DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application filed on 7/10/2024, which is a continuation of PCT/CN2023/070730 filed on 1/5/2023. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an applications CN202210029089.9 filed on 1/11/2022, and CN202210442943.4 filed on 4/25/2022. Claims 30-58 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-31, 33, 35, 37, 39-41, 43-45, 47, 49, 51, 53-55 and 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jose et al. (US 2020/0100183; provided in Applicant’s IDS dated 3/11/2025, hereinafter Jose) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0159417, hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 30, Jose discloses a method, comprising: when a preset condition is satisfied, skipping, by a terminal device, sending first channel state information (CSI) at a first time, wherein the preset condition comprises any one or more of the following: a first condition, wherein the first condition is that the first time does not belong to an active time of a first discontinuous reception (DRX) and that the first time does not belong to an active time of a second DRX set [Jose discloses that a UE may be configured to perform link maintenance activities. When BA (background activity) window is configures, only those transmission occasions (e.g. CSI or SRS) that fall within the BA window are allowed to be performed by the UE. The UE may be configured to skip the transmission occasions outside of the BA window (Jose paragraph 0034). The BA window may comprise the DRX on duration, and when the DRX mechanism is configured, the UE may use the DRX on duration to perform the background link maintenance activities. The network may configure a specific or additional time window as the BA window (i.e. a second DRX) (Jose paragraph 0035). Jose Figure 4 discloses an example where multiple BA windows (e.g. a first DRX and a second DRX set) are configured. The UE may ignore or skip the reference signals that are outside of the BA windows, and may cancel the CSI/SRS transmission out of BA windows (Jose Figure 4, paragraphs 0036 and 0037)]; or a third condition, wherein the third condition is that neither a first timer nor a second timer set is run at the first time; and
Wherein: the first DRX is configured for controlling monitoring of control information specific to the terminal device [Jose discloses that a UE may be configured to perform link maintenance activities. When BA (background activity) window is configures, only those transmission occasions (e.g. CSI or SRS) that fall within the BA window are allowed to be performed by the UE (Jose paragraph 0034). The BA window may comprise the DRX on duration. When the DRX mechanism is configures, the UE may use the DRX on to perform the background link maintenance activities (Jose paragraph 0035). Thus, DRX is configured for controlling monitoring of control information specific to the terminal];
During running of the first timer, the terminal device monitors the control information specific to the terminal device [Jose discloses that after WUI (wake-up indication) is received, an inactivity timer may be initiated, and PDCCH is monitored while the timer is running (i.e. monitoring the control information during running of the timer) (Jose paragraphs 0046-0048)]; and
Jose does not expressly disclose the features of the second DRX set comprises at least one multicast DRX, the at least one multicast DRX comprises a first multicast DRX, and the first multicast DRX is configured for controlling monitoring of control information related to a first multicast service; and the second timer set comprises at least one multicast timer, the at least one multicast timer comprises a third multicast timer, and during running of the third multicast timer, the terminal device monitors control information related to a third multicast service.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhou Figures 38 and 39 disclose examples of CSI report for MBS (multicast and broadcast service) in DRX configuration. The UE may receive one DRX configuration corresponding to unicast and another DRX configuration corresponding to MBS (similar to the second DRX set comprising multicast DRX) (Zhou paragraph 035). When configured with the MBS DRX, the device may start a DRX on duration timer, and may monitor a MBS dedicated PDCCH, and DCI indicating assignment for a multicast PDSCH resource for transmission of MBS TB (i.e. multicast DRX configured for controlling monitoring of control information related to a first multicast service) (Zhou paragraph 0359). Zhou further discloses that the device may start timer such as DRX on duration timer when configured with MBS DRX (Zhou paragraph 0359); and may start DRX HARQ RTT timer associated with the MBS HARQ process (Zhou paragraph 0361). This also indicate a multicast timer and monitoring control information related to a multicast service.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jose to have the features of the second DRX set comprises at least one multicast DRX, the at least one multicast DRX comprises a first multicast DRX, and the first multicast DRX is configured for controlling monitoring of control information related to a first multicast service; and the second timer set comprises at least one multicast timer, the at least one multicast timer comprises a third multicast timer, and during running of the third multicast timer, the terminal device monitors control information related to a third multicast service; as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve power consumption of the wireless device for CSI report, and to improve MBS throughput (Zhou paragraph 0367).
