DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Specifically, representative Claim 13 recites:
A method of calculating an internal resistance of a battery mounted on a vehicle, the method comprising:
determining, by a processor, whether a data collection condition is satisfied, wherein the data collection condition is predefined based on discharge current characteristics of the battery when the vehicle is in a driving state;
when the processor determines that the data collection condition is satisfied (note that this limitation and the remaining limitations are contingent on the data collection condition being satisfied and therefore do not carry patentable weight.),
collecting, by the processor, a current parameter and a voltage parameter of the battery; and
calculating, by the processor, the internal resistance of the battery based on the current parameter and the voltage parameter.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements”.
Under the Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in a statutory category (process).
Under the Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the grouping of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation, that covers mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations) and mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion.
For example, steps of “calculating, by the processor, the internal resistance of the battery based on the current parameter and the voltage parameter (calculation using Ohm’s law)” are treated by the Examiner as belonging to mathematical concept grouping, while the steps of “determining, by a processor, whether a data collection condition is satisfied, wherein the data collection condition is predefined based on discharge current characteristics of the battery when the vehicle is in a driving state (determination); and
calculating, by the processor, the internal resistance of the battery based on the current parameter and the voltage parameter (calculation using Ohm’s law)” are treated as belonging to mental process grouping.
Similar limitations comprise the abstract ideas of Claims 1 and 20.
Next, under the Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application.
In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
The above claims comprise the following additional elements:
Claim 1: An apparatus for calculating an internal resistance of a battery, the apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store instructions for execution by the processor, wherein, when executing the instructions, the processor is configured to calculate an internal resistance of a battery mounted on a vehicle by: collecting a current parameter and a voltage parameter of the battery;
Claim 13: A method of calculating an internal resistance of a battery mounted on a vehicle, the method comprising: collecting, by the processor, a current parameter and a voltage parameter of the battery;
Claim 20: A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to calculate an internal resistance of a battery mounted on a vehicle by performing a method comprising: collecting a current parameter and a voltage parameter of the battery.
The additional element in the preamble of “A method/apparatus of calculating an internal resistance of a battery mounted on a vehicle” is not qualified for a meaningful limitation because it only generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Collecting a current parameter and a voltage parameter of the battery represents a mere data gathering step and only adds an insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. A non-transitory computer-readable medium or memory (generic memory) and a processor (generic processor) are generally recited and are not qualified as particular machines.
In conclusion, the above additional elements, considered individually and in combination with the other claim elements do not reflect an improvement to other technology or technical field, and, therefore, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under the Step 2B.
However, the above claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B analysis).
The claims, therefore, are not patent eligible.
With regards to the dependent claims, claims 2-12 and 14-19 provide additional features/steps which are part of an expanded algorithm, so these limitations should be considered part of an expanded abstract idea of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokoyama et al. (US 20150355288 A1), hereinafter “Yokoyama”.
Regarding Claim 1, Yokoyama teaches an apparatus for calculating an internal resistance of a battery, the apparatus comprising:
a processor (Yokoyama Fig. 2 100. The various modules are computer implemented); and
a memory configured to store instructions for execution by the processor, wherein, when executing the instructions (Yokoyama [0036] Furthermore, the secondary battery degradation determination device 100 includes a storage unit 150 which stores data. See Fig. 2 100. The various modules are computer implemented), the processor is configured to calculate an internal resistance of a battery mounted on a vehicle by:
when the processor determines that a data collection condition is satisfied, collecting a current parameter and a voltage parameter of the battery and calculating the internal resistance of the battery based on the current parameter and the voltage parameter (Yokoyama [0040] When receiving the determination result indicating that the vehicle is in the stop state from the driving state determination means 110, the resistance calculation unit 120 executes the open-circuit voltage measurement means 121 and the internal resistance calculation means 122 at a predetermined timing. Also see [0045] The internal resistance calculation means 122 measures the current and the voltage between the terminals when the discharge means 123 discharges the secondary battery 10 from the current sensor 101 and the voltage sensor 102, respectively. Then, the internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 is calculated using a current and voltage response at that time. The obtained internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 is stored in, for example, the storage unit 150.),
wherein the data collection condition is predefined based on discharge current characteristics of the battery while the vehicle is in a driving state (Note that the vehicle, its driving state, its battery, and the battery’s discharge current characteristics are not positively recited elements of the apparatus, which claims only a memory and processor that performs a calculation, and therefore do not carry patentable weight. Nonetheless, see Yokoyama [0044] The internal resistance calculation means 122 according to this embodiment is performed when the driving state determination means 110 determines that the vehicle is in the stop state. The internal resistance calculation means 122 executes the discharge means 123 at a predetermined timing after the vehicle is stopped. The vehicle is in a driving state of stop.).
