DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claims 7 & 8 cite the use of a “reduction unit,” but the specification lacks an enabling description for the cited “reduction unit.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-10, & 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eguchi (US PGPub 20220158691).
As per claim 1:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
A wireless communication system comprising:
a transmission apparatus including at least two sending transmission lines (transmission line coupler 111, [0023]) located with at least either feeding points (coupled to 104) of a signal or termination points (coupled to 102) opposed to each other (as seen in Fig. 1), and a transmission unit (differential buffer 104) configured to input a signal to each of the feeding points of the at least two sending transmission lines; and
a reception apparatus including a receiving transmission line (transmission coupler 101) configured to move along ([0023]) the at least two sending transmission lines ([0022]), establish electromagnetic field coupling with the sending transmission lines, and receive an excited signal ([0023]), and an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line and output a signal to be subjected to demodulation processing based on the received signals ([0042]).
As per claim 6:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
the transmission unit is configured to input a same signal to the respective feeding points of the at least two sending transmission lines at same timing (104 is a differential buffer, producing a differential signal [0037], such that the same differential signal is input to the respective feeding points at the same time).
As per claim 9:
Eguchi discloses in Figs. 1 & 5A/B:
at least either the at least two sending transmission lines or the receiving transmission line include(s) a ground ([0052, 0061]) configured to provide a reference potential of the transmission line(s), at least a part of the ground lying away from a substrate (303/313) constituting the transmission line(s).
As per claim 10:
Eguchi discloses in Figs. 1 & 5A/B:
the at least part of the ground is opposed to an opposite surface of the substrate from a surface where a line pattern is formed (as shown in Fig. 5B).
As per claim 14:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
A reception apparatus configured to receive a signal from at least two sending transmission lines (transmission line coupler 111, [0023]) located with at least either feeding points (coupled to 104) of a signal or termination points (coupled to 102) opposed to each other (as seen in Fig. 1), the reception apparatus comprising:
a receiving transmission line (transmission coupler 101) configured to move along ([0023]) the at least two sending transmission lines, establish electromagnetic field coupling with the sending transmission lines, and receive an excited signal ([0023]); and
an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line and output a signal to be subjected to demodulation processing based on the received signals ([0042]).
As per claim 15:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
A control method ([0076]) for controlling a wireless communication system including
a transmission apparatus (transmission line coupler 111) and a reception apparatus (transmission line coupler 101), the transmission apparatus including at least two sending transmission lines ([0023]) located with at least either feeding points (coupled to 104) of a signal or termination points (coupled to 102) opposed to each other (as seen in Fig. 1), and a transmission unit (differential buffer 104) configured to input a signal to the at least two sending transmission lines, the reception apparatus including a receiving transmission line ([0022]) configured to move along the at least two sending transmission lines ([0023]), establish electromagnetic field coupling with the sending transmission lines, and receive an excited signal, and an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive a signal from the receiving transmission line and output a signal to be subjected to demodulation processing based on the received signal ([0042]), the control method comprising:
causing the transmission unit to input the signal to each of the feeding points of the at least two sending transmission lines (from differential buffer 104); and
causing the output unit to receive respective signals from one end and another end (ends connected to 113) of the receiving transmission line and to output the signal to be subjected to the demodulation processing based on the received signals ([0042]).
As per claim 16:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
A control method for controlling a reception apparatus including a receiving transmission line (transmission coupler 101) and an output unit (comparator 113), the receiving transmission line being configured to move along at least two sending transmission lines ([0023]) located with at least either feeding points (coupled to 104) of a signal or termination points (coupled to 102) opposed to each other (as seen in Fig. 1), establish electromagnetic field coupling with the sending transmission lines, and receive an excited signal, the output unit being configured to receive a signal from the receiving transmission line and output a signal to be subjected to demodulation processing based on the received signal ([0042]), the control method comprising: causing the output unit to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line ([0038]) and to output the signal to be subjected to the demodulation processing based on the received signals ([0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (US PGPub 20220158691) in view of Lee et al. (US PGPub 20190028064)
As per claim 8:
Eguchi does not disclose:
the transmission unit includes a signal generation unit and a reduction unit configured to reduce a ripple component included in a signal output from the signal generation unit at a stage prior to the at least two sending transmission lines.
