Priority
Applicant claims the benefit of US Provisional Application No. 63/528,143 filed July 21, 2023. Claims 1-20 have been afforded the benefit of the July 21, 2023 filing date.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 21 April 2026 and 30 June 2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments Regarding Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection under 35 USC § 101. This rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments Regarding Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because
the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for
any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18, 19, 20] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as
being unpatentable over Shor (US 11756572 B2) ) and in view of Zhao (US 11276410B2).
Regarding claim 1, Shor discloses a method for detecting synthetic speech of a speaker in an
audio clip, comprising -[Column 4, Lines 26- 32 “Implementations herein are directed toward detecting synthetic speech in audio data based on a self-supervised model that extracts audio features from the audio data and a shallow discriminator model that determines a probability that synthetic speech is present in the audio features and thus in the audio data”]; [ Column 5, Lines 13- 23 “In the example shown, the audio source 10 produces an utterance 119 that includes the speech “My name is Jane Smith.” The audio feature extractor 220 receives audio data 120 characterizing the utterance 119 in the streaming audio 118 and generates, from the audio data 120, a plurality of audio feature vectors 212, 212a-n. Each audio feature vector 212 represents audio features (i.e., audio characteristics
such as spectrograms (e.g., mel-frequency spectrograms and mel-frequency ceptstral coefficients (MFCCs)) of a chunk or portion of the audio data 120 (i.e., a portion of the streaming audio 118 or utterance 119”].
and outputting, based on the score, an indication of whether the audio clip includes synthetic speech - [Column 5, Lines 41-48 The synthetic speech detector 220 determines whether the score 224 (e.g., a probability score) satisfies a synthetic speech detection threshold. When the score 224 satisfies the synthetic speech detection threshold, the synthetic speech detector 220 determines that the speech (i.e., the utterance 119) in the streaming audio 118 captured by the user device 102 includes synthetic speech”].
However, Shor does not teach generating, using a deep learning model trained to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech, one or more reference embeddings for the speaker, by processing a first combination of a first set of acoustic features that are particular to speech of the speaker and a first set of phonetic features that are particular to the speech of the speaker;
generating, using the deep learning model trained to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech, a test embedding for an audio clip by processing a second combination of second set of acoustic features that are particular to speech from the audio clip purporting to be the speech of the speaker and a second set of phonetic features that are particular to the speech from the audio clip purporting to be the speech of the speaker; computing a score based on the test embedding and the one or more reference embeddings
But Zhao does teach
generating, using a deep learning model trained to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech, one or more reference embeddings for the speaker, by processing a first combination of a first set of acoustic features that are particular to speech of the speaker and a first set of phonetic features that are particular to the speech of the speaker;
[Column 1, lines 27-30 "Next, speech recorded from each one of a set of enrollment speakers is input to the trained deep neural network in order to compute deep hidden
features for each speaker in the enrollment set."];
[Column 8, lines 1-3 " In some embodiments, feature extractor 510 comprises
the first few layers of a background deep neural network as a feature extractor network.."];
[Column 5, lines 18-21 "The frame-level raw acoustic features may be determined at S210 using any known signal processing designed to extract speaker-discriminative features
from speech frames."];
[Column 3, lines 28-31 "Initially, speech frames of an unknown speaker are input
to magnitude spectrum unit 105 to generate frame-level magnitude spectra 110, or raw acoustic features, as is known in the art" where Unit 105 is used to generate raw acoustic features.];
[Column 3, lines 39-41 "Feature extractor 115 extracts phonetic features from each
frame-level magnitude spectra 110 to generate corresponding frame-level phonetic features 120."];
[Column 4: lines 58- 62 "Each of enrollment embeddings 160 was previously-generated based on speech frames of a respective enrollment speaker using the same components
105, 115, 125, 140 and 150 which were used to generate speaker embedding z." where enrollment embeddings map to the first combination of acoustic and phonetic features and components 105, 115, etc. map to the same process used for unknown speaker. ];
[Column 2: lines 54-59 "Some embodiments employ implicit phonetic attention (IPA), in which phonetic features are extracted from a trained ASR and projected by a transformation
network into multi-channel feature maps, which are then concatenated with raw acoustic features to generate augmented input features for the CNN."];
[Column 3, lines 54-55 "Based on this input, CNN 140 generates frame-level speaker embeddings 145."].