Regarding Claim 2, Yokoyama further teaches wherein the data collection condition is that a rate of change in discharge current of the battery is less than or equal to a preset threshold value during a preset reference time period while the vehicle is in an actual driving state (Yokoyama [0037] The driving state determination means 110 receives the current value of the secondary battery 10 from the current sensor 101 and determines that the vehicle is in the stop state when the discharge current from the secondary battery 10 is stopped or is sufficiently small. When the vehicle is in the stop state, the discharge current from the secondary battery 10 is not necessarily zero, but a very small amount of current (dark current) is likely to flow to a load, such as a communication device or a security device. Therefore, the stop state of the vehicle is determined on the basis of a threshold value greater than the dark current.).
Regarding Claim 3, Yokoyama further teaches to collect a discharge current of the battery as the current parameter and a cell voltage of the battery as the voltage parameter during the preset reference time period in which the data collection condition is satisfied, and calculate the internal resistance of the battery based on the discharge current and the cell voltage (Yokoyama [0060] In Step S2, the open-circuit voltage measurement means 121 is used to measure the stable-state open-circuit voltage OCV. Then, in Step S3, the discharge means 123 is performed in response to a request from the internal resistance calculation means 122 and the secondary battery 10 is discharged in a predetermined discharge pattern. Then, in Step S4, the internal resistance calculation means 122 calculates the internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 from a current and voltage response during discharge. […] The measurement of the internal resistance R1 by the internal resistance calculation means 122 may be performed only once after the vehicle is stopped or may be performed, for example, at a predetermined interval after the vehicle is stopped.).
Regarding Claim 7, the Examiner notes that this claim does not carry patentable weight, as it depends on limitations of claim 1 that do not carry patentable weight. Nonetheless, Yokoyama further teaches wherein the data collection condition is that constant current discharging of the battery is performed while the vehicle is in a simulated driving state (Yokoyama [0044] The discharge means 123 is composed of, for example, a semiconductor switch, a resistance element and the like which are connected in series and discharges the secondary battery 10 in a predetermined discharge pattern. It is preferable that the discharge pattern of the discharge means 123 is set so as to include a predetermined discharge frequency of the discharge current when the starter 21, which is a target load, is operated. For example, a substantially square wave may be used as the discharge pattern. Alternatively, a sine wave with a predetermined discharge frequency may be used as the discharge pattern.).
Regarding Claim 8, Yokoyama further teaches when the data collection condition is satisfied, collect a discharge constant current of the battery as the current parameter and a cell voltage of the battery as the voltage parameter and calculate the internal resistance of the battery based on the discharge constant current and the cell voltage (Yokoyama [0045] The internal resistance calculation means 122 measures the current and the voltage between the terminals when the discharge means 123 discharges the secondary battery 10 from the current sensor 101 and the voltage sensor 102, respectively. Then, the internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 is calculated using a current and voltage response at that time. The obtained internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 is stored in, for example, the storage unit 150. Also see [0060] in Step S4, the internal resistance calculation means 122 calculates the internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 from a current and voltage response during discharge.).
Regarding Claim 11, Yokoyama further teaches to calculate the internal resistance of the battery for each state of charge (SOC) of the battery and derive a change in internal resistance according to the SOC of the battery (Yokoyama [0052] The internal resistance correction means 125 corrects the internal resistance R1 to an internal resistance value at the reference temperature on the basis of the table or relational expression read from the storage unit 150 and the temperature and the state of charge of the secondary battery 10. […] When the relational expression indicating the relation between the state of charge and temperature and the internal resistance stored in the storage unit 150 is, for example, denoted with f (T, SOC), the corrected internal resistance R1c can be calculated by the following expression: R1c=R1×f(T, SOC). The internal resistance is corrected by recognizing that there is a functional relationship between Internal resistance and temperature and SOC.).
