DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/533815, filed on November 23, 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the same first position” recited in claim 1.
There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the same first position” recited in claim 3.
It is unclear what applicant means by “same first position” as recited in claims 1 and 3. For examination purposes it will be interpreted as either the same side or the same side in the X direction. For clarity, the examiner requests the applicant reference the surfaces in the drawings (i.e. 300f, 300c, 300k, etc.) when explaining where the first position is or which surface is being referenced/argued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takashima (JP2006079053). Takashima teaches a shoe apparatus comprising: a plurality of connection terminals (4802/4804), where a first direction (X direction, see annotated fig. 20) is an attachment direction to an accessory shoe apparatus included in an electronic apparatus, which are arranged in a second direction (Y direction, see annotated fig. 20) orthogonal to the first direction; and a connector that includes protrusion portions (58) that protrude in a third direction (Z direction, see annotated fig. 20) orthogonal to the first and second directions on both outer sides of the plurality of connection terminals in the second direction, wherein at the same first position in the third direction is a first position in each of the protrusion portions, a surface (surface A, A’, see annotated fig. 20) on a side far from the plurality of connection terminals in the second direction of the protrusion portion has a larger inclination with respect to the third direction than a surface (surface B, B’) on a side near to the plurality of connection terminals in the second direction of the protrusion portion.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 19 teaches an accessory 200 comprising the shoe apparatus.
Regarding claim 3, Takashima teaches an accessory shoe apparatus 100 attachable to and detachable from an accessory (200) in a first direction (X direction, see annotated fig. 15 below), the accessory shoe apparatus comprising: a plurality of connection terminals (1602/1604) arranged in a second direction (Y direction, see annotated fig. 15) orthogonal to the first direction; and a holding member (10) configured to hold the plurality of connection terminals, wherein the holding member includes groove portions (24) on both outer sides of the plurality of connection terminals in the second direction, and wherein at the same first position in a third direction (Z direction) orthogonal to the first and second directions is a first position in each of the groove portions, a surface (C, C’ see annotated fig. 15) facing an inside in the second direction of the groove portion has a larger inclination with respect to the third direction than a surface facing an outer side (D,D’, see annotated fig. 15) in the second direction of the groove portion.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 14 teaches an electronic apparatus comprising the accessory shoe apparatus.
Regarding claim 5, figs. 6 and 20 teach a shoe apparatus attachable to and detachable from the accessory shoe apparatus.
Regarding claim 6, fig. 19 teaches an accessory (200) comprising the shoe apparatus.
Regarding claim 7, annotated fig. 20 shows that the surface (B, B’) on the side near to the plurality of connection terminals in the second direction of the protrusion portion is substantially parallel to the third (Z) direction.
Regarding claim 8, fig. 19 shows an accessory 200 comprising the shoe apparatus.
Regarding claims 9-10, on page 4, paragraph 2, teaches that the accessory is an illumination apparatus. “In many cases, an imaging device (hereinafter referred to as an electronic device) such as a digital camera or a video camera is equipped with an accessory for attaching accessory devices such as a flashlight for emitting auxiliary light or a microphone for recording sound. Is provided.”
Regarding claim 11, annotated fig. 15 shows that the surface (D, D’) facing the outer side in the second direction (Y) of the groove portion is substantially parallel to the third direction (Z).
Regarding claim 12, fig. 14 teaches an electronic apparatus comprising the accessory shoe apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Takashima does not teach at the same first position in the third direction, a side far from the plurality of connection terminals in the second direction of the protrusion portion has a larger inclination with respect to the third direction than a surface on a side near to the plurality of connection terminals in the second direction of the protrusion portion. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The same first position is interpreted as either the left side or the right side. For example either surfaces A and B in annotated fig. 20 are at the same first position or surfaces A’ and B’ in in annotated fig. 20 are at the same first position. Not A and B’ are not at the same first position.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852