generating, using the deep learning model trained to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech, a test embedding for an audio clip by processing a second combination of second set of acoustic features that are particular to speech from the audio clip purporting to be the speech of the speaker and a second set of phonetic features that are particular to the speech from the audio clip purporting to be the speech of the speaker;
[Column 1, lines 34-37 "To verify the identity of an unknown speaker, a test utterance of the unknown speaker is input to the trained deep neural network. A compact deep embedding associated with the unknown speaker is then generated as described…"];
[Column 8, lines 1-3 " In some embodiments, feature extractor 510 comprises the first few layers of a background deep neural network as a feature extractor network.."];
[Column 3, lines 28-31 "Initially, speech frames of an unknown speaker are input to magnitude spectrum unit 105 to generate frame-level magnitude spectra 110, or raw acoustic features, as is known in the art" where unknown speaker it the test speaker];
[Column 3, lines 39-41 "Feature extractor 115 extracts phonetic features from each
frame-level magnitude spectra 110 to generate corresponding frame-level phonetic features 120."];
[Column 2: lines 54-59 "Some embodiments employ implicit phonetic attention (IPA), in which phonetic features are extracted from a trained ASR and projected by a transformation network into multi-channel feature maps, which are then concatenated with raw acoustic features to generate augmented input features for the CNN."];
[Column 3, lines 54-55 "Based on this input, CNN 140 generates frame-level speaker embeddings 145."].
computing a score based on the test embedding and the one or more reference embeddings [Column 11, lines 7-11 " Speaker identifier 855 computes a similarity between speaker embedding z associated with the unknown speaker and each of enrollment embeddings 860, which comprise utterance-level speaker embeddings associated with each of several enrollment speakers."];
[Column 12, lines 1-10 " The utterance-level speaker embedding of the unknown speaker is compared against each of the enrollment embeddings( e.g., by computing cosine distances) to determine a most-similar enrollment embedding. The speaker associated with the most-similar enrollment embedding is determined to be the unknown speaker. If none of the enrollment embeddings are deemed sufficiently similar to the unknown speaker embedding ( e.g., the cosine distance is greater than a threshold), it may be determined that the unknown speaker is not one of the enrolled speakers."];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Shor into the teachings of Zhao because Zhao’s embeddings jointly represent speaker acoustic characteristics and phonetic information and also permit a test utterance to be compared against a previously generated enrollment embedding for the speaker. This would improve the reliability of determining whether an audio clip exhibits the acoustic and phonetic characteristics of the speaker, thereby improving detection of synthetic speech.
Regarding claim 2, Shor discloses
generating the one or more reference embeddings based on the enrollment feature vector, wherein the one or more reference embeddings include speaker specific information,
[Column 3, lines 49-67, column 4, lines 1-12 “In one example, an ASV system implementing a speaker verification model is used in conjunction with a hotword detection model so that an authorized user can invoke a speech-enabled device to wake-up and process subsequent spoken input from the user by speaking a predefined fixed phrase (e.g., a hotword, wake word, keyword, invocation phrase, etc.). In this example, the hotword detection model is configured to detect audio features characterizing the predefined fixed phrase in audio data and the speaker verification model is configured to verify that the audio features characterizing the predefined fixed phrase were spoken by the authorized user. Generally, the speaker verification model will extract a verification speaker embedding from the input audio features and compare the verification speaker embedding with a reference speaker embedding for the authorized user. Here, the reference speaker embedding can be previously obtained by having the particular user speaker the same predefined fixed phrase (e.g., during an enrollment process) and stored as part of a user profile for the authorized user. When the verification speaker embedding matches the reference speaker embedding, the hotword detected in the audio data is verified as being spoken by the authorized user to thereby permit the speech-enabled device to wake-up and process subsequent speech spoken by the authorized user”].
and wherein computing the score based on the one or more reference embeddings is more speaker aware in order to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech of the speaker
[ Column 5, lines 32-39 “After generating the audio feature vectors 212, the audio feature extractor 210 sends the audio feature vectors 212 to a synthetic speech detector 220 that includes a shallow discriminator model 222. As discussed in more detail below, the shallow discriminator model 222 is a shallow neural network (i.e., with little to no hidden layers) that generates, based on each of the audio feature vector 212, a score 224 (FIG. 2)”].
However, Shor does not teach
the method of claim 1, wherein generating the one or more reference embeddings for the speaker comprises: extracting, based on one or more sample audio clips of the speaker speaking, the first set of acoustic features and the first set of phonetic features; determining the first combination by combining the first set of acoustic features and the first set of phonetic features; generating, based on the first combination, an enrollment feature vector; and
But Zhao does teach
the method of claim 1, wherein generating the one or more reference embeddings for the speaker comprises: extracting, based on one or more sample audio clips of the speaker speaking, the first set of acoustic features and the first set of phonetic features;
[Column 8, lines 1-3 " In some embodiments, feature extractor 510 comprises
the first few layers of a background deep neural network as a feature extractor network.."];
[Column 5, lines 18-21 "The frame-level raw acoustic features may be determined at S210 using any known signal processing designed to extract speaker-discriminative features
from speech frames."];
[Column 3, lines 28-31 "Initially, speech frames of an unknown speaker are input
to magnitude spectrum unit 105 to generate frame-level magnitude spectra 110, or raw acoustic features, as is known in the art" where Unit 105 is used to generate raw acoustic features.];
[Column 3, lines 39-41 "Feature extractor 115 extracts phonetic features from each
frame-level magnitude spectra 110 to generate corresponding frame-level phonetic features 120."];
[Column 4: lines 58- 62 "Each of enrollment embeddings 160 was previously-generated based on speech frames of a respective enrollment speaker using the same components
105, 115, 125, 140 and 150 which were used to generate speaker embedding z." where enrollment embeddings map to the first combination of acoustic and phonetic features and components 105, 115, etc. map to the same process used for unknown speaker. ];
[Column 3, lines 54-55 "Based on this input, CNN 140 generates frame-level speaker embeddings 145." where these embeddings correspond to the respective reference embeddings].