Lee et al. discloses in Fig. 1B:
a signal generation unit (power amplifier 102) and a reduction unit (band rejection filter 104) configured to reduce a ripple component included in a signal output from the signal generation unit ([0044]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the transmission unit of Eguchi to comprise a signal generation unit and a reduction unit as per Lee et al. to provided the benefit of suppressing signals in a certain frequency band, as taught by Lee et al. ([0044])
As a consequence of the combination, the transmission unit includes a signal generation unit and a reduction unit configured to reduce a ripple component included in a signal output from the signal generation unit at a stage prior to the at least two sending transmission lines.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (US PGPub 20220158691) in view of Dutta et al. (US PGPub 20080048800)
As per claim 11:
Eguchi does not disclose:
a space between the at least part of the ground and the opposite surface is filled with a substance having a relative permittivity different from that of the substrate.
Dutta discloses in Fig. 3A:
A microstrip configuration comprising a signal line (100), a substrate (dielectric material 104) having a bottom surface (top of trench 106), a ground plane (102), wherein a space between the at least part of the ground and the opposite surface is filled with a substance having a relative permittivity different from that of the substrate ([0017]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the trench of Dutta to the transmission lines of Eguchi to provide the benefit of controlling the impedance of the transmission lines, as taught by Dutta et al. ([0045])
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (US PGPub 20220158691) in view of Chang et al. (US PGPub 20100282504)
As per claim 12:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
the at least two sending transmission lines and the receiving transmission line each include differential lines (abstract).
Eguchi does not disclose:
wherein at least either the at least two sending transmission lines or the receiving transmission line has/have a groove in at least part of a portion between a pair of traces constituting the differential lines of the substrate constituting the transmission line(s).
Chang et al. discloses in Fig. 4j:
A differential ([0124]) microstrip transmission line configuration comprising a substrate (dielectric layer D31) having a bottom surface (bottom), a ground plane (L32, [0124]), wherein transmission lines (conductive tracks CT1/CT2) has/have a groove (location of dielectric layer DM1 or DM2) in at least part of a portion between a pair of traces constituting differential lines of the substrate constituting the transmission line(s) (as seen in Fig. 4j).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the differential microstrip configuration of Eguchi for at least either the at least two sending transmission lines or the receiving transmission line with the configuration of Chang et al. to provide the benefit of controlling the characteristic impedance while increasing the trace width, as taught by Chang et al. ([0081])
As a consequence of the combination, at least either the at least two sending transmission lines or the receiving transmission line has/have a groove in at least part of a portion between a pair of traces constituting the differential lines of the substrate constituting the transmission line(s).
As per claim 13:
Eguchi does not disclose:
the groove is filled with a substance having a relative permittivity lower than that of the substrate.
Chang et al. discloses in Fig. 4j:
A differential ([0124]) microstrip transmission line configuration comprising a substrate (dielectric layer D31) having a bottom surface (bottom), a ground plane (L32, [0124]), wherein transmission lines (conductive tracks CT1/CT2) has/have a groove (location of dielectric layer DM1 or DM2) in at least part of a portion between a pair of traces constituting differential lines of the substrate constituting the transmission line(s) (as seen in Fig. 4j).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 12, the groove is filled with a substance having a relative permittivity lower than that of the substrate.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9-10, & 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (US PGPub 20220158691) (in an alternative interpretation) in view of Yamauchi et al. (US PGPub 20100097160)
As per claim 1:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
A wireless communication system comprising:
a transmission apparatus including at least two sending transmission lines (transmission line coupler 111, [0023]) located with at least either feeding points (coupled to 104) of a signal or termination points (coupled to 102) opposed to each other (as seen in Fig. 1), and a transmission unit (differential buffer 104) configured to input a signal to each of the feeding points of the at least two sending transmission lines; and
a reception apparatus including a receiving transmission line (transmission coupler 101) configured to move along ([0023]) the at least two sending transmission lines ([0022]), establish electromagnetic field coupling with the sending transmission lines, and receive an excited signal ([0023]), an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals from the receiving transmission line and output a signal to be subjected to demodulation processing based on the received signals ([0042]).
