6-7, 9, 13, 19-20DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10-12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang (CN-209514294).
In regards to claim 1, Yang teaches a projection screen, comprising: (abstract; 5 fig(s) 1, ‘curtain/projection screen’)
a base; (1, 4 fig. 1, ‘a vertical stand installed in the middle of one side of a countertop 1’)
a rolling mechanism disposed on the base, and the rolling mechanism including a reel; (6 fig. 1, ‘spring reel horizontally installed on the bottom of countertop near one side of the stand’)
a lifting mechanism, a first end of the lifting mechanism being fixedly connected to the base; (7, 71-74 fig. 1, ‘lift rod comprising outer cylinder 71, straight rods 72, collars 73, and connecting pieces 74’; para [0025]; claim 7)
an optical curtain, (5 fig. 1, ‘curtain’) a first end of the optical curtain being fixedly connected to the rolling mechanism, and a second end of the optical curtain being fixedly connected to a second end of the lifting mechanism, the optical curtain including an optical film, a first end of the optical film being fixedly connected to the reel; and (5, 7 fig(s) 1-2, ‘screen’, ‘slidable lifting rod’)
a guide roller disposed at a position where the second end of the lifting mechanism is proximate to the rolling mechanism, each end of the guide roller being connected to a side wall of the base, and the guide roller being configured to press the optical curtain; (6, 44 fig. 1,’ spring roller/spring drum (curtain fixed inside)’; ‘spring 6 a first sub-winding assembly curtain 5 is accommodated inside the spring reel’ and protective box guiding the roller with screen’)
wherein the end of the guide roller is movably connected to the side wall of the base; (6, 44 fig. 1,’ spring roller/spring drum (curtain fixed inside)’)
the side wall of the base is provided with a guide groove, and the end of the guide roller passes through the guide groove and is movable in a length direction of the guide groove; (7, 71-74 fig. 1, ‘lift rod comprising outer cylinder 71, straight rods 72, collars 73, and connecting pieces 74’; para [0025]; claim 7; ‘spring 6 a first sub-winding assembly curtain 5 is accommodated inside the spring reel’ and protective box guiding the roller with screen’)
the length direction is a direction of the optical curtain proximate to or away from the lifting mechanism. (abstract; 5 fig(s) 1-3, ‘curtain’)
In regards to claim 2, Yang teaches a projection screen according to claim 1, wherein the optical film includes: (see claim rejection 1)
a body portion; and (‘spring 6 a first sub-winding assembly curtain 5 is accommodated inside the spring reel’ and protective box guiding the roller with screen’)
a first connecting portion connected to the body portion; (6, 44 fig(s) 1, 3, ‘spring roller/spring drum (curtain fixed inside)’, ‘protective box’; 7, 71-74 fig. 1, ‘lift rod (slidable) comprising outer cylinder 71, straight rods 72, collars 73, and connecting pieces 74’; para [0025]; claim 7; ‘spring 6 a first sub-winding assembly curtain 5 is accommodated inside the spring reel’ and protective box guiding the roller with screen’)
wherein the first end of the optical film is fixedly connected to the reel through the first connecting portion. (6, 44 fig. 1,’ spring roller/spring drum (curtain fixed inside)’)
In regards to claim 3, Yang teaches a projection screen according to claim 2, (see claim rejection 2) wherein the lifting mechanism includes: a beam, a second end of the optical film being fixedly connected to the beam. (6, 44 fig(s) 1, 3, ‘spring roller/spring drum (curtain fixed inside)’, ‘protective box’; 7, 71-74 fig. 1, ‘lift rod (slidable) comprising outer cylinder 71, straight rods 72, collars 73, and connecting pieces 74’; para [0025]; claim 7; ‘spring 6 a first sub-winding assembly curtain 5 is accommodated inside the spring reel’ and protective box guiding the roller with screen’)
In regards to claim 4, Yang teaches a projection screen according to claim 3, (see claim rejection 3) wherein the optical film further includes: a second connecting portion connected to the body portion, the second connecting portion and the first connecting portion being arranged at an interval; wherein the second end of the optical film is fixedly connected to the beam through the second connecting portion. (7, 71-75 fig. 2,’lifting rod (slidably), ‘outer cylinder’, ‘straight rod’, ‘4 collars rotationally connected’, ‘connecting piece’, ‘ferrule’)
In regards to claim 5, Yang teaches a projection screen according to claim 3, (see claim rejection 3) wherein the guide roller is located between the beam and the reel. (6 fig(s) 1-3, ‘6-spring roller/spring drum (curtain fixed inside)’)
