Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, figs. 3 and 5, in the reply filed on 08/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because at least the first sentence starts with “Disclosed are…:. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 7, 14, 17, and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "in the up and down direction" in ll. 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear to the Examiner whether claim 4 should be dependent on claim 2, which introduces “an up and down direction” or whether this is a new direction defined in claim 4. As best understood and for examination purposes, an up and down direction is a newly introduced limitation in claim 4.
Claim 4, ll. 2, --located on a sidewall of the dirt collecting cavity and are stagged in [[the]]an up and down direction—
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second channel section is connected to the first channel section and is arranged in a helical shape" in ll. 5-6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In ll. 3-4 of claim 7, the first channel section is already arranged in a helical shape. It is unclear to the Examiner whether these helical shapes are the same or different. As best understood from fig. 3, the helical shapes of each channel section(s) is different from each other. For examination purposes, the first channel section is arranged in a first helical shape and the second channel section is arranged in a second helical shape.
Claim 7, ll. 3-6, --the first channel section is connected to the dirt inlet and is arranged in a first helical shape, and
the second channel section is connected to the first channel section and is arranged in a second helical shape.—
Similar to claim 4 above, claim 14 recites the limitation "in the up and down direction" in ll. 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear to the Examiner whether claim 14 should be dependent on claim 12, which introduces “an up and down direction” or whether this is a new direction defined in claim 14. As best understood and for examination purposes, an up and down direction is a newly introduced limitation in claim 14.
Claim 14, ll. 2, --located on a sidewall of the dirt collecting cavity and are stagged in [[the]]an up and down direction—
Similar to claim 7 above, claim 17 recites the limitation "the second channel section is connected to the first channel section and is arranged in a helical shape" in ll. 5-6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In ll. 3-4 of claim 17, the first channel section is already arranged in a helical shape. It is unclear to the Examiner whether these helical shapes are the same or different. As best understood from fig. 3, the helical shapes of each channel section(s) is different from each other. For examination purposes, the first channel section is arranged in a first helical shape and the second channel section is arranged in a second helical shape.
Claim 17, ll. 3-6, --the first channel section is connected to the dirt inlet and is arranged in a first helical shape, and
the second channel section is connected to the first channel section and is arranged in a second helical shape.—
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the first channel section is arranged in a helical shape….the second channel section is arranged in a helical shape" in ll. 1-2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. As best understood and interpreted in claim 7 above (which claim 22 depends from), the first channel section and second channel section are arranged in first and second helical shapes.
Claim 22, ll. 1-2, --The air duct assembly of claim 7, wherein the first channel section is arranged in [[a]]the first helical shape extending upward, and the second channel section is arranged in [[a]]the second helical shape—
Claims 21 and 23-26 are rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b) since they are dependent on claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-12, 14, and 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US 2008/0184893) in view of Oh (US 2007/0079585) and Luo (US 2010/0154367).
Regarding claim 1, Oh (US 2008/0184893) discloses an air duct assembly (includes items 11, 100; figs. 1-2) comprising:
a dirt collecting box (defined as box in which walls 410, 440, 411 enclose and cover 150; partially designated in annotated fig. 3 below), wherein the dirt collecting box comprises a dirt collecting cavity (defined as internal space of walls 410, 440, 411; figs. 3 and 7), and wherein the dirt collecting cavity comprises:
a dirt inlet (includes items 151, 210; figs. 5 and 7), and
an air outlet (includes outlet through conduit 240 and outlet 220; figs. 5 and 7),
a cyclone separator (item 300; figs. 4 and 7) connected to the air outlet (airflow passes through air outlet and into cyclone separator; fig. 7); and
a motor (item 13; fig. 1) connected to the cyclone separator, wherein the motor is configured to drive an air flow (defined by arrowed pathway in view of fig. 7) to enter the dirt collecting cavity through the dirt inlet, enter the cyclone separator through the air outlet, and enter the motor through the cyclone separator (pp. [0034] and [0060]; motor 13 is capable of turning on to suctioned airflow through dirt inlet 210, dirt outlet 220, cyclone separator 300, then motor, prior to exhausting).
Annotated Fig. 3.