Eguchi further discloses:
The transmission and reception coupler operate as a directional coupler ([0024]).
Eguchi does not disclose (in the alternative interpretation):
an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line.
Yamauchi discloses in Fig. 1:
a reception apparatus in a directional coupler (title) including a receiving transmission line (coupling line 102, shown in related Fig. 11) receiving an excited signal (from input terminal 11), an output (terminal 31) from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line (as seen in Fig. 1).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the receiving line of Eguchi to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line with a combiner (30) and an attenuator (20a) as per Yamauchi, to provide the benefit of improving directionality of the circuit as per Yamauchi ([0045]).
As per claim 2:
Eguchi does not disclose:
the output unit includes a combination unit configured to combine the signals received from the one end and the another end of the receiving transmission line, and is configured to output a signal combined by the combination unit as the signal to be subjected to the demodulation processing.
Yamauchi discloses in Fig. 2:
a reception apparatus in a directional coupler (title) including a receiving transmission line (coupling line 102, shown in related Fig. 11) receiving an excited signal (from input terminal 11), an output (terminal 31) from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line (as seen in Fig. 1), wherein the output unit includes a combination unit (combiner 30 and attenuator 20a) configured to combine the signals received from the one end and the another end of the receiving transmission line, and is configured to output a signal combined by the combination unit as the signal to be output (through third terminal 31).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1,
the output unit includes a combination unit configured to combine the signals received from the one end and the another end of the receiving transmission line, and is configured to output a signal combined by the combination unit as the signal to be subjected to the demodulation processing.
As per claim 3:
Eguchi does not disclose:
impedance of lines from the output unit to the one end and the another end of the receiving transmission line is matched with characteristic impedance of the receiving transmission line.
Yamauchi discloses in Fig. 2:
impedance of lines from the output unit to the one end and the another end of the receiving transmission line is matched with characteristic impedance of the receiving transmission line ([0046]).
As a consequence of the combination, impedance of lines from the output unit to the one end and the another end of the receiving transmission line is matched with characteristic impedance of the receiving transmission line.
As per claim 6:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
the transmission unit is configured to input a same signal to the respective feeding points of the at least two sending transmission lines at same timing (104 is a differential buffer, producing a differential signal [0037], such that the same differential signal is input to the respective feeding points at the same time).
As per claim 7:
Eguchi does not disclose:
the output unit includes a reduction unit configured to reduce a signal component of an isolation end in the signal output from the receiving transmission line.
Yamauchi et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
the output unit includes a reduction unit (attenuator 20a) configured to reduce a signal component of an isolation end in the signal output from the receiving transmission line ([0041, 0046]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the output unit includes a reduction unit configured to reduce a signal component of an isolation end in the signal output from the receiving transmission line.
As per claim 9:
Eguchi discloses in Figs. 1 & 5A/B:
at least either the at least two sending transmission lines or the receiving transmission line include(s) a ground ([0052, 0061]) configured to provide a reference potential of the transmission line(s), at least a part of the ground lying away from a substrate (303/313) constituting the transmission line(s).
As per claim 10:
Eguchi discloses in Figs. 1 & 5A/B:
the at least part of the ground is opposed to an opposite surface of the substrate from a surface where a line pattern is formed (as shown in Fig. 5B).
