DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 07/10/2024 in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) 92 as being anticipated by KANG et al. (hereinafter, “KANG”; WO2018230975). (For citation purpose, examiner has used English translation of WO2018230975. The English translation and the original copy describe innovation. The publication date of WO2018230975 is Dec/20/2018, therefore; it qualifies as a prior art under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) (2)).
In response to claims 1 and 17,
KANG teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver configured to receive a configuration about a calibration report, the configuration including information about (i) K groups of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) ports, where K>1, and (ii) a type of the calibration report (paragraph 123, UE is equated to a user equipment, paragraph 157, RS antenna ports are equated to transceivers and CSI-RS ports, paragraph 122, triggering a periodic reporting by a network is interpreted as receiving a configuration, paragraph 294, CSI report is equated to calibration report, paragraph 295, CSI types are equated to K groups of CSI information included in the configuration where K>1, CSI type is also equated to a type of calibration report); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor, based on the configuration, configured to determine a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports (paragraph 534 and 538 together teach using a processor and a transceiver for performing the claimed functionality, paragraph 422, W1, W2 and W3 matrix are equated to a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, paragraphs 423 and 426,setting a CSI reporting mode by a base station as described in paragraph 423 and assuming the matrix index by the terminal based on a received instruction from the base station is read as determining based on the configuration a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the calibration report including at least one indicator indicating the calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports (paragraph 427, producing a result related to CSI using W1, W2 and W3 matrix is interpreted as the calibration report including at least one indicator indicating the calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, reporting the CSI by the terminal using (method to method 3) explicitly teaches this limitation),
wherein the type of the calibration report (i) is based on the calibration offset and (ii) corresponds to at least one of a delay offset (DO), a frequency offset (FO), and a phase offset (PO) (paragraph 422, W1, W2 and W3 matrix are equated to a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, paragraph 423, applying phase/gain differences for “W” matrix explicitly teaches using a phase offset (PO)), and
wherein the calibration report relates to a coherent joint transmission (CJT) across the K groups of CSI-RS ports (paragraph 123, using “K” number of beams for CSI -RS beam management is interpreted as using a coherent joint transmission (CJT) across the K groups of CSI-RS ports).
In response to claims 8 and 16,
KANG teaches wherein the type of the calibration report corresponds to one of the DO, the FO, the PO, and both the DO and FO (paragraph 423, applying phase/gain differences for “W” matrix explicitly teaches using a phase offset (PO)).
In response to claim 9,
KANG teaches a base station (BS) comprising: a processor; anda transceiver operably coupled to the processor, the transceiver configured to (paragraph 526 teaches using a processor, paragraph 528, communication module (RF section) is equated to a transceiver, paragraphs 526 and 528 together teach this limitation):
transmit a configuration about a calibration report, the configuration including information about (i) K groups of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) ports, where K>1, and (ii) a type of the calibration report (paragraph 122, triggering a periodic reporting by a network is interpreted as transmitting a configuration, paragraph 294, CSI report is equated to calibration report, paragraph 295, CSI types are equated to K groups of CSI information included in the configuration where K>1, CSI type is also equated to a type of calibration report); and
receive the calibration report including at least one indicator indicating a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports (paragraph 427, reporting the CSI by the terminal using (method to method 3) explicitly teaches receive the calibration report, paragraph 422, W1, W2 and W3 matrix are equated to a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, W1, W2 and W3 matrix are also equated to at least one indicator indicating a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, paragraphs 423,setting a CSI reporting mode by a base station is read as using configuration a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports),
wherein the type of the calibration report (i) is based on the calibration offset and (ii) corresponds to at least one of a delay offset (DO), a frequency offset (FO), and a phase offset (PO), and wherein the calibration report relates to a coherent joint transmission (CJT) across the K groups of CSI-RS ports (paragraph 422, W1, W2 and W3 matrix are equated to a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, paragraph 423, applying phase/gain differences for “W” matrix explicitly teaches using a phase offset (PO)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 10-15 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As for claims 2, 10 and 18, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitations “wherein: the calibration offset for a group r is relative to a reference group
where the calibration offset for the reference group r* is fixed and not reported, and the calibration report includes an indicator indicating an index of the reference group r*.”
The closest prior art in the record KANG et al.’s (WO2018230975) teaching in paragraph 122 about triggering a periodic reporting by a network is interpreted as receiving a configuration, his teaching in paragraph 294 about using a CSI report is equated to calibration report, paragraph 295, CSI types are equated to K groups of CSI information included in the configuration where K>1, CSI type is also equated to a type of calibration report, his teaching in paragraph 534 and 538 together teach using a processor and a transceiver for performing the claimed functionality, his teaching in paragraph 422 about using W1, W2 and W3 matrix are equated to a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraphs 423 and 426,setting a CSI reporting mode by a base station as described in paragraph 423 and assuming the matrix index by the terminal based on a received instruction from the base station is read as determining based on the configuration a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraph 427, producing a result related to CSI using W1, W2 and W3 matrix is interpreted as the calibration report including at least one indicator indicating the calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, reporting the CSI by the terminal using (method to method 3) is read as he transceiver is further configured to transmit the calibration report including at least one indicator indicating the calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraph 123, using “K” number of beams for CSI -RS beam management is interpreted as using a coherent joint transmission (CJT) across the K groups of CSI-RS ports. He fails to teach the above citated limitation.
As for claims 3, 11 and 19, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitations “wherein the calibration offset is based on (i) a codebook that includes uniformly quantized intervals between 0 and A and (ii) a code point indicating an invalid state.”
