DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-15, filed 4/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Alzahrani et al (US 10863964 B1) and Pellegrini et al (US 6461038 B2). A Final rejection is made necessitated by amendment to claims 1, 16, 19.
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 4/29/2026 has been accepted and entered. Claims 1, 16, 19 are amended. No claims are cancelled. No new claims are added. Thus, claims 14-20 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Alzahrani et al (US 10863964 B1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Alzahrani et al discloses an adjustable x-ray sensor holder (50) (See Fig. 3, lines 28-29) apparatus comprising: an aiming module (infrared alignment guide) (100) further comprising: a perimeter length of material having a substantial aperture (32) through which x-ray imaging is oriented (See Fig. 1), a guide rail (22) (channel) (col. 2, lines 61-col. 3, line 5) located on a portion of the perimeter length of material, and wherein the guide rail comprises notches (22) (See Fig. 2) (circumference grooves) located substantially along a guide rail length of the guide rail relative to guide rail sections (col. 3, lines 66-col. 4, line 17); a slider mechanically engaged with and selectively positioned along one of the guide rail sections (col. 2, lines 61-col. 3, line 16); and an arm (42) operatively connected to the slider by adjustably positioning the arm within the slider at a variable arm depth via slider arm segment and extending outwardly from the slider to a sensor arm segment (50) (See Fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 61-col. 3, line 39).
Regarding independent claim 2, Alzahrani et al discloses wherein a sensor attachment module is provided by interchangeable sensor holders selectively installed to the arm via the sensor arm segment (col. 1, lines 60-col. 2, line 2).
Regarding independent claim 3, Alzahrani et al discloses wherein the interchangeable sensor holders provide functionality for an intraoral horizontal bitewing view, an intraoral vertical bitewing view, an intraoral endodontic view, an intraoral anterior view, and/or an intraoral posterior view (col. 5, lines 16-26)
Regarding independent claim 4, Alzahrani et al discloses wherein the sensor attachment module further comprises a bite block (col. 7, lines 30-34).
Regarding independent claim 5, Alzahrani et al discloses wherein the sensor attachment module further comprises a removable sensor for intraoral x-ray imaging (See Abstract).
Regarding independent claim 8, Alzahrani et al discloses wherein the perimeter length of material is substantially circumferential (See Fig. 1).
Regarding independent claim 9, Alzahrani et al discloses wherein the aiming module includes at least one section marking to indicate the guide rail section to which the slider is locatable (col. 2, lines 61-col. 3, line 16).
Regarding independent claim 10, Alzahrani et al discloses wherein the notches are provided by a change in guide rail depth in an otherwise continuous surface of the guide rail (22) (See Fig. 2) (circumference grooves)
Regarding independent claim 11, Alzahrani et al discloses wherein the slider comprises at least one protruded slider notch that corresponds with at least one depressed guide rail notch of the guide rail (circumferential groove (22)) (col. 3, lines 66-col. 4, line 28).
Regarding independent claim 12, Alzahrani et al discloses wherein the slider includes at least one depressed slider notch that corresponds with at least one protruded guide rail notch of the guide rail (col. 3, lines 66-col. 4, line 28).
Regarding independent claim 13, Alzahrani et al discloses wherein the arm further comprises a wire receiving inlet to removably hold a communication wire (See Figs. 1-2 and col. 3, lines 57-65).
Regarding independent claim 14, Alzahrani et al discloses wherein the arm further comprises a bend located between the slider arm segment and the sensor arm segment (See Fig. 1).
Regarding independent claim 15, Alzahrani et al discloses wherein the bend is approximately ninety-degrees (See Fig. 1), and; wherein a wire receiving inlet is provided at the bend to removably hold a communication wire (See Figs. 1-2 and col. 3, lines 57-65).
Regarding independent claim 16, Alzahrani et al discloses an adjustable x-ray sensor holder {50) (See Fig. 3, lines 28-29) apparatus comprising: an aiming module (infrared alignment guide) (100) further comprising: a perimeter length of material having a substantial aperture (32) through which x-ray imaging may be oriented(See Fig. 1), a guide rail (22) (channel) (col. 2, lines 61-col. 3, line 5) located on a portion of the perimeter length of material, wherein the guide rail comprises notches (22) (See Fig. 2) (circumference grooves) located substantially along a guide rail length of the guide rail relative to guide rail sections (col. 3, lines 66-col. 4, line 17), and wherein the notches are provided by a change in guide rail depth in an otherwise continuous surface of the guide rail (22) (See Fig. 2) (circumference grooves); a slider mechanically engaged with and selectively positioned along about one of the guide rail sections (col. 2, lines 61-col. 3, line 16); an arm (42) extending outwardly from the slider, the arm adjustably positioned relative to the slider and having a slider arm segment distal to a sensor arm segment; a sensor attachment module provided by interchangeable sensor holders selectively installed to the arm via the sensor arm segment (50) (See Fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 61-col. 3, line 39); and wherein the interchangeable sensor holders provide functionality for an intraoral horizontal bitewing view, an intraoral vertical bitewing view, an intraoral endodontic view, an intraoral anterior view, and/or an intraoral posterior view (col. 5, lines 16-26).