determining the first combination by combining the first set of acoustic features and the first set of phonetic features;
[Column 2: lines 54-59 "Some embodiments employ implicit phonetic attention (IPA), in which phonetic features are extracted from a trained ASR and projected by a transformation
network into multi-channel feature maps, which are then concatenated with raw acoustic features to generate augmented input features for the CNN."];
generating, based on the first combination, an enrollment feature vector; and
[Column 2: lines 54-59 "Some embodiments employ implicit phonetic attention (IPA), in which phonetic features are extracted from a trained ASR and projected by a transformation
network into multi-channel feature maps, which are then concatenated with raw acoustic features to generate augmented input features for the CNN."];
[Column 3, lines 54-55 "Based on this input, CNN 140 generates frame-level speaker embeddings 145." where these embeddings correspond to the respective reference embeddings].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Shor into the teachings of Zhao because Zhao’s embeddings jointly represent speaker acoustic characteristics and phonetic information and also permit a test utterance to be compared against a previously generated enrollment embedding for the speaker. This would improve the reliability of determining whether an audio clip exhibits the acoustic and phonetic characteristics of the speaker, thereby improving detection of synthetic speech.
Regarding claim 3, Shor does not disclose
The method of claim 1, wherein generating the test embedding for the audio clip comprises: extracting, based on the audio clip, the second set of acoustic features and the second set of phonetic features; determining the second combination by combining the second set of acoustic features and the second set of phonetic features; generate, based on the second combination, a test feature vector; and generating the test embedding based on the test feature vector.
However, Zhao discloses generating the test embedding for the audio clip comprises: extracting, based on the audio clip, the second set of acoustic features and the second set of phonetic features;
[Column 8, lines 1-3 " In some embodiments, feature extractor 510 comprises
the first few layers of a background deep neural network as a feature extractor network.."];
[Column 3, lines 28-31 "Initially, speech frames of an unknown speaker are input
to magnitude spectrum unit 105 to generate frame-level magnitude spectra 110, or raw acoustic features, as is known in the art" where unknown speaker it the test speaker];
[Column 3, lines 39-41 "Feature extractor 115 extracts phonetic features from each
frame-level magnitude spectra 110 to generate corresponding frame-level phonetic features 120."];
determining the second combination by combining the second set of acoustic features and the second set of phonetic features;
[Column 2: lines 54-59 "Some embodiments employ implicit phonetic attention (IPA), in which phonetic features are extracted from a trained ASR and projected by a transformation
network into multi-channel feature maps, which are then concatenated with raw acoustic features to generate augmented input features for the CNN."];
generate, based on the second combination, a test feature vector; and generating the test embedding based on the test feature vector.
[Column 8, lines 52-55 “A neural network (e.g., deep learning, deep convolutional,
or recurrent) according to some embodiments comprises a series of "neurons," such as LSTM nodes, arranged into a network.”];
[Column 9, lines 1-3 “For example, an LSTM serving as a neuron includes several gates to handle input vectors, a memory cell, and an output vector”]
[Column 2: lines 54-59 "Some embodiments employ implicit phonetic attention (IPA), in which phonetic features are extracted from a trained ASR and projected by a transformation
network into multi-channel feature maps, which are then concatenated with raw acoustic features to generate augmented input features for the CNN."];
[Column 3, lines 54-55 "Based on this input, CNN 140 generates frame-level speaker embeddings 145." where these embeddings correspond to the respective test embeddings].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Shor into the teachings of Zhao because Zhao’s embeddings jointly represent speaker acoustic characteristics and phonetic information and also permit a test utterance to be compared against a previously generated enrollment embedding for the speaker. This would improve the reliability of determining whether an audio clip exhibits the acoustic and phonetic characteristics of the speaker, thereby improving detection of synthetic speech.
Regarding claim 4, Shor discloses the method of claim 1, wherein outputting the indication comprises: based on the score satisfying a threshold, outputting an indication that the audio clip includes synthetic speech - [Column 5, lines 32-52 “After generating the audio feature vectors 212, the audio feature extractor 210 sends the audio feature vectors 212 to a synthetic speech detector 220 that includes a shallow discriminator model 222. As discussed in more detail below, the shallow discriminator model 222 is a shallow neural network (i.e., with little to no hidden layers) that generates, based on each of the audio feature vector 212, a score 224 (FIG. 2) that indicates a presence of synthetic speech in the streaming audio 118 based on the corresponding audio features of each audio feature vector 212”]; [Column 5, Lines 41-52 “The synthetic speech detector 220 determines whether the score 224 (e.g., a probability score) satisfies a synthetic speech detection threshold. When the score 224 satisfies the synthetic speech detection threshold, the synthetic speech detector 220 determines that the speech (i.e., the utterance 119) in the streaming audio 118 captured by the user device 102 includes synthetic speech. The synthetic speech detector 220 may determine that the utterance 119 includes synthetic speech even when a majority of the utterance 119 includes human-originated speech (i.e., a small portion of synthetic speech is interjected or interspersed with human-originated speech)”].
