DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 7/10/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/8/24, 10/29/24, 8/16/25, 1/12/26, 4/29/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-9, 11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Tang et al. US 20250233602 hereafter Tang.
As to Claim 1. Tang discloses a first radio node [i.e. Apparatus-302] for wireless communication, comprising [Sections 0089: More generally, two devices may be wirelessly communicating with each other; the apparatus-302 may be a network device/UE and the device-312 may be a network device/TRP; the terms “apparatus” 302 and “device” 312 are simply used to distinguish between the two entities; they may be the same type of entity, e.g. the apparatus 302 and the device 312 may both be network devices (e.g. base stations or other TRPs)]:
at least one memory; and at least one processor [Processor-308] coupled with the at least one memory [Memory-310] and configured to cause the first radio node to [Fig. 5, Sections 0094: The apparatus-302 includes a processor-308 for directly performing or controlling to perform the operations of the processor described herein, and further includes a memory-310 for storing information and data, further includes an a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 334 for converting]:
transmit first capability information comprising one or more low-resolution transmit behaviors of the first radio node [Fig. 8, Sections 0041, 0109, 0112: The disclosure includes configurations for low ADC/DAC resolution determined based on factors, for example the capability of the apparatus. An apparatus report its capability related to conversion and transmit to the device information related to its capability for ADC/DAC (i.e. includes low resolution). Combinations of bit resolutions and sampling rates supported by the apparatus including list of values];
receive second configuration information for transmission of a reference signal [Sections 0013, 0069, 0137: The method include receiving, from a device, a reference configuration at the apparatus. The processor extract signaling by decoding the reference signal transmitted by NT-TRP, and implements transmit beamforming/beam direction and channel estimation using a reference signal received from the TRPs. The reference configuration associated with lower bit resolution or sampling rate operating configuration for the digital-to-analog signal conversion],
and transmit, based at least in part on the second configuration information, one or more reference signals [Section 0069, 0122: The processor extract signaling by decoding the reference signal transmitted by NT-TRP, and implements transmit beamforming/beam direction and channel estimation using a reference signal received from the TRPs. The apparatus transmit, to the device, CQI (i.e. type of reference signal, see 0086, 0088) value associated with the operating reference configuration, and based on combination of bit resolution and sampling rate; and transmit that CQI value to the device].
As to Claim 2. Tang discloses the first radio node of claim 1, wherein the one or more low-resolution transmit behaviors of the first radio node are associated with a low resolution digital-to-analog converter (DAC) of the first radio node [Sections 0041: The disclosure includes configurations for low ADC/DAC resolution determined based on one or more factors of the apparatus], and the reference signal comprises a sequence of time-domain complex values [Sections 0086, 0112, 0137: The reference signal includes parameters and timing. Combinations of bit resolutions and sampling rates includes list of (N, Fs) values. The reference configuration associated with lower bit resolution or sampling rate operating configuration for the digital-to-analog signal conversion].
As to Claim 3. Tang discloses the first radio node of claim 1, wherein the first capability information comprises capability information for the first radio node, the capability information [Sections 0041: The disclosure includes configurations for low ADC/DAC resolution determined based on one or more factors, for example capability of the apparatus]
comprising one or more of: a discrete set as a subset of one or more supported steps of one or more digital-to-analog converters (DACs) of the first radio node; a first value equal to or smaller than a number of quantization states supported by the one or more DACs of the first radio node; a second value equal to or smaller than a number of quantization bits supported by the one or more DACs of the first radio node; or at least one supported sampling time of the one or more DACs of the first radio node [Sections 0054, 0112, 0130, 0137: ADC/DAC resolution is expressed as the number of bits that can be output, for example, for an n-bit ADC/DAC, the number of discrete digital values. Combinations of bit resolutions and sampling rates supported by the apparatus (i.e. radio node) including list of values.
Each MCS table comprising different available modulation orders, different code rates include BPSK, QPSK (Quadrature Phase-Shift Keying), 16 QAM, and 64 QAM. Digital-to-analog signal conversion (DAC) associated with N2 bit resolution, and the apparatus (i.e. radio node) use the MCS table].
