DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments, filed 12/24/2025, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 12, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed on 12/24/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Kvoring in view of Yang
Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvorning(USPubN 2019/0228625) in view of Yang et al.(USPubN 2019/0027004; hereinafter Yang).
As per claim 1, Kvoring teaches a method of video summarization by a video recorder that is communicatively coupled with a plurality of image capture devices and with a remote image database(“the storage of image data captured by a plurality of image capturing means … determining means configured to determine the availability of a second storage means to which image data stored on the first storage means is to be transferred” Abs, “a client terminal 110, recording server 151 (storage means), archive server 152, a plurality of cameras 161-162 (video sources or capturing means), management server 130, gateway 170 to an external network, and network/bus 121. A video surveillance system 100 will typically include a large number of cameras 161-162” in Para.[0017], The second storage can be interpreted as a remote image database.), comprising:
receiving, at the video recorder via a communications interface of the video recorder, at least one image frame from each of the plurality of image capture devices(“the storage of image data captured by a plurality of image capturing means” Abs);
determining, by a processing circuit of the video recorder, determining, by the processing circuit, whether to store each of the at least one image frame in a local image database of the video recorder, based on a data storage policy that indicated to store image frames(“determining means configured to determine the availability of a second storage means to which image data stored on the first storage means is to be transferred, and to determine the available storage space of the first storage means; image data control means configured to transmit a control command to at least one of the plurality of capturing means and first storage means; and in the case that it is determined that the second storage means is unavailable” in Abs);
responsive to determining to store one or more of the at least one image frame in the local image database, storing, by the processing circuit, the one or more of the at least one image frame in the local image database(“the available storage space of the first storage means is determined to be less than a predetermined threshold, the image data control means is configured to transmit the control command to the at least one of the plurality of image capturing means and the first storage means to control the respective means so as to reduce the amount of captured image data stored on the first storage means” in Abs); and
transmitting, by the processing circuit using tje communications interface of the video recorder, the at least one image frame to the remote image database(Abs).
Kvorning is silent about image frames of the at least one image frame have been captured by the plurality of image capture devices in response to detecting an event.
Yang teaches image frames of the at least one image frame have been captured by the plurality of image capture devices in response to detecting an event(“the processing circuit 110 may utilize any camera CAM(z) of the cameras {CAM(1), CAM(2), . . . , CAM(Z)} to capture a plurality of reference images along a plurality of capturing directions of the camera CAM(z), respectively, and may perform image analysis operations on the plurality of reference images to generate statistics data, in which the index z may be an integer within the interval [1, Z], and at least one portion (e.g. a portion or all) of data within the statistics data is related to events that the surveillance system 10 detects through the camera CAM(z). For example, the statistics data may include a plurality of importance factors, and each importance factor of the plurality of importance factors may correspond to event concentration (e.g. a relative amount of events in a particular size of area or in a particular volume of space)” in Para.[0027])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Kvorning with the above teachings of Yang in order to improve efficiency, accuracy, and economic benefit in addition to reduced human intervention.
As per claim 2, Kvorning and Yang teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Kvoring teaches further comprising: executing, by the processing circuit, the data storage policy to determine a sample rate; and storing, by the processing circuit, the one or more of the at least one image frame in the local image database based on the sample rate(“determination at step S505 is changed by reducing the frames per second, or frame rate” in Para.[0048], [0049]).
As per claim 3, Kvorning and Yang teach all of limitation of claim 2.
Kvoring teaches wherein the data storage policy comprises a rule to adjust the sample rate based on a maximum storage capacity of the local image database(Para.[0046], [0048], [0049]).
As per claim 4, Kvorning and Yang teach all of limitation of claim 3.
Kvoring teaches wherein the data storage policy comprises the rule to adjust the sample rate based on a maximum amount of memory allocated in the local image database for storing image frames(Para.[0046], [0048], [0049], [0050]).
As per claim 5, Kvorning and Yang teach all of limitation of claim 3.
Kvoring teaches wherein the data storage policy comprises the rule to decrease the sample rate as a difference between used storage capacity and the maximum storage capacity decreases(Para.[0046], [0048], [0049]).
As per claim 6, Kvorning and Yang teach all of limitation of claim 3.
Kvoring teaches wherein the data storage policy comprises the rule to decrease the sample rate responsive to a difference between used storage capacity and the maximum storage capacity decreasing below a threshold difference(Para.[0046], [0048], [0049]).
As per claim 7, Kvorning and Yang teach all of limitation of claim 3.
Kvoring teaches wherein the data storage policy comprises the rule to store a compressed version of each image frame in the local image database and to store an uncompressed or less compressed version of each image frame in the remote image database(Para.[0048], [0042], [0043], [0053]).
As per claim 8, Kvorning and Yang teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Kvoring teaches wherein the data storage policy comprises a rule to store an image frame in the local image database based on a status associated with the image frame(Para.[0053]).
As per claim 10, Kvorning and Yang teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Kvoring teaches further comprising: receiving user input indicative of the data storage policy; and defining the data storage policy based on the user input(Para.[0053]).
As per claim 11, Kvorning and Yang teach all of limitation of claim 10.
Kvoring teaches wherein the user input is indicative of a sample rate and/or a maximum amount of memory to allocate for storing image frames in the local image database(Para.[0053])
As per claim 12, the limitations in the claim 12 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 13, the limitations in the claim 13 has been discussed in the rejection claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 14, the limitations in the claim 14 has been discussed in the rejection claim 3 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 15, the limitations in the claim 15 has been discussed in the rejection claim 4 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 16, the limitations in the claim 16 has been discussed in the rejection claim 5 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 17, the limitations in the claim 17 has been discussed in the rejection claim 6 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 18, the limitations in the claim 18 has been discussed in the rejection claim 7 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 20, the limitations in the claim 20 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
Kvoring in view of Yang and Preus
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvorning(USPubN 2019/0228625) in view of Yang et al.(USPubN 2019/0027004; hereinafter Yang) further in view of Preus et al.(USPubN 2018/0112454; hereinafter Preus).
As per claim 9, Kvorning and Yang teach all of limitation of claim 8.
Kvorning and Yang are silent about wherein the status indicates whether the image frame was captured based on detecting motion, wherein the rule indicates to store image frames that were captured based on detecting motion.
Preus teaches wherein the status indicates whether the image frame was captured based on detecting motion, wherein the rule indicates to store image frames that were captured based on detecting motion(Para.[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Kvorning and Yang with the above teachings of Preus in order to improve video storge system for saving space with storing desired content.
As per claim 19, the limitations in the claim 19 has been discussed in the rejection claims 8 and 9 and rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484