DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 7/6/2026 are entered and fully considered. In view of the amendment new rejections are made below.
The amendment adds two claim 21. The first claim 21 will be referred to as 21a and the second claim 21 will be referred to as 21b.
Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment the previous rejections are removed. The new rejections incorporate the nozzle bank of SUNIC which teaches angling of outermost nozzles to reduce a shadow effect during deposition.
The examiner further notes that NISHIGUCHI as applied to claim 18 also teaches angling nozzles. However, the examiner notes that “the angle” referred to in applicant’s specification α in Fig. 1 is between the surface and the direction of the nozzle specification [0065]. In contrast NISHIGUCHI is measuring an angle between the nozzle direction and a perpendicular line with the surface. However, based upon the angles being defined as particularly 5-10°, the examiner interprets the disclosure to mean an angle between the nozzle and a perpendicular line with the surface (similar to NISHIGUCHI). A 5° angle between the surface and nozzle as defined by α in Fig. 1 would make the nozzle nearly flat against the surface facing the interior nozzle(s).
Claim(s) 15-17, 19, 20, 21b, and 22-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HERLE (US 2019/0088987) in view of SUNIC SYSTEM hereinafter “SUNIC” (KR 20160005877; citations to machine translation) and YANG et al. (US 2005/0072361).
Regarding claims 15, 19 and 20,
HERLE teaches a method of making a lithium metal film on a current collector of a battery [0009]. Deposition of the lithium metal is done by a PVD process such as evaporation [0084]. A continuous flexible sheet is provided as the current collector material 1250 in fig. 12, see [0111]. Each of the processing chambers are separated from each other and angled toward the processing drum 1255 (angled relative to each other) and both chambers 1210 and 1220 are used to deposit lithium [0118].
HERLE teaches depositing material through nozzles but does not expressly teach two outermost nozzles tilted in different directions with respect to each other and an interior nozzle. However, SUNIC teaches that when spraying vaporized material from a crucible abstract and [0043], the material sprayed can be sprayed from a bank of nozzles and the outer edge (outermost nozzles) can be angled to reduce a shadow effect from the deposition [0074]-[0075] and Figs. 8 and 9. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a nozzle bank with tilted outermost nozzles to reduce shadow effects of the vapor deposition.
HERLE teaches separating process chambers from each other (guiding evaporated material) but does not teach using a temperature control shield. However, YANG teaches that when directing an evaporation source at a drum a containment shield 40 can be used to control the deposition zone [0056] which can further be configured for heating or cooling [0058]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the containment shield of YANG in the evaporation process of HERLE to better control the deposition zone.
Regarding claim 16,
HERLE further teaches additional deposition zones 1230 and 1240 which can be considered a second plurality of nozzles that are “outermost” and tilted relative to each other. In addition, SUNIC uses multiple nozzle banks to reduce shadow effect, see Figs. 7-9.
Regarding claim 21b,
SUNIC teaches a deposition area can be more than double (at least 10%) the width of a single evaporation bank Figs. 7-9. YANG also shows a deposition area wider than the deposition source Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 22,
The claim requires a “pre-heating zone” as part of the temperature control shield. A part of the containment shield in YANG closest to the evaporation source can be considered a “pre-heating zone”.
Regarding claims 23-26
When using multiple deposition sources, there will be multiple (a second) temperature control shields. YANG shows the containment shield is positioned on both sides of the deposition source (upstream and downstream with respect to the substrate movement), see Figs. 1 and 4. When using multiple depositions in HERLE each can be equipped with the containment shield according to YANG as described above. Each deposition source (first and second) can have an upstream and downstream containment shield according to YANG (first, second, third and fourth temperature controlled shield).
Regarding claim 27,
YANG teachesa containment shield 40 with 90° bends between verticals and horizontals. The bends are considered to be “toward” adjacent deposition sources when used in HERLE.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HERLE (US 2019/0088987) in view of SUNIC SYSTEM hereinafter “SUNIC” (KR 20160005877; citations to machine translation) and YANG et al. (US 2005/0072361) further in view of NISHIGUCHI et al. (US 2020/0087777).
Regarding claim 18,
Modified HERLE teaches the relative angling of nozzles but does not teach a particular angle. However, NISHIGUCHI teaches that when angling nozzles to increase incident angles [0013], they can be angled at 5-30° [0043]-[0045]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to look to the prior art to find suitable angles for tilted nozzles and use the angles known as operable angles in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21a is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 21a requires the temperature-controlled shield to be angled from the evaporation source at between 110° and 140°. The examiner was unable to find prior art teaching the required angle for a temperature controlled shield relative to the evaporation source with outermost nozzles tilted in different directions from each other and the interior nozzle..
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712