As to Claim 4. Tang discloses the first radio node of claim 1, wherein the second configuration information [Sections 0013: The method include receiving, from a device, a reference configuration at the apparatus] comprises one or more of: a sequence of complex values defined in time-domain as an output of a digital baseband processor; a defined sequence of complex values defined in the time-domain as input of one or more digital-to-analog converters (DACs) of the first radio node; one or more of a sampling time or a sampling rate associated with the defined sequence of complex values; a scaling value applied on the defined sequence of complex values; a phase rotation applied on the define complex sequence of complex values; a reference to one or more previous reference signals; or different reference signal definitions for multiple different transmission directions [Sections 0004, 0069, 0137, 0141: The frequency and time duration are examples of resources, typically referred to as time-frequency resources used by the UE/apparatus. The processor extract signaling by decoding the reference signal and implements transmit beamforming/beam direction. The reference configuration associated with sampling rate operating configuration for the digital-to-analog signal conversion (DAC). As such, different device configurations may have different bit resolutions, different sampling rates, and/or different combinations of bit resolutions and sampling rates].
As to Claim 5. Tang discloses the first radio node of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first radio node to autonomously determine one or more reference signal parameters [Fig. 5, Sections 0086, 0094: Reference signal such as CSI-RS, CSI and a received signal may include parameters from the signal, such as but not limited to amplitude, frequency, noise and/or timing. The apparatus-302 includes a processor-308 for directly performing or controlling to perform the operations of the processor described herein].
As to Claim 6. Tang discloses the first radio node of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause [Fig. 5, Sections 0094: The apparatus-302 includes a processor-308 for directly performing or controlling to perform the operations of the processor described herein] the first radio node to one or more of time division multiplex (TDM) the one or more reference signals with a second transmission; assign the one or more reference signals to one or more indicated symbols; or assign the one or more reference signals to one or more dedicated symbols within a slot, the one or more dedicated symbols comprising symbol features dedicated for reference signals [Sections 0004, 0061, 0069: The time duration (i.e. time slots) are examples of resources used by the UE for communication. For example, the communication system implement time division multiple access (TDMA) or TDM. The ED (electronic device) performing operations including those related to preparing a transmission and generating symbols for transmission implements reference signal received from the NT-TRP].
As to Claim 7. Tang discloses the first radio node of claim 1, wherein a slot or a subframe that includes one or more reference signal symbols comprises differing parameters or characteristics than a slot or a subframe that does not include one or more reference signal symbols [Sections 0004, 0069, 0175-0176: The time duration (i.e. time slots) are examples of resources used by the UE for communication. The ED (electronic device) performing operations including those related to preparing a transmission and generating symbols for transmission implements reference signal received from the NT-TRP. For example, the apparatus operate on the configuration for low bit resolution for a time period (i.e. slots). For example, if the device transmits an indication to perform a configuration change at time T, the apparatus may perform the configuration change at time].
As to Claim 8. Tang discloses the first radio node of claim 1, wherein one or more of: one or more of reference signal symbol parameters, reference signal symbol slot format, or reference signal subframe format are indicated via reference to a codebook; or a codebook for reference signal is associated with one or more of a transmission direction or a low resolution feature of the first radio node [Sections 0069, 0086, 0175: The ED implements the transmit beamforming and/or receive beamforming based on the indication of beam direction, e.g. beam angle information using a reference signal received from the NT-TRP. The UE transmit an indication of a codebook for use by the TRP for precoding. For example, the apparatus operate on the configuration for low bit resolution for a time period (i.e. slots)].
As to Claim 9. Tang discloses the first radio node of claim 1, wherein one or more of: the one or more reference signals are time division multiplexed (TDM) as part of a defined symbol; or the one or more reference signals are TDM within a shared symbol with a second transmission [Sections 0004, 0061, 0069: The time duration (i.e. time slots) are examples of resources used by the UE for communication. For example, the communication system implement time division multiple access (TDMA) or TDM. The ED (electronic device) performing operations including those related to preparing a transmission and generating symbols for transmission implements reference signal received from the NT-TRP].
As to Claim 11. Tang discloses the first radio node of claim 1, wherein the one or more reference signals are time division multiplexed (TDM) within a symbol with modulated reference signal samples at time-samples corresponding to a cyclic prefix (CP) of an associated signal at a pre-CP insertion stage [Sections 0013, 0061, 0141: The method may further include receiving, from the device, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) value associated with a reference configuration. For example, the communication system implement time division multiple access (TDMA) or TDM. A respective sampling rate used by the device, and respective combination of bit resolution and sampling rate as such, different device configurations may have different bit resolutions, different sampling rates, and/or different combinations of bit resolutions and sampling rates].