Regarding claim 7, Shor discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of acoustic features and the second set of acoustic features correspond to features associated with characteristics of frequency components of audio signals- [Column 5, Lines 13- 23 “In the example shown, the audio source 10 produces an utterance 119 that includes the speech “My name is Jane Smith.” The audio feature extractor 220 receives audio data 120 characterizing the utterance 119 in the streaming audio 118 and generates, from the audio data 120, a plurality of audio feature vectors 212, 212a-n. Each audio feature vector 212 represents audio features (i.e., audio characteristics such as spectrograms (e.g., mel-frequency spectrograms and mel-frequency ceptstral coefficients (MFCCs)) of a chunk or portion of the audio data 120 (i.e., a portion of the streaming audio 118 or utterance 119)”].
Regarding claim 9, Shor discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: training, based on training data, the deep learning model to generate the one or more reference embeddings and generate the test embedding, wherein the training data includes sample speech clips labeled for authentic speech and synthetic speech - [Column 2, lines 3-16 "In some implementations, the shallow discriminator model includes one of a logistic regression model, a linear discriminant analysis model, or a random forest model. In some examples, the trained self-supervised model is trained on a first training dataset including only training samples of human-originated speech. The shallow discriminator model may be trained on a second training dataset including training samples of synthetic speech. The second training dataset may be smaller than the first training dataset. Optionally, the data processing hardware resides on the user device. The trained self-supervised model may include a representation model derived from a larger trained self-supervised model"];
Regarding claim 11, Shor discloses
a computing system comprising processing circuitry and memory for executing a machine learning system, the machine learning system configured to - [Column 1, lines 13-16“A speech-enabled environment (e.g., home, workplace, school, automobile, etc.) allows a user to speak a query or a command out loud to a computer-based system that fields and answers the query and/or performs a function based on the command”]; [ Column 2, lines 17-23 “Another aspect of the disclosure provides system for classifying whether audio data includes synthetic speech. The system includes data processing hardware and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware. The memory hardware stores instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations”].
and output, based on the score, an indication of whether the audio clip includes synthetic speech - [Column 5, Lines 41-48 The synthetic speech detector 220 determines whether the score 224 (e.g., a probability score) satisfies a synthetic speech detection threshold. When the score 224 satisfies the synthetic speech detection threshold, the synthetic speech detector 220 determines that the speech (i.e., the utterance 119) in the streaming audio 118 captured by the user device 102 includes synthetic speech”].
However, Shor does not teach generate, using a deep learning model trained to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech, one or more reference embeddings for a speaker, by processing a first combination of a first set of acoustic features that are particular to speech of the speaker and a first set of phonetic features that are particular to the speech of the speaker;
generate, using the deep learning model trained to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech, a test embedding for an audio clip by processing a second combination of second set of acoustic features that are particular to speech from the audio clip purporting to be the speech of the speaker and a second set of phonetic features that are particular to the speech from the audio clip purporting to be the speech of the speaker;
compute a score based on the test embedding and the one or more reference embeddings
But Zhao does teach
generate, using a deep learning model trained to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech, one or more reference embeddings for a speaker, by processing a first combination of a first set of acoustic features that are particular to speech of the speaker and a first set of phonetic features that are particular to the speech of the speaker;
[Column 1, lines 27-30 "Next, speech recorded from each one of a set of enrollment speakers is input to the trained deep neural network in order to compute deep hidden features for each speaker in the enrollment set."];
[Column 8, lines 1-3 " In some embodiments, feature extractor 510 comprises the first few layers of a background deep neural network as a feature extractor network.."];
[Column 5, lines 18-21 "The frame-level raw acoustic features may be determined at S210 using any known signal processing designed to extract speaker-discriminative features from speech frames."];
[Column 3, lines 28-31 "Initially, speech frames of an unknown speaker are input to magnitude spectrum unit 105 to generate frame-level magnitude spectra 110, or raw acoustic features, as is known in the art" where Unit 105 is used to generate raw acoustic features.];
[Column 3, lines 39-41 "Feature extractor 115 extracts phonetic features from each frame-level magnitude spectra 110 to generate corresponding frame-level phonetic features 120."];
[Column 4: lines 58- 62 "Each of enrollment embeddings 160 was previously-generated based on speech frames of a respective enrollment speaker using the same components
105, 115, 125, 140 and 150 which were used to generate speaker embedding z." where enrollment embeddings map to the first combination of acoustic and phonetic features and components 105, 115, etc. map to the same process used for unknown speaker. ];
[Column 2: lines 54-59 "Some embodiments employ implicit phonetic attention (IPA), in which phonetic features are extracted from a trained ASR and projected by a transformation network into multi-channel feature maps, which are then concatenated with raw acoustic features to generate augmented input features for the CNN."];
[Column 3, lines 54-55 "Based on this input, CNN 140 generates frame-level speaker embeddings 145."].