As per claim 14:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
A reception apparatus configured to receive a signal from at least two sending transmission lines (transmission line coupler 111, [0023]) located with at least either feeding points (coupled to 104) of a signal or termination points (coupled to 102) opposed to each other (as seen in Fig. 1), the reception apparatus comprising:
a receiving transmission line (transmission coupler 101) configured to move along ([0023]) the at least two sending transmission lines, establish electromagnetic field coupling with the sending transmission lines, and receive an excited signal ([0023]); and
an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals of the receiving transmission line and output a signal to be subjected to demodulation processing based on the received signals ([0042]).
Eguchi further discloses:
The transmission and reception coupler operate as a directional coupler ([0024]).
Eguchi does not disclose (in the alternative interpretation):
an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line.
Yamauchi discloses in Fig. 1:
a reception apparatus in a directional coupler (title) including a receiving transmission line (coupling line 102, shown in related Fig. 11) receiving an excited signal (from input terminal 11), an output (terminal 31) from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line (as seen in Fig. 1).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the receiving line of Eguchi to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line with a combiner (30) and an attenuator (20a) as per Yamauchi, to provide the benefit of improving directionality of the circuit as per Yamauchi ([0045]).
As per claim 15:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
A control method ([0076]) for controlling a wireless communication system including
a transmission apparatus (transmission line coupler 111) and a reception apparatus (transmission line coupler 101), the transmission apparatus including at least two sending transmission lines ([0023]) located with at least either feeding points (coupled to 104) of a signal or termination points (coupled to 102) opposed to each other (as seen in Fig. 1), and a transmission unit (differential buffer 104) configured to input a signal to the at least two sending transmission lines, the reception apparatus including a receiving transmission line ([0022]) configured to move along the at least two sending transmission lines ([0023]), establish electromagnetic field coupling with the sending transmission lines, and receive an excited signal, and an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive a signal from the receiving transmission line and output a signal to be subjected to demodulation processing based on the received signal ([0042]), the control method comprising:
causing the transmission unit to input the signal to each of the feeding points of the at least two sending transmission lines (from differential buffer 104); and
causing the output unit to receive respective signals of the receiving transmission line and to output the signal to be subjected to the demodulation processing based on the received signals ([0042]).
Eguchi further discloses:
The transmission and reception coupler operate as a directional coupler ([0024]).
Eguchi does not disclose (in the alternative interpretation):
an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line.
Yamauchi discloses in Fig. 1:
a reception apparatus in a directional coupler (title) including a receiving transmission line (coupling line 102, shown in related Fig. 11) receiving an excited signal (from input terminal 11), an output (terminal 31) from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line (as seen in Fig. 1).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the receiving line of Eguchi to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line with a combiner (30) and an attenuator (20a) as per Yamauchi, to provide the benefit of improving directionality of the circuit as per Yamauchi ([0045]).
As per claim 16:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
A control method for controlling a reception apparatus including a receiving transmission line (transmission coupler 101) and an output unit (comparator 113), the receiving transmission line being configured to move along at least two sending transmission lines ([0023]) located with at least either feeding points (coupled to 104) of a signal or termination points (coupled to 102) opposed to each other (as seen in Fig. 1), establish electromagnetic field coupling with the sending transmission lines, and receive an excited signal, the output unit being configured to receive a signal from the receiving transmission line and output a signal to be subjected to demodulation processing based on the received signal ([0042]), the control method comprising: causing the output unit to receive respective signals from the receiving transmission line ([0038]) and to output the signal to be subjected to the demodulation processing based on the received signals ([0042]).
Eguchi further discloses:
The transmission and reception coupler operate as a directional coupler ([0024]).
Eguchi does not disclose (in the alternative interpretation):
an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line.
Yamauchi discloses in Fig. 1:
a reception apparatus in a directional coupler (title) including a receiving transmission line (coupling line 102, shown in related Fig. 11) receiving an excited signal (from input terminal 11), an output (terminal 31) from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line (as seen in Fig. 1).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the receiving line of Eguchi to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line with a combiner (30) and an attenuator (20a) as per Yamauchi, to provide the benefit of improving directionality of the circuit as per Yamauchi ([0045]).