In regards to claim 8, Yang teaches a projection screen according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the guide roller further satisfies one of the following: each end of the guide roller is provided with one fixing nut, the one fixing nut being arranged on the side wall of the base away from the side of the guide roller; or each end of the guide roller is provided with two fixing nuts, the two fixing nuts being arranged on both sides of the side wall of the guide roller. (6, 44 fig. 1,’ spring roller/spring drum (curtain fixed inside)’; ‘spring 6 a first sub-winding assembly curtain 5 is accommodated inside the spring reel’ and protective box guiding the roller with screen’; ‘it is known to use nuts, screws or any other desired attachment mechanism for a projection screen roller’)
In regards to claim 10, Yang teaches a projection screen according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the lifting mechanism includes:
a beam, (7, 71-75 fig(s) 2, 3, ’lifting rod (slidably), ‘outer cylinder’, ‘straight rod’, ‘4 collars rotationally connected’, ‘connecting piece’, ‘ferrule’)
a second end of the optical film being fixedly connected to the beam and a first supporting rod and a second supporting rod, wherein a first end of the first supporting rod is rotatably connected to the base, a second end of the first supporting rod is rotatably connected to a first end of the second supporting rod, and a second end of the second supporting rod is rotatably connected to the beam. 6, 44 fig(s) 1, 3, ‘spring roller/spring drum (curtain fixed inside)’, ‘protective box’; 7, 71-74 fig. 1, ‘lift rod (slidable) comprising outer cylinder 71, straight rods 72, collars 73, and connecting pieces 74’; para [0025]; claim 7; ‘spring 6 a first sub-winding assembly curtain 5 is accommodated inside the spring reel’ and protective box guiding the roller with screen’)
In regards to claim 11, Yang teaches a projection screen according to claim 10, (see claim rejection 10) wherein the lifting mechanism further includes: a lifting motor, the lifting motor being fixed on the base, an output shaft of the lifting motor being connected to the first end of the first supporting rod; and a lifting controller electrically connected to the lifting motor to control a start and stop of the lifting motor. (‘A stand (4) is installed, and a lift rod (7) is slidably installed on one side of the stand (4); the lifting rod (7) includes an outer cylinder (71), a straight rod (72), and a collar (73). ) and the connecting piece (74), one end of the two straight rods (72) is plugged into both sides of the interior of the outer cylinder (71), and the four collars (73) are connected to the two straight rods in pairs. The rod (72) is away from the outside of the rod body of the outer cylinder (71). The bottoms of the four collars (73) are rotationally connected to the upper parts of the four connecting pieces (74) through rivets.’; 45 fig(s) 1-3, ‘electric drum’)
In regards to claim 12, Yang teaches a projection screen according to claim 11, (see claim rejection 11) further comprising two groups of lifting mechanisms, wherein the two groups of lifting mechanisms are arranged at each end of the rolling mechanism, and either of the two groups of lifting mechanisms expand the optical screen through two ends of a side of the optical curtain. (7, 71-75 fig. 2,’lifting rod (slidably), ‘outer cylinder’, ‘straight rod’, ‘4 collars rotationally connected’, ‘connecting piece’, ‘ferrule’)
In regards to claim 14, Yang teaches a projection screen according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the rolling mechanism includes:
a rolling motor fixedly connected to the base; the reel, an output shaft of the rolling motor being fixedly connected to an end of the reel; and (45 fig(s) 1-3, ‘electric drum’)
a rolling controller electrically connected to the rolling motor to control a start and stop of the rolling motor. (‘A stand (4) is installed, and a lift rod (7) is slidably installed on one side of the stand (4); the lifting rod (7) includes an outer cylinder (71), a straight rod (72), and a collar (73). ) and the connecting piece (74), one end of the two straight rods (72) is plugged into both sides of the interior of the outer cylinder (71), and the four collars (73) are connected to the two straight rods in pairs. The rod (72) is away from the outside of the rod body of the outer cylinder (71). The bottoms of the four collars (73) are rotationally connected to the upper parts of the four connecting pieces (74) through rivets.’; 45 fig(s) 1-3, ‘electric drum’)
In regards to claim 15, Yang teaches a projection apparatus, comprising: the projection screen according to claim 1 configured to display a projection image; and (see claim rejection 1; abstract; 5 fig(s) 1-3)
an optical engine configured to emit light beams to the projection screen, and the optical engine being an ultra-short-focus optical engine. (3 fig. 1, ‘laser projector’)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang (CN-209514294).