Regarding Claim 12, Yokoyama further teaches to calculate the internal resistance of the battery for each state of charge (SOC) of the battery and derive a change in internal resistance according to the SOC of the battery (Yokoyama [0052] The internal resistance correction means 125 corrects the internal resistance R1 to an internal resistance value at the reference temperature on the basis of the table or relational expression read from the storage unit 150 and the temperature and the state of charge of the secondary battery 10. […] When the relational expression indicating the relation between the state of charge and temperature and the internal resistance stored in the storage unit 150 is, for example, denoted with f (T, SOC), the corrected internal resistance R1c can be calculated by the following expression: R1c=R1×f(T, SOC). [0053] Where, T indicates the temperature of the secondary battery 10 and SOC indicates the charging rate which is one of the states of charge. The internal resistance is corrected by recognizing that there is a functional relationship between Internal resistance and temperature and SOC, including where the SOC indicates a charging rate.).
Regarding Claim 13, Yokoyama teaches a method of calculating an internal resistance of a battery mounted on a vehicle, the method comprising:
determining, by a processor, whether a data collection condition is satisfied, wherein the data collection condition is predefined based on discharge current characteristics of the battery when the vehicle is in a driving state (Yokoyama [0044] The internal resistance calculation means 122 according to this embodiment is performed when the driving state determination means 110 determines that the vehicle is in the stop state. The internal resistance calculation means 122 executes the discharge means 123 at a predetermined timing after the vehicle is stopped. The vehicle is in a driving state of stop.);
when the processor determines that the data collection condition is satisfied, collecting, by the processor, a current parameter and a voltage parameter of the battery (Yokoyama [0040] When receiving the determination result indicating that the vehicle is in the stop state from the driving state determination means 110, the resistance calculation unit 120 executes the open-circuit voltage measurement means 121 and the internal resistance calculation means 122 at a predetermined timing.); and
calculating, by the processor, the internal resistance of the battery based on the current parameter and the voltage parameter (Yokoyama [0045] The internal resistance calculation means 122 measures the current and the voltage between the terminals when the discharge means 123 discharges the secondary battery 10 from the current sensor 101 and the voltage sensor 102, respectively. Then, the internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 is calculated using a current and voltage response at that time. The obtained internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 is stored in, for example, the storage unit 150.).
Regarding Claim 14, Yokoyama further teaches wherein the determining comprises, when a rate of change in discharge current of the battery is less than or equal to a preset threshold value during a preset reference time period while the vehicle is in an actual driving state, the processor determining that the data collection condition is satisfied (Yokoyama [0037] The driving state determination means 110 receives the current value of the secondary battery 10 from the current sensor 101 and determines that the vehicle is in the stop state when the discharge current from the secondary battery 10 is stopped or is sufficiently small. When the vehicle is in the stop state, the discharge current from the secondary battery 10 is not necessarily zero, but a very small amount of current (dark current) is likely to flow to a load, such as a communication device or a security device. Therefore, the stop state of the vehicle is determined on the basis of a threshold value greater than the dark current.).
Regarding Claim 17, Yokoyama further teaches wherein the determining comprises, when constant current discharging of the battery is performed while the vehicle is in a simulated driving state, the processor determining that the data collection condition is satisfied (Yokoyama [0044] The discharge means 123 is composed of, for example, a semiconductor switch, a resistance element and the like which are connected in series and discharges the secondary battery 10 in a predetermined discharge pattern. It is preferable that the discharge pattern of the discharge means 123 is set so as to include a predetermined discharge frequency of the discharge current when the starter 21, which is a target load, is operated. For example, a substantially square wave may be used as the discharge pattern. Alternatively, a sine wave with a predetermined discharge frequency may be used as the discharge pattern.).
Regarding Claim 18, Yokoyama further teaches wherein the collecting comprises, when the data collection condition is satisfied, the processor collecting a discharge constant current of the battery as the current parameter and a cell voltage of the battery as the voltage parameter, and the calculating comprises the processor calculating the internal resistance of the battery based on the discharge constant current and the cell voltage (Yokoyama [0045] The internal resistance calculation means 122 measures the current and the voltage between the terminals when the discharge means 123 discharges the secondary battery 10 from the current sensor 101 and the voltage sensor 102, respectively. Then, the internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 is calculated using a current and voltage response at that time. The obtained internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 is stored in, for example, the storage unit 150. Also see [0060] in Step S4, the internal resistance calculation means 122 calculates the internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 from a current and voltage response during discharge.).
