Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a1)(a2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0089487 to Debate.
In Reference to Claims 1 and 10
Debate discloses an emulating device (Figs. 1 and 8), comprising:
a processor circuit (Fig. 8 processor 813); and
a memory that stores program code (Fig. 8 CRSM 812 [0151]) structured to cause the processor circuit to:
obtain a representation of a screen displayed on a mobile device (“The display information 166 can include a copy of images that are displayed (or images that would be displayed or played back) on the display screen 130-2 if the user 108 were locally controlling the mobile computer device 125.” [0049]);
transmit the representation of the screen to a first computing device (Fig. 1 DISPLAY INFO 166 transmitted from 130-2 to 170 [0050]);
receive, from the first computing device 170, a control command comprising instructions to perform an action with respect to the mobile device (“In one embodiment, the display screen 130-1 displays a remote control interface including two symbols (e.g., software buttons) labeled `home` and `lock`. Selecting either of these symbols on display screen 130-1 results in transmission of a respective message (e.g., control input 165-1) to the agent application 140 [0055]);
convert the control command to an input command based on an input device emulated by the emulating device (“The agent application 140 in turn emulates the pressing of the home button of the mobile computer device 125 by generating the appropriate function calls to the operating system 110 [0055]); and
transmit the input command to the mobile device (“Accordingly, via the agent application 140, it appears to the mobile computer device 125 that the user pressed a local home button of the mobile computer device 125.” [0055], Fig. 10 1040).
In Reference to Claims 2 and 11
Debate discloses establishing a connection with the mobile device by emulating the input device (Fig. 10 1005, 0162]); and transmit the input command via the established connection (Fig. 10 1040 {0165]).
In Reference to Claims 3 and 12
Debate discloses controlling of the mobile device by external devices (Fig. 1 external device 102) is restricted to input devices capable of interfacing with an accessibility interface of the mobile device to provide input user interface commands (keyboards and touchscreens [0106]); and the emulating device interfaces with the accessibility interface (Fig. 1 emulating device 106 interfaces with accessibility device agent application 140).
In Reference to Claims 4 and 13
Debate discloses the emulating device is configured to emulate a mouse input device ([0057]).
In Reference to Claim 5 and 6
Debate discloses a wireless connection ([0110]) between the emulating device and the mobile device.
In Reference to Claims 7 and 14
Debate discloses obtains the representation of the screen, the emulating device is configured to receive a video signal from the mobile device via the local connection (remote computer receives a series of still frames or a suitable video format ([0050], see also images intended for display on the display screen [0080]).
In Reference to Claim 8
Debate discloses screen capturing application executing on the mobile device (Fig. 1 display manager 185 ([0084]).
In Reference to Claim 9
Debate discloses the emulating device is a switching device (Fig. 8 [0154]) as well as a second computing device where the emulator can be a separate device (Fig. 8 [0143-1044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Debate in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0191531 to Wilcox.
Debate discloses obtaining a representation of a screen displayed on a mobile device (“The display information 166 can include a copy of images that are displayed (or images that would be displayed or played back) on the display screen 130-2 if the user 108 were locally controlling the mobile computer device 125.” [0049]);
transmit the representation of the screen to a first computing device (Fig. 1 DISPLAY INFO 166 transmitted from 130-2 to 170 [0050]);
receive, from the first computing device 170, a control command comprising instructions to perform an action with respect to the mobile device (“In one embodiment, the display screen 130-1 displays a remote control interface including two symbols (e.g., software buttons) labeled `home` and `lock`. Selecting either of these symbols on display screen 130-1 results in transmission of a respective message (e.g., control input 165-1) to the agent application 140 [0055]);
convert the control command to an input command based on an input device emulated by the emulating device (“The agent application 140 in turn emulates the pressing of the home button of the mobile computer device 125 by generating the appropriate function calls to the operating system 110 [0055]); and
transmit the input command to the mobile device (“Accordingly, via the agent application 140, it appears to the mobile computer device 125 that the user pressed a local home button of the mobile computer device 125.” [0055], Fig. 10 1040).
Debate discloses the invention substantially as claimed to an emulator and mobile device. However, the reference does not explicitly disclose a plurality of ports. One of skill in the art would be aware of the remote technical support of Wilcox.
According to Wilcox, interfacing with and controlling a remote device (Fig. 1) can involve connecting to the remote device via one of more ports of the device to include various adapters or ports such as a USB port, console port, lightening port, mini-USB port, etc. ([0016], see also [0023, 0027, 0029]). Wilcox invents this system wherein a technician attending to a locally-connected service system that can plug into a port of a troubled computing device such as a server, a laptop, a personal computer, and the like, and provide a remote user (e.g., a service technician, etc.) with physical access to the troubled computing device even when there is no network connection or power to the troubled computing device. [0015])
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; and
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Here, it would require only routine skill in the art to modify mobile device of Debate with the amplified understanding that the troubled device will be configured with ports in order to access the device. The Courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results to be indicia of obviousness.
In Reference to Claim 16
Debate discloses controlling of the mobile device by external devices (Fig. 1 external device 102) is restricted to input devices capable of interfacing with an accessibility interface of the mobile device to provide input user interface commands (keyboards and touchscreens [0106]); and the emulating device interfaces with the accessibility interface (Fig. 1 emulating device 106 interfaces with accessibility device agent application 140).
In Reference to Claim 17
Debate discloses obtains a media signal {video signal} from the mobile device via the local connection (remote computer receives a series of still frames or a suitable video format ([0050], see also images intended for display on the display screen [0080]) and capture the representation of the screen from the media content signal ([0050, 0080]).
In Reference to Claim 18
Debate discloses making an established connection from the emulatin device to the mobile device (Fig. 1) for transmitting input command to the mobile device (“Accordingly, via the agent application 140, it appears to the mobile computer device 125 that the user pressed a local home button of the mobile computer device 125.” [0055], Fig. 10 1040). This connection is established by the one or more ports as taught by Wilcox to access the mobile device (See above rejection of Claim 15 for ports [0015-0016], [0023, 0027, 0029]).
In Reference to Claim 19
Debate discloses transmitting the input commands (“Accordingly, via the agent application 140, it appears to the mobile computer device 125 that the user pressed a local home button of the mobile computer device 125.” [0055]). Wilcox discloses the use of the port to make this connection (See above rejection of Claim 15 for ports [0015-0016], [0023, 0027, 0029]).
In Reference to Claim 20
Debate discloses the emulating device is configured to emulate a mouse input device ([0057]).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is in the Notice of References Cited.
/PAUL A D'AGOSTINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715