Regarding claim 31, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 30. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the preset condition comprises the first condition, and skipping, by the terminal device, sending the first CSI at the first time comprises: for a first cell set, skipping, by the terminal device, sending the first CSI at the first time, wherein the first cell set comprises at least one cell, and the first cell set is associated with the first DRX [Zhou discloses that the device may skip transmitting the CSI report when the device is outside of the active time of a DRX configuration (Zhou paragraph 0363). As disclosed in the Zhou Figure 38, the DRX configurations correspond to a cell (Zhou Figure 38, paragraph 0355)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 30.
Regarding claim 33, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 30. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the preset condition comprises the third condition, and skipping, by the terminal device, sending the first CSI at the first time comprises: for a first cell set, skipping, by the terminal device, sending the first CSI at the first time [Zhou Figure 38 discloses that the wireless device may skip transmitting the CSI report when the device is outside the active time of 1st and 2nd DRX (i.e. a third condition where none of the timers is running) (Zhou Figure 38, paragraphs 0363-0365). Zhou discloses that the device may skip transmitting the CSI report when the device is outside of the active time of a DRX configuration (Zhou paragraph 0363). As disclosed in the Zhou Figure 38, the DRX configurations correspond to a cell; indicating skipping sending CSI for a first cell (Zhou Figure 38, paragraph 0355)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 30.
Regarding claim 35, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 30. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the preset condition further comprises that: a multicast DRX is configured for a tenth multicast service, wherein the tenth multicast service comprises a multicast service joined by the terminal device [Zhou discloses that to receive multicast service, the group of wireless devices may be configured with a group RNTI (Zhou paragraph 0273). Thus, a device configured with a group RNTI may receive (or effectively join) a multicast service, which could be a tenth service]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 30.
Regarding claim 37, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 30. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the first CSI comprises semi- persistent CSI configured on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) [Zhou discloses that the CSI report may be SP (semi-persistent) CSI report via PUSCH (Zhou paragraphs 0329 and 0337)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 30.
Regarding claim 39, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 30. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the preset condition comprises the third condition or a fourth condition, and the method further comprises: obtaining, by the terminal device, first information, wherein the first information indicates to the terminal device to send the CSI during running of a unicast timer or during running of a multicast timer [Zhou Figure 38 discloses that the wireless device may skip transmitting the CSI report when the device is outside the active time of 1st and 2nd DRX (i.e. a third condition where none of the timers is running) (Zhou Figure 38, paragraphs 0363-0365). The device receives one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of CSI report configuration (i.e. obtaining first information) (Zhou paragraphs 0355-0357). The device may transmit a CSI report based on CSI report configuration when the DRX inactivity timer, or duration timer is running corresponding to the MBS DRX configuration (Zhou paragraph 0363); indicating running of a multicast timer]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 30.
Regarding claim 40, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 30. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the preset condition further comprises any one or more of the following: the terminal device does not obtain second information, wherein the second information comprises information related to a wake-up signal; the first time is not within a duration corresponding to the first timer; or the first timer is started or restarted [Zhou discloses that the wireless device may skip transmitting the CSI report when the device is outside the time when the drx inactivity timer is running (i.e. the time is not within a duration corresponding to the first timer) (Zhou paragraph 0363, Figure 38)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 30.
Regarding claim 41, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 30. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the preset condition comprises the first condition or a second condition, and the preset condition further comprises any one or more of the following: the terminal device obtains second information, wherein the second information comprises information related to a wake-up signal; the first time is within duration corresponding to the first timer; or the first timer is not started or not restarted [Jose discloses that the UE may receive a configuration to monitor WUI from the network. The configuration may configure a plurality of wake-up occasions with a wake-up cycle (indicating obtaining a second information comprising information related to a wake-up signal) (Jose paragraph 0028)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 30.
Regarding claim 43, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 30. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the method further comprises: obtaining, by the terminal device, fifth information, wherein the fifth information indicates the terminal device to send the CSI based on a multicast DRX [Zhou discloses that the device may receive one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of CSI report configuration associated with MBS DRX configuration (Zhou paragraph 0356). The parameters may include DRX on duration timer, DRX inactivity timer, etc. (Zhou paragraph 0357). The device may determine a transmission of CSI report for an MBS session based on an MBS DRX configuration (Zhou paragraph 0353); which indicates that the terminal device obtains information indicating the device to send the CSI based on a multicast DRX]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 30.
