DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
No claims are amended.
No claims are canceled.
No newly added claims.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Applicant’s remarks of 7/22/2026 suggests that claim 10 and 11 reciting “first data structure”, third data structure” and “fourth data structure” are just a labels without implying any sequential order or other associative relationship therebetween. Based on this admission, prior rejection of claims 10 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, reasons are set forth below.
Regarding applicant arguments (Remarks page 6-8), where applicant argues that. “DENOUAL does not disclose or suggest at least the following features recited in Claim 1: the sample entry comprises an indication associated with the
restricted scheme (referred to as feature (1) hereinafter), and a value of the indication indicates that a sample in the set of samples is allowed to contain more than one coded picture of the external stream track (referred to as feature (2) hereinafter).
DENOUAL at para. [0128] discloses "samples of a track with a 'Ivcl' (or 'vvcl') sample entry type consist in one or more layer components, possibly leading to more than one decoded pictures for output (having their PictureOutputFlag set to 1) when the corresponding NAL units are given to a video," which identifies "lvcl" and "vvcl" as sample entry types.
The Office Action matches the 'lvcl' (or 'vvcl') sample entry type with "an indication associated with the restricted scheme" recited in Claim 1. However, Claim 1 separately recites (i) "a sample entry type of a sample entry" that is encapsulated based on a restricted scheme and (ii) "an indication associated with the restricted scheme" that is included in the sample entry. It can be seen that the 'lvcl' (or 'vvcl') sample entry type disclosed by DENOUAL, which is a four-character code indicating the track format, merely servers as a sample entry type. In contrast, "the indication associated with the restricted scheme" recited in Claim 1 is an indication included in the sample entry. Apparently, they belong to structural elements at different levels. Therefore, there is a structural mismatch in the mapping between "Ivcl' (or 'vvcl') sample entry type" and "the indication associated with the restricted scheme." DENOUAL does not directly identify "lvcl" or "vvcl" as a separate indication associated with a restricted scheme, much less establish that a value of such an indication has the specific meaning recited in Claim 1.
DENOUAL at para. [0128] also states that the new sample entries "may be declared within an OriginalFormatBox within a RestrictedSchemeInfoBox" if a SchemeTypeBox and a SchemelnformationBox indicate what to do with multiple components. This optional placement of a sample entry type near restricted-scheme boxes does not disclose or suggest the claimed field- value relationship. The cited paragraph does not identify a particular value in a restricted-scheme indication and does not state that such value carries the permission recited in Claim 1.
Applicant therefore respectfully asserts that DENOUAL does not disclose or suggest the claimed restricted-scheme indication as distinct from the sample entry type. DENOUAL fails to disclose, teach or suggest feature (1) recited in Claim 1.
Moreover, DENOUAL at para. [0128] states that one or more layer components "possibly leading to more than one decoded pictures for output." The quoted statement differs from the features of Claim 1. Claim 1 requires that this permission is indicated by a value of the restricted-scheme indication. DENOUAL describes a possible processing outcome of layer components. It does not state that a value of an indication associated with a restricted scheme signals that a sample is allowed to contain multiple coded pictures. The word "possibly" also does not establish inherency. Under MPEP § 2112, an inherent feature must necessarily be present in the prior-art arrangement, rather than merely possible.
Accordingly, the cited portions do not appear to disclose, expressly or inherently, the complete limitation and the claimed arrangement linking (a) the restricted scheme, (b) the indication, (c) a value of the indication, and (d) the permission for a sample to contain more than one coded picture. Therefore, Applicant respectfully asserts that "possibly leading to more than one decoded pictures for output" does not disclose the claimed value semantics. DENOUAL fails to disclose, teach or suggest feature (2) recited in Claim 1.”
In response, the examiner respectfully points out that, Denoual in par. 0128 discloses, indicate that a VVC track encapsulates more than one output layer, a new sample entry type is used, for example ‘Ivc1’ or ‘vvcl’, for VVC track with multiple output layers. Samples of a track with a ‘Ivc1’ (or ‘vvcl’) sample entry type consist in one or more layer components, possibly leading to more than one decoded pictures for output (having their PictureOutputFlag set to 1) when the corresponding NAL units are given to a video decoder.