Oh does not explicitly disclose a filter arranged in the air outlet. However, the embodiment of figs. 9-10 in Oh (US 2007/0079585), which is an analogous air duct assembly, teaches a filter (item 41; figs. 9-10) arranged in the air outlet (item 40, analogous to the air outlet structure in Oh ‘893).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air duct assembly, as disclosed in Oh’ 893, to include a filter in the air outlet, as taught in Oh’ 585, in order to prevent relatively large contaminants from discharging into the air outlet with the semi-clean air (pp. [0082] in Oh ‘585).
Further, though Oh’893 discloses a motor configure to drive an airflow, Oh is silent on a fan structure. Luo (US 2010/0154367) teaches an air duct assembly (fig. 3) comprising a dust collecting box (item 58; fig. 5), a cyclone (item 54; fig. 5), a filter (item 108; fig. 5), and a motor and fan assembly (not explicitly shown; pp. [0024]), wherein the motor and fan assembly is configured to drive suctioned airflow through dust collecting box, cyclone, filter, motor and fan assembly, and through exhaust outlet (pp. [0024] and [0032]; fig. 5).
Both Oh and Luo disclose means to drive suctioned airflow through the air duct assembly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the motor structure, as disclosed in Oh, with the motor and fan assembly, as taught in Luo, to achieve the predictable result of drawing air in through the dirt inlet, filtering dust and debris from the airflow, and exhausting cleaned airflow from the air duct assembly into the environment.
Regarding claim 2, Oh as modified discloses the air duct assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the dirt collecting cavity comprises an air guiding channel (defined as airflow passage from air inlet 210, within item 200, through conduit 240, through outlet 220, along guide path 153; fig. 7) that comprises a dirt inlet channel (defined as channel from air inlet 210, within walls of item 200, conduit 240, then through cover 150; fig. 7) connected to the dirt inlet and the dirt collecting cavity (fig. 7), and
an outlet (defined as outlet of pathway 153 leading into cyclone; figs. 3 and 7; pp. [0047] and [0052]) of the dirt inlet channel is higher than the dirt inlet in an up and down direction (defined as vertical direction in view of fig. 7) of the dirt collecting box (outlet is disposed higher than lower end of a portion of dirt inlet, i.e. item 151; fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Oh as modified discloses the air duct assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the dirt inlet and the air outlet are located on a side wall of the dirt collecting cavity (defined as lower sidewall of cavity; both a portion of dirt inlet, i.e. item 210, and a portion of the air outlet, i.e. item 220, are on the same lower sidewall; fig. 5) and are staggered in the up and down direction of the dirt collecting box (lower end of dirt inlet, i.e. item 151, is staggered, i.e. spaced apart, from dirt inlet in up-down direction in view of fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Oh as modified discloses the air duct assembly as claimed in claim 2, wherein:
the dirt inlet channel comprises a first channel section (defined as section from dirt inlet 210 along ramp 250; fig. 7) and a second channel section (defined as section of channel through conduit 240, air outlet 220, and through cover 150, i.e. within guide path 153; fig. 7),
the first channel section is connected to the dirt inlet (suctioned airflow enters through dirt inlet 210 and enters first channel section; figs. 5 and 7) and is arranged in a first helical shape (pp. [0050]; first channel section is helical, i.e. spirals along upward ramp; fig. 7), and
the second channel section is connected to the first channel section (suctioned airflow passes through first channel section and into second channel section; defined by arrowed pathway in view of fig. 7) and is arranged in a second helical shape (pp. [0047]; second channel section includes helical region, i.e. helical shape, through path 153; figs. 2-3 and 7).
Regarding claim 8, Oh as modified discloses the air duct assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cyclone separator is connected to the air outlet via a first duct (defined as duct, i.e. inlet pathways, through inlets 310, 312; pp. [0052]), and the fan is connected to the cyclone separator via a second duct (defined as duct through item 500, 513 which leads into fan, as modified above).
Regarding claim 9, Oh as modified discloses the air duct assembly as claimed in claim 8, further comprising a third duct connected to the fan and a second air outlet (as modified from Ming Luo above; third duct defined as pathway from motor and fan assembly through exhaust aperture on back side of cleaner body; pp. [0032] in Ming Luo).
Regarding claim 10, Oh as modified discloses the air duct assembly as claimed in claim 9, wherein the third duct and the second duct form an included angle (included angle is formed between directions of third duct and second duct, i.e. third duct through motor to exhaust outlet and second duct through filter 500 in Oh).