The closest prior art in the record KANG et al.’s (WO2018230975) teaching in paragraph 122 about triggering a periodic reporting by a network is interpreted as receiving a configuration, his teaching in paragraph 294 about using a CSI report is equated to calibration report, paragraph 295, CSI types are equated to K groups of CSI information included in the configuration where K>1, CSI type is also equated to a type of calibration report, his teaching in paragraph 534 and 538 together teach using a processor and a transceiver for performing the claimed functionality, his teaching in paragraph 422 about using W1, W2 and W3 matrix are equated to a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraphs 423 and 426,setting a CSI reporting mode by a base station as described in paragraph 423 and assuming the matrix index by the terminal based on a received instruction from the base station is read as determining based on the configuration a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraph 427, producing a result related to CSI using W1, W2 and W3 matrix is interpreted as the calibration report including at least one indicator indicating the calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, reporting the CSI by the terminal using (method to method 3) is read as he transceiver is further configured to transmit the calibration report including at least one indicator indicating the calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraph 123, using “K” number of beams for CSI -RS beam management is interpreted as using a coherent joint transmission (CJT) across the K groups of CSI-RS ports. He fails to teach the above citated limitation.
As for claims 4, 12 and 20, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitations “wherein the codebook is based on
where:
and are values that are based on an radio resource control (RRC) configuration, A is based on: a cyclic prefix (CP) length when the type of calibration report corresponds to the DO, and a maximum frequency error (FE) when the type of calibration report corresponds to the FO,
when the type of calibration report corresponds to the PO, and the value a is associated with the invalid state.”
The closest prior art in the record KANG et al.’s (WO2018230975) teaching in paragraph 122 about triggering a periodic reporting by a network is interpreted as receiving a configuration, his teaching in paragraph 294 about using a CSI report is equated to calibration report, paragraph 295, CSI types are equated to K groups of CSI information included in the configuration where K>1, CSI type is also equated to a type of calibration report, his teaching in paragraph 534 and 538 together teach using a processor and a transceiver for performing the claimed functionality, his teaching in paragraph 422 about using W1, W2 and W3 matrix are equated to a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraphs 423 and 426,setting a CSI reporting mode by a base station as described in paragraph 423 and assuming the matrix index by the terminal based on a received instruction from the base station is read as determining based on the configuration a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraph 427, producing a result related to CSI using W1, W2 and W3 matrix is interpreted as the calibration report including at least one indicator indicating the calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, reporting the CSI by the terminal using (method to method 3) is read as he transceiver is further configured to transmit the calibration report including at least one indicator indicating the calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraph 123, using “K” number of beams for CSI -RS beam management is interpreted as using a coherent joint transmission (CJT) across the K groups of CSI-RS ports. He fails to teach the above citated limitation.
As for claims 5 and 13, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitations “wherein, when the type of the calibration report corresponds to DO, the calibration report further includes a 1-bit indicator associated with each group r, the 1-bit indicator indicating a hypothesis about the CJT across the K groups of CSI-RS ports.”
The closest prior art in the record KANG et al.’s (WO2018230975) teaching in paragraph 122 about triggering a periodic reporting by a network is interpreted as receiving a configuration, his teaching in paragraph 294 about using a CSI report is equated to calibration report, paragraph 295, CSI types are equated to K groups of CSI information included in the configuration where K>1, CSI type is also equated to a type of calibration report, his teaching in paragraph 534 and 538 together teach using a processor and a transceiver for performing the claimed functionality, his teaching in paragraph 422 about using W1, W2 and W3 matrix are equated to a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraphs 423 and 426,setting a CSI reporting mode by a base station as described in paragraph 423 and assuming the matrix index by the terminal based on a received instruction from the base station is read as determining based on the configuration a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraph 427, producing a result related to CSI using W1, W2 and W3 matrix is interpreted as the calibration report including at least one indicator indicating the calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, reporting the CSI by the terminal using (method to method 3) is read as he transceiver is further configured to transmit the calibration report including at least one indicator indicating the calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraph 123, using “K” number of beams for CSI -RS beam management is interpreted as using a coherent joint transmission (CJT) across the K groups of CSI-RS ports. He fails to teach the above citated limitation.
As for claims 6 and 14, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitations “wherein: the K groups of CSI-RS ports are associated with K groups of NZP CSI-RS resources or resource sets, respectively, the information about the K groups of CSI-RS ports is via information about the K groups of NZP CSI-RS resources or resource sets, the calibration report is an aperiodic standalone report, and the calibration report is transmitted via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).”
The closest prior art in the record KANG et al.’s (WO2018230975) teaching in paragraph 122 about triggering a periodic reporting by a network is interpreted as receiving a configuration, his teaching in paragraph 294 about using a CSI report is equated to calibration report, paragraph 295, CSI types are equated to K groups of CSI information included in the configuration where K>1, CSI type is also equated to a type of calibration report, his teaching in paragraph 534 and 538 together teach using a processor and a transceiver for performing the claimed functionality, his teaching in paragraph 422 about using W1, W2 and W3 matrix are equated to a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraphs 423 and 426,setting a CSI reporting mode by a base station as described in paragraph 423 and assuming the matrix index by the terminal based on a received instruction from the base station is read as determining based on the configuration a calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraph 427, producing a result related to CSI using W1, W2 and W3 matrix is interpreted as the calibration report including at least one indicator indicating the calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, reporting the CSI by the terminal using (method to method 3) is read as he transceiver is further configured to transmit the calibration report including at least one indicator indicating the calibration offset for each of the K groups of CSI-RS ports, his teaching in paragraph 123, using “K” number of beams for CSI -RS beam management is interpreted as using a coherent joint transmission (CJT) across the K groups of CSI-RS ports. He fails to teach the above citated limitation.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected because these claims depend on claims 6 and 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20190268053……………paragraphs 81, 92 and 121.
/ABUSAYEED M HAQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466