Regarding Claim 20, Yokoyama teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to calculate an internal resistance of a battery mounted on a vehicle by performing a method (Yokoyama [0036] Furthermore, the secondary battery degradation determination device 100 includes a storage unit 150 which stores data. See Fig. 2 100. The method is performed by various modules that are clearly processors with specific instructions to implement their designated task) comprising:
determining whether a data collection condition is satisfied, wherein the data collection condition is predefined based on discharge current characteristics of the battery while the vehicle is in a driving state (Yokoyama [0044] The internal resistance calculation means 122 according to this embodiment is performed when the driving state determination means 110 determines that the vehicle is in the stop state. The internal resistance calculation means 122 executes the discharge means 123 at a predetermined timing after the vehicle is stopped. The vehicle is in a driving state of stop.);
when the data collection condition is satisfied, collecting a current parameter and a voltage parameter of the battery (Yokoyama [0040] When receiving the determination result indicating that the vehicle is in the stop state from the driving state determination means 110, the resistance calculation unit 120 executes the open-circuit voltage measurement means 121 and the internal resistance calculation means 122 at a predetermined timing.); and
calculating the internal resistance of the battery based on the current parameter and voltage parameter (Yokoyama [0045] The internal resistance calculation means 122 measures the current and the voltage between the terminals when the discharge means 123 discharges the secondary battery 10 from the current sensor 101 and the voltage sensor 102, respectively. Then, the internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 is calculated using a current and voltage response at that time. The obtained internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 is stored in, for example, the storage unit 150.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (as stated above) in view of Sun et al. (CN 117382415 A), hereinafter “Sun”.
Regarding Claim 4, Yokoyama is not relied upon to teach to acquire an average value of the discharge current and an average value of the cell voltage in the preset reference time period and calculate the internal resistance of the battery based on the average value of the discharge current and the average value of the cell voltage.
Sun teaches to acquire an average value of the discharge current and an average value of the cell voltage in the preset reference time period (Sun [0039] At block 3003, the computing device 300 computes the duration of the predetermined time period based on the computed current average Iavg and the specified rate of change of the state of charge. Specifically, by determining the duration of the predetermined time period, the length of the sliding time window (i.e., the predetermined time period) corresponding to the first data set can be determined. and calculate the internal resistance of the battery based on the average value of the discharge current and the average value of the cell voltage (Sun [0056] At block 6001, for each cell, the computing device 300 performs a linear fitting based on the voltage value, current value, and power value of the respective cell in the second data set to obtain the internal resistance value of the respective cell.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Yokoyama (as stated above) in view of Sun, to explicitly teach to acquire an average value of the discharge current and an average value of the cell voltage in the preset reference time period and calculate the internal resistance of the battery based on the average value of the discharge current and the average value of the cell voltage, because obtaining and analyzing data over a period of time can improve accuracy by removing any anomalies that may effect a singular data point (Sun [0031] By obtaining the electrical data of the battery within a predetermined period of time and screening the data based on the state of charge, the influence of SOC on the electrical data, in particular the internal resistance of the battery, can be eliminated or attenuated, thereby improving the accuracy of the fault early warning.).
Regarding Claim 15, Yokoyama (as stated above) further teaches wherein the collecting comprises, in a first reference time period in which the data collection condition is satisfied and in a second reference time period in which the data collection condition is satisfied and which is after the first reference time period, the processor collecting a discharge current of the battery as the current parameter and a cell voltage of the battery as the voltage parameter (Yokoyama [0045] The internal resistance calculation means 122 measures the current and the voltage between the terminals when the discharge means 123 discharges the secondary battery 10 from the current sensor 101 and the voltage sensor 102, respectively. Then, the internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 is calculated using a current and voltage response at that time. The obtained internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 is stored in, for example, the storage unit 150. Also see [0060] in Step S4, the internal resistance calculation means 122 calculates the internal resistance R1 of the secondary battery 10 from a current and voltage response during discharge.).
Yokoyama is not relied upon to teach the calculating comprises the processor acquiring an average value of the discharge current and an average value of the cell voltage for the first and second reference time periods and then calculating the internal resistance of the battery based on the average value of the discharge current and the average value of the cell voltage.