generate, using the deep learning model trained to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech, a test embedding for an audio clip by processing a second combination of second set of acoustic features that are particular to speech from the audio clip purporting to be the speech of the speaker and a second set of phonetic features that are particular to the speech from the audio clip purporting to be the speech of the speaker;
[Column 1, lines 34-37 "To verify the identity of an unknown speaker, a test utterance of the unknown speaker is input to the trained deep neural network. A compact deep embedding associated with the unknown speaker is then generated as described…"];
[Column 8, lines 1-3 " In some embodiments, feature extractor 510 comprises the first few layers of a background deep neural network as a feature extractor network.."];
[Column 3, lines 28-31 "Initially, speech frames of an unknown speaker are input to magnitude spectrum unit 105 to generate frame-level magnitude spectra 110, or raw acoustic features, as is known in the art" where unknown speaker it the test speaker];
[Column 3, lines 39-41 "Feature extractor 115 extracts phonetic features from each
frame-level magnitude spectra 110 to generate corresponding frame-level phonetic features 120."];
[Column 2: lines 54-59 "Some embodiments employ implicit phonetic attention (IPA), in which phonetic features are extracted from a trained ASR and projected by a transformation network into multi-channel feature maps, which are then concatenated with raw acoustic features to generate augmented input features for the CNN."];
[Column 3, lines 54-55 "Based on this input, CNN 140 generates frame-level speaker embeddings 145."].
computing a score based on the test embedding and the one or more reference embeddings [Column 11, lines 7-11 " Speaker identifier 855 computes a similarity between speaker embedding z associated with the unknown speaker and each of enrollment embeddings 860, which comprise utterance-level speaker embeddings associated with each of several enrollment speakers."];
[Column 12, lines 1-10 " The utterance-level speaker embedding of the unknown speaker is compared against each of the enrollment embeddings( e.g., by computing cosine distances) to determine a most-similar enrollment embedding. The speaker associated with the most-similar enrollment embedding is determined to be the unknown speaker. If none of the enrollment embeddings are deemed sufficiently similar to the unknown speaker embedding ( e.g., the cosine distance is greater than a threshold), it may be determined that the unknown speaker is not one of the enrolled speakers."];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Shor into the teachings of Zhao because Zhao’s embeddings jointly represent speaker acoustic characteristics and phonetic information and also permit a test utterance to be compared against a previously generated enrollment embedding for the speaker. This would improve the reliability of determining whether an audio clip exhibits the acoustic and phonetic characteristics of the speaker, thereby improving detection of synthetic speech.
Regarding claim 12, Shor in view of Zhao discloses the computing system of claim 11, wherein to generate the one or more reference embeddings for the speaker, the machine learning system is configured to: extract, based on one or more sample audio clips of the speaker speaking, the first set of acoustic features and the first set of phonetic features; determine the first combination the first set of acoustic features and the first set of phonetic features to generate based on the first combination, an enrollment feature vector; and generate the one or more reference embeddings based on the enrollment feature vector, wherein the reference embeddings include speaker specific information, and wherein computing the score based on the one or more reference embeddings is more speaker aware in order to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech of the speaker. Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, Shor in view of Zhao discloses the computing system of claim 11, wherein to generate the test embedding for the audio clip, the machine learning system is configured to: extract, based on the audio clip, the second set of acoustic features and the second set of phonetic features; determine the second combination by combining the second set of acoustic features and the second set of phonetic features to generate based on the second combination, a test feature vector; and generate the test embedding based on the test feature vector.
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, Shor discloses the computing system of claim 11, wherein to output the indication, the machine learning system is configured to output, based on the score satisfying a threshold, an indication that the audio clip includes synthetic speech. Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, Shor discloses the computing system of claim 11, wherein the first set of acoustic features and the second set of acoustic features correspond to features associated with characteristics of frequency components of audio signals. Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, Shor discloses
a computer-readable storage media comprising machine readable instructions for configuring processing circuitry to: -[ column 11, lines 22-36 “These computer programs ( also known as programs , software , software applications or code ) include machine instructions for a programmable processor , and can be implemented in a high - level procedural and / or object-oriented programming language , and / or in assembly / machine language . As used herein, the terms “machine - readable medium” and “computer - readable medium” refer to any computer program product, non - transitory computer readable medium, apparatus and / or device (e.g. , magnetic discs , optical disks , memory , Programmable Logic Devices ( PLDs ) used to provide machine instructions and / or data to a programmable processor , including a machine - readable medium that receives machine instructions as a machine-readable signal . The term “machine - readable signal” refers to any signal used to provide machine instructions and / or data to a programmable processor”].
and output, based on the score, an indication of whether the audio clip includes synthetic speech - [Column 5, Lines 41-48 The synthetic speech detector 220 determines whether the score 224 (e.g., a probability score) satisfies a synthetic speech detection threshold. When the score 224 satisfies the synthetic speech detection threshold, the synthetic speech detector 220 determines that the speech (i.e., the utterance 119) in the streaming audio 118 captured by the user device 102 includes synthetic speech”].
