CTNF 18/768,956 CTNF 92511 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of the Application 2. Claim 1-20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. Claim 1-15 and 20 are allowed. Claim 16-19 are rejected. Drawings 3. The drawings filed on 7/10/24 are acceptable for examination proceedings. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a spraying unit configured to spray processing liquid; the correction unit configured to move to a target point on the substrate; and a control unit configured to calculate the target point in claim 1, and 20; the control unit is configured to in claim 2-5, 7, 10-13, 15; Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The filed specification disclose Spraying unit as “The spraying unit 120 may include a plurality of nozzles, but the present disclosure is not limited thereto. Alternatively, the spraying unit 120 may include a single nozzle. In a case where the spraying unit 120 includes a plurality of nozzles, the nozzles may spray different processing liquids. For example, the spraying unit 120 may include a first nozzle 231 , a second nozzle 232 , and a third nozzle 233 (see for example FIG. 3 ).” (Para. [0043] of Pub: 2025/0065360), Correction unit as a “The correction unit 130 may be configured to include an image acquisition module 251 and a beam irradiation module 252 to correct the CD of pattern elements formed on the mask. The image acquisition module 251 and the beam irradiation module 252 may be mounted within a swing arm 250 (see for example FIG. 4 ).” (Para. [0059], Fig. 4 of Pub: 2025/0065360). Control unit as a “ The control unit 140 may include a processor that executes control over each of the components of the substrate processing apparatus 100. Additionally, the control unit 140 may further include a user interface that includes input features or mechanisms for an operator to manage the substrate processing apparatus 100 through command input operations and output features or mechanisms to visualize and display the operating status of the substrate processing apparatus 100. The control unit 140 may be provided as a computing device for data processing and analysis, command transmission, etc.” (Para. [0067] of Pub: 2025/0065360). Thus, the claimed limitations are supported by the specification and are in accordance with MPEP 2181(II)(B). If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Allowable Subject Matter 13-03-01 4. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 1: Park (Pub: 2020/0346299) teaches A substrate processing apparatus comprising: a support unit including a spin head and configured to support and to rotate a substrate (e.g., Moreover, the support unit may include a spin head for rotating the substrate, and the adjustment unit may be synchronously controlled together with the spin head based on the offset value of the substrate) (Para. [0013]); Kamoshida (Pub: 2024/0253158) teaches a spraying unit configured to spray processing liquid onto the substrate (e.g., Nozzle 50 sprays a liquid 51 from its opening. The opening edge of the opening of nozzle 50 has, for example, a circular shape, but the shape of the opening edge of the opening of nozzle 50 is not limited thereto. Liquid 51 sprayed from the opening of nozzle 50 is supplied from the second surface 10 b side to semiconductor wafer 10. More specifically, liquid 51 is supplied from the second surface 10 b side to a portion of semiconductor wafer 10, which is irradiated with laser beam L) (Para. [0026]). Carson (Pat: 9953806) teaches wherein the control unit is configured to convert image coordinates associated with a first coordinate system and then to calculate the target point by converting the image coordinates associated with the first coordinate system into image coordinates associated with a second coordinate system, and the second coordinate system is based on rotation angles of the spin head and the swing arm (e.g., At this point it will be noted that the use of so-called “pit art” is well known in the optical disc recording industry, wherein xy coordinate images are converted to polar coordinates and transferred to a disc surface in either xy or polar format. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that similar processing is employed to detect the timing patterns (e.g., 1300 , 1400 , etc.) using polar coordinates and performing a conversion into the xy space to detect the center point of the substrate, and then adjust the locations of the subsequently written features accordingly) (Col. 16, Ln. 43-52). None of the prior art on record taken either alone or in obvious combination disclose “a correction unit in a swing arm, the correction unit configured to move to a target point on the substrate and to irradiate a beam when the processing liquid is sprayed onto the substrate” in combination with other claimed feature. 5. Claim 2-15 are also allowed due to their direct/indirect dependency over the claim 1 . 13-03-01 6. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claim 20 : As mentioned above Park teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a support unit including a spin head and configured to support and to rotate a substrate (e.g., Moreover, the support unit may include a spin head for rotating the substrate, and the adjustment unit may be synchronously controlled together with the spin head based on the offset value of the substrate) (Para. [0013]). Kamoshida (Pub: 2024/0253158) teaches spraying unit configured to spray processing liquid onto the substrate (e.g., Nozzle 50 sprays a liquid 51 from its opening. The opening edge of the opening of nozzle 50 has, for example, a circular shape, but the shape of the opening edge of the opening of nozzle 50 is not limited thereto. Liquid 51 sprayed from the opening of nozzle 50 is supplied from the second surface 10 b side to semiconductor wafer 10. More specifically, liquid 51 is supplied from the