Sun teaches acquiring an average value of the discharge current and an average value of the cell voltage for the first and second reference time periods (Sun [0039] At block 3003, the computing device 300 computes the duration of the predetermined time period based on the computed current average Iavg and the specified rate of change of the state of charge. Specifically, by determining the duration of the predetermined time period, the length of the sliding time window (i.e., the predetermined time period) corresponding to the first data set can be determined.) then calculating the internal resistance of the battery based on the average value of the discharge current and the average value of the cell voltage (Sun [0056] At block 6001, for each cell, the computing device 300 performs a linear fitting based on the voltage value, current value, and power value of the respective cell in the second data set to obtain the internal resistance value of the respective cell. An average in this instance is of parameter values over a period of time between different points in time. Averaging data over a single time period is no different than averaging the averages of two or more smaller time periods within the larger time period.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Yokoyama (as stated above) in view of Sun, to explicitly teach the calculating comprises the processor acquiring an average value of the discharge current and an average value of the cell voltage for the first and second reference time periods and then calculating the internal resistance of the battery based on the average value of the discharge current and the average value of the cell voltage, because obtaining and analyzing data over a period of time can improve accuracy by removing any anomalies that may effect a singular data point (Sun [0031] By obtaining the electrical data of the battery within a predetermined period of time and screening the data based on the state of charge, the influence of SOC on the electrical data, in particular the internal resistance of the battery, can be eliminated or attenuated, thereby improving the accuracy of the fault early warning.).
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (as stated above) in view of Park (US 20180203070 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Yokoyama (as stated above) is not relied upon to further teach to collect a first value of the discharge constant current and a first value of the cell voltage of the battery at a first reference time point at which the data collection condition is satisfied, collect a second value of the discharge constant current and a second value of the cell voltage of the battery at a second reference time point at which the data collection condition is satisfied and which is after the first reference time point, and calculate the internal resistance of the battery by interpolating the first value of the discharge constant current, the first value of the cell voltage, the second value of the discharge constant current, and the second value of the cell voltage.
Park teaches to collect a first value of the discharge constant current and a first value of the cell voltage of the battery at a first reference time point at which the data collection condition is satisfied, collect a second value of the discharge constant current and a second value of the cell voltage of the battery at a second reference time point at which the data collection condition is satisfied and which is after the first reference time point (Park [0008] The voltage data sequence may correspond to a series of pieces of voltage data of the battery, the current data sequence may correspond to a series of pieces of current data of the battery, and the estimated internal resistance of the battery may be an internal resistance estimated at a point in time corresponding to a time index of last voltage data of the voltage data sequence and a time index of last current data of the current data sequence.), and calculate the internal resistance of the battery by interpolating the first value of the discharge constant current, the first value of the cell voltage, the second value of the discharge constant current, and the second value of the cell voltage (Park [0053] In this example, the reference value is a value included in a reference value set determined based on an interpolation result of internal resistances measured in a reference battery of which a degradation is accelerated. Also, the estimated value corresponds to a result of calculation performed by an untrained internal resistance estimation model based on input data including a voltage data sequence and a current data sequence of the reference battery. And [0108] Also, the data generator 510 performs calculation based on the measured internal resistances and generates a reference value set for an internal resistance of the reference battery being charged or discharged. For example, the data generator 510 performs interpolation on the internal resistances measured at the internal resistance measuring points of FIG. 7 and generates a reference value set based on a result of the interpolation. Interpolating resistance values is analogous to interpolating the corresponding voltage and current values due to Ohm’s law).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Yokoyama (as stated above) in view of Park, to explicitly teach to collect a first value of the discharge constant current and a first value of the cell voltage of the battery at a first reference time point at which the data collection condition is satisfied, collect a second value of the discharge constant current and a second value of the cell voltage of the battery at a second reference time point at which the data collection condition is satisfied and which is after the first reference time point, and calculate the internal resistance of the battery by interpolating the first value of the discharge constant current, the first value of the cell voltage, the second value of the discharge constant current, and the second value of the cell voltage, to allow for calculation and analysis of values within the desired time that may not have been directly measured (Park [0009] The internal resistance estimation model may be trained based on a reference value and an estimated value, the reference value may be included in a reference value set determined based on an interpolation result of internal resistances measured in the reference battery in which degradation is accelerated, and the estimated value may correspond to a result of calculation performed by an untrained internal resistance estimation model based on input data including a voltage data sequence and a current data sequence of the reference battery. Values between directly measured points can be estimated through interpolation for use in analysis.).