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9-10, & 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (US PGPub 20220158691) (in an alternative interpretation) in view of Solomko et al. (US PGPub 20170026020)
As per claim 1:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
A wireless communication system comprising:
a transmission apparatus including at least two sending transmission lines (transmission line coupler 111, [0023]) located with at least either feeding points (coupled to 104) of a signal or termination points (coupled to 102) opposed to each other (as seen in Fig. 1), and a transmission unit (differential buffer 104) configured to input a signal to each of the feeding points of the at least two sending transmission lines; and
a reception apparatus including a receiving transmission line (transmission coupler 101) configured to move along ([0023]) the at least two sending transmission lines ([0022]), establish electromagnetic field coupling with the sending transmission lines, and receive an excited signal ([0023]), an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals from the receiving transmission line and output a signal to be subjected to demodulation processing based on the received signals ([0042]).
Eguchi further discloses:
The transmission and reception coupler operate as a directional coupler ([0024]).
Eguchi does not disclose (in the alternative interpretation):
an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line.
Solomko discloses in Fig. 3a:
a reception apparatus in a directional coupler (title) including a receiving transmission line (coupling line of directional coupler 102, shown in related Fig. 10) receiving an excited signal (from 101), an output (coupled port at power detector 108) from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line (through switch 162).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the receiving line of Eguchi to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line with a switch as per Solomko, to provide the benefit of increasing directionality of the circuit as per Solomko ([0037]).
As per claim 4:
Eguchi does not disclose:
the output unit is configured to output either one of the respective signals received from the one end and the another end of the receiving transmission line as the signal to be subjected to the demodulation processing.
Solomko discloses in Fig. 3a:
a reception apparatus in a directional coupler (title) including a receiving transmission line (coupling line of directional coupler 102, shown in related Fig. 10) receiving an excited signal (from 101), an output (coupled port at power detector 108) from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line (through switch 162).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the output unit is configured to output either one of the respective signals received from the one end and the another end of the receiving transmission line as the signal to be subjected to the demodulation processing.
As per claim 5:
Eguchi does not disclose:
the output unit is in connection to a termination resistor and a demodulation unit configured to perform the demodulation processing and includes a switching unit configured to connect either one of the one end and the another end to the demodulation unit and connect the other to the termination resistor.
Solomko discloses in Fig. 3a:
a reception apparatus in a directional coupler (title) including a receiving transmission line (coupling line of directional coupler 102, shown in related Fig. 10) receiving an excited signal (from 101), an output (coupled port at power detector 108) from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line (through switch 162), wherein the output unit is in connection to a termination resistor and an output includes a switching unit (switch 162) configured to connect either one of the one end and the another end to the demodulation unit and connect the other to the termination resistor (164 or 166, [0037]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 1, the output unit is in connection to a termination resistor and a demodulation unit configured to perform the demodulation processing and includes a switching unit configured to connect either one of the one end and the another end to the demodulation unit and connect the other to the termination resistor.
As per claim 6:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
the transmission unit is configured to input a same signal to the respective feeding points of the at least two sending transmission lines at same timing (104 is a differential buffer, producing a differential signal [0037], such that the same differential signal is input to the respective feeding points at the same time).
As per claim 9:
Eguchi discloses in Figs. 1 & 5A/B:
at least either the at least two sending transmission lines or the receiving transmission line include(s) a ground ([0052, 0061]) configured to provide a reference potential of the transmission line(s), at least a part of the ground lying away from a substrate (303/313) constituting the transmission line(s).
As per claim 10:
Eguchi discloses in Figs. 1 & 5A/B:
the at least part of the ground is opposed to an opposite surface of the substrate from a surface where a line pattern is formed (as shown in Fig. 5B).
As per claim 14:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
A reception apparatus configured to receive a signal from at least two sending transmission lines (transmission line coupler 111, [0023]) located with at least either feeding points (coupled to 104) of a signal or termination points (coupled to 102) opposed to each other (as seen in Fig. 1), the reception apparatus comprising:
a receiving transmission line (transmission coupler 101) configured to move along ([0023]) the at least two sending transmission lines, establish electromagnetic field coupling with the sending transmission lines, and receive an excited signal ([0023]); and
an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals of the receiving transmission line and output a signal to be subjected to demodulation processing based on the received signals ([0042]).