However, Shor does not teach generate, using a deep learning model trained to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech, one or more reference embeddings for the speaker, by processing a first combination of a first set of acoustic features that are particular to speech of the speaker and a first set of phonetic features that are particular to the speech of the speaker;
generate, using the deep learning model trained to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech, a test embedding for an audio clip by processing a second combination of second set of acoustic features that are particular to speech from the audio clip purporting to be the speech of the speaker and a second set of phonetic features that are particular to the speech from the audio clip purporting to be the speech of the speaker; compute a score based on the test embedding and the one or more reference embeddings
But Zhao does teach
generate, using a deep learning model trained to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech, one or more reference embeddings for a speaker, by processing a first combination of a first set of acoustic features that are particular to speech of the speaker and a first set of phonetic features that are particular to the speech of the speaker;
[Column 1, lines 27-30 "Next, speech recorded from each one of a set of enrollment speakers is input to the trained deep neural network in order to compute deep hidden features for each speaker in the enrollment set."];
[Column 8, lines 1-3 " In some embodiments, feature extractor 510 comprises
the first few layers of a background deep neural network as a feature extractor network.."];
[Column 5, lines 18-21 "The frame-level raw acoustic features may be determined at S210 using any known signal processing designed to extract speaker-discriminative features from speech frames."];
[Column 3, lines 28-31 "Initially, speech frames of an unknown speaker are input to magnitude spectrum unit 105 to generate frame-level magnitude spectra 110, or raw acoustic features, as is known in the art" where Unit 105 is used to generate raw acoustic features.];
[Column 3, lines 39-41 "Feature extractor 115 extracts phonetic features from each
frame-level magnitude spectra 110 to generate corresponding frame-level phonetic features 120."];
[Column 4: lines 58- 62 "Each of enrollment embeddings 160 was previously-generated based on speech frames of a respective enrollment speaker using the same components
105, 115, 125, 140 and 150 which were used to generate speaker embedding z." where enrollment beddings map to the first combination of acoustic and phonetic features and components 105, 115, etc. map to the same process used for unknown speaker. ];
[Column 2: lines 54-59 "Some embodiments employ implicit phonetic attention (IPA), in which phonetic features are extracted from a trained ASR and projected by a transformation
network into multi-channel feature maps, which are then concatenated with raw acoustic features to generate augmented input features for the CNN."];
[Column 3, lines 54-55 "Based on this input, CNN 140 generates frame-level speaker embeddings 145."].
generate, using the deep learning model trained to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech, a test embedding for an audio clip by processing a second combination of second set of acoustic features that are particular to speech from the audio clip purporting to be the speech of the speaker and a second set of phonetic features that are particular to the speech from the audio clip purporting to be the speech of the speaker;
[Column 1, lines 34-37 "To verify the identity of an unknown speaker, a test utterance of the unknown speaker is input to the trained deep neural network. A compact deep embedding associated with the unknown speaker is then generated as described…"];
[Column 8, lines 1-3 " In some embodiments, feature extractor 510 comprises the first few layers of a background deep neural network as a feature extractor network.."];
[Column 3, lines 28-31 "Initially, speech frames of an unknown speaker are input to magnitude spectrum unit 105 to generate frame-level magnitude spectra 110, or raw acoustic features, as is known in the art" where unknown speaker it the test speaker];
[Column 3, lines 39-41 "Feature extractor 115 extracts phonetic features from each
frame-level magnitude spectra 110 to generate corresponding frame-level phonetic features 120."];
[Column 2: lines 54-59 "Some embodiments employ implicit phonetic attention (IPA), in which phonetic features are extracted from a trained ASR and projected by a transformation network into multi-channel feature maps, which are then concatenated with raw acoustic features to generate augmented input features for the CNN."];
[Column 3, lines 54-55 "Based on this input, CNN 140 generates frame-level speaker embeddings 145."].
compute a score based on the test embedding and the one or more reference embeddings [Column 11, lines 7-11 " Speaker identifier 855 computes a similarity between speaker embedding z associated with the unknown speaker and each of enrollment embeddings 860, which comprise utterance-level speaker embeddings associated with each of several enrollment speakers."];
[Column 12, lines 1-10 " The utterance-level speaker embedding of the unknown speaker is compared against each of the enrollment embeddings( e.g., by computing cosine distances) to determine a most-similar enrollment embedding. The speaker associated with the most-similar enrollment embedding is determined to be the unknown speaker. If none of the enrollment embeddings are deemed sufficiently similar to the unknown speaker embedding ( e.g., the cosine distance is greater than a threshold), it may be determined that the unknown speaker is not one of the enrolled speakers."];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Shor into the teachings of Zhao because Zhao’s embeddings jointly represent speaker acoustic characteristics and phonetic information and also permit a test utterance to be compared against a previously generated enrollment embedding for the speaker. This would improve the reliability of determining whether an audio clip exhibits the acoustic and phonetic characteristics of the speaker, thereby improving detection of synthetic speech.