Regarding claim 44, Jose discloses a method, comprising: when a preset condition is satisfied, skipping, by a network device, receiving first channel state information (CSI) at a first time, wherein the preset condition comprises any one or more of the following: a first condition, wherein the first condition is that the first time does not belong to an active time of a first discontinuous reception (DRX) and that the first time does not belong to an active time of a second DRX set [Jose discloses that a UE may be configured to perform link maintenance activities. When BA (background activity) window is configures, only those transmission occasions (e.g. CSI or SRS) that fall within the BA window are allowed to be performed by the UE. The UE may be configured to skip the transmission occasions outside of the BA window (Jose paragraph 0034). The BA window may comprise the DRX on duration, and when the DRX mechanism is configured, the UE may use the DRX on duration to perform the background link maintenance activities. The network may configure a specific or additional time window as the BA window (i.e. a second DRX) (Jose paragraph 0035). Jose Figure 4 discloses an example where multiple BA windows (e.g. a first DRX and a second DRX set) are configured. The UE may ignore or skip the reference signals that are outside of the BA windows, and may cancel the CSI/SRS transmission out of BA windows (Jose Figure 4, paragraphs 0036 and 0037)]; a third condition, wherein the third condition is that neither a first timer nor a second timer set is run at the first time; and
Wherein the first DRX is configured for controlling monitoring of control information specific to a terminal device [Jose discloses that a UE may be configured to perform link maintenance activities. When BA (background activity) window is configures, only those transmission occasions (e.g. CSI or SRS) that fall within the BA window are allowed to be performed by the UE (Jose paragraph 0034). The BA window may comprise the DRX on duration. When the DRX mechanism is configures, the UE may use the DRX on to perform the background link maintenance activities (Jose paragraph 0035). Thus, DRX is configured for controlling monitoring of control information specific to the terminal];
Wherein during running of the first timer, the terminal device monitors the control information specific to the terminal device [Jose discloses that after WUI (wake-up indication) is received, an inactivity timer may be initiated, and PDCCH is monitored while the timer is running (i.e. monitoring the control information during running of the timer) (Jose paragraphs 0046-0048)].
Jose does not expressly disclose the features of wherein the second DRX set comprises at least one multicast DRX, the at least one multicast DRX comprises a first multicast DRX, and the first multicast DRX is configured for controlling monitoring of control information related to a first multicast service; and wherein the second timer set comprises at least one multicast timer, the at least one multicast timer comprises a third multicast timer, and during running of the third multicast timer, the terminal device monitors control information related to a third multicast service.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhou Figures 38 and 39 disclose examples of CSI report for MBS (multicast and broadcast service) in DRX configuration. The UE may receive one DRX configuration corresponding to unicast and another DRX configuration corresponding to MBS (similar to the second DRX set comprising multicast DRX) (Zhou paragraph 035). When configured with the MBS DRX, the device may start a DRX on duration timer, and may monitor a MBS dedicated PDCCH, and DCI indicating assignment for a multicast PDSCH resource for transmission of MBS TB (i.e. multicast DRX configured for controlling monitoring of control information related to a first multicast service) (Zhou paragraph 0359). Zhou further discloses that the device may start timer such as DRX on duration timer when configured with MBS DRX (Zhou paragraph 0359); and may start DRX HARQ RTT timer associated with the MBS HARQ process (Zhou paragraph 0361). This also indicate a multicast timer and monitoring control information related to a multicast service.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jose to have the features of wherein the second DRX set comprises at least one multicast DRX, the at least one multicast DRX comprises a first multicast DRX, and the first multicast DRX is configured for controlling monitoring of control information related to a first multicast service; and wherein the second timer set comprises at least one multicast timer, the at least one multicast timer comprises a third multicast timer, and during running of the third multicast timer, the terminal device monitors control information related to a third multicast service; as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve power consumption of the wireless device for CSI report, and to improve MBS throughput (Zhou paragraph 0367).