Eguchi further discloses:
The transmission and reception coupler operate as a directional coupler ([0024]).
Eguchi does not disclose (in the alternative interpretation):
an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line.
Solomko discloses in Fig. 3a:
a reception apparatus in a directional coupler (title) including a receiving transmission line (coupling line of directional coupler 102, shown in related Fig. 10) receiving an excited signal (from 101), an output (coupled port at power detector 108) from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line (through switch 162).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the receiving line of Eguchi to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line with a switch as per Solomko, to provide the benefit of increasing directionality of the circuit as per Solomko ([0037]).
As per claim 15:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
A control method ([0076]) for controlling a wireless communication system including
a transmission apparatus (transmission line coupler 111) and a reception apparatus (transmission line coupler 101), the transmission apparatus including at least two sending transmission lines ([0023]) located with at least either feeding points (coupled to 104) of a signal or termination points (coupled to 102) opposed to each other (as seen in Fig. 1), and a transmission unit (differential buffer 104) configured to input a signal to the at least two sending transmission lines, the reception apparatus including a receiving transmission line ([0022]) configured to move along the at least two sending transmission lines ([0023]), establish electromagnetic field coupling with the sending transmission lines, and receive an excited signal, and an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive a signal from the receiving transmission line and output a signal to be subjected to demodulation processing based on the received signal ([0042]), the control method comprising:
causing the transmission unit to input the signal to each of the feeding points of the at least two sending transmission lines (from differential buffer 104); and
causing the output unit to receive respective signals of the receiving transmission line and to output the signal to be subjected to the demodulation processing based on the received signals ([0042]).
Eguchi further discloses:
The transmission and reception coupler operate as a directional coupler ([0024]).
Eguchi does not disclose (in the alternative interpretation):
an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line.
Solomko discloses in Fig. 3a:
a reception apparatus in a directional coupler (title) including a receiving transmission line (coupling line of directional coupler 102, shown in related Fig. 10) receiving an excited signal (from 101), an output (coupled port at power detector 108) from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line (through switch 162).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the receiving line of Eguchi to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line with a switch as per Solomko, to provide the benefit of increasing directionality of the circuit as per Solomko ([0037]).
As per claim 16:
Eguchi discloses in Fig. 1:
A control method for controlling a reception apparatus including a receiving transmission line (transmission coupler 101) and an output unit (comparator 113), the receiving transmission line being configured to move along at least two sending transmission lines ([0023]) located with at least either feeding points (coupled to 104) of a signal or termination points (coupled to 102) opposed to each other (as seen in Fig. 1), establish electromagnetic field coupling with the sending transmission lines, and receive an excited signal, the output unit being configured to receive a signal from the receiving transmission line and output a signal to be subjected to demodulation processing based on the received signal ([0042]), the control method comprising: causing the output unit to receive respective signals from the receiving transmission line ([0038]) and to output the signal to be subjected to the demodulation processing based on the received signals ([0042]).
Eguchi further discloses:
The transmission and reception coupler operate as a directional coupler ([0024]).
Eguchi does not disclose (in the alternative interpretation):
an output unit (comparator 113) configured to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line.
Solomko discloses in Fig. 3a:
a reception apparatus in a directional coupler (title) including a receiving transmission line (coupling line of directional coupler 102, shown in related Fig. 10) receiving an excited signal (from 101), an output (coupled port at power detector 108) from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line (through switch 162).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the receiving line of Eguchi to receive respective signals from one end and another end of the receiving transmission line with a switch as per Solomko, to provide the benefit of increasing directionality of the circuit as per Solomko ([0037]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Eguchi (US PGPub 20220158691) (in an alternative interpretation) in view of Yamauchi et al. (US PGPub 20100097160) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US PGPub 20190028064).