As to Claim 14. Tang discloses the first radio node of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first radio node to adjust one or more parameters of the one or more reference signals to be within a discrete space prior to transmission of the one or more reference signals [Sections 0069, 0150, 0155: The processor extract signaling by decoding the reference signal transmitted by NT-TRP. In embodiments, the configuration change process include modifying (i.e. adjusting) the operating configuration associated with the bit resolution and sampling rate. The implicit indication of the (new) operating configuration may include information related to configuration change (e.g. switching configuration, modifying configuration, etc.) for converting analog and digital signals].
As to Claim 15. Tang discloses the first radio node of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first radio node to transmit an indication of the adjusted one or more parameters of the one or more reference signals [Sections 0069, 0150, 0155: The processor extract signaling by decoding the reference signal transmitted by NT-TRP. In embodiments, the configuration change process include modifying (i.e. adjusting) the operating configuration associated with the bit resolution and sampling rate. The implicit indication of the (new) operating configuration may include information related to configuration change (e.g. switching configuration, modifying configuration, etc.) for converting analog and digital signals].
As to Claim 16. Tang discloses a second radio node [i.e. Device-312]
for wireless communication, comprising [Sections 0089: More generally, two devices wirelessly communicating with each other; the apparatus-302 may be a network device/UE and the device-312 may be a network device/TRP; the terms “apparatus” 302 and “device” 312 are simply used to distinguish between the two entities; they may be the same type of entity, e.g. the apparatus 302 and the device 312 may both be network devices (e.g. radio nodes, base stations, and/or TRPs)]:
at least one memory; and at least one processor [Processor-318] coupled with the at least one memory [Memory-320] and configured to cause the second radio node to [Fig. 5, Sections 0091: The device-312 includes a processor-318 for directly performing or controlling the device to perform the operations and further includes a memory-320 for storing information and data; further includes a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 344]:
receive first capability information comprising one or more low-resolution transmit behaviors of a first radio node [Fig. 8, Sections 0041, 0109, 0112: The disclosure includes configurations for low ADC/DAC resolution determined based on factors, for example the capability of the apparatus. An apparatus report its capability related to conversion and transmit to the device-312 information related to its capability for ADC/DAC (i.e. includes low resolution). Combinations of bit resolutions and sampling rates supported by the apparatus including list of values];
and one or more reference signals [Sections 0013, 0069, 0137: The method include receiving, from a device, a reference configuration at the apparatus. The processor extract signaling by decoding the reference signal transmitted by NT-TRP, and implements transmit beamforming/beam direction and channel estimation using a reference signal received from the TRPs. The reference configuration associated with lower bit resolution or sampling rate operating configuration for the digital-to-analog signal conversion];
receive third configuration information comprising an indication of one or more measurement quantities to be computed based at least in part on the reference signals [Sections 0012, 0069, 0086: Method further include transmitting, to the device, information related to channel measurement performed by the apparatus, associated with the operating configuration include information from one or more channel quality indicator (CQI) (i.e. type of reference signal, see 0086, 0088) tables. The processor implements channel estimation using a reference signal received from the TRPs. Channel measurement is referenced as signals that may be transmitted that are used for measurement and feeding back measurement results; example of a reference signal is a channel state information (CSI) and reference signal and/or synchronization signal used by the UE to perform a measurement and thereby obtain a measurement result e.g. of channel quality and measurements include: measuring CSI, Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP); and/or measuring Reference Signal Receive Quality (RSRQ); and/or measuring channel quality, e.g. to obtain a channel quality indicator (CQI)],
and transmit a measurement report generated based at least in part on the third configuration information, the measurement report comprising the one or more measurement quantities [Sections 0086, 0088, 0106: A measurement report may then be transmitted and report some or all of the measurement result. Therefore, many different items of information may be fed back based on measurement of a received signal from one device to another include CSI, CQI, SNR, SINR, RRSP, RSRQ, codebook/rank indicator for precoding, indication of MCS and not limited to CQI. There are one or multiple configurations for converting, perform channel measurement, and report channel measurement feedback].
As to Claim 17. Tang discloses the second radio node [i.e. Device-312] of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the second radio node to [Fig. 5, Section 0091: The device-312 includes a processor-318] receive an indication of an association between the one or more reference signals and one or more other transmissions [Section 0122, 0128: The apparatus transmit, to the device-312, CQI (i.e. type of reference signal value associated with the operating reference configuration, and based on combination of bit resolution and sampling rate; and transmit that CQI value to the device. MCS tables associated with configurations used for transmissions on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and for low bit resolutions, and may be used for transmissions on PUSCH].
