DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 2023-125835, filed on 20 August 2024.
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 6 February 2026. Claims 1-3 and 5-9 have been amended. Claim 4 has been cancelled. Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are currently pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pub., 2023/0318837 A1) in view of Teranishi et al (US Pub., No., 2013/0073845 A1)
With respect to claim 1, Oh teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing an information processing program object for casing a computer to execute a process (paragraph [0049], discloses the browsing server device includes one or more processors and a memory, the memory may be tangible non-transitory memory and …, this memory stores instructions executable on the processors information ) comprising:
storing in s storage area on a block chain, a firs global token in which private behavior dat of a user related to a proved service is concealed as a commitment (Fig. 6, discloses browsing history, Fig. 9, 902-906, discloses obtain user data from user input or browsing data [first global token the behavior data] , generate transaction including encrypted user data [concealed] and transmit encrypted user data to decentralized fil storge network [storage area on a block chain] paragraph [0073], discloses categorical data including demographic segment data, content preference (e.g., browsing history preferences) , behavior attribute .. , paragraph [0093], discloses providing user information regarding user data to an organization without revealing sensitive information and paragraph [0094], dislcies user data is obtained from user input .., user data such user’s age, gender .., browsing data ) );
obtaining a zero-knowledge proof text that proves (Fig. 6, 604 discloses Zero-Knowledge proof) , without disclosing private the behavior data to a point provider, , that second global token representing a point value is a valid conversion derived from the private behavior data concealed in the first global token according to predetermined rule between the service provider and the point provider (paragraph [0045], discloses exchange a digital token such as cryptocurrency or other digital/virtual currency [point value]…, generate cryptographic proof that user has the particular attribute or satisfies the demographic conditions using a zero-knowledge proof.., in response to providing the cryptographic proof, the client device may receive a particular number of digital tokens at a distributed ledger address maintained by a digital wallet executing on the client device [second global token representing values is valid conversion]); and
presenting the second global token to a point providing system and making a point issuance request (paragraph [0090], disclose in response to receiving cryptographic proof from a user that the suer has the particular attribute or satisfies the demographic condition , the smart contract prods a number of digital token to an address maintained by a digital wallet application 118, executing on the suer’s client device).
Oh teaches the above elements including exchanging the first global token secret data for the second exchanging global token when the validity is confirmed based on the zero-knowledge proof text (paragraph [0045], discloses organization may provide a request for a particular attribute of the user , the particular attribute may be a demographic condition, such as whether the user is a homeowner, likes outdoor activities, has kids, etc. exchange a digital token such as cryptocurrency or other digital/virtual currency [point value]…, generate cryptographic proof that user has the particular attribute or satisfies the demographic conditions using a zero-knowledge proof.., in response to providing the cryptographic proof, the client device may receive a particular number of digital tokens at a distributed ledger address maintained by a digital wallet executing on the client device [second global token representing values is valid conversion], paragraph [0090], discloses the browsing service may generate and deploy a smart contract on a distribution ledger network which is confuted to receive request for user attribute or demographic condition from organization and automatically transmit digital token to user based on response to the request ) ), the exchange (paragraph [0009], discloses a smart contract may facilitate the exchange of information related to user data for a digital token) including
storing the second global token in the unprocessed area (paragraph [0009], discloses sending the digital token to an address maintained by a digital wallet application executing on the user’s client device [unprocessed area] and paragraph [0045], discloses in response to providing the cryptographic proof, the client device 110 may receive a particular number of digital token at a distributed larger address maintain by a digital wallet executing on the client device ), and registering the first global token in a processed area of the storage are to prevent reuse(paragraph [0026], discloses smart contracts may maintain a balance of the amount of funds that are stored at their address, in some scenarios when this balance reaches zero the smart contract may no longer operational [prevent reuse]) . Oh, failed to explicitly teach verifying that the first global token is stored in an unprocessed area of the storage area,
However, Teranishi teaches verifying that the first global token is stored in an unprocessed area of the storage area, (paragraph [0017]-[0019], discloses verification devices that the user device belong to the group without identifying discriminating information of the user device…, the user device includes a storage model [unprocessed] which stored in advance user devices .., using a group private key corresponding to the group public key, a characteristic value certificate generated by using characteristic values corresponding to each of the characteristics of the user ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention for a zero-knowledge proof for providing browsing data of Oh with a verification unit feature of Teranishi in order to verify that the user device belongs to the group without identifying discriminating information of the user device, an identification device which is authorized to identify the discriminating information(see, Teranishi, paragraph [0050]).