Regarding Claim 10, Yokoyama in view of Park (as stated above) further teaches to calculate a slope of a straight line as the internal resistance of the battery, the straight line connecting a first point defined by the first value of the discharge constant current and the first value of the cell voltage to a second point defined by the second value of the discharge constant current and the second value of the cell voltage (Yokoyama [0108] For example, the data generator 510 performs interpolation on the internal resistances measured at the internal resistance measuring points of FIG. 7 and generates a reference value set based on a result of the interpolation. The interpolation is, for example, a linear interpolation, a polynomial interpolation, or a spline interpolation but not limited thereto.).
Regarding Claim 19, Yokoyama (as stated above) is not relied upon to further teach collecting a first value of the discharge constant current and a first value of the cell voltage of the battery at a first reference time point at which the data collection condition is satisfied, and collecting a second value of the discharge constant current and a second value of the cell voltage of the battery at a second reference time point at which the data collection condition is satisfied and which is after the first reference time point, and
the calculating comprises the processor calculating the internal resistance of the battery by interpolating the first value of the discharge constant current, the first value of the cell voltage, the second value of the discharge constant current, and the second value of the cell voltage.
Park teaches collecting a first value of the discharge constant current and a first value of the cell voltage of the battery at a first reference time point at which the data collection condition is satisfied, and collecting a second value of the discharge constant current and a second value of the cell voltage of the battery at a second reference time point at which the data collection condition is satisfied and which is after the first reference time point (Park [0008] The voltage data sequence may correspond to a series of pieces of voltage data of the battery, the current data sequence may correspond to a series of pieces of current data of the battery, and the estimated internal resistance of the battery may be an internal resistance estimated at a point in time corresponding to a time index of last voltage data of the voltage data sequence and a time index of last current data of the current data sequence.), and
the calculating comprises the processor calculating the internal resistance of the battery by interpolating the first value of the discharge constant current, the first value of the cell voltage, the second value of the discharge constant current, and the second value of the cell voltage (Park [0053] In this example, the reference value is a value included in a reference value set determined based on an interpolation result of internal resistances measured in a reference battery of which a degradation is accelerated. Also, the estimated value corresponds to a result of calculation performed by an untrained internal resistance estimation model based on input data including a voltage data sequence and a current data sequence of the reference battery. And [0108] Also, the data generator 510 performs calculation based on the measured internal resistances and generates a reference value set for an internal resistance of the reference battery being charged or discharged. For example, the data generator 510 performs interpolation on the internal resistances measured at the internal resistance measuring points of FIG. 7 and generates a reference value set based on a result of the interpolation. Interpolating resistance values is analogous to interpolating the corresponding voltage and current values due to Ohm’s law).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Yokoyama (as stated above) in view of Park, to explicitly teach collecting a first value of the discharge constant current and a first value of the cell voltage of the battery at a first reference time point at which the data collection condition is satisfied, and collecting a second value of the discharge constant current and a second value of the cell voltage of the battery at a second reference time point at which the data collection condition is satisfied and which is after the first reference time point, and
the calculating comprises the processor calculating the internal resistance of the battery by interpolating the first value of the discharge constant current, the first value of the cell voltage, the second value of the discharge constant current, and the second value of the cell voltage, to allow for calculation and analysis of values within the desired time that may not have been directly measured (Park [0009] The internal resistance estimation model may be trained based on a reference value and an estimated value, the reference value may be included in a reference value set determined based on an interpolation result of internal resistances measured in the reference battery in which degradation is accelerated, and the estimated value may correspond to a result of calculation performed by an untrained internal resistance estimation model based on input data including a voltage data sequence and a current data sequence of the reference battery. Values between directly measured points can be estimated through interpolation for use in analysis.).
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama in view of Sun (as stated above) further in view of Park (US 20180203070 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Yokoyama in view of Sun (as stated above) does not explicitly teach acquiring a first average value of the discharge current of the battery and a first average value of the cell voltage of the battery in the first reference time period, acquiring a second average value of the discharge current of the battery and a second average value of the cell voltage of the battery in the second reference time period.