Regarding claim 45, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 44. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the preset condition comprises the first condition, and skipping, by the network device, receiving the first CSI at the first time comprises: for a first cell set, skipping, by the network device, receiving the first CSI at the first time, wherein the first cell set comprises at least one cell, and the first cell set is associated with the first DRX [Zhou discloses that the device may skip transmitting the CSI report when the device is outside of the active time of a DRX configuration (Zhou paragraph 0363). As disclosed in the Zhou Figure 38, the DRX configurations correspond to a cell (Zhou Figure 38, paragraph 0355)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 44.
Regarding claim 47, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 44. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the preset condition comprises the third condition, and skipping, by the network device, receiving the first CSI at the first time comprises: for a first cell set, skipping, by the network device, receiving the first CSI at the first time [Zhou Figure 38 discloses that the wireless device may skip transmitting the CSI report when the device is outside the active time of 1st and 2nd DRX (i.e. a third condition where none of the timers is running) (Zhou Figure 38, paragraphs 0363-0365). Zhou discloses that the device may skip transmitting the CSI report when the device is outside of the active time of a DRX configuration (Zhou paragraph 0363). As disclosed in the Zhou Figure 38, the DRX configurations correspond to a cell; indicating skipping sending CSI for a first cell (Zhou Figure 38, paragraph 0355)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 44.
Regarding claim 49, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 44. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the preset condition further comprises: a multicast DRX is configured for a tenth multicast service, and wherein the tenth multicast service comprises a multicast service joined by the terminal device [Zhou discloses that to receive multicast service, the group of wireless devices may be configured with a group RNTI (Zhou paragraph 0273). Thus, a device configured with a group RNTI may receive (or effectively join) a multicast service, which could be a tenth service]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 44.
Regarding claim 51, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 44. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the first CSI comprises semi- persistent CSI configured on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) [Zhou discloses that the CSI report may be SP (semi-persistent) CSI report via PUSCH (Zhou paragraphs 0329 and 0337)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 44.
Regarding claim 53, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 44. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the preset condition comprises the third condition or a fourth condition, and the method further comprises: sending, by the network device, first information, wherein the first information indicates the terminal device to send the CSI during running of a unicast timer or during running of a multicast timer [Zhou Figure 38 discloses that the wireless device may skip transmitting the CSI report when the device is outside the active time of 1st and 2nd DRX (i.e. a third condition where none of the timers is running) (Zhou Figure 38, paragraphs 0363-0365). The device receives one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of CSI report configuration (i.e. obtaining first information) (Zhou paragraphs 0355-0357). The device may transmit a CSI report based on CSI report configuration when the DRX inactivity timer, or duration timer is running corresponding to the MBS DRX configuration (Zhou paragraph 0363); indicating running of a multicast timer]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 44.
Regarding claim 54, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 44. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the preset condition further comprises any one or more of the following: the network device does not send second information, wherein the second information comprises information related to a wake-up signal; the first time is not within a duration corresponding to the first timer; or the first timer is started or restarted [Zhou discloses that the wireless device may skip transmitting the CSI report when the device is outside the time when the drx inactivity timer is running (i.e. the time is not within a duration corresponding to the first timer) (Zhou paragraph 0363, Figure 38)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 44.
Regarding claim 55, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 44. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the preset condition comprises the first condition or a second condition, and the preset condition further comprises any one or more of the following: the network device sends second information, wherein the second information comprises information related to a wake-up signal; the first time is within a duration corresponding to the first timer; or the first timer is not started or not restarted [Jose discloses that the UE may receive a configuration to monitor WUI from the network. The configuration may configure a plurality of wake-up occasions with a wake-up cycle (indicating the network device sending a second information comprising information related to a wake-up signal) (Jose paragraph 0028)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 44.
Regarding claim 57, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 44. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the network device, fifth information, wherein the fifth information indicates the terminal device to send the CSI based on a multicast DRX [Zhou discloses that the device may receive one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of CSI report configuration associated with MBS DRX configuration (Zhou paragraph 0356). The parameters may include DRX on duration timer, DRX inactivity timer, etc. (Zhou paragraph 0357). The device may determine a transmission of CSI report for an MBS session based on an MBS DRX configuration (Zhou paragraph 0353); which indicates that the terminal device obtains information indicating the device to send the CSI based on a multicast DRX]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 44.