With respect to claim 2, Oh in view of Teranishi teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Oh teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium wherein
the storing the first global token in the storage area includes storing the first global token in, of an unprocessed area (Fig. 7, 708, discloses sore encrypted user data [first global token]);
the exchange includes exchanging the first global token for the second global token, storing the second global token in the unprocessed area and register the first global token in the processed area when the first global toke is stored in the unprocessed area do not register in the processed area((paragraph [0009], discloses sending the digital token to an address maintained by a digital wallet application executing on the user’s client device [unprocessed area] and paragraph [0045], discloses in response to providing the cryptographic proof, the client device 110 may receive a particular number of digital token at a distributed larger address maintain by a digital wallet executing on the client device and paragraph [0026], discloses smart contracts may maintain a balance of the amount of funds that are stored at their address, in some scenarios when this balance reaches zero the smart contract may no longer operational [prevent reuse]) ., and
making the point issuance request includes presetting the second global token to the point providing system when the second global token is stored in the unprocessed area and is not register in the processed area (Fig. 6, discloses request grant and 608 digital token, paragraph [0009], discloses responding to the request the third-party organization may provide compensation to the user),
the recording medium storing the information processing program for causing the computer to execute the process further comprising: registering the second global token in the processed area when the point issuance request is made (Fig. 7, 708, discloses sore encrypted user data [first global token] paragraph [0009], discloses responding to the request the third-party organization may provide compensation to the user and paragraph [0026], discloses smart contracts may maintain a balance of the amount of funds that are stored at their address, in some scenarios when this balance reaches zero the smart contract may no longer operational [prevent reuse]));
With respect to claim 3, Oh in view of Teranishi teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Oh teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium wherein the storing the first secret data in the storage area includes: obtaining first signature text of a provider of the service for the behavior data and second signature text of the user for the first secret data(paragraphs [0087]-[0088], discloses user may sign the indication of the particular attributes or demographic condition …, verify the cryptographic signature included in the proof statement to verify that the indication of the particular attribute or demographic came for the user without obtaining identify information of the user );and
storing, in the storage area, the first signature text and the second signature text together with the first global token(Fig. 7, 706 & 708, discloses transmit encrypted user data, and store encrypted user data).
With respect to claim 5, Oh in view of Teranishi teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Oh teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium wherein the exchanging includes obtaining third signature text of the user for the second global token , and storing the second global token in the storage area together with the third signature text(Fig. 7, 706 & 708, discloses transmit encrypted user data, and store encrypted user data, paragraphs [0087]-[0088], discloses user may sign the indication of the particular attributes or demographic condition …, verify the cryptographic signature included in the proof statement to verify that the indication of the particular attribute or demographic came for the user without obtaining identify information of the user).
With respect to claim 6, Oh in view of Teranishi teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Oh teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium the recording medium storing the information processing program for causing the computer to execute the process further comprising:
when the point issuance request is made, obtaining fourth signature text of the point providing system and fifth signature text of the user for the issuance of the point that corresponds to the encrypted token and confirming validity of the issuance of the point that corresponds to the second encrypted token based on the fourth signature text and the fifth signature text
when the point issuance request is made, obtaining fourth signature text of the point providing system and fifth signature text of the user for the issuance of the point that corresponds to the global token and confirming validity of the issuance of the point that corresponds to the second global token based on the fourth signature text and the fifth signature text (paragraph [0090], discloses ,to respond to the request, the client device 110 may generate cryptographic
proof that the user has the particular attribute or satisfies the demographic condition, for example using a zero-knowledge proof (block 912). Then the client device 110 may provide the cryptographic proof to the web property of the organization 150-154 without providing the user data).
