DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
2. This office action is a response to an application filed on March 04, 2026 in which claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Based on the Preliminary Amendment filed on March 04, 2026, the listing of claims replace all prior versions, and listings, of claims in the application.
Drawings
3. The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on July 10, 2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statements submitted on July 10, 2024 and January 16, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #122 (R2-23024910; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 16, 2025), hereinafter “3GPP’910” in view of TSENG et al. (US 2023/0112574 A1; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 16, 2025), hereinafter “Tseng”.
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP’910 discloses a user equipment (UE) (page 1-2, configuration for early TA acquisition) comprising: a transceiver configured to:
receive an early timing advance (TA) configuration (page 2-3, 6, 2.1, 2.4-2.5, candidate cell specific RRC RACH configuration for early TA acquisition) including an early TA random access (RA) resource (page 2-3, 6, 2.1, 2.4-2.5, CFRA resource (SS/PBCH index, RACH occasion, and Random Access Preamble index) for a candidate cell for conditional layer 1/layer 2 triggered mobility (CLTM) (page 2-3, 6, 2.1, 2.4-2.5, LTM candidate cell configuration); and
start a time alignment timer (TAT) for the candidate cell (page 2-3, 6, 2.1, 2.4-2.5, for early TA acquisition with RAR case, UE starts the TAT time associated with the candidate cell upon receiving RAR).
While 3GPP’910 implicitly refers to “transmit, on the early TA RA resource, a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble to the candidate cell; and receive a message including a current TA for the candidate cell; and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to: store the current TA for the candidate cell” (page 4, 6, Early TA acquisition with RAR) , Tseng from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses a transceiver (Fig. 2, simplified block diagrams of wireless devices e.g., a UE and a gNB) configured to:
transmit, on the early TA RA resource, a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble to the candidate cell (Fig. 4, paragraph [0032], UE performs synchronization and RACH procedure for TA acquisition of neighbor cell(s), by sending a RACH preamble (Msg1) to the neighbor cell); and
receive a message including a current TA for the candidate cell (Fig. 4, paragraphs [0026], [0032], random access response RAR (Msg2) from the neighbor cell); and
a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver (Fig. 2, simplified block diagrams of wireless devices e.g., UE and/or gNB), the processor configured to:
store the current TA for the candidate cell (Fig. 4, paragraphs [0007], [0032], acquires and maintains the TA and configurations of the neighbor cell upon completion of the RACH procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “transmit, on the early TA RA resource, a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble to the candidate cell; and receive a message including a current TA for the candidate cell; and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to: store the current TA for the candidate cell” as taught by Tseng, in the system of 3GPP’910, so that it would provide timing advance acquisition for neighbor cells in 5G New Radio cellular communication networks relate to wireless communication to reduce the data interruption due to random access during handover is desired (Tseng, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP’910 discloses the early TA configuration includes the TAT for the candidate cell (page 2, early TA acquisition including duration of timeAlignmentTimer for candidate cell).
Regarding claim 8, 3GPP’910 in view of Tseng disclose the UE according to claim 1.
Tseng further discloses the PRACH preamble is a message 1 (Msgl) for a 4-step contention based RA (CBRA) procedure; and the transceiver is further configured to: receive a message 2 (Msg2) including the current TA for the candidate cell from a serving cell of the UE or from the candidate cell; and transmit a message 3 (Msg3) to the serving cell of the UE or to the candidate cell; and receive a message 4 (Msg4) from the serving cell of the UE or from the candidate cell (Fig.5, paragraphs [0035]-[0037], performing RACH toward neighbor cell using CBRA in accordance with for TA acquisition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the PRACH preamble is a message 1 (Msgl) for a 4-step contention based RA (CBRA) procedure; and the transceiver is further configured to: receive a message 2 (Msg2) including the current TA for the candidate cell from a serving cell of the UE or from the candidate cell; and transmit a message 3 (Msg3) to the serving cell of the UE or to the candidate cell; and receive a message 4 (Msg4) from the serving cell of the UE or from the candidate cell” as taught by Tseng, in the system of 3GPP’910, so that it would provide timing advance acquisition for neighbor cells in 5G New Radio cellular communication networks relate to wireless communication to reduce the data interruption due to random access during handover is desired (Tseng, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1 from the perspective of the base station.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8 from the perspective of the base station.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
7. Claims 2, 4, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #122 (R2-23024910; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 16, 2025), hereinafter “3GPP’910” in view of TSENG et al. (US 2023/0112574 A1; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 16, 2025), hereinafter “Tseng” in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #122 (R2-2305879; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 16, 2025