Regarding claim 58, Jose discloses an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is coupled to at least one memory, and the at least one processor is configured to execute a computer program or instructions stored in the at least one memory, to enable the apparatus to perform operations comprising [Jose Figure 7 discloses an example communication apparatus 710 and an example network apparatus 720. Apparatus 710 may be a part of an electronic apparatus, which may be a UE, and may include components such as a processor, a memory, and a transceiver (Jose Figure 7, paragraphs 0039-0040, 0043)]:
When a preset condition is satisfied, skipping sending first channel state information (CSI) at a first time, wherein the preset condition comprises any one or more of the following: a first condition, wherein the first condition is that the first time does not belong to an active time of a first discontinuous reception (DRX) and that the first time does not belong to an active time of a second DRX set [Jose discloses that a UE may be configured to perform link maintenance activities. When BA (background activity) window is configures, only those transmission occasions (e.g. CSI or SRS) that fall within the BA window are allowed to be performed by the UE. The UE may be configured to skip the transmission occasions outside of the BA window (Jose paragraph 0034). The BA window may comprise the DRX on duration, and when the DRX mechanism is configured, the UE may use the DRX on duration to perform the background link maintenance activities. The network may configure a specific or additional time window as the BA window (i.e. a second DRX) (Jose paragraph 0035). Jose Figure 4 discloses an example where multiple BA windows (e.g. a first DRX and a second DRX set) are configured. The UE may ignore or skip the reference signals that are outside of the BA windows, and may cancel the CSI/SRS transmission out of BA windows (Jose Figure 4, paragraphs 0036 and 0037)]; or a third condition, wherein the third condition is that neither a first timer nor a second timer set is run at the first time; and wherein:
The first DRX is configured for controlling monitoring of control information specific to a terminal device [Jose discloses that a UE may be configured to perform link maintenance activities. When BA (background activity) window is configures, only those transmission occasions (e.g. CSI or SRS) that fall within the BA window are allowed to be performed by the UE (Jose paragraph 0034). The BA window may comprise the DRX on duration. When the DRX mechanism is configures, the UE may use the DRX on to perform the background link maintenance activities (Jose paragraph 0035). Thus, DRX is configured for controlling monitoring of control information specific to the terminal];
During running of the first timer, the terminal device monitors the control information specific to the terminal device [Jose discloses that after WUI (wake-up indication) is received, an inactivity timer may be initiated, and PDCCH is monitored while the timer is running (i.e. monitoring the control information during running of the timer) (Jose paragraphs 0046-0048)].
Jose does not expressly disclose the features of the second DRX set comprises at least one multicast DRX, the at least one multicast DRX comprises a first multicast DRX, and the first multicast DRX is configured for controlling monitoring of control information related to a first multicast service; and the second timer set comprises at least one multicast timer, the at least one multicast timer comprises a third multicast timer, and during running of the third multicast timer, the terminal device monitors control information related to a third multicast service.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhou Figures 38 and 39 disclose examples of CSI report for MBS (multicast and broadcast service) in DRX configuration. The UE may receive one DRX configuration corresponding to unicast and another DRX configuration corresponding to MBS (similar to the second DRX set comprising multicast DRX) (Zhou paragraph 035). When configured with the MBS DRX, the device may start a DRX on duration timer, and may monitor a MBS dedicated PDCCH, and DCI indicating assignment for a multicast PDSCH resource for transmission of MBS TB (i.e. multicast DRX configured for controlling monitoring of control information related to a first multicast service) (Zhou paragraph 0359). Zhou further discloses that the device may start timer such as DRX on duration timer when configured with MBS DRX (Zhou paragraph 0359); and may start DRX HARQ RTT timer associated with the MBS HARQ process (Zhou paragraph 0361). This also indicate a multicast timer and monitoring control information related to a multicast service.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jose to have the features of the second DRX set comprises at least one multicast DRX, the at least one multicast DRX comprises a first multicast DRX, and the first multicast DRX is configured for controlling monitoring of control information related to a first multicast service; and the second timer set comprises at least one multicast timer, the at least one multicast timer comprises a third multicast timer, and during running of the third multicast timer, the terminal device monitors control information related to a third multicast service; as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve power consumption of the wireless device for CSI report, and to improve MBS throughput (Zhou paragraph 0367).