However, Sun further teaches acquiring a first average value of the discharge current of the battery and a first average value of the cell voltage of the battery in the first reference time period (Sun [0039] At block 3003, the computing device 300 computes the duration of the predetermined time period based on the computed current average Iavg and the specified rate of change of the state of charge. Specifically, by determining the duration of the predetermined time period, the length of the sliding time window (i.e., the predetermined time period) corresponding to the first data set can be determined.), acquiring a second average value of the discharge current of the battery and a second average value of the cell voltage of the battery in the second reference time period (Sun [0056] At block 6001, for each cell, the computing device 300 performs a linear fitting based on the voltage value, current value, and power value of the respective cell in the second data set to obtain the internal resistance value of the respective cell. An average in this instance is of parameter values over a period of time between different points in time. Averaging data over a single time period is no different than averaging the averages of two or more smaller time periods within the larger time period.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Yokoyama in view of Sun (as stated above), further in view of Sun, to explicitly teach the calculating comprises the processor acquiring an average value of the discharge current and an average value of the cell voltage for the first and second reference time periods and then calculating the internal resistance of the battery based on the average value of the discharge current and the average value of the cell voltage, because obtaining and analyzing data over a period of time can improve accuracy by removing any anomalies that may effect a singular data point (Sun [0031] By obtaining the electrical data of the battery within a predetermined period of time and screening the data based on the state of charge, the influence of SOC on the electrical data, in particular the internal resistance of the battery, can be eliminated or attenuated, thereby improving the accuracy of the fault early warning.).
Yokoyama in view of Sun (as stated above) is not relied upon to further teach to calculate the internal resistance of the battery by interpolating the first average value of the discharge current, the first average value of the cell voltage, the second average value of the discharge current, and the second average value of the cell voltage.
Park teaches calculate the internal resistance of the battery by interpolating the first average value of the discharge current, the first average value of the cell voltage, the second average value of the discharge current, and the second average value of the cell voltage (Park [0053] In this example, the reference value is a value included in a reference value set determined based on an interpolation result of internal resistances measured in a reference battery of which a degradation is accelerated. Also, the estimated value corresponds to a result of calculation performed by an untrained internal resistance estimation model based on input data including a voltage data sequence and a current data sequence of the reference battery. And [0108] Also, the data generator 510 performs calculation based on the measured internal resistances and generates a reference value set for an internal resistance of the reference battery being charged or discharged. For example, the data generator 510 performs interpolation on the internal resistances measured at the internal resistance measuring points of FIG. 7 and generates a reference value set based on a result of the interpolation. Interpolating resistance values is analogous to interpolating the corresponding voltage and current values due to Ohm’s law).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Yokoyama in view of Sun (as stated above), further in view of Park, to explicitly teach calculate the internal resistance of the battery by interpolating the first average value of the discharge current, the first average value of the cell voltage, the second average value of the discharge current, and the second average value of the cell voltage, to allow for calculation and analysis of values within the desired time that may not have been directly measured (Park [0009] The internal resistance estimation model may be trained based on a reference value and an estimated value, the reference value may be included in a reference value set determined based on an interpolation result of internal resistances measured in the reference battery in which degradation is accelerated, and the estimated value may correspond to a result of calculation performed by an untrained internal resistance estimation model based on input data including a voltage data sequence and a current data sequence of the reference battery. Values between directly measured points can be estimated through interpolation for use in analysis.).
Regarding Claim 6, Yokoyama in view of Park (as stated above) further teaches to calculate a slope of a straight line as the internal resistance of the battery, the straight line connecting a first point defined by the first average value of the discharge current and the first average value of the cell voltage to a second point defined by the second average value of the discharge current and the second average value of the cell voltage (Yokoyama [0108] For example, the data generator 510 performs interpolation on the internal resistances measured at the internal resistance measuring points of FIG. 7 and generates a reference value set based on a result of the interpolation. The interpolation is, for example, a linear interpolation, a polynomial interpolation, or a spline interpolation but not limited thereto.).
Regarding Claim 16, Yokoyama in view of Sun (as stated above) does not explicitly teach acquiring a first average value of the discharge current of the battery and a first average value of the cell voltage of the battery in the first reference time period, acquiring a second average value of the discharge current of the battery and a second average value of the cell voltage of the battery in the second reference time period.