Regarding claim 11, Oh (US 2008/0184893) discloses a cleaning device (item 1; fig. 1) comprising:
a dirt collecting box (defined as box in which walls 410, 440, 411 enclose and cover 150; partially designated in annotated fig. 3 above) comprising:
a dirt inlet (includes items 151, 210; figs. 5 and 7), and
an air outlet (includes outlet through conduit 240 and outlet 220; figs. 5 and 7),
a cyclone separator (item 300; figs. 4 and 7) connected to the air outlet (airflow passes through air outlet and into cyclone separator; fig. 7); and
a motor (item 13; fig. 1) connected to the cyclone separator, wherein the motor is configured to drive an air flow (defined by arrowed pathway in view of fig. 7) to enter the dirt collecting box through the dirt inlet, enter the cyclone separator through the air outlet, and enter the motor through the cyclone separator (pp. [0034] and [0060]; motor 13 is capable of turning on to suctioned airflow through dirt inlet 210, dirt outlet 220, cyclone separator 300, then motor, prior to exhausting).
Oh does not explicitly disclose a filter arranged in the air outlet. However, the embodiment of figs. 9-10 in Oh (US 2007/0079585), which is an analogous air duct assembly, teaches a filter (item 41; figs. 9-10) arranged in the air outlet (item 40, analogous to the air outlet structure in Oh ‘893).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air duct assembly, as disclosed in Oh’ 893, to include a filter in the air outlet, as taught in Oh’ 585, in order to prevent relatively large contaminants from discharging into the air outlet with the semi-clean air (pp. [0082] in Oh ‘585).
Further, though Oh’893 discloses a motor configure to drive an airflow, Oh is silent on a fan structure. Luo (US 2010/0154367) teaches an air duct assembly (fig. 3) comprising a dust collecting box (item 58; fig. 5), a cyclone (item 54; fig. 5), a filter (item 108; fig. 5), and a motor and fan assembly (not explicitly shown; pp. [0024]), wherein the motor and fan assembly is configured to drive suctioned airflow through dust collecting box, cyclone, filter, motor and fan assembly, and through exhaust outlet (pp. [0024] and [0032]; fig. 5).
Both Oh and Luo disclose means to drive suctioned airflow through the air duct assembly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the motor structure, as disclosed in Oh, with the motor and fan assembly, as taught in Luo, to achieve the predictable result of drawing air in through the dirt inlet, filtering dust and debris from the airflow, and exhausting cleaned airflow from the air duct assembly into the environment.
Regarding claim 12, Oh as modified discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the dirt collecting box comprises an air guiding channel (defined as airflow passage from air inlet 210, within item 200, through conduit 240, through outlet 220, along guide path 153; fig. 7) that comprises a dirt inlet channel (defined as channel from air inlet 210, within walls of item 200, conduit 240, then through cover 150; fig. 7) connected to the dirt inlet and the dirt collecting box (fig. 7), and
an outlet (defined as outlet of pathway 153 leading into cyclone; figs. 3 and 7; pp. [0047] and [0052]) of the dirt inlet channel is higher than the dirt inlet in an up and down direction (defined as vertical direction in view of fig. 7) of the dirt collecting box (outlet is disposed higher than lower end of a portion of dirt inlet, i.e. item 151; fig. 7).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Oh as modified discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the dirt inlet and the air outlet are located on a side wall of the dirt collecting cavity (defined as lower sidewall of cavity; both portion of dirt inlet, i.e. item 210, and portion of air outlet, i.e. item 220, are on the same lower sidewall; fig. 5) and are staggered in the up and down direction of the dirt collecting box (lower end of dirt inlet, i.e. item 151, is staggered, i.e. spaced apart, from dirt inlet 210 in up-down direction in view of fig. 7).
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Oh as modified discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 12, wherein:
the dirt inlet channel comprises a first channel section (defined as section from dirt inlet 210 along ramp 250; fig. 7) and a second channel section (defined as section of channel through conduit 240, air outlet 220, and through cover 150, i.e. within guide path 153; fig. 7),
the first channel section is connected to the dirt inlet (suctioned airflow enters through dirt inlet 210 and enters first channel section; figs. 5 and 7) and is arranged in a first helical shape (pp. [0050]; first channel section is helical, i.e. spirals along upward ramp; fig. 7), and
the second channel section is connected to the first channel section (suctioned airflow passes through first channel section and into second channel section; defined by arrowed pathway in view of fig. 7) and is arranged in a second helical shape (pp. [0047]; second channel section includes helical region, i.e. helical shape, through path 153; figs. 2-3 and 7).