With respect to claim 7, Oh in view of Teranishi teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Oh teaches the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium wherein,
making the point issuance request includes is executed when sixth signature text of the user for the issuance of the point that corresponds to the second global token is obtained(paragraph [0045], discloses exchange a digital token such as cryptocurrency or other digital/virtual currency [point value]…, generate cryptographic proof that user has the particular attribute or satisfies the demographic conditions using a zero-knowledge proof.., in response to providing the cryptographic proof, the client device may receive a particular number of digital tokens at a distributed ledger address maintained by a digital wallet executing on the client device [second global token representing values is valid conversion]).
With respect to claim 8, Oh teaches an information processing program for causing a computer to execute a process(paragraph [0049], discloses the browsing server device includes one or more processors and a memory, the memory may be tangible non-transitory memory and …, this memory stores instructions executable on the processors information ) comprising:
storing in s storage area on a block chain, a firs global token in which private behavior data of a user related to a proved service is concealed as a commitment (Fig. 6, discloses browsing history, Fig. 9, 902-906, discloses obtain user data from user input or browsing data [first global token the behavior data] , generate transaction including encrypted user data [concealed] and transmit encrypted user data to decentralized fil storge network [storage area on a block chain] paragraph [0073], discloses categorical data including demographic segment data, content preference (e.g., browsing history preferences) , behavior attribute .. , paragraph [0093], discloses providing user information regarding user data to an organization without revealing sensitive information and paragraph [0094], dislcies user data is obtained from user input .., user data such user’s age, gender .., browsing data ) );
obtaining a zero-knowledge proof text that proves (Fig. 6, 604 discloses Zero-Knowledge proof) , without disclosing private the behavior data to a point provider, , that second global token representing a point value is a valid conversion derived from the private behavior data concealed in the first global token according to predetermined rule between the service provider and the point provider (paragraph [0045], discloses exchange a digital token such as cryptocurrency or other digital/virtual currency [point value]…, generate cryptographic proof that user has the particular attribute or satisfies the demographic conditions using a zero-knowledge proof.., in response to providing the cryptographic proof, the client device may receive a particular number of digital tokens at a distributed ledger address maintained by a digital wallet executing on the client device [second global token representing values is valid conversion]); and
presenting the second global token to a point providing system and making a point issuance request (paragraph [0090], disclose in response to receiving cryptographic proof from a user that the suer has the particular attribute or satisfies the demographic condition , the smart contract prods a number of digital token to an address maintained by a digital wallet application 118, executing on the suer’s client device).
Oh teaches the above elements including exchanging the first global token secret data for the second exchanging global token when the validity is confirmed based on the zero-knowledge proof text (paragraph [0045], discloses organization may provide a request for a particular attribute of the user , the particular attribute may be a demographic condition, such as whether the user is a homeowner, likes outdoor activities, has kids, etc. exchange a digital token such as cryptocurrency or other digital/virtual currency [point value]…, generate cryptographic proof that user has the particular attribute or satisfies the demographic conditions using a zero-knowledge proof.., in response to providing the cryptographic proof, the client device may receive a particular number of digital tokens at a distributed ledger address maintained by a digital wallet executing on the client device [second global token representing values is valid conversion], paragraph [0090], discloses the browsing service may generate and deploy a smart contract on a distribution ledger network which is confuted to receive request for user attribute or demographic condition from organization and automatically transmit digital token to user based on response to the request ) ), the exchange (paragraph [0009], discloses a smart contract may facilitate the exchange of information related to user data for a digital token) including
storing the second global token in the unprocessed area (paragraph [0009], discloses sending the digital token to an address maintained by a digital wallet application executing on the user’s client device [unprocessed area] and paragraph [0045], discloses in response to providing the cryptographic proof, the client device 110 may receive a particular number of digital token at a distributed larger address maintain by a digital wallet executing on the client device ), and registering the first global token in a processed area of the storage are to prevent reuse(paragraph [0026], discloses smart contracts may maintain a balance of the amount of funds that are stored at their address, in some scenarios when this balance reaches zero the smart contract may no longer operational [prevent reuse]) . Oh, failed to explicitly teach verifying that the first global token is stored in an unprocessed area of the storage area,
However, Teranishi teaches verifying that the first global token is stored in an unprocessed area of the storage area, (paragraph [0017]-[0019], discloses verification devices that the user device belong to the group without identifying discriminating information of the user device…, the user device includes a storage model [unprocessed] which stored in advance user devices .., using a group private key corresponding to the group public key, a characteristic value certificate generated by using characteristic values corresponding to each of the characteristics of the user ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention for a zero-knowledge proof for providing browsing data of Oh with a verification unit feature of Teranishi in order to verify that the user device belongs to the group without identifying discriminating information of the user device, an identification device which is authorized to identify the discriminating information(see, Teranishi, paragraph [0050]).