second surface 10 b side to a portion of semiconductor wafer 10, which is irradiated with laser beam L) (Para. [0026]) . None of the prior art on record taken either alone or in obvious combination disclose “a correction unit in a swing arm, the correction unit configured to move to a target point on the substrate and to irradiate a beam when the processing liquid is sprayed onto the substrate; and to determine the target point by reflecting an offset associated with a movement direction of the spin head and an offset associated with a movement direction of the swing arm in the image coordinates associated with the second coordinate system, and the control unit is configured to determine the target point using coordinates of an alignment key on the substrate, by measuring first coordinates and second coordinates of the alignment key at a first point and a second point where the alignment key intersects the swing arm, and converting values derived from the first coordinates and second coordinates and thereby calculating coordinates of an alignment key with its levelness corrected” in combination with other claimed feature. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 7. Claim 16 recites the limitation “ a control device for calculating a target point on a substrate” renders the claim indefinite because the filed specification does not clearly define whether it is hardware or software and how it works. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. 8. Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more as fully discussed below . 9. Regarding Independent claim 16: Step 1: Yes Claim 16 is drawn to a control device for calculating a target point on a substrate using a swing arm and a spin head, therefore claim 16 falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter). Step 2A, Prong 1: Yes Independent claim 16 is directed to a judicially recognized exception of an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 16 recites claim limitation of “ convert image coordinates associated with a first coordinate system, to convert the image coordinates associated with the first coordinate system into image coordinates associated with a second coordinate system, and to calculate the target point by reflecting an offset associated with a movement direction of the spin head in the image coordinates associated with the second coordinate system, and the second coordinate system is based on rotation angles of the spin head and the swing arm ” that under their broadest reasonable interpretation, enumerates a mathematical concept or a human can mentally perform the calculate and convert functions of the claimed limitation. Thus, these claimed functions are the judicial exceptions that are no more than a mental abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)) or the claimed functions are the judicial exceptions that are no more than an abstract idea processed by a mathematical concept (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). As discloses in the specification the above functions can be part of a mathematical calculation: [0116] Thereafter, the control unit 140 may convert the reference coordinates from the θ/φ coordinate system back to the X/Y coordinate system. The control unit 140 may convert the coordinates (θ, φ) into the coordinates (X, Y) (S 350 ). The following equation refers to FIG. 8 . [00005]X=(Rsinθ-Rsinθc)cosφ+(Rcosθc-Rcosθ)sinφY=-(Rsinθ-Rsinθc)sinφ+(Rcosθc-Rcosθ)cosφ[Equation5] (PG Pub: 2025/0065360, Equation 5, Fig. 8). Thus, these claimed functions are the judicial exceptions that are no more than an abstract idea processed by a mathematical concept (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). Step 2A, Prong 2: No Claim 16 recites additional limitation of “ A control device for calculating a target point on a substrate using a swing arm and a spin head, which are in a substrate processing apparatus ” does not provide a patentable distinction since is not positively recited. Even if this is to be interpreted as having patentable weight, this portion of the preamble is akin to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (substrate processing) (MPEP 2106.05(h)). Claim 16 recites “a control device” which is considered as do not integrate into practical application and are recited at a high level of generality such that thy amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (MPEP 2106.95(f)). The combination of these additional elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Step 2B: No The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of " A control device for calculating a target point on a substrate using a swing arm and a spin head, which are in a substrate processing apparatus " is field of use. As such, claim 16 is not patent eligible . Dependent claims 17-19: Step 1: Yes Claim 17-19 are drawn to a control device, therefore claim 17-19 are falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter). Nonetheless, dependent claims 17-19 are also ineligible for the same reasons given with respect to claim 1. Step 2A, Prong 1: Yes Dependent claim 17-19 are directed to a judicially recognized exception of an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 17 recites claim limitation of “ calculate the target point by further reflecting an offset associated with a movement direction of the swing arm in the image coordinates associated with the second coordinate system”; Claim 18 recites limitation of “ convert the image coordinates associated with the first coordinate system, using an affine transformation ” that under their broadest reasonable interpretation, enumerates a mathematical concept or a human can mentally perform the calculate and convert functions of the claimed limitation. Thus, these claimed functions are the judicial exceptions that are no more than a mental abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)) or the claimed functions are the judicial exceptions that are no more than an abstract idea processed by a mathematical concept (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). Step 2A, Prong 2: No Claim 19 recites additional limitation of “ control device is installed in the substrate processing apparatus that processes the substrate using processing liquid ” does not provide a patentable distinction since is not positively recited. Even if this is to be interpreted as having patentable weight, this claimed limitation is akin to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (substrate processing) (MPEP 2106.05(h)). Step 2B: No The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As such, claim 17-19 are not patent eligible . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 10. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 11. Claim 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (Pub: 2020/0346299) in view of Carson (Pat: 9953806) . 12. Regarding claim 16 , Park teaches a control device for calculating a target point on a substrate using a swing arm (e.g., The index robot 144 is installed on the index rail 142 and rectilinearly moves in the second direction 14 along the index rail 142. The index robot 144 may have a base 144 a , a body 144 b , and an index arm 144 c . The base 144 a may be installed to be movable along the index rail 142. The body 144 b is coupled to the base 144 a . The body 144 b is provided to be movable on the base 144 a along the third direction 16. Furthermore, the body 144 b is provided to be rotatable on the base 144 a . The index arm 144 c is coupled to the body 144 b and is movable forward and backward relative to the body 144 b . The plurality of index arms 144 c may be provided; the plurality of index arms 144 c may individually operate. The index arms 144 c are arranged to be stacked along the third direction 16 in a state where the index arms 144 c are spaced from one another. Some of the index arms 144 c may be used to transfer the substrate W from the process module 200 to the carrier 130, and the other index arms 144 c may be used to transfer the substrate W from the carrier 130 to the process module 200.) (Para. [0034]) and a spin head (e.g., Moreover, the support unit may include a spin head for rotating the substrate, and the adjustment unit may be synchronously controlled together with the spin head based on the offset value of the substrate.) (Para. [0013]), and to calculate the target point by reflecting an offset associated with a movement direction of the spin head in the image coordinates associated with the second coordinate system, and the second coordinate system is based on rotation angles of the spin head and the swing arm (e.g., Referring to FIG. 4, the vision unit 350 may obtain an image 500 by capturing the edge region of a substrate and may calculate the offset value of the substrate by measuring the distance between the end of the substrate and the predetermined reference point 510 . Herein, the reference point 510 may be a central point of the image 500 , and the offset value may be the shortest distance between the end of the substrate and the reference point 510 . When the offset value of the substrate is obtained, as illustrated in FIG. 5, the controller 364 may change the irradiation location of the laser by adjusting the slope of the body 361 . At this time, the slope of the body 361 may be calculated using the offset value of the substrate and the distance Wd between the substrate and the adjustment unit 360 . That is, as illustrated in FIG. 6, because the slope of the body 361 is the inner angle of a right triangle with the distance Wd between the substrate and the adjustment unit 360 as the base and with the offset value of the substrate as the height, the slope of the body 361 may be calculated using a trigonometric function. The vision unit 350 may obtain the offset value of the substrate in all edge regions of the substrate by capturing the edge region of the substrate depending on the rotation of the substrate. In addition, the slope of the body 361 in all edge regions of the substrate may be calculated using the obtained offset value of the substrate and the obtained distance Wd between the substrate and the adjustment unit 360 . For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7, the slope of the body 361 and the offset value of the substrate according to the spin angle of the substrate may be calculated. That is, after obtaining the offset value of the substrate in all edge regions of the substrate, the inventive concept may perform a precise etching process on the edge region of the substrate by calculating the slope of the body 361 corresponding to the offset value of the obtained substrate. In addition, the adjustment unit 360 may be synchronously controlled together with the spin head 313 based on the offset value of the substrate; the adjustment unit 360 may generate a profile for the offset value of the substrate corresponding to the spin angle of the substrate and may adjust the irradiation location of the laser depending on the generated profile. Moreover, as illustrated in FIG. 8, when the offset value of the substrate is obtained by the vision unit 350 , the adjustment unit 360 may change the laser irradiation location by moving the body 361 by a distance corresponding to the offset value of the substrate) (Para. [0045], Fig. 4). Park does not specifically teach which are in a substrate processing apparatus, wherein the control device is configured to convert image coordinates associated with a first coordinate system, to convert the image coordinates associated with the first coordinate system into image coordinates associated with a second coordinate system. Carson teaches which are in a substrate processing apparatus, wherein the control device is configured to convert image coordinates associated with a first coordinate system, to convert the image coordinates associated with the first coordinate system into image coordinates associated with a second coordinate system (e.g., At this point it will be noted that the use of so-called “pit art” is well known in the optical disc recording industry, wherein xy coordinate images are converted to polar coordinates and transferred to a disc surface in either xy or polar format. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that similar processing is employed to detect the timing patterns (e.g., 1300 , 1400 , etc.) using polar coordinates and performing a conversion into the xy space to detect the center point of the substrate, and then adjust the locations of the subsequently written features accordingly) (Col. 16, Ln. 43-52). Because Carson is also directed to method for aligning a rotatable substrate to a support mechanism, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Park and Carson before him/her, to modify the teachings of Park to include the teaching of Carson in order to determine the offset distance responsive to successive detection of the first and second timing marks by the detector over at least one rotation of the support mechanism and the substrate (Carson: Col. 2, Ln. 22-25). 13. Regarding claim 17, the combination of Park and Carson teaches the control device of claim 16 , wherein Park further teaches the control device is configured to calculate the target point by further reflecting an offset associated with a movement direction of the swing arm in the image coordinates associated with the second coordinate system (e.g., Next, in 5930, the irradiation location of laser is adjusted based on the profile for the offset value of the substrate. For example, the irradiation location of the laser may be changed by adjusting the slope of the adjustment unit. In this case, the slope of the adjustment unit may be calculated based on the offset value of the substrate and the distance between the adjustment unit and the substrate. For another example, the irradiation location of the laser may be changed by changing the location of the adjustment unit. In this case, the irradiation location of the laser may be changed by moving the location of the adjustment unit by a distance corresponding to the offset value of the substrate.) (Para. [0048]). 14. Regarding claim 19, the combination of Park and Carson teaches the control device of claim 16 , wherein Park further teaches the control device is installed in the substrate processing apparatus that processes the substrate using processing liquid (e.g., The controller 364 drives the body 361 to adjust the irradiation location of the laser. The controller 364 may change the slope of the body 361 or may move the location of the body 361 . In addition, the controller 364 may adjust the light reflection unit 362 to adjust the irradiation location of the laser. Hereinafter, a method in which the adjustment unit 360 of the inventive concept adjusts the irradiation location of the laser will be described in detail with reference to FIGS. 4 to 8.) (Para. [0044]) . 07-21-aia AIA 15. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Carson, and further in view of Matsushita (Pat: 6320655) . 16. Regarding claim 18, the combination of Park and Carson teaches the control device of claim 16 but does not specifically teach wherein the control device is configured to convert the image coordinates associated with the first coordinate system, using an affine transformation. Matsushita teaches wherein the control device is configured to convert the image coordinates associated with the first coordinate system, using an affine transformation (e.g., determining an affine transformation for transforming said system of coordinates of said first evaluating system to said system of coordinates of said second evaluating system on the basis of said coordinate values of each of said reference points in said first and second evaluating systems) (Claim 1). Because Matsushita is also directed to defect-position identifying method for a semiconductor substrate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Park, Carson and Matsushita before him/her, to modify the combined teachings of Park and Carson to include the teaching of Matsushita in order to evaluate a semiconductor substrate (Matsushita: Col. 7, Ln. 1-2) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yoshino (Pub: 2022/0059384) disclose an alignment apparatus, a substrate transport system, and a substrate transport method (Para. [0002]). Ahn (Pub: 2020/0350156) disclose a substrate treating method, a substrate treating apparatus, and a substrate treating system in which a film is removed from a substrate at high efficiency (Para. [0005]) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIGNESHKUMAR C PATEL whose telephone number is (571)270-0698. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kenneth M. Lo can be reached at (571)272-9774. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JIGNESHKUMAR C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 2 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 3 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 4 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 5 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 6 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 7 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 8 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 9 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 10 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 11 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 12 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 13 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 14 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 15 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 16 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/768,956 Page 17 Art Unit: 2116