) provided with the image forming apparatus 20. The card reader 28 may be of a contact type or a noncontact type. The card 90 is not limited to the IC card, and may be a magnetic card as long as a unique ID (a unique card number) is recorded in each card. The card ID is ordinarily referred to as a universal ID or a card serial number, paragraph 90); and
starting to provide the remote input function in response to receiving the second access from the operation terminal via the network interface (e.g., The authentication controlling unit 221 controls the authentication process at a time of login by sending the authentication request, in which the card ID read by the card 90 installed in the card reader 28, to the authentication relay server 70. In a case where the authentication is successful, the user name of the authenticated user is returned from the authentication relay server 70, paragraph 100);
while the mobile input function is being provided to the operation terminal, not start providing the mobile input function to another operation terminal even in response to receiving the first access from another operation terminal via the network interface (e.g., In step S101, the user terminal 30 sends the print request mail to the predetermined mail address in response to an input of instructing to send the print request mail. Electronic data to be printed is attached to the print request mail. The predetermined mail address is previously determined as a mail address to, for example, the management server 10, paragraph 105); and
while the remote input function is being provided to the operation terminal, not start providing the remote input function to a different operation terminal even in response to receiving the second access from the different operation terminal via the network interface (e.g., Subsequently, the print information acquiring unit 222 of the image forming apparatus 20 causes the list of the job names included in each returned print information into the operation panel 25 (S308). This list is a candidate to be printed. Said differently, the user can input an instruction of executing the print for the print information included in the list, paragraph 131).
Regarding claim 18, Nishida discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: after starting to provide one of the input functions, send the display data to the operation terminal via the network interface, thereby causing the operation terminal to display the operation screen for operating the image forming apparatus from the operation terminal, the operation screen virtually showing the operation panel (e.g., If the authentication is successful, the image forming apparatus causes list information of print data, which are included in print data stored in the memory device and associated with the user name, to be displayed on the operation panel. The image forming apparatus acquires the print data selected from the list information from the memory device and performs printing, paragraph 4); and
in response to receiving, via the network interface, the operation data from the operation terminal that has received the display data, send new display data to the operation terminal via the network interface, the new display data causing the operation terminal to display the operation screen virtually showing the operation panel updated based on an operation indicated by the received operation data (e.g., in response to a call of a print function of the print data, which are stored in the storing server 60, the authentication controlling unit 221 causes a login screen to be displayed on an operation panel 25 (S301) and waits for a setup of the card 90 to the card reader 28 (S302). The setup of the card 90 into the card reader 28 includes inserting the card into the card reader 28 and bringing the card 90 closer to the card reader 110 in order to make the card reader 28 read information recorded in the card 90, paragraph 126).
Regarding claim 21, Nishida discloses wherein the controller comprises: a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the controller to (e.g., FIG. 3 illustrates an exemplary hardware structure of the image forming apparatus of the first embodiment. Referring to FIG. 3, the image forming apparatus 20 includes hardware such as a controller 21, a scanner 22, a printer 23, a modem 24, an operation panel 25, a network interface 26, an SD card slot, and a card reader 2, paragraph 88):
receive input of the authentication information via the network interface, and perform authentication based on the received authentication information (e.g., Each authenticated user is provided with the card 90 from an organization (for example, the company A), to which the authenticated user belongs. Depending on a security level necessary for an operation of the image forming apparatus 20, multiple authenticated users may commonly share one card 90, paragraph 83);
in response to receiving access from the operation terminal via the network interface when none of the input functions is provided, start providing one of the input functions depending on what kind of access has been received (e.g., he corresponding password to the authentication server 50 in response to the authentication request, in which the card ID of the authenticated card is designated, received from the image forming apparatus 20. When the response indicative of the success of the authentication is returned from the authentication server 50, the authentication relay unit 71 returns the user name to the image forming apparatus 20, paragraph 103);
Nishida does not specifically disclose after starting to provide one of the input functions, send the display data to the operation terminal via the network interface, thereby causing the operation terminal to display the operation screen for operating the image forming apparatus from the operation terminal;
receive operation data from the operation terminal via the network interface, the operation data indicating what kind of operation has been performed on the operation screen displayed on the operation terminal; and
perform the corresponding process depending on what kind of operation is indicated by the received operation data.
Kato discloses after starting to provide one of the input functions, send the display data to the operation terminal via the network interface, thereby causing the operation terminal to display the operation screen for operating the image forming apparatus from the operation terminal (e.g., The operation panel 13 is arranged on a surface of a housing of the image forming apparatus 1, and includes a display device 13a that displays sorts of messages to a user and an input device 13b that receives a user operation. For example, a liquid crystal display is used as the display device 13a. A hard key, a touch panel and/or the like are/is used as the input device 13b, paragraph 20);
receive operation data from the operation terminal via the network interface, the operation data indicating what kind of operation has been performed on the operation screen displayed on the operation terminal (e.g., The operation panel 13 displays an operation screen and the like using the display device 13a, to a user who is physically directly using the image forming apparatus 1, and detects a user operation by the user using the input device 13a, paragraph 21); and perform the corresponding process depending on what kind of operation is indicated by the received operation data (e.g., The network interface 14 is a communication device that is connected to a network 2 such as a wireless LAN (Local Area Network) or a wired LAN, and performs data communication with an external device (the user terminal apparatus 3, an unshown server, or the like) connected to the network 2, paragraph 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Nishida to include after starting to provide one of the input functions, send the display data to the operation terminal via the network interface, thereby causing the operation terminal to display the operation screen for operating the image forming apparatus from the operation terminal; receive operation data from the operation terminal via the network interface, the operation data indicating what kind of operation has been performed on the operation screen displayed on the operation terminal; and perform the corresponding process depending on what kind of operation is indicated by the received operation data as taught by Kato. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Nishida by the teaching of Kato to apply for particular application.
Conclusion
/QUANG N VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683