With respect to claim 9, Oh teaches an information processing apparatus(Fig. 3, (paragraph [0049], discloses the browsing server device includes one or more processors and a memory, the memory may be tangible non-transitory memory and …, this memory stores instructions executable on the processors information ) comprising:
a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory(Fig. 1, 102 and 110) and configured to:
storing in s storage area on a block chain, a firs global token in which private behavior dat of a user related to a proved service is concealed as a commitment (Fig. 6, discloses browsing history, Fig. 9, 902-906, discloses obtain user data from user input or browsing data [first global token the behavior data] , generate transaction including encrypted user data [concealed] and transmit encrypted user data to decentralized fil storge network [storage area on a block chain] paragraph [0073], discloses categorical data including demographic segment data, content preference (e.g., browsing history preferences) , behavior attribute .. , paragraph [0093], discloses providing user information regarding user data to an organization without revealing sensitive information and paragraph [0094], dislcies user data is obtained from user input .., user data such user’s age, gender .., browsing data ) );
obtaining a zero-knowledge proof text that proves (Fig. 6, 604 discloses Zero-Knowledge proof) , without disclosing private the behavior data to a point provider, , that second global token representing a point value is a valid conversion derived from the private behavior data concealed in the first global token according to predetermined rule between the service provider and the point provider (paragraph [0045], discloses exchange a digital token such as cryptocurrency or other digital/virtual currency [point value]…, generate cryptographic proof that user has the particular attribute or satisfies the demographic conditions using a zero-knowledge proof.., in response to providing the cryptographic proof, the client device may receive a particular number of digital tokens at a distributed ledger address maintained by a digital wallet executing on the client device [second global token representing values is valid conversion]); and
presenting the second global token to a point providing system and making a point issuance request (paragraph [0090], disclose in response to receiving cryptographic proof from a user that the suer has the particular attribute or satisfies the demographic condition , the smart contract prods a number of digital token to an address maintained by a digital wallet application 118, executing on the suer’s client device).
Oh teaches the above elements including exchanging the first global token secret data for the second exchanging global token when the validity is confirmed based on the zero-knowledge proof text (paragraph [0045], discloses organization may provide a request for a particular attribute of the user , the particular attribute may be a demographic condition, such as whether the user is a homeowner, likes outdoor activities, has kids, etc. exchange a digital token such as cryptocurrency or other digital/virtual currency [point value]…, generate cryptographic proof that user has the particular attribute or satisfies the demographic conditions using a zero-knowledge proof.., in response to providing the cryptographic proof, the client device may receive a particular number of digital tokens at a distributed ledger address maintained by a digital wallet executing on the client device [second global token representing values is valid conversion], paragraph [0090], discloses the browsing service may generate and deploy a smart contract on a distribution ledger network which is confuted to receive request for user attribute or demographic condition from organization and automatically transmit digital token to user based on response to the request ) ), the exchange (paragraph [0009], discloses a smart contract may facilitate the exchange of information related to user data for a digital token) including
storing the second global token in the unprocessed area (paragraph [0009], discloses sending the digital token to an address maintained by a digital wallet application executing on the user’s client device [unprocessed area] and paragraph [0045], discloses in response to providing the cryptographic proof, the client device 110 may receive a particular number of digital token at a distributed larger address maintain by a digital wallet executing on the client device ), and registering the first global token in a processed area of the storage are to prevent reuse(paragraph [0026], discloses smart contracts may maintain a balance of the amount of funds that are stored at their address, in some scenarios when this balance reaches zero the smart contract may no longer operational [prevent reuse]) . Oh, failed to explicitly teach verifying that the first global token is stored in an unprocessed area of the storage area,
However, Teranishi teaches verifying that the first global token is stored in an unprocessed area of the storage area, (paragraph [0017]-[0019], discloses verification devices that the user device belong to the group without identifying discriminating information of the user device…, the user device includes a storage model [unprocessed] which stored in advance user devices .., using a group private key corresponding to the group public key, a characteristic value certificate generated by using characteristic values corresponding to each of the characteristics of the user ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention for a zero-knowledge proof for providing browsing data of Oh with a verification unit feature of Teranishi in order to verify that the user device belongs to the group without identifying discriminating information of the user device, an identification device which is authorized to identify the discriminating information(see, Teranishi, paragraph [0050]).