Claims 32, 34, 38, 46, 48 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jose in view of Zhou, and further in view of Turtinen et al. (US 2023/0217538, hereinafter Turtinen).
Regarding claim 32, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 31. Jose and Zhou do not expressly disclose wherein the first cell set comprises a second cell set, and wherein the second cell set is associated with the second DRX set, and the second cell set comprises at least one cell.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Turtinen discloses that in some examples, a plurality of DRX groups may include a second DRX group with a second cell configured with CSI reporting resources (Turtinen paragraph 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jose and Zhou to have the features of wherein the first cell set comprises a second cell set, and wherein the second cell set is associated with the second DRX set, and the second cell set comprises at least one cell; as taught by Turtinen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce the power consumption of the apparatus (Turtinen paragraphs 0087 and 0100).
Regarding claim 34, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 33. Jose and Zhou do not expressly disclose wherein the first cell set comprises a fourth cell set, and wherein the fourth cell set is associated with the second timer set, and the fourth cell set comprises at least one cell.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Turtinen discloses a plurality of DRX groups which may be associated with a plurality of DRX timers (Turtinen paragraph 0089, Figure 1). Turtinen Figure 2 discloses an example of a plurality of DRX groups and cells where cell 3 and cell 4 correspond to a particular DRX (Turtinen paragraph 0091, Figure 2). Thus, a cell set may be associated with a second timer set.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jose and Zhou to have the features of wherein the first cell set comprises a fourth cell set, and wherein the fourth cell set is associated with the second timer set, and the fourth cell set comprises at least one cell; as taught by Turtinen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce the power consumption of the apparatus (Turtinen paragraphs 0087 and 0100).
Regarding claim 38, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 30. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein skipping, by the terminal device, sending the first CSI at first time comprises any one or more of the following: skipping, by the terminal device, sending CSI on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); skipping, by the terminal device, sending, on the PUCCH, periodic CSI that is a layer 1 (L1)-reference signal receive power (RSRP); or skipping, by the terminal device, sending, on the PUCCH, periodic CSI that is not a L1- RSRP [Zhou discloses that a wireless device may perform CSI reporting on a PUCCH (Zhou paragraph 0344). Zhou further discloses that the device may skip transmitting the CSI report when the device is outside the active time of DRX configuration (see Zhou paragraph 0363, Figure 38)]. Zhou does not expressly disclose that the terminal device skips sending CSI on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Turtinen discloses that when two or more DRX groups are not in active time, the UE does not report CSI on PUCCH (Turtinen paragraphs 0137 and 0138).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jose and Zhou to have the features of wherein skipping, by the terminal device, sending the first CSI at first time comprises any one or more of the following: skipping, by the terminal device, sending CSI on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); skipping, by the terminal device, sending, on the PUCCH, periodic CSI that is a layer 1 (L1)-reference signal receive power (RSRP); or skipping, by the terminal device, sending, on the PUCCH, periodic CSI that is not a L1- RSRP; as taught by Turtinen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce the power consumption of the apparatus (Turtinen paragraphs 0087 and 0100).
Regarding claim 46, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 45. Jose and Zhou do not expressly disclose wherein the first cell set comprises a second cell set, and wherein the second cell set is associated with the second DRX set, and the second cell set comprises at least one cell.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Turtinen discloses that in some examples, a plurality of DRX groups may include a second DRX group with a second cell configured with CSI reporting resources (Turtinen paragraph 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jose and Zhou to have the features of wherein the first cell set comprises a second cell set, and wherein the second cell set is associated with the second DRX set, and the second cell set comprises at least one cell; as taught by Turtinen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce the power consumption of the apparatus (Turtinen paragraphs 0087 and 0100).
Regarding claim 48, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 47. Jose and Zhou do not expressly disclose wherein the first cell set comprises a fourth cell set, and wherein the fourth cell set is associated with the second timer set, and the fourth cell set comprises at least one cell.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Turtinen discloses a plurality of DRX groups which may be associated with a plurality of DRX timers (Turtinen paragraph 0089, Figure 1). Turtinen Figure 2 discloses an example of a plurality of DRX groups and cells where cell 3 and cell 4 correspond to a particular DRX (Turtinen paragraph 0091, Figure 2). Thus, a cell set may be associated with a second timer set.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jose and Zhou to have the features of wherein the first cell set comprises a fourth cell set, and wherein the fourth cell set is associated with the second timer set, and the fourth cell set comprises at least one cell; as taught by Turtinen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce the power consumption of the apparatus (Turtinen paragraphs 0087 and 0100).