As to Claim 18. Tang discloses the second radio node of claim 16, wherein the third configuration information comprises an indication that the measurement report is to be generated using one or more reference signals that meet a distortion condition [Sections 0086, 0088, 0106: A measurement report may then be transmitted and report some or all of the measurement result. Therefore, many different items of information may be fed back based on measurement of a received signal from one device to another include CSI, CQI, SNR, SINR, RRSP, RSRQ, codebook/rank indicator for precoding, indication of MCS and not limited to CQI. There are one or multiple configurations for converting, perform channel measurement, and report channel measurement feedback].
As to Claim 19. Tang discloses a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to [Fig. 5, Sections 0094: The apparatus-302 includes a processor-308 for directly performing or controlling to perform the operations of the processor described herein, and further includes a memory-310 for storing information and data, further includes an a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 334 for converting]:
transmit first capability information comprising one or more low-resolution transmit behaviors of a radio node [Fig. 8, Sections 0041, 0109, 0112: The disclosure includes configurations for low ADC/DAC resolution determined based on factors, for example the capability of the apparatus. An apparatus report its capability related to conversion and transmit to the device information related to its capability for ADC/DAC (i.e. includes low resolution). Combinations of bit resolutions and sampling rates supported by the apparatus including list of values];
receive second configuration information for transmission of a reference signal [Sections 0013, 0069, 0137: The method include receiving, from a device, a reference configuration at the apparatus. The processor extract signaling by decoding the reference signal transmitted by NT-TRP, and implements transmit beamforming/beam direction and channel estimation using a reference signal received from the TRPs. The reference configuration associated with lower bit resolution or sampling rate operating configuration for the digital-to-analog signal conversion],
wherein the reference signal comprises a sequence of time-domain complex values; and transmit, based at least in part on the second configuration information, one or more reference signals [Sections 0061, 0086, 0112, 0137: For example, the communication system implement time division multiple access (TDMA) or TDM. The reference signal includes parameters and timing. Combinations of bit resolutions and sampling rates includes list of (N, Fs) values. The reference configuration associated with lower bit resolution or sampling rate operating configuration for the digital-to-analog signal conversion].
As to Claim 20. Tang discloses a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to [Fig. 5, Sections 0091: The device-312 includes a processor-318 for directly performing or controlling the device to perform the operations and further includes a memory-320 for storing information and data; further includes a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) 344]:
receive first capability information comprising one or more low-resolution transmit behaviors of a radio node [Fig. 8, Sections 0041, 0109, 0112: The disclosure includes configurations for low ADC/DAC resolution determined based on factors, for example the capability of the apparatus. An apparatus report its capability related to conversion and transmit to the device-312 information related to its capability for ADC/DAC (i.e. includes low resolution). Combinations of bit resolutions and sampling rates supported by the apparatus including list of values],
and one or more reference signals [Sections 0013, 0069, 0137: The method include receiving, from a device, a reference configuration at the apparatus. The processor extract signaling by decoding the reference signal transmitted by NT-TRP, and implements transmit beamforming/beam direction and channel estimation using a reference signal received from the TRPs. The reference configuration associated with lower bit resolution or sampling rate operating configuration for the digital-to-analog signal conversion];
receive third configuration information comprising an indication of one or more measurement quantities to be computed based at least in part on the reference signals [Sections 0012, 0069, 0086: Method further include transmitting, to the device, information related to channel measurement performed by the apparatus, associated with the operating configuration include information from one or more channel quality indicator (CQI) (i.e. type of reference signal, see 0086, 0088) tables. The processor implements channel estimation using a reference signal received from the TRPs. Channel measurement is referenced as signals that may be transmitted that are used for measurement and feeding back measurement results; example of a reference signal is a channel state information (CSI) and reference signal and/or synchronization signal used by the UE to perform a measurement and thereby obtain a measurement result e.g. of channel quality and measurements include: measuring CSI, Reference Signal Receive Power (RSRP); and/or measuring Reference Signal Receive Quality (RSRQ); and/or measuring channel quality, e.g. to obtain a channel quality indicator (CQI)],
and transmit a measurement report generated based at least in part on the third configuration information, the measurement report comprising the one or more measurement quantities [Sections 0086, 0088, 0106: A measurement report may then be transmitted and report some or all of the measurement result. Therefore, many different items of information may be fed back based on measurement of a received signal from one device to another include CSI, CQI, SNR, SINR, RRSP, RSRQ, codebook/rank indicator for precoding, indication of MCS and not limited to CQI. There are one or multiple configurations for converting, perform channel measurement, and report channel measurement feedback].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 10, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. US 20250233602 hereafter Tang in view of ATZENI et al. US 20240129856 hereafter Atzeni.