In regards to claim 16, Yang teaches a projection apparatus, comprising: (abstract)
a projection screen configured to display a projection image; and (abstract; 5 fig(s) 1, ‘curtain/projection screen’)
an optical engine configured to emit light beams to the projection screen, and the optical engine being an ultra-short-focus optical engine; (3 fig. 1, ‘laser projector’)
wherein the projection screen including: (5 fig. 1, ‘curtain’)
a base; (1, 4 fig. 1, ‘a vertical stand installed in the middle of one side of a countertop 1’)
a rolling mechanism disposed on the base, and the rolling mechanism including a reel; (6 fig. 1, ‘spring reel horizontally installed on the bottom of countertop near one side of the stand’)
a lifting mechanism, a first end of the lifting mechanism being fixedly connected to the base, and the lifting mechanism including a beam; and (7, 71-74 fig. 1, ‘lift rod comprising outer cylinder 71, straight rods 72, collars 73, and connecting pieces 74’; para [0025]; claim 7)
an optical curtain, (5 fig. 1, ‘curtain’) a first end of the optical curtain being fixedly connected to the rolling mechanism, and a second end of the optical curtain being fixedly connected to a second end of the lifting mechanism; (5, 7 fig(s) 1-2, ‘screen’, ‘slidable lifting rod’; 7, 71-74 fig. 1, ‘lift rod comprising outer cylinder 71, straight rods 72, collars 73, and connecting pieces 74’; para [0025]; claim 7)
wherein the optical curtain includes an optical film, a first end of the optical film is fixedly connected to the reel, and a second end of the optical film being fixedly connected to the beam. (7, 71-74 fig. 1, ‘lift rod comprising outer cylinder 71, straight rods 72, collars 73, and connecting pieces 74’; para [0025]; claim 7; ‘spring 6 a first sub-winding assembly curtain 5 is accommodated inside the spring reel’ and protective box guiding the roller with screen’)
In regards to claim 17, Yang teaches a projection apparatus according to claim 16, (see claim rejection 16) wherein the projection screen further includes:
a guide roller disposed at a position where the second end of the lifting mechanism is proximate to the rolling mechanism, each end of the guide roller being connected to a side wall of the base, and the guide roller being configured to press the optical curtain. (6, 44 fig. 1,’ spring roller/spring drum (curtain fixed inside)’; ‘spring 6 a first sub-winding assembly curtain 5 is accommodated inside the spring reel’ and protective box guiding the roller with screen’)
In regards to claim 18, Yang teaches a projection apparatus according to claim 17, (see claim rejection 17) further comprising:
an accommodating base, the accommodating base being configured to accommodate at least one of the optical engine or the projection screen, and the accommodating base includes at least one of the following: (1, 3-5 fig. 1, ‘a vertical stand installed in the middle of one side of a countertop 1’, laser projector’, ‘stand’, ‘curtain’)
a first accommodating portion, the optical engine being disposed in an inner cavity of the first accommodating portion; or a second accommodating portion, the projection screen being disposed in an inner cavity of the first accommodating portion; (6, 44 fig. 1,’ spring roller/spring drum (curtain fixed inside)’; ‘spring 6 a first sub-winding assembly curtain 5 is accommodated inside the spring reel’ and protective box guiding the roller with screen’)
wherein at least one of the base, the rolling mechanism, the lifting mechanism and the guide roller is disposed in the inner cavity of the second accommodating portion, and the rolling mechanism is capable of controlling the optical curtain to be accommodated in the inner cavity of the second accommodating portion. (6, 44 fig. 1,’ spring roller/spring drum (curtain fixed inside)’; ‘spring 6 a first sub-winding assembly curtain 5 is accommodated inside the spring reel’ and protective box guiding the roller with screen’; 7, 71-74 fig. 1, ‘lift rod comprising outer cylinder 71, straight rods 72, collars 73, and connecting pieces 74’; para [0025]; claim 7)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6-7, 9, 13, 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The Examiner completed a PE2E-Search, and Similarity search 06/26/2026. The Examiner did not find the recitation of the claims above primary consisting of a first surface and a second surface where at least one stiffener extends laterally along the optical curtain; and a lubricating member disposed in the guide groove and fixedly connected to the guide roller, so as to reduce a friction between the guide roller and the guide groove; or the guide roller includes: a central shaft, each end of the central shaft being connected to the side wall of the base; and a drum rotatably sleeved on an outside of the central shaft, and the drum pressing on the tensioning assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited Chen (WO 2022/258064), Shi (CN 110572629), and Peng (CN 110647003) references further describe a projection screen as described by the claims.
/K.C.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852