Regarding claim 19, Shor in view of Zhao discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 18, wherein to generate the one or more reference embeddings for the speaker, the processing circuitry is configured to: extract, based on one or more sample audio clips of the speaker speaking, the first set of acoustic features and the first set of phonetic features; determine the first combination by combining the first set of acoustic features and the first set of phonetic features to generate based on the first combination, an enrollment feature vector; and generate the one or more reference embeddings based on the enrollment feature vector, wherein the reference embeddings include speaker specific information, and wherein computing the score based on the one or more reference embeddings is more speaker aware in order to distinguish between synthetic speech and authentic speech of the speaker.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, Shor in view of Zhao discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 18, wherein to generate the test embedding for the audio clip, the processing circuitry is configured to: extract, based on the audio clip, the second set of acoustic features and the second set of phonetic features; determine the second combination by combining the second set of acoustic features and the second set of phonetic features to generate a test feature vector; and generate, based on the second combination, the test embedding based on the test feature vector. Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Claim [ 5, 15 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shor
(US 11756572 B2) in view of Zhao (US 11276410B2) in view of Liu (US-7454339-B2).
Regarding claim 5, Shor discloses the method of claim 1, wherein computing the score based on the test embedding and the one or more reference embeddings comprises: [Column 5, lines 32-41 “After generating the audio feature vectors 212, the audio feature extractor 210 sends the audio feature vectors 212 to a synthetic speech detector 220 that includes a shallow discriminator model 222. As discussed in more detail below, the shallow discriminator model 222 is a shallow neural network (i.e., with little to no hidden layers) that generates, based on each of the audio feature vector 212, a score 224 (FIG. 2) that indicates a presence of synthetic speech in the streaming audio 118 based on the corresponding audio features of each audio feature vector 212”] ; [Column 3, 60-64 “Generally, the speaker verification model will extract a verification speaker embedding from the input audio features and compare the verification speaker embedding with a reference speaker embedding for the authorized user”; [ Column 5, lines 23- 31 “For example, each audio feature vector represents features for a 960 millisecond portion of the audio data 120. The portions may overlap. For instance, the audio feature extractor 210 generates eight audio feature vectors 212 (each representing 960 milliseconds of the audio data 120) for five seconds of audio data 120. The audio feature vectors 212 from the audio feature extractor 210 capture a large number of acoustic properties of the audio data 120 based on the self-supervised learning”]; [ Column 6 line 66, column 7, lines 1-5 “The shallow discriminator model 222 receives the plurality of audio feature vectors 212 simultaneously, sequentially, or concatenated together. The plurality of audio feature vectors 212 may undergo some processing between the audio feature extractor 210 and the shallow discriminator model 222”].
However, Shor in view of Zhao does not discloses computing one or more log-likelihood ratios by comparing the test embedding to the one or more reference embeddings.
But Liu discloses computing one or more log-likelihood ratios by comparing the test embedding to the one or more reference embeddings - [Column 3, lines 43-55, “FIG. 2 illustrates exemplary steps performed in order to effectively train acoustic models. For every training speech segment X in either true data set or competing data set for word W, a log-likelihood ratio score is determined at 100 using a true acoustic model for word W and an anti-acoustic model which represents words other than word W. An average of log-likelihood ratio scores over the true data set is then determined at 110. In the same way, an average of log-likelihood ratio scores over the competing data set is determined at 120. A difference is determined at 130 based on the two averages and parameters of the models are adjusted at 140. To optimize the difference, the process may be iterative as shown at 150”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Shor in view of Zhao into the teachings of Liu because applying such a scoring technique (log-likelihood ratios) to the embedding comparison mechanism in order to quantitatively determine similarity between a generated embedding and a reference embedding. This enables more accurate and flexible matching decisions.
Regarding claim 15, Shor in view of Zhao in view of Liu does disclose the computing system of claim 11, wherein to compute the score, the machine learning system is configured to compute one or more log-likelihood ratios by comparing the test embedding to the one or more reference embeddings. Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Claim [ 6 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Shor (US 11756572 B2) in
in view of Zhao (US 11276410B2) and in further view of Charlet (US-20040107099-A1).
Regarding claim 6, Shor discloses the method of claim 1, wherein computing the score comprises: computing a raw score based on a comparison of the test embedding to the one or more reference embeddings; 222 receives the plurality of audio feature vectors 212 simultaneously, sequentially, or concatenated together. The plurality of audio feature vectors 212 may undergo some processing between the audio feature extractor 210 and the shallow discriminator model 222”].
However, Shor and in view of Zhao does not teach computing, based on a calibration of the raw score, the score.