, Denoual in par. 0128 further discloses, these new sample entries may be declared within an OriginalFormatBox within a RestrictedSchemeInfoBox provided that a SchemeTypeBox and a SchemeInformationBox indicate what to do with these multiple components. Applicant argues that "This optional placement of a sample entry type near restricted-scheme boxes does not disclose or suggest the claimed field- value relationship”. However, the examiner points out that claim language does not claims any specific “field- value relationship”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “field- value relationship”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993)).
As claimed in claim 1, claim language simply suggests that “sample entry comprises an indication associated with restricted scheme”, Denoual in par. 0128 disclosing placement of sample entry type in OriginalFormatBox within a RestrictedSchemeInfoBox indicates its association with restricted scheme.
As disclosed in Denoual in par. 0128, that a VVC track encapsulates more than one output layer, a new sample entry type is used, for example ‘Ivc1’ or ‘vvcl’, for VVC track with multiple output layers. Samples of a track with a ‘Ivc1’ (or ‘vvcl’) sample entry type consist in one or more layer components, possibly leading to more than one decoded pictures for output (having their PictureOutputFlag set to 1) when the corresponding NAL units are given to a video decoder. Here, The use of sample entry type value in form of code “vvcl” indicates sample entry type explicitly indicates that multiple coded pictures may be present (i.e. it is allowed) within a single media sample as per the ISO Base Media File Format (ISOBMFF) mappings for video codecs.
Hence Denoual teaches, sample entry type is declared within an OriginalFormatBox within a RestrictedSchemeInfoBox with its value in form of code “vvcl” indicates its association with the restricted scheme and value of sample entry type being “vvcl” indicates that samples can have or permitted to have more than one coded pictures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Denoual et al. (US 20220166997), hereinafter as Denoual.
Regarding claim 1, Denoual discloses, A method for video processing, comprising:
performing a conversion between a bitstream of a video and a media file of the video (Par. 0048, The server encodes the sequence of pictures into media data (i.e. bit-stream) using a media encoder (e.g. video encoder), and encapsulates the media data in one or more media files using encapsulation module 205, i.e. converting bit-stream into media file by encapsulating bit-stream into medial file),
wherein the media file comprises an external stream track comprising a set of samples, a sample entry type of a sample entry for the set of samples is encapsulated based on a restricted scheme (Par. 0012, When encapsulating a VVC bitstream into an ISOBMFF file the different layers are encapsulated into one or several tracks reflecting the organization of the bitstream. Some of the structures present in the metadata part of the ISOBMFF file are used to describe the organization of the bitstream encapsulated into the file, Par. 0043, fig. 1a, an example of a video bitstream where video frames may be encoded into one or more independent layers (100, 110 and 120). Each layer may correspond, for example, to an alternative quality of a same video, or to a different area (e.g. spatial part) of a same video, par. 0128, explicitly indicate that a VVC track encapsulates more than one output layer, a new sample entry type is used, for example ‘Ivc1’ or ‘vvcl’, for VVC track with multiple output layers. Samples of a track with a ‘Ivc1’ (or ‘vvcl’) sample entry type consist in one or more layer components, possibly leading to more than one decoded pictures for output (having their PictureOutputFlag set to 1) when the corresponding NAL units are given to a video decoder. These new sample entries may be declared within an OriginalFormatBox within a RestrictedSchemeInfoBox provided that a SchemeTypeBox and a SchemeInformationBox indicate what to do with these multiple components i.e. ISOBMFF file comprises additional stream track of higher temporal version to base layer (see par. 0010), hence additional stream track different than base layer track or external to base layer track that contains sample entry type that is encapsulated based on RestrictedSchemeInfoBox ),
the sample entry comprises an indication associated with the restricted scheme, and a value of the indication indicates that a sample in the set of samples is allowed to contain more than one coded picture of the external stream track (Par. 0128, Samples of a track with a ‘Ivc1’ (or ‘vvcl’) sample entry type consist in one or more layer components, possibly leading to more than one decoded pictures for output (having their PictureOutputFlag set to 1) when the corresponding NAL units are given to a video decoder, i.e. sample entry type comprises indication value such as ‘Ivc1’ or ‘vvcl’ for example indicates it consist of multiple output players, hence it explicitly indicates that more than one output layer is allowed to be encapsulated which lead to (i.e. permits to have) more than one decoded pictures for output).