Regarding claim 52, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 44. Jose and Zhou further disclose wherein skipping, by the network device, receiving the first CSI at the first time comprises any one or more of the following: skipping, by the network device, receiving CSI on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); skipping, by the network device, receiving, on a PUCCH, periodic CSI that is a layer 1 (L1)-reference signal receive power (RSRP); or skipping, by the network device, receiving, on a PUCCH, periodic CSI that is not a L1- RSRP [Zhou discloses that a wireless device may perform CSI reporting on a PUCCH (Zhou paragraph 0344). Zhou further discloses that the device may skip transmitting the CSI report when the device is outside the active time of DRX configuration (see Zhou paragraph 0363, Figure 38)]. Zhou does not expressly disclose that the terminal device skips sending CSI on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH).
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Turtinen discloses that when two or more DRX groups are not in active time, the UE does not report CSI on PUCCH (Turtinen paragraphs 0137 and 0138).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jose and Zhou to have the features of wherein skipping, by the network device, receiving the first CSI at the first time comprises any one or more of the following: skipping, by the network device, receiving CSI on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); skipping, by the network device, receiving, on a PUCCH, periodic CSI that is a layer 1 (L1)-reference signal receive power (RSRP); or skipping, by the network device, receiving, on a PUCCH, periodic CSI that is not a L1- RSRP; as taught by Turtinen. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce the power consumption of the apparatus (Turtinen paragraphs 0087 and 0100).
Claims 36 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jose in view of Zhou, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2023/0063082, hereinafter Zhou_3082).
Regarding claim 36, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 35. Jose and Zhou do not expressly disclose wherein the tenth multicast service is associated with the first DRX.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhou_3082 discloses that the wireless device may perform the MBS DRX operation and the unicast DRX operation jointly in response to a retransmission of an MBS TB being scheduled by a UE specific DCI (e.g., with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI identifying the wireless device) and/or transmitted via a unicast PDSCH resource (Zhou_3082 paragraph 0357). This is similar to a tenth multicast service (e.g. MBS DRX operation) that is associated with a first DRX (e.g. unicast DRX).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jose and Zhou to have the feature of wherein the tenth multicast service is associated with the first DRX; as taught by Zhou_3082. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce retransmission latency and/or improve multicast throughput (Zhou_3082 paragraph 0367).
Regarding claim 50, Jose and Zhou disclose the method according to claim 49. Jose and Zhou do not expressly disclose wherein the tenth multicast service is associated with the first DRX.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhou_3082 discloses that the wireless device may perform the MBS DRX operation and the unicast DRX operation jointly in response to a retransmission of an MBS TB being scheduled by a UE specific DCI (e.g., with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI/CS-RNTI/MCS-C-RNTI identifying the wireless device) and/or transmitted via a unicast PDSCH resource (Zhou_3082 paragraph 0357). This is similar to a tenth multicast service (e.g. MBS DRX operation) that is associated with a first DRX (e.g. unicast DRX).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jose and Zhou to have the feature of wherein the tenth multicast service is associated with the first DRX; as taught by Zhou_3082. The suggestion/motivation would have been to reduce retransmission latency and/or improve multicast throughput (Zhou_3082 paragraph 0367).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 42 and 56 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 42 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein the preset condition further comprises: the terminal device does not obtain third information; or the terminal device does not obtain fourth information; and wherein the third information indicates to report periodic CSI that is a layer 1 (L1)- reference signal receive power (RSRP) or other CSI that is a L1-RSRP, and the fourth information indicates to report periodic CSI that is not a L1-RSRP or other CSI that is not a L1- RSRP; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 56 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein the preset condition further comprises: the network device does not send third information; or the network device does not send fourth information; and wherein the third information indicates to the terminal device to report periodic CSI that is a layer 1 (L1)-reference signal receive power (RSRP) or other CSI that is a L1-RSRP, and the fourth information indicates the terminal device to report periodic CSI that is not a L1-RSRP or other CSI that is not a Li-RSRP; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414