As to Claim 10. Tang discloses the first radio node [i.e. Apparatus-302] of claim 1 [Fig. 5, Section 0089],
Tang doesn’t explicitly state wherein one or more of: transmission of the one or more reference signals at a symbol including an inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) stage includes shaping dedicated REs for time-domain shaping; or transmission of the one or more reference signals at a symbol including an IFFT stage includes adjusting an IFFT length to a reference signal duration and multiplexing the one or more reference signals at a post-IFFT stage.
However, Atzeni teaches wherein one or more of: transmission of the one or more reference signals at a symbol including an inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) stage includes shaping dedicated REs for time-domain shaping; or transmission of the one or more reference signals at a symbol including an IFFT stage includes adjusting an IFFT length to a reference signal duration and multiplexing the one or more reference signals at a post-IFFT stage [Fig. 24 (Illustrates representation of FFT in the case of two devices), Sections 0002, 0008, 0166: To meet the quality-of-service requirements, the power consumed by each analog-to-digital/digital-to-analog converter (ADC/DAC) scales with the sampling rate and number of quantization bits suggests adopting low-resolution ADCs/DACs with quantization bits and multiplexing gains by multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO). A channel transmission is associated with reference signals and power level. FFT is used in the case of two devices with delayed signals according to an example].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the methods of Tang relating to device relating to low bit resolutions and sampling rates relating to ADC/DAC with the teaching of Atzeni relating to applying FFT, channel transmission are generally associated with reference signals and used with devices. By combining the method/systems, FFT can be applied with reference signals for adopting low resolution thereby saving power when performing ADC/DAC as suggested by Atzeni.
As to Claim 12. Tang discloses the first radio node of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first radio node to [Fig. 5, Section 0089]:
Tang doesn’t explicitly state generate the one or more reference signals using a digital quantization step from one or more supported digital quantization steps of the first radio node.
However, Atzeni teaches generate the one or more reference signals using a digital quantization step from one or more supported digital quantization steps of the first radio node [Sections 0002, 0051, 0117: There are fully digital antennas at the gNB to use for each analog-to-digital/digital-to-analog converter (ADC/DAC) scales linearly with the sampling rate and exponentially with the number of quantization bits. Each signal sequence may comprise reference signal sequence. Network node device herein can apply ADCs/DACs with 2 to 4 quantization bits].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the methods of Tang relating to device relating to low bit resolutions and sampling rates relating to ADC/DAC with the teaching of Atzeni relating network node to applying digital quantization with reference signals. By combining the method/systems, the network node/radio node can apply digital quantization with the reference signals with its digital antennas without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 13. Tang discloses the first radio node of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first radio node to [Fig. 5, Section 0089]:
Tang doesn’t explicitly state generate the one or more reference signals using digital quantization at one or more of: after an inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) stage and prior to cyclic prefix (CP) insertion; after the IFFT stage and after CP insertion; after an up sampling and filtering stage; or after a reference signal generated in time domain.
However, Atzeni teaches generate the one or more reference signals using digital quantization at one or more of: after an inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) stage and prior to cyclic prefix (CP) insertion; after the IFFT stage and after CP insertion; after an up sampling and filtering stage; or after a reference signal generated in time domain [Fig. 24 (Illustrates representation of FFT in the case of two devices), Sections 0002, 0051, 0117, 0166: There are fully digital antennas at the gNB to use for each analog-to-digital/digital-to-analog converter (ADC/DAC) scales linearly with the sampling rate and exponentially with the number of quantization bits. Each signal sequence may comprise reference signal sequence. Network node device herein can apply ADCs/DACs with 2 to 4 quantization bits. FFT used after removing the cyclic prefix (CP)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the methods of Tang relating to device relating to low bit resolutions and sampling rates relating to ADC/DAC with the teaching of Atzeni relating to applying FFT, channel transmission are generally associated with reference signals and used with devices and network node applying digital quantization with reference signals. By combining the method/systems, FFT can be applied with reference signals for adopting low resolution and the network node/radio node can apply digital quantization with the reference signals with its digital antennas without undue experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Islam et al. US 20200259543 in particular the Title “Use of low resolution analog-to-digital converter/digital-to-analog converter (ADC/DAC)”
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
July 9, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477