The resultant combination discloses the wireless communication system of claim 1, as rejected above.
As per claim 8:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
the transmission unit includes a signal generation unit and a reduction unit configured to reduce a ripple component included in a signal output from the signal generation unit at a stage prior to the at least two sending transmission lines.
Lee et al. discloses in Fig. 1B:
a signal generation unit (power amplifier 102) and a reduction unit (band rejection filter 104) configured to reduce a ripple component included in a signal output from the signal generation unit ([0044]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the transmission unit of The resultant combination to comprise a signal generation unit and a reduction unit as per Lee et al. to provided the benefit of suppressing signals in a certain frequency band, as taught by Lee et al. ([0044])
As a consequence of the combination, the transmission unit includes a signal generation unit and a reduction unit configured to reduce a ripple component included in a signal output from the signal generation unit at a stage prior to the at least two sending transmission lines.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Eguchi (US PGPub 20220158691) (in an alternative interpretation) in view of Solomko et al. (US PGPub 20170026020) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US PGPub 20190028064).
The resultant combination discloses the wireless communication system of claim 1, as rejected above.
As per claim 8:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
the transmission unit includes a signal generation unit and a reduction unit configured to reduce a ripple component included in a signal output from the signal generation unit at a stage prior to the at least two sending transmission lines.
Lee et al. discloses in Fig. 1B:
a signal generation unit (power amplifier 102) and a reduction unit (band rejection filter 104) configured to reduce a ripple component included in a signal output from the signal generation unit ([0044]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the transmission unit of The resultant combination to comprise a signal generation unit and a reduction unit as per Lee et al. to provided the benefit of suppressing signals in a certain frequency band, as taught by Lee et al. ([0044])
As a consequence of the combination, the transmission unit includes a signal generation unit and a reduction unit configured to reduce a ripple component included in a signal output from the signal generation unit at a stage prior to the at least two sending transmission lines.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Eguchi (US PGPub 20220158691) (in an alternative interpretation) in view of Yamauchi et al. (US PGPub 20100097160) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dutta et al. (US PGPub 20080048800)
The resultant combination discloses the wireless communication system of claim 1, as rejected above.
As per claim 11:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
a space between the at least part of the ground and the opposite surface is filled with a substance having a relative permittivity different from that of the substrate.
Dutta discloses in Fig. 3A:
A microstrip configuration comprising a signal line (100), a substrate (dielectric material 104) having a bottom surface (top of trench 106), a ground plane (102), wherein a space between the at least part of the ground and the opposite surface is filled with a substance having a relative permittivity different from that of the substrate ([0017]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the trench of Dutta to the transmission lines of The resultant combination to provide the benefit of controlling the impedance of the transmission lines, as taught by Dutta et al. ([0045])
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Eguchi (US PGPub 20220158691) (in an alternative interpretation) in view of Solomko et al. (US PGPub 20170026020) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dutta et al. (US PGPub 20080048800)
The resultant combination discloses the wireless communication system of claim 1, as rejected above.
As per claim 11:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
a space between the at least part of the ground and the opposite surface is filled with a substance having a relative permittivity different from that of the substrate.
Dutta discloses in Fig. 3A:
A microstrip configuration comprising a signal line (100), a substrate (dielectric material 104) having a bottom surface (top of trench 106), a ground plane (102), wherein a space between the at least part of the ground and the opposite surface is filled with a substance having a relative permittivity different from that of the substrate ([0017]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the trench of Dutta to the transmission lines of The resultant combination to provide the benefit of controlling the impedance of the transmission lines, as taught by Dutta et al. ([0045])
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Eguchi (US PGPub 20220158691) (in an alternative interpretation) in view of Yamauchi et al. (US PGPub 20100097160) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (US PGPub 20100282504)
The resultant combination discloses the wireless communication system of claim 1, as rejected above.
As per claim 12:
The resultant combination discloses in Eguchi in Fig. 1:
the at least two sending transmission lines and the receiving transmission line each include differential lines (abstract).
