DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 and 13-20 in the reply filed on 06/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 13-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US Patent Pub. 20210251985).
Xu et al. disclose a lurasidone solid dispersion comprising a pharmaceutical carrier (ABSTRACT). Xu et al. disclose a formulation comprising lurasidone at 7.44%; Soluplus, which is polyvinyl caprolactam-polyvinyl acetate-polyethylene glycol graft copolymer at 26.05% and HPMCAS, which is hydroxypropyl methylcellulose acetate succinate at 26.05% (TABLE 40). The composition meets the weight ratio of instant claims 2, 5, 6, 14, and 15 and the weight percentage of instant claims 3, 7 and 16. Xu et al. disclose the composition comprises excipients including surfactants, such as fatty acid glycerides ([0044] and [0045]). Xu et al. anticipate the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US Patent Pub. 2021/0251985) in view of Nandi (US Patent Pub. 2021/0236628).
Xu et al. is discussed above and differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose the surfactant, polyoxylglycerides.
Nandi discloses pharmaceutical formulations, such as solid dispersions, comprising one or more surfactants, including fatty acid glycerides and polyoxylglycerides ([0012] and [0107]).
It is obvious to replace one component for another equivalent component if it is recognized in the art that two components are equivalent and is not based on the Applicant disclosure. It is also prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. See MPEP 2144.06. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used polyoxyglycerides in place of the surfactant in the compositions of the primary reference based on the prior art's recognition that such species are equivalent in function, as supported by cited precedent.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612