However, Sun further teaches acquiring a first average value of the discharge current of the battery and a first average value of the cell voltage of the battery in the first reference time period (Sun [0039] At block 3003, the computing device 300 computes the duration of the predetermined time period based on the computed current average Iavg and the specified rate of change of the state of charge. Specifically, by determining the duration of the predetermined time period, the length of the sliding time window (i.e., the predetermined time period) corresponding to the first data set can be determined.), acquiring a second average value of the discharge current of the battery and a second average value of the cell voltage of the battery in the second reference time period (Sun [0056] At block 6001, for each cell, the computing device 300 performs a linear fitting based on the voltage value, current value, and power value of the respective cell in the second data set to obtain the internal resistance value of the respective cell. An average in this instance is of parameter values over a period of time between different points in time. Averaging data over a single time period is no different than averaging the averages of two or more smaller time periods within the larger time period.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Yokoyama in view of Sun (as stated above), further in view of Sun, to explicitly teach acquiring a first average value of the discharge current of the battery and a first average value of the cell voltage of the battery in the first reference time period, acquiring a second average value of the discharge current of the battery and a second average value of the cell voltage of the battery in the second reference time period, because obtaining and analyzing data over a period of time can improve accuracy by removing any anomalies that may effect a singular data point (Sun [0031] By obtaining the electrical data of the battery within a predetermined period of time and screening the data based on the state of charge, the influence of SOC on the electrical data, in particular the internal resistance of the battery, can be eliminated or attenuated, thereby improving the accuracy of the fault early warning.).
Yokoyama in view of Sun (as stated above) is not relied upon to further teach calculating the internal resistance of the battery by interpolating the first average value of the discharge current, the first average value of the cell voltage, the second average value of the discharge current, and the second average value of the cell voltage.
Park teaches calculating the internal resistance of the battery by interpolating the first average value of the discharge current, the first average value of the cell voltage, the second average value of the discharge current, and the second average value of the cell voltage (Park [0053] In this example, the reference value is a value included in a reference value set determined based on an interpolation result of internal resistances measured in a reference battery of which a degradation is accelerated. Also, the estimated value corresponds to a result of calculation performed by an untrained internal resistance estimation model based on input data including a voltage data sequence and a current data sequence of the reference battery. And [0108] Also, the data generator 510 performs calculation based on the measured internal resistances and generates a reference value set for an internal resistance of the reference battery being charged or discharged. For example, the data generator 510 performs interpolation on the internal resistances measured at the internal resistance measuring points of FIG. 7 and generates a reference value set based on a result of the interpolation. Interpolating resistance values is analogous to interpolating the corresponding voltage and current values due to Ohm’s law).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Yokoyama in view of Sun (as stated above), further in view of Park, to explicitly teach calculating the internal resistance of the battery by interpolating the first average value of the discharge current, the first average value of the cell voltage, the second average value of the discharge current, and the second average value of the cell voltage, to allow for calculation and analysis of values within the desired time that may not have been directly measured (Park [0009] The internal resistance estimation model may be trained based on a reference value and an estimated value, the reference value may be included in a reference value set determined based on an interpolation result of internal resistances measured in the reference battery in which degradation is accelerated, and the estimated value may correspond to a result of calculation performed by an untrained internal resistance estimation model based on input data including a voltage data sequence and a current data sequence of the reference battery. Values between directly measured points can be estimated through interpolation for use in analysis.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shigemori et al. (US 20230061834 A1) discloses a Monitoring System.
LV et al. (CN 115808638 A) discloses A Charge State Calculation Method, Device, Storage Medium And Battery Management System.
Ananthraj et al. ( "Battery Management System in Electric Vehicle," 2021 4th Biennial International Conference on Nascent Technologies in Engineering (ICNTE), NaviMumbai, India, 2021, pp. 1-6, doi: 10.1109/ICNTE51185.2021.9487762.) discloses a model of a BMS and battery system of an electric vehicle.
Qian et al. ("Research on Calculation Method of Internal Resistance of Lithium Battery Based on Capacity Increment Curve," 2019 2nd World Conference on Mechanical Engineering and Intelligent Manufacturing (WCMEIM), Shanghai, China, 2019, pp. 343-346, doi: 10.1109/WCMEIM48965.2019.00074) discloses a method that can quickly describe the internal resistance of each cell of the battery pack, and can be applied during the normal charging process of the battery pack.
/CHRISTIAN T BRYANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857