Regarding claim 2. The method of claim 1,
Denoual further discloses, wherein the sample entry type is an original sample entry type (Par. 0128, Samples of a track with a ‘Ivc1’ (or ‘vvcl’) sample entry type consist in one or more layer components, These new sample entries may be declared within an OriginalFormatBox within a RestrictedSchemeInfoBox provided that a SchemeTypeBox and a SchemeInformationBox indicate what to do with these multiple components, i.e. sample entry type is declared within original format box = sample entry type is an original sample entry type ).
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 1,
Denoual further discloses, wherein the sample entry comprises a first data structure containing information on the restricted scheme, the first data structure comprises a second data structure identifying the restricted scheme, and the indication comprises a first field in the second data structure (Par. 0128, new sample entries (i.e. a field that indicates sample entry type within second data structure) may be declared within an OriginalFormatBox within a RestrictedSchemeInfoBox (i.e. first data structure) provided that a SchemeTypeBox (i.e. second data structure) and a SchemeInformationBox indicate what to do with these multiple components).
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 3,
Denoual further discloses, wherein the first data structure is a restricted scheme information box, the second data structure is a scheme type box, and the first field is a scheme type field (Par. 0128, new sample entries (i.e. a field that indicates sample entry type within second data structure) may be declared within an OriginalFormatBox within a RestrictedSchemeInfoBox (i.e. first data structure) provided that a SchemeTypeBox (i.e. second data structure) and a SchemeInformationBox indicate what to do with these multiple components).
Regarding claim 5, The method of claim 3,
Denoual further discloses, wherein a value of the first field is equal to a predetermined code (par. 0128, new samples entry types may be used. To explicitly indicate that a VVC track encapsulates more than one output layer, a new sample entry type is used, for example ‘Ivc1’ or ‘vvcl’ (i.e. predetermined code), for VVC track with multiple output layers. Samples of a track with a ‘Ivc1’ (or ‘vvcl’) sample entry type consist in one or more layer components).
Regarding claim 6, The method of claim 1,
Denoual further discloses, wherein a uniform resource identifier (URI) of the restricted scheme is absent from the media file (Par. 0128, new sample entries (i.e. a field that indicates sample entry type within second data structure) may be declared within an OriginalFormatBox within a RestrictedSchemeInfoBox (i.e. first data structure) provided that a SchemeTypeBox (i.e. second data structure) and a SchemeInformationBox indicate what to do with these multiple components, i.e. sample entry comprises first data structure that contains information on the restricted scheme, first data structure (i.e. scheme type box) identifies restricted scheme, therefore, restricted scheme does not contain any URI).
Regarding claim 9, The method of claim 1,
Denoual further discloses, wherein the sample entry type is encapsulated with a predetermined sample entry code (par. 0128, new samples entry types may be used. To explicitly indicate that a VVC track encapsulates more than one output layer, a new sample entry type is used, for example ‘Ivc1’ or ‘vvcl’ (i.e. predetermined code), for VVC track with multiple output layers. Samples of a track with a ‘Ivc1’ (or ‘vvcl’) sample entry type consist in one or more layer components).
Regarding claim 10, The method of claim 1,
Denoual further discloses, wherein the sample entry comprises a first data structure containing information on the restricted scheme, and the first data structure comprises a third data structure storing the sample entry type (Par. 0128, new sample entries (i.e. a field that indicates sample entry type within second data structure) may be declared within an OriginalFormatBox (i.e. third data structure) within a RestrictedSchemeInfoBox (i.e. first data structure) provided that a SchemeTypeBox (i.e. second data structure) and a SchemeInformationBox indicate what to do with these multiple components).