Regarding claim 18, Oh as modified discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the cyclone separator is connected to the air outlet via a first duct (defined as duct, i.e. inlet pathways, through inlets 310, 312; pp. [0052]), and the fan is connected to the cyclone separator via a second duct (defined as duct through item 500, 513 which leads into fan, as modified above).
Regarding claim 19, Oh as modified discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 18, further comprising a third duct connected to the fan and a second air outlet (as modified from Ming Luo above; third duct defined as pathway from motor and fan assembly through exhaust aperture on back side of cleaner body; pp. [0032] in Ming Luo).
Regarding claim 20, Oh as modified discloses the cleaning device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the third duct and the second duct form an included angle (included angle is formed between directions of third duct and second duct, i.e. third duct through motor to exhaust outlet and second duct through filter 500 in Oh).
Regarding claim 21, Oh as modified discloses the air duct assembly as claimed in claim 7, wherein a helical direction of the second channel section (helical direction of second channel section through path 153 is helical in horizontal direction; figs. 3 and 7) is opposite to a helical direction of the first channel section (helical direction of first channel section along ramp 250 is upward and clockwise, i.e. opposite to second channel section; fig. 7), and
wherein the outlet of the dirt inlet channel is formed at an end of the second channel section away from the first channel section (outlet of dirt inlet channel is at an end of second channel section leading directly into cyclone separator, i.e. furthest portion of second channel section from first channel section).
Regarding claim 22, as best understood, Kim as modified discloses the air duct assembly as claimed in claim 7, wherein the first channel section is arranged in the first helical shape extending upward (first channel section along ramp 250 is arranged clockwise and upward; pp. [0050]; fig. 7), and the second channel section is arranged in the second helical shape extending horizontally (pp. [0047]; second channel section includes helical shape, i.e. along path 153, in horizontal direction of box; figs. 3 and 7).
Regarding claim 24, Kim as modified discloses the air duct assembly as claimed in claim 7, wherein an end of the first channel section away from the dirt inlet (defined as upper end of ramp 250; fig. 7) extends helically in a direction away from the air outlet (end of first channel section extends upward and clockwise, i.e. away from, air outlet 220 at lower end of box; fig. 7) such that the dirt inlet is located between the outlet of the dirt inlet channel and the air outlet (in up-down direction in view of fig. 7, a portion of dirt inlet, i.e. items 151 and 210, is between outlet of dirt inlet channel and air outlet 220; fig. 7) .
Regarding claim 25, Kim as modified discloses the air duct assembly as claimed in claim 7, wherein the dirt inlet channel is formed by a bottom plate (designated in annotated fig. 7 below) and three connected side plates enclosing the dirt inlet channel (designated in annotated fig. 7 below).
Annotated Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 26, Kim as modified discloses the air duct assembly as claimed in claim 25, further comprising a top plate (item 130; fig 7) covering the three connected side plates (top plate 130 encloses the dirt inlet channel and covers the three connected side plates; fig. 7 above).
The following rejection of claim 7 (dependent on independent claim 1 and claim 2) reinterprets Oh to further support a rejection of claim 23.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Oh as modified discloses the air duct assembly as claimed in claim 2, wherein:
the dirt inlet channel comprises a first channel section (defined as section from dirt inlet 210 portion of ramp 250, designated in second annotated fig. 7 below) and a second channel section (defined as section of channel from end of first channel section to upper, i.e. end portion of ramp 250; fig. 7),
the first channel section is connected to the dirt inlet (suctioned airflow enters through dirt inlet 210 and enters directly into first channel section; figs. 5 and 7) and is arranged in a first helical shape (pp. [0050]; first channel section is helical, i.e. spirals upward along beginning portion of ramp; fig. 7), and
the second channel section is connected to the first channel section (suctioned airflow passes through first channel section and directly into second channel section; defined by arrowed pathway in view of fig. 7) and is arranged in a second helical shape (pp. [0050]; second channel section is helical, i.e. spirals upward from beginning portion of ramp 250 to end portion, i.e. uppermost portion of ramp 250; fig. 7).