Regarding independent claim 17, Alzahrani et al discloses wherein the sensor attachment module further comprises a removable sensor for intraoral x-ray imaging (See Abstract).
Regarding independent claim 19, Alzahrani et al discloses a method of using an adjustable x-ray sensor holder (50) (See Fig. 3, lines 28-29) apparatus comprising: (a) orienting an aiming module (infrared alignment guide) (100), the aiming module comprising: a perimeter length of material having a substantial aperture (32), and a guide rail (22) (channel) (col. 2, lines 61-col. 3, line 5) located on a portion of the perimeter length of material that comprises notches (22) (See Fig. 2) (circumference grooves) located substantially along a guide rail length of the guide rail (col. 3, lines 66-col. 4, line 17); (b) positioning a slider such that it mechanically engages with and slides along about the guide rail; (c) positioning a depth of insertion of the arm within the slider by adjustably positioning the arm within the slider, the arm comprising a sensor arm segment distal to a slider arm segment (50) (See Fig. 1 and col. 2, lines 61-col. 3, line 39); and (d) configuring a sensor attachment module to the sensor arm segment of the arm for intraoral x-ray imaging, the sensor attachment module further comprises a sensor holder (col. 1, lines 60-col. 2, line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alzahrani et al (US 10863964 B1) in view of Pellegrini et al (US 6461038 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Alzahrani et al discloses all of the limitations of claim 2, as described supra however, Alzahrani et al is silent with regards to compression element as claimed. Pellegrini et al discloses a dental x-ray sensor holder comprising: a sensor attachment module (30) wherein the sensor attachment module comprises a compression element (37) (elastic loop) having elastic properties removably attached to the interchangeable sensor holders to reversibly hold the removable sensor (See Fig. 5 and col. 4, lines 25-37). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Alzahrani et al with the teaching of Pellegrini et al, so as to enable a more versatile apparatus to accommodate various sensor dimensions.
Regarding claim 7, Alzahrani et al in view of Pellegrini et al discloses first and second holder portions (30)(30a)(30c)(30d) selectively hold removable sensor via compression (See Figs.18-22 and col. 5, lines 43-47).
Regarding claim 18, Alzahrani et al discloses all of the limitations of claim 17, as described supra however, Alzahrani et al is silent with regards to compression element as claimed. Pellegrini et al discloses a dental x-ray sensor holder comprising: a sensor attachment module (30) wherein the sensor attachment module comprises a compression element (37) (elastic loop) having elastic properties removably attached to the interchangeable sensor holders to reversibly hold the removable sensor (See Fig. 5 and col. 4, lines 25-37). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Alzahrani et al with the teaching of Pellegrini et al, so as to enable a more versatile apparatus to accommodate various sensor dimensions.
Regarding claim 20, Alzahrani et al discloses attaching a sensor to the sensor attachment module (col. 1, lines 60-col. 2, line 2); positioning at least part of the adjustable x-ray sensor holder apparatus for the intraoral x-ray imaging (See Abstract); aiming an x-ray machine to the sensor via the aiming module (col. 2, lines 61-col. 3, line 5). However, Alzahrani et al is silent with regards to method via compression as claimed. Pellegrini et al discloses a dental x-ray sensor holder comprising: a sensor attachment module (30) wherein the sensor attachment module comprises a compression element (37) (elastic loop) having elastic properties removably attached to the interchangeable sensor holders to reversibly hold the removable sensor (See Fig. 5 and col. 4, lines 25-37); positioning at least part of the adjustable x-ray sensor holder apparatus for intraoral x-ray imaging (col. 1, lines 38-45). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Alzahrani et al with the teaching of Pellegrini et al, so as to enable a more versatile apparatus to accommodate various sensor dimensions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Steck et al (US 20070121789 A1) discloses a sensor holder (10) includes a frame member (20) that bounds a void area (21) and which is configured to receive a sensor (11). A retaining means (50, 51) is provided to hold the sensor (11) to the frame (20) such that a connecting cable (12) affixed to the sensor (11) is secured and positioned by the void area (21) for a subsequent imaging procedure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884