DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 14, near the end of the claim, “said processing system being configured to identify a variation in an output of said plunger sensor when said plunger passes the plunger,” does not make sense. The italicized portion is treated as “said plunger passes the plunger sensor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whalley et al (US 2013/0310756) in view of Krulevitch et al (US 2011/0313395).
Regarding claim 14, Whalley discloses an apparatus for use with a liquid delivery system (such as 210), the liquid delivery system including a container for housing the liquid and a plunger movable along an axis of the container for expelling the liquid through an outlet (device is capable of such, see ¶26 and figs 2-13), the apparatus comprising: a sliding cover 220 (fig 3 – essentially all structures but 210, slides along 210 as per ¶143; figs 11A when 710 is inserted into device) configured for sliding engagement with the container so as to be slidable along the container parallel to the axis from a first position to a second position (figs 3, ¶43); a set of sensors housed in said sliding cover so as to move together with said sliding cover (240/250 in fig 3 - ¶43, which are 744a/b and 754a/b in fig 11A), said set of sensors comprising at least a first sensor 744a and a second sensor 754a, said first sensor being a plunger sensor generating a signal, said plunger sensor being configured for non-contact sensing of at least part of the plunger as said sliding cover slides in engagement with the container such that variations in said first signal are indicative of the plunger passing a defined location along said sliding cover (figs 11A-11C); and a processing system 260 associated with said set of sensors so as to receive outputs of said sensors, said processing system being configured to identify a variation in an output of said plunger sensor when said plunger passes the plunger, said processing system being further configured to process said outputs to derive a location of the plunger along the container (figs 11A-11C, ¶63-66).
While Whalley substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose a switch deployed at a distal end of the apparatus, wherein the switch is configured to actuate the apparatus at the onset of an uncapping motion.
Krulevitch discloses a switch in the pen cap (so the device awakens when the cap is removed) having a lower-power sleep state and actuates the apparatus (to a full power mode) at the onset of uncapping (¶67), so as to conserve power.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Krulevitch such that it includes a switch deployed at a distal end of the apparatus, wherein the switch is configured to actuate the apparatus at the onset of an uncapping motion as taught by Krulevitch in order to conserve power in the device.
Regarding claim 16, wherein said first and second sensors are a pair of similar sensors spaced apart along the axis (fig 11A).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 10,702,658 in view of Krulevitch (US US 2011/0313395). The claims are generally broader with any differences rendered obvious in view of Krulevitch (and Whalley). See rejection of claim 14 above regarding reasoning for why Krulevitch teaches adding the claimed switch.
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,053,621 in view of Krulevitch (US US 2011/0313395). The claims are generally broader with any differences rendered obvious in view of Krulevitch (and Whalley). See rejection of claim 14 above regarding reasoning for why Krulevitch teaches adding the claimed switch.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY J OSINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783