Second Annotated Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 23, Kim as modified discloses the air duct assembly as claimed in claim 7, wherein each of the first channel section and the second channel section both are arranged in respective helical shapes extending upward (both first channel and second channel sections are helical shapes extending upward and clockwise; pp. [0050] fig. 7).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,059,121. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant Application, claims 2 and 4 (dependent on independent claim 1)
US 12,059,121, claim 1
Claim 1, ll. 1-3: An air duct assembly comprising a dirt collecting box, wherein the dirt collecting box comprises a dirt collecting cavity,
Claim 1, ll. 1-3
Claim 1, ll. 4-5: a dirt inlet, and an air outlet
Claim 1, ll. 3-4
Claim 1, ll. 6: a filter arranged in the air outlet;
Claim 1, ll. 8
Claim 1, ll. 7: a cyclone separator connected to the air outlet; and
Claim 1, ll. 9
Claim 1, ll. 8-10: a fan connected to the cyclone separator, wherein the fan is configured to drive an air flow to enter the dirt collecting cavity through the dirt inlet, enter the cyclone separator through the air outlet, and enter the fan through the cyclone separator.
Claim 1, ll. 11-16
Claim 2, ll. 1-3: The air duct assembly of claim 1, wherein the dirt collecting cavity comprises an air guiding channel that comprises a dirt inlet channel connected to the dirt inlet and the dirt collecting cavity, and
Claim 1, ll. 5-7 and 27-29
air guiding channel in instant application = air guiding structure in US’121
Claim 2, ll. 4-5: an outlet of the dirt inlet channel is higher than the dirt inlet in an up and down direction of the dirt collecting box.
Claim 1, ll. 29-31
Claim 4, ll. 1-3: The air duct assembly of claim 1, wherein the dirt inlet and the air outlet are located on a side wall of the dirt collecting cavity and are staggered in the up and down direction of the dirt collecting box.
Claim 1, ll. 18-20
Table 1 for Independent Claim 1 (and dependents) of Instant Application.
Claims 11-12 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,059,121. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant Application, claims 12 and 14 (dependent on independent claim 11)
US 12,059,121, claim 6
Claim 11, ll. 1: A cleaning device comprising:
Claim 6 (dependent on claim 1)
Claim 11, ll. 2: a dirt collecting box comprising:
Claim 1, ll. 2
Claim 11, ll. 3-4: a dirt inlet, and an air outlet
Claim 1, ll. 3-4
Claim 11, ll. 5: a filter arranged in the air outlet;
Claim 1, ll. 8
Claim 11, ll. 6: a cyclone separator connected to the air outlet; and
Claim 1, ll. 9
Claim 11, ll. 7-9: a fan connected to the cyclone separator, wherein the fan is configured to drive an air flow to enter the dirt collecting cavity through the dirt inlet, enter the cyclone separator through the air outlet, and enter the fan through the cyclone separator.
Claim 1, ll. 11-16
Claim 12, ll. 1-3: The cleaning device of claim 11, wherein the dirt collecting box comprises an air guiding channel that comprises a dirt inlet channel connected to the dirt inlet and the dirt collecting cavity, and
Claim 1, ll. 5-7 and 27-29
air guiding channel in instant application = air guiding structure in US’121
Claim 12, ll. 4-5: an outlet of the dirt inlet channel is higher than the dirt inlet in an up and down direction of the dirt collecting box.
Claim 1, ll. 29-31
Claim 14, ll. 1-3: The cleaning device of claim 1, wherein the dirt inlet and the air outlet are located on a side wall of the dirt collecting cavity and are staggered in the up and down direction of the dirt collecting box.
Claim 1, ll. 18-20
Table 2 for Independent Claim 11 (and dependents) of Instant Application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hu (US 2019/0298131) discloses an air duct assembly comprising a dirt collecting box with dirt collecting cavity, dirt inlet, and air outlet; wherein air duct assembly comprises a filter in the air outlet.
Oh (US 2006/0230721) discloses an air duct assembly comprising a dirt collecting box with dirt collecting cavity, a dirt inlet, and an air outlet, wherein the dirt inlet and the air outlet are located on a same sidewall and staggered in an up and down direction.
Kim (US 2020/0146521) discloses an air duct assembly comprising a dirt collecting box including a dirt collecting cavity having a dirt inlet and an air outlet; and a filter arranged in the air outlet, a cyclone separator connected to the air outlet, and a motor configured to drive an air flow to enter the dirt collecting cavity through the dirt inlet, enter the cyclone separator through the air outlet, and enter the motor through the cyclone separator.
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723