DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 and 13-20 in the reply filed on 10/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 11, 13-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20020135188 to Chang.
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses:
An electronic lock system (fig 1) for a door (7) comprising: a frame (71); and an electronic lock mechanism (fig 3) operatively mounted to the frame (fig 5), the electronic lock mechanism including: an arm (61) configured to move between a door lock position (fig 4) and a door release position (fig 3), the arm engaging a door (7) to restrict the door from moving in the door lock position, and the arm being spaced from the door (fig 3) to allow the door to move in the door release position; and a linear actuator (30) disposed proximate to the arm (fig 3), the linear actuator configured to move between a system lock position (fig 4) and a system release position (fig 3), the linear actuator presses against the arm (via 51) to move the arm to the door release position when the linear actuator is in the system release position (movement between figs 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses:
The electronic lock system of claim 1, wherein: the electronic lock system further comprises a catch (5) disposed proximate to the arm (fig 3); the catch is configured to move between an arm lock position (fig 4) and an arm release position (fig 3); the catch engages the arm (via 51) to restrict the arm from moving in the arm lock position; the catch is spaced from the arm to allow the arm to move in the arm release position (5 does not occupy passage 651 to allow 61 to move); the linear actuator restricts the catch in the arm lock position by engaging the catch in the system lock position (fig 4), and the linear actuator allows the catch to move to the arm release position by being spaced from the catch in the system lock position (fig 3).
Regarding claim 3, Chang discloses:
The electronic lock system of claim 2, wherein the linear actuator is biased towards the system lock position and moves to the system release position when selectively energized (via 33 when 44 is not present, see end of paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 4, Chang discloses:
The electronic lock system of claim 3, wherein the linear actuator is configured to pull the arm from the arm release position to the arm lock position (via 51) when the linear actuator moves between the system release position to the system lock position (see movement between figs 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 8, Chang discloses:
The electronic lock system of claim 2, wherein the catch engages the arm in the arm lock position when the arm is in the door lock position (fig 4).
Regarding claim 11, Chang discloses:
The electronic lock system of claim 2, wherein the catch is biased towards the arm release position (via 44).
Regarding claim 17, Chang discloses:
The electronic lock system of claim 2, wherein the catch is pivotally mounted to the frame (see figs 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 18, Chang discloses:
The electronic lock system of claim 17, wherein the catch includes: a catch bearing shaft (41) mounted to the frame; and a catch body (5) having a first end (bottom end as seen in fig 4) and a second end (top end seen in fig 4) opposite the first end, the catch body defining: a catch bearing port (52) proximate the first end and complementarily configured with the catch bearing shaft to receive the catch bearing shaft (fig 4); and a notch (511) proximate the second end and complementarily configured with the arm to engage and restrict movement of the arm when the catch is in the arm lock position (fig 4).
Regarding claim 19, Chang discloses:
The electronic lock system of claim 18, wherein the linear actuator engages the catch body between the bearing port and the second end (30 engages 5 and 53, which is between 52 and 511, when engaging 5 to move it).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses (NOTE: this is a different interpretation of claim 1):
An electronic lock system (fig 1) for a door (7) comprising: a frame (71); and an electronic lock mechanism (fig 3) operatively mounted to the frame (fig 5), the electronic lock mechanism including: an arm (5) configured to move between a door lock position (fig 4) and a door release position (fig 3), the arm engaging (via 61) a door (7) to restrict the door from moving in the door lock position, and the arm being spaced from the door (fig 3) to allow the door to move in the door release position; and a linear actuator (30) disposed proximate to the arm (fig 3), the linear actuator configured to move between a system lock position (fig 4) and a system release position (fig 3), the linear actuator presses against the arm (via 41) to move the arm to the door release position when the linear actuator is in the system release position (movement between figs 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 13, Chang discloses:
The electronic lock system of claim 1, wherein the arm is pivotally mounted to the frame (figs 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 14, Chang discloses:
The electronic lock system of claim 13, wherein: the electronic lock system further comprises a housing (20); the frame is supported in the housing (20 supports 71, see fig 5); the arm includes: a platform (51) pivotally mounted to the frame; and a doorstop (61) mounted to the platform; the doorstop extends beyond the housing to engage the door when the arm is in the door lock position (figs 4 and 5); and the doorstop retracts into the housing to be spaced from the door when the arm is in the door release position (fig 3).
Regarding claim 15, Chang discloses:
The electronic lock system of claim 14, wherein: the arm further includes an engagement member (41) operatively mounted to the platform (via 5) in a position proximate to the linear actuator (fig 3); and the linear actuator presses against the engagement member to pivot the arm to the door release position when the linear actuator is in the system release position (see figs 3 and 4)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 9-10, 16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675