Regarding claim 11, The method of claim 1,
Denoual further discloses, wherein the media file comprises a fourth data structure containing information associated with the external stream track (Par. new samples entry types may be used. To explicitly indicate that a VVC track encapsulates more than one output layer, a new sample entry type is used, for example ‘Ivc1’ or ‘vvcl’, for VVC track with multiple output layers (i.e. sample entry type indicates there are multiple output layers (i.e. stream tracks, base layer and additional or external layer external to base layer). 0128, new sample entries (i.e. a field that indicates sample entry type within second data structure) may be declared within an OriginalFormatBox (i.e. fourth data structure) within a RestrictedSchemeInfoBox (i.e. first data structure) provided that a SchemeTypeBox (i.e. second data structure) and a SchemeInformationBox (i.e. fourth data structure) indicate what to do with these multiple components).
Regarding claim 12, The method of claim 1,
Denoual further discloses, wherein the media file is of an international organization for standardization (ISO) base media file format (Par. 0051, media file 230 may encapsulate media data (e.g. encoded audio or video) into boxes according to ISO Base Media File Format).
Regarding claim 13, The method of claim 1,
Denoual further discloses, wherein the conversion comprises generating the media file and storing the bitstream to the media file (Par. 0048, The server encodes the sequence of pictures into media data (i.e. bit-stream) using a media encoder (e.g. video encoder), and encapsulates the media data in one or more media files using encapsulation module 205).
Regarding claim 14, The method of claim 1,
Denoual further discloses, wherein the conversion comprises parsing the media file to reconstruct the bitstream (Par. 0049, after the received data have been de-encapsulated in de-encapsulation module 215 (also known as a parser), the de-encapsulated data (or parsed data), corresponding to a media data bit-stream, are decoded, forming (i.e. reconstructing at video bitstream at decoder end), for example, audio and/or video data that may be stored, displayed or output).
Regarding claim 15, Denoual meets claim limitation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Denoual meets claim limitation as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, Denoual meets claim limitation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Denoual meets claim limitation as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, Denoual meets claim limitation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Denoual meets claim limitation as set forth in claim 3.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denoual et al. (US 20220166997), hereinafter as Denoual, in view of Denoual et al. (US 20210377581), herein after as Denoual2.
Regarding claim 7. The method of claim 1,
Denoual further discloses wherein the sample entry comprises a first data structure containing information on the restricted scheme, the first data structure comprises a second data structure identifying the restricted scheme ((Par. 0128, new sample entries (i.e. a field that indicates sample entry type within second data structure) may be declared within an OriginalFormatBox within a RestrictedSchemeInfoBox (i.e. first data structure) provided that a SchemeTypeBox (i.e. second data structure) and a SchemeInformationBox indicate what to do with these multiple components).
Denoual does not disclose, a value of the least significant bit of a flags field in the second data structure is equal to 0.
Denoual2 discloses, a value of the least significant bit of a flags field in the second data structure is equal to 0 (par. 0359, when the flags parameter has the least significant bit set to 0, this means that the reference picture is the projected picture in case of omnidirectional video. When the flags parameter has its least significant bit set to 1, then it means that the reference picture is the packed picture in case of omnidirectional video).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Denoual, by teaching of a value of the least significant bit of a flags field in the second data structure is equal to 0, as taught by Denoual2, for managing how pictures will be projected or displayed while using restricted scheme, as disclosed in by Denoual2 par. 0359 and 0361.
Regarding claim 8, The method of claim 7,
Denoual further discloses, wherein the first data structure is a restricted scheme information box, and the second data structure is a scheme type box (Par. 0128, new sample entries (i.e. a field that indicates sample entry type within second data structure) may be declared within an OriginalFormatBox within a RestrictedSchemeInfoBox (i.e. first data structure) provided that a SchemeTypeBox (i.e. second data structure) and a SchemeInformationBox indicate what to do with these multiple components).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422