Claim Objections
Claims 1-6, 8 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 3, the examiner suggests rewriting “the outside of the opening” to --an outside of the opening-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 1, lines 8-9, the examiner suggests rewriting “the outside of the metal resonant rod” to --an outside of the metal resonant rod-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 2, line 1, the examiner suggests rewriting “the bottom of the fixing member” to --a bottom of the fixing member-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 2, line 2, the examiner suggests rewriting “the top of the fixing member” to --a top of the fixing member-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 3, line 2, the examiner suggests rewriting “the outer diameter” to --an outer diameter-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 3, line 3, the examiner suggests rewriting “than that of the second resonant part” to --than an outer diameter of the second resonant part-- to provide a more proper description.
Claim 3, line 5, the examiner suggests rewriting “the inner diameter” to --an inner diameter-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 3, line 5, the examiner suggests rewriting “than that of the second cavity” to --than an inner diameter of the second cavity-- to provide a more proper description.
Claim 4, line 1, the examiner suggests rewriting “the outside” to --an outside-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 5, lines 1-2, at both instances, the examiner suggests rewriting “the top” to --a top-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 5, line 2, the examiner suggests rewriting “the same plane” to --a same plane-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 6, line 2, the examiner suggests rewriting “the outer diameter” to --an outer diameter-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 6, line 3, the examiner suggests rewriting “than that of the second dielectric body” to --than an outer diameter of the second dielectric body-- to provide a more proper description.
Claim 6, line 4, the examiner suggests rewriting “the top surface” to --a top surface-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 6, line 4, the examiner suggests rewriting “the same plane” to --a same plane-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 6, lines 4-5, the examiner suggests rewriting “the top surface” to --a top surface-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 8, line 1, the examiner suggests rewriting “the diameter” to --a diameter-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 8, line 2, the examiner suggests, at both instances, the examiner suggests rewriting “the inner diameter” to --an inner diameter-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Claim 10, line 2, the examiner suggests rewriting “the bottom surface” to --a bottom surface-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xinghua (CN116345094A, Machine English Translation Provided by Examiner).
In regards to claim 1, Xinghua teaches in Fig. 3 a filter/resonator comprising:
A housing (10) comprising a resonant cavity (60) with an opening;
A cover plate (20) covering an outside of the opening of the resonant cavity and connected to the housing;
A metal resonant rod (31) disposed in the resonant cavity;
A dielectric member (32) disposed in the resonant cavity, the dielectric member being disposed on the metal resonant rod; and
A fixing member (33) disposed in the resonant cavity, detachably connected to the outside of the metal resonant rod (31) and the dielectric member (32), and the dielectric member is limitedly connected between the fixing member and the metal resonant rod (see machine English translation Paragraph [0100], which discloses that the fixing member is a sleeve to secure the dielectric member to the metal resonant rod, since the fixing member is a “sleeve” type which isn’t permanent, the fixing member is “detachable” and is “limitedly” connected between the dielectric member and the metal resonant rod since it not permanently attached).
In regards to claim 9, based on Fig. 3, a tuning screw (50) and a nut (present but not labeled) connected to the tuning screw, the tuning screw is threaded (203, see Machine English Translation Paragraph [0118]) connected to the cover plate (20) and extends through the cover plate into the resonant cavity, and the nut is located outside the cover plate (20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xinghua (CN116345094A, Machine English Translation Provided by Examiner) in view of Hershtig (USPAT 5,936,490).
As disclosed above, Xinghua teaches the claimed invention as recited in claim 1. However, Xinghua does not teach: in regards to claim 10, wherein the housing of the resonator further comprises a mounting platform protruding from the bottom surface of the resonant cavity, the metal resonant rod is fixed on the mounting platform, the metal resonant rod and the mounting platform are connected by a connecting bolt.
Hershtig teaches in Fig. 2 a resonator filter comprising: a resonant cavity having a resonator body (R1) located above a mounting platform (32A), in which the mounting platform (32A) protrudes from a bottom surface of the resonant cavity. Based on Fig. 2, the resonator body (R1) is fixed on to the mounting platform, the resonator body and the mounting platform are connected by a connecting bolt (see column 3, lines 42-47).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Xinghua and have included a mounting platform to attached to the metal resonator rod via a connecting bolt because such a modification would have been a well-known in the art substitution of art-recognized alternative way to attach a resonator rod to a cavity filter as exemplary taught by Hershtig.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yuan et al. (US2019/0319331 A1) teaches in Fig. 2 a resonator filter comprising a dielectric member (40) attached to a resonator body (34) via a fixing member (50).
/JORGE L SALAZAR JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843