DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 07/10/24. Examiner acknowledged that claims 1-20 are pending.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/06/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang (US 2023/0071238).
Regarding Claim 1, Hwang teaches a battery pack (Fig. 1, Fig. 2) comprising: a battery module (Fig. 1: 1_N, Fig. 2: 20_N); a module battery management system (BMS) (Fig. 2: 40, 30) configured to monitor the battery module; a main BMS (Fig. 2; 40) configured to exchange radio signals with the module BMS through wireless communication (Fig. 2: SA_N); and a signal reflection unit (Fig. 10: 50 containing a plurality of 55) configured to reflect the radio signals exchanged between the module BMS and the main BMS toward the module BMS or the main BMS.
Regarding Claim 2, Hwang teaches the battery pack as claimed in claim 1, wherein the module BMS comprises a module BMS antenna unit (Fig. 2: SA_N) configured to exchange radio signals with the main BMS (Fig. 2: 40).
Regarding Claim 3, Hwang teaches the battery pack as claimed in claim 2, wherein the main BMS comprises a main BMS antenna unit (Fig. 2: MA) configured to exchange radio signals with the module BMS.
Regarding Claim 11, Hwang teaches a method of operating a battery pack comprising a battery module (Fig. 1: 1_N, Fig. 2: 20_N), a module battery management system (BMS) (Fig. 2: 40, 30), a main BMS (Fig. 2; 40), and a signal reflection unit (Fig. 10: 50 containing a plurality of 55), the method comprising: monitoring, by the module BMS, the battery module; exchanging, by the main BMS, radio signals with the module BMS through wireless communication ([0061] “master module 40 includes a wireless communication circuit (not shown), a master control unit (not shown) and a master antenna MA, and is configured to make wireless communication with each slave module 30 through the master antenna MA”); and reflecting, by the signal reflection unit, the radio signals exchanged between the module BMS and the main BMS toward the module BMS or the main BMS ([0094] “master module 40 or each slave module 30 detects the signal strength through a RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indication), and finds an optimal opening angle of the reflection plate 55 when the signal is transmitted to and received”).
Regarding Claim 12, Hwang teaches the method as claimed in claim 11, wherein the module BMS comprises a module BMS antenna unit (Fig. 2: SA_N), and the exchanging comprises the module BMS antenna unit exchanging radio signals with the main BMS (Fig. 2: 40).
Regarding Claim 13, Hwang teaches the method as claimed in claim 12, wherein the main BMS comprises a main BMS antenna unit (Fig. 2: MA), and the exchanging further comprises the main BMS antenna unit exchanging radio signals with the module BMS (Fig. 2: 20_N).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Henry Luong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844