The resultant combination does not disclose:
wherein at least either the at least two sending transmission lines or the receiving transmission line has/have a groove in at least part of a portion between a pair of traces constituting the differential lines of the substrate constituting the transmission line(s).
Chang et al. discloses in Fig. 4j:
A differential ([0124]) microstrip transmission line configuration comprising a substrate (dielectric layer D31) having a bottom surface (bottom), a ground plane (L32, [0124]), wherein transmission lines (conductive tracks CT1/CT2) has/have a groove (location of dielectric layer DM1 or DM2) in at least part of a portion between a pair of traces constituting differential lines of the substrate constituting the transmission line(s) (as seen in Fig. 4j).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the differential microstrip configuration of The resultant combination for at least either the at least two sending transmission lines or the receiving transmission line with the configuration of Chang et al. to provide the benefit of controlling the characteristic impedance while increasing the trace width, as taught by Chang et al. ([0081])
As a consequence of the combination, at least either the at least two sending transmission lines or the receiving transmission line has/have a groove in at least part of a portion between a pair of traces constituting the differential lines of the substrate constituting the transmission line(s).
As per claim 13:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
the groove is filled with a substance having a relative permittivity lower than that of the substrate.
Chang et al. discloses in Fig. 4j:
A differential ([0124]) microstrip transmission line configuration comprising a substrate (dielectric layer D31) having a bottom surface (bottom), a ground plane (L32, [0124]), wherein transmission lines (conductive tracks CT1/CT2) has/have a groove (location of dielectric layer DM1 or DM2) in at least part of a portion between a pair of traces constituting differential lines of the substrate constituting the transmission line(s) (as seen in Fig. 4j).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 12, the groove is filled with a substance having a relative permittivity lower than that of the substrate.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Eguchi (US PGPub 20220158691) (in an alternative interpretation) in view of Solomko et al. (US PGPub 20170026020) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (US PGPub 20100282504)
The resultant combination discloses the wireless communication system of claim 1, as rejected above.
As per claim 12:
The resultant combination discloses in Eguchi in Fig. 1:
the at least two sending transmission lines and the receiving transmission line each include differential lines (abstract).
The resultant combination does not disclose:
wherein at least either the at least two sending transmission lines or the receiving transmission line has/have a groove in at least part of a portion between a pair of traces constituting the differential lines of the substrate constituting the transmission line(s).
Chang et al. discloses in Fig. 4j:
A differential ([0124]) microstrip transmission line configuration comprising a substrate (dielectric layer D31) having a bottom surface (bottom), a ground plane (L32, [0124]), wherein transmission lines (conductive tracks CT1/CT2) has/have a groove (location of dielectric layer DM1 or DM2) in at least part of a portion between a pair of traces constituting differential lines of the substrate constituting the transmission line(s) (as seen in Fig. 4j).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the differential microstrip configuration of The resultant combination for at least either the at least two sending transmission lines or the receiving transmission line with the configuration of Chang et al. to provide the benefit of controlling the characteristic impedance while increasing the trace width, as taught by Chang et al. ([0081])
As a consequence of the combination, at least either the at least two sending transmission lines or the receiving transmission line has/have a groove in at least part of a portion between a pair of traces constituting the differential lines of the substrate constituting the transmission line(s).
As per claim 13:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
the groove is filled with a substance having a relative permittivity lower than that of the substrate.
Chang et al. discloses in Fig. 4j:
A differential ([0124]) microstrip transmission line configuration comprising a substrate (dielectric layer D31) having a bottom surface (bottom), a ground plane (L32, [0124]), wherein transmission lines (conductive tracks CT1/CT2) has/have a groove (location of dielectric layer DM1 or DM2) in at least part of a portion between a pair of traces constituting differential lines of the substrate constituting the transmission line(s) (as seen in Fig. 4j).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 12, the groove is filled with a substance having a relative permittivity lower than that of the substrate.
Conclusion
/Samuel S Outten/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843