But Charlet teaches computing, based on a calibration of the raw score, the score - [Page 2, 0020 "The main object of the invention is to normalize the verification score so that it is compared to a decision threshold that is always pertinent, independently of the speaker, whilst assuring that the verification score evolves with the voice of the authorized speaker without having recourse to additional recordings of impostors. Consequently, in relation to the speech recognition device, another object of the invention is to reduce the memory space necessary for supplementary recordings of impostors whilst guaranteeing a more accurate and fast decision"]; [Page 2, 0021"To achieve the above objects, a device for automatically recognizing the voice of a speaker authorized to access an application, comprising means for generating beforehand, during a learning phase, parameters of an acceptance voice model relative to a voice segment spoken by the authorized speaker and parameters of a rejection voice model, means for normalizing by means of normalization parameters a speaker verification score depending on the likelihood ratio between a voice segment to be tested and the acceptance model and rejection model, and means for comparing the normalized verification score to a first threshold in order to authorize access to the application by the speaker who spoke the voice segment to be tested only if the normalized verification score is at least as high as the first threshold. This device is characterized, according to the invention, in that it includes means for updating at least one of the normalization parameters as a function of a preceding value of said parameter and the speaker verification score on each voice segment test only if the normalized verification score is at least equal to a second threshold that is at least equal to the first threshold"];[Page 2, 0024 "Thus the normalized score is updated on-line, as and when speaker verification attempts and therefore requests to access the application are made, so that the normalized score evolves with changes in the voice of the speaker. Updating as a function of at least one parameter and not a threshold means that the normalized decision score can be modified independently of the operating point required by the application"]; [Page 2, 0025 “The updated normalization parameter can be representative of the statistical mean value of the speaker verification score or of the standard deviation of the speaker verification score, or these two parameters are updated"]; [Page 2, 0026 "The updating of the normalized score is further improved if the device comprises means for updating at least one of the parameters of the acceptance model as a function of a preceding value of said model parameter only if the normalized verification score is at least equal to the second threshold”].
In this reference, the verification score is the "raw score" derived from likelihood values. The calibration is the normalization. Then a normalization score is used going forward.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Shor in view of Zhao into the teachings of Charlet because applying a normalized similarity score for threshold based decision making would improve robustness in input conditions and enable more consistent and reliable authentication outcomes.
Claim [8, 17 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shor (US 11756572
B2) and in view of Zhao (US 11276410B2) in view of Mont-Reynaud (US 10311858 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Shor in view of Zhao does not disclose method of claim 1, wherein the first set of phonetic features and the second set of phonetic features correspond to features associated with characteristics of phones or phonemes included in audio signals.
However, Mont-Reynaud discloses the first set of phonetic features and the second set of phonetic features correspond to features associated with characteristics of phones or phonemes included in audio signals - [ Column 4, lines 5-19 “Phonetic features: The most common format for representing phonetic information is a phonetic sequence. A speech recognition system may identify several possible phonetic sequences for a user utterance. Weights may be applied to phonemes within each sequence according to some method of assigning probability. A score for each alternative phonetic sequence may be computed, and the most likely phonetic sequence may be selected based on the score. In some cases, multiple phonetic sequences are kept at the same time, often as a phoneme lattice. In addition, acoustic-phonetic information, including phoneme length ( and HMM state info) is available and can also contribute to accent identification and detection. Articulatory-phonetic information includes a variety of secondary features: place and manner of articulation, vowel placement and more”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Shor in view of Zhao into the teachings of Mont-Reynaud because it would allow the extracted audio features to more explicitly capture phonetic characteristics on the speech signal, thereby improving the accuracy and robustness of the tasks such as synthetic speech detection. This would have enhanced the system's ability to distinguish between genuine and synthesized speech using acoustic and phonetic features.
Regarding claim 17, Shor in view Zhao in view of Mont-Reynaud does disclose the computing system of claim 11, wherein the first set of phonetic features and the second set of phonetic features correspond to features associated with characteristics of phones or phonemes included in audio signals.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 8.
Claim [10 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Shor (US 11756572 B2)
view of Zhao (US 11276410B2) and in further in view of Arik (US-10796686-B2).
Regarding Claim 10, Shor and in view of Zhao does not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the deep learning model includes a residual network architecture.
However, Arik teaches the deep learning model includes a residual network architecture- Column 16, lines 59-67, column 17, lines 1-2 “FIG. 7 graphically depicts an example detailed Deep Voice 3 model architecture, according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In one or more embodiments, the model 700 uses a deep residual convolutional network to encode text and/or phonemes into per-timestep key 720 and value 722 vectors for an attentional decoder 730. In one or more embodiments, the decoder 730 uses these to predict the mel-band log magnitude spectrograms 742 that correspond to the output audio.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Shor and in view of Zhao into the teachings of Arik because residual neural network architecture is well known to improve the training and performance of deep neural networks. This modification would improve the stability and overall accuracy of the learned embeddings thereby creating a more effective and reliable system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEZA ABDUL AZIZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2657
/DANIEL C WASHBURN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2657