DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application, Amendments and/or Claims
The amendment of 17 September 2024 has been entered in full.
Claims 1-4 are pending and under consideration in the instant application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16/636,622, filed on 04 February 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04 November 2024 and 10 July 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
It is noted that the Japanese foreign patent documents listed on the IDS of 10 July 2024 (JP2005-518800; JP2012-524747; and JP2011-519359) have not been considered and are crossed out. Specifically, Applicant provided three English-language documents, but there is no identifying information on any of them. The Examiner cannot determine which translated document corresponds to the respective Japanese document. The original Japanese documents have also not been provided.
Additionally, on this same IDS of 10 July 2024, U.S. Patent 5,262,308 has been crossed off because it is cited in triplicate. The Schiedner et al., Niimi et al., Yin et al., and Zhang et al. references have been crossed off because they are duplicate citations.
Lastly, reference CN101553503A (on the IDS of 10 July 2024) has been crossed out because it is not in English. There is no concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language.
Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to because the instant drawings do not comply with 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(U)(1), which states that partial views of a drawing which are intended to form one complete view, whether contained on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter. Figure 1 of the instant application, for example, is presented on 2 separate pages. The two total sheets of drawings for Figure 1 should be renumbered ''Figures 1A-1B”.
Applicant is reminded that once the drawings are changed to meet the separate numbering requirement of 37 C.F.R. 1 1.84(U)(1), Applicant is required to file an amendment to change the Brief Description of the Drawings and the rest of the specification accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bol et al. (U.S. Patent 7,265,260 or US 2003/0182668; both cited on the IDS of 10 July 2024). It is noted that the ‘260 patent and US 2003/0182668 have the same disclosure. Thus, for brevity, relevant portions of the ‘260 patent will be cited below.
Bol et al. teach a construct comprising an engineered human CD8:IGF1R fusion gene, wherein the construct is generated in which the extracellular and transmembrane domains of human CD8 antigen are fused to the intracellular, catalytic tyrosine kinase domain of IGF1R (column 5, lines 54-56; column 6, lines 43-56; Figure 1A). Bol et al. disclose that the CD8 portion of the fusion protein dimerizes in a ligand-independent way, resulting in constitutive activation of the tyrosine kinase (column 6, lines 47-56). Bol et al. state that an intracellular kinase domain may be from IGF1R (column 5, lines 61-67 through column 6, lines 1-3). Bol et al. teach the generation of transgenic mice whose germ and somatic cells express the transgene CD8:IGF1R (column 2, lines 53-56; column 7, lines 23-30). Bol et al. indicate that tumors from salivary and mammary glands of the transgenic mice have high levels of the expressed CD8:IFG1R transgene (column 7, lines 30-63). Bol et al. disclose the selection and removal of these tumors and transplantation into nude mice as xenografts (column 12, Example 5). Bol et al. also teach that the xenograft tumors were grown, selected/excised, and cell lines established that overexpress CD8:IGF1R (column 8, lines 13-65; column 9, lines 1-12; column 12, Example 5; column 14, Example 8; Figures 8-11).
3. Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pappano et al. (BMC Cancer 9: 314, 2009).
Pappano et al. teach the generation of NIH-3T3 fibroblast cells comprising a polynucleotide construct encoding a constitutively active human CD8-IGF1R fusion protein, meeting the limitations of instant claims 1 and 2 (page 2, column 2, 1st full paragraph and last paragraph; top of page 3, column 1; page 5, column 2, last paragraph; page 12, column 2, “additional file 1” paragraph).
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,060,561 (cited on the IDS of 04 November 2024). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a cell comprising a polynucleotide expression construct which encodes a constitutively active variant of a growth factor receptor as a selection marker that is expressed in the cell, wherein the variant of a growth factor receptor is a human CD8-IGF-1R fusion protein.
Claim 1 of the instant application recites a cell comprising a polynucleotide expression construct which encodes a constitutively active variant of a growth factor receptor as a selection marker that is expressed in the cell, wherein the variant of a growth factor receptor is a human CD8-IGF1R fusion protein.
Meanwhile, claim 10 of the ‘561 patent recites a cell comprising a polynucleotide expression construct which encodes a constitutively active variant of a growth factor receptor as a selection marker that is expressed in the cell, wherein the variant of a growth factor receptor is a human CD8-IGF-1R fusion protein, and wherein the polynucleotide expression construct further comprises a gene of interest that is expressed in the cell.
Claim 2 of the instant application and claims 2 and 11 of the ‘561 patent recite wherein the cell is selected from the group consisting of CHO cells, HEK293 cells, CAP cells, Per.C6 cells, BHK cells, Vero cells, MDCK cells, hybridoma cells, and fibroblasts.
Claim 3 of the instant application recites that the human CD8-IGF-1R fusion protein comprises or consists of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1. Claim 4 of the instant application recites that the human CD8-IGF-1R fusion protein is encoded by a nucleic acid comprising or consisting of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2.
Meanwhile, claim 1 of the ‘561 patent recites a method for the selection of a stable producer cell line expressing one or more protein(s) of interest (POIs), comprising the steps of: (a) providing a cell line, (b) concurrently stably transfecting said cell line with (i) a gene encoding a constitutively active variant of a growth factor receptor, wherein the variant of a growth factor receptor is a human CD8-IGF-1R fusion protein, and (ii) one or more gene(s) of interest (GOIs) encoding said POIs, and (c) cultivating said cell line in a cell culture medium either not containing the growth factor that is recognized by said growth factor receptor or containing said growth factor at concentrations which are too low to support growth of the cells in the absence of expression of said constitutively active variant of a growth factor receptor.
Claim 6 of the patent recites the method of claim 1, wherein said human CD8-IGF-1R fusion protein comprises or consists of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1. Claim 7 of the ‘561 patent recites the method of claim 1, wherein said human CD8-IGF-1R fusion protein is encoded by a nucleic acid comprising or consisting of the nucleotide of SEQ ID NO: 2.
It is noted that the fusion protein amino acid sequence of SEQ D NO: 1 of the ‘561 patent claims is 100% identical to the fusion protein amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant claims. The nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 of the ‘561 patent claims is also 100% identical to the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
BEB
Art Unit 1647
25 September 2026
/BRIDGET E BUNNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647