Prior arts:
Oh (US Pub., 2023/0318837 A1) discloses provide information regarding user data to an organization without revealing sensitive information, user data is obtained describing one or more attributes of a user from user input, application data, or browsing data.
Teranishi et al (US Pub., No., 2013/0073845 A1) discloses A signature unit, in which a user device generates/transmits digital signature data to an authentication device, includes: a first function, which receives as input a plurality of subsets in which a plurality of characteristics of the users are classified; a second function, which generates a first encrypted text acquired by encrypting a user device public key with an identification device public key; a third function, which generates a second encrypted text.
Chen (US Pub., 2019/0065893 A1) discloses a forged-physiological-characteristic filtering device includes: a physiological characteristic scanning circuit for conducting a plurality of times of physiological characteristic scanning operations; a control circuit for acquiring a plurality of unverified-user physiological characteristics and generating a plurality of corresponding unverified-user action records, and for calculating time interval between two consecutive unverified-user physiological characteristics to generate corresponding unverified-user time interval records; and a secure circuit for respectively comparing the plurality of unverified-user physiological characteristics with a plurality of valid-user physiological characteristics, for respectively comparing the plurality of unverified-user action records with a plurality of valid-user action records.
Qian (US Pub., No., 2017/0142082 A1) discloses a system and method are disclosed for providing secure deposit and recovery of secret data based on a secret of a user, such as a password, a shared secret from a recovery server, and a secret from a recovery peer. The secret data is encrypted with these three secrets and stored remote from the user device to only allow the user to recover the secret data without compromising the secrecy of the secret data.
Chalkias et al (US Pub., 2025/0030666 A1) discloses the present technology can allow a user to use the OpenID Connect protocol to login to an account that has an anonymous user account ID. More specifically, the present technology can programmatically combine information received from an OpenID provider during the OpenID Connect protocol with a random value to yield a unique anonymous user account ID.
Richter (US Pub., No., 2024/0160967A1) discloses an apparatus and method for creating non-fungible tokens (NFTs) for future user experiences are provided. The apparatus includes at least a processor and a memory communicatively coupled to the at least a processor.
Response to Arguments
The reason for overcoming the 35 U.S.C 101 rejections:
Step 1: The claims recite a series of steps and therefore, is a process.
Step 2A-Prong 1: The claims recite a mental process that is used to verify the first global token is stored in an unprocessed area in exchange the first global token for the second global token when the validity is confirmed based on zero-knowledge proof text. While blockchain and data storage are often considered conventional, this claim focuses on improving the security and efficiency of personal data handling rather than merely automating a business process. By utilizing a zero-knowledge proof to verify data on a blockchain without revealing the underlying private data, the invention improves the functionality of blockchain privacy.
Step 2A-Prong 2: The combination of storing in a processed/unprocessed area, utilizing zero-knowledge proofs to verify data, and generating a second token for a point-issuance request constitutes "significantly more" than simply storing data on a blockchain. This represents a practical application of a technological innovation rather than a mere abstract idea. The claims provide a specific improvement over the security and efficiency of personal data handling rather than merely automating a business process. By utilizing a zero-knowledge proof to verify data on a blockchain without revealing the underlying private data, the invention improves the functionality of blockchain privacy. Thus, the claims as a whole integrates the mental process into a practical application. Thus, the claim is eligible because it is not directed to the recited judicial exception.
Applicant’s arguments of 35 U.S.C 103 rejections filed on 6 February 2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SABA DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621