DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs), submitted on 10 July 2024 and 15 January 2025, were filed after the mailing date of the patent application on 10 July 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, received on 10 July 2024, are acceptable for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20200068639 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 12.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 14.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 16.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 17.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 18.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 19.
Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses a control plane (CP) of a base station in a wireless communication system, the CP of the base station comprising:
a transceiver (¶149-150 & Fig. 6, Kim discloses a base station comprising a radio interface 627); and
at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured (¶149-150 & Fig. 6, Kim discloses the BS further comprising processing circuitry 628, coupled to the radio interface 627, and configured to perform a method) to:
transmit, to a user plane (UP) of the base station, a first message (¶150 & Fig. 7 (S705), Kim discloses transmitting, to a user plane (UP) of a target base station (SgNB), a bearer context setup request message) comprising information on a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) for each data radio bearer (DRB) (¶11 & Fig. 7 (S705), Kim discloses that the bearer context setup request message comprises information on a packet date convergence protocol (PDCP) version corresponding to information requesting that the SgNB allocate a resource for a bearer), and
as a response to the first message, receive, from the UP of the base station, a second message (¶150 & Fig. 7 (S705), Kim discloses receiving, from the SgNB, a bearer context setup response message as a response to the bearer context setup request message), wherein the information on the PDCP for each DRB comprises at least one PDCP version information (¶11, Kim discloses that the bearer context setup response message comprises information on a packet date convergence protocol (PDCP) version).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses the CP of the base station of claim 11.
Kim further discloses wherein the first message is a bearer context setup request message or a bearer context modification request message (¶11, Kim discloses the bearer context setup request message), and wherein the second message is a bearer context setup response message or a bearer context modification response message (¶11, Kim discloses the bearer context setup response message).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim discloses the CP of the base station of claim 11.
Kim further discloses wherein the information on the PDCP for each DRB is associated with a PDCP version for a PDCP configuration (¶282, Kim discloses that the indication information is associated with a PDCP version where the PDCP version corresponds to a PDCP configuration for E-UTRA or a PDCP configuration for NR).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim discloses the CP of the base station of claim 11.
Kim further discloses wherein the at least one PDCP version information comprises at least one of an evolved universal terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) PDCP, or a new radio (NR) PDCP (¶282, Kim discloses that the indication information is associated with a PDCP version for a bearer and that the information on the bearer comprises a new radio (NR) bearer).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim discloses a user plane (UP) of a base station in a wireless communication system, the UP of the base station comprising:
a transceiver (¶149-151 & Fig. 6, Kim discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising a radio interface 637); and
at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured (¶149-151 & Fig. 6, Kim discloses the UE further comprising processing circuitry 638, coupled to the radio interface 637, and configured to perform a method) to:
receive, from a control plane (CP) of the base station, a first message (¶150 & Fig. 7 (S705), Kim discloses receiving, from a target base station (SgNB), a bearer context setup request message) comprising information on a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) for each data radio bearer (DRB) (¶11 & Fig. 7 (S705), Kim discloses that the bearer context setup request message comprises information on a packet date convergence protocol (PDCP) version corresponding to information requesting that the SgNB allocate a resource for a bearer), and
as a response to the first message, transmit, to the CP of the base station, a second message (¶150 & Fig. 7 (S705), Kim discloses transmitting, to the SgNB, a bearer context setup response message as a response to the bearer context setup request message), wherein the information on the PDCP for each DRB comprises at least one PDCP version information (¶11, Kim discloses that the bearer context setup response message comprises information on a packet date convergence protocol (PDCP) version).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim discloses the UP of the base station of claim 16.
Kim further discloses wherein the first message is a bearer context setup request message or a bearer context modification request message (¶11, Kim discloses the bearer context setup request message), and wherein the second message is a bearer context setup response message or a bearer context modification response message (¶11, Kim discloses the bearer context setup response message).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim discloses the UP of the base station of claim 16.
Kim further discloses wherein the information on the PDCP for each DRB is associated with a PDCP version for a PDCP configuration (¶282, Kim discloses that the indication information is associated with a PDCP version where the PDCP version corresponds to a PDCP configuration for E-UTRA or a PDCP configuration for NR).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim discloses the UP of the base station of claim 16.
Kim further discloses wherein the at least one PDCP version information comprises at least one of an evolved universal terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) PDCP, or a new radio (NR) PDCP (¶282, Kim discloses that the indication information is associated with a PDCP version for a bearer and that the information on the bearer comprises a new radio (NR) bearer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 10, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Palat et al. (US 20200305230 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Palat”).
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 15.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 20.
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses the CP of the base station of claim 11.
However, Kim does not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the UP of the base station, a third message comprising information on the PDCP supported by the UP of the base station.
Palat, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from the UP of the base station, a third message (¶124-125 & Fig. 8, Palat discloses receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a base station (BS), a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Connection Setup message) comprising information on the PDCP supported by the UP of the base station (¶124-125 & Fig. 8, Palat discloses that the RRC Connection Setup message comprises information on the PDCP version supported by the eNB).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim by receiv[ing], from the UP of the base station, a third message comprising information on the PDCP supported by the UP of the base station as taught by Palat because the establishment of packet date convergence protocol (PDCP) connections are improved by enabling a user equipment (UE) to inform the base station that the UE supports 5GC operation (Palat, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim discloses the UP of the base station of claim 16.
However, Kim does not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the CP of the base station, a third message comprising information on the PDCP supported by the UP of the base station.
Palat, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit, to the CP of the base station, a third message (¶124-125 & Fig. 8, Palat discloses transmitting, to a base station (BS), a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Connection Setup message) comprising information on the PDCP supported by the UP of the base station (¶124-125 & Fig. 8, Palat discloses that the RRC Connection Setup message comprises information on the PDCP version supported by the eNB).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim by transmit[ting], to the CP of the base station, a third message comprising information on the PDCP supported by the UP of the base station as taught by Palat because the establishment of packet date convergence protocol (PDCP) connections are improved by enabling a user equipment (UE) to inform the base station that the UE supports 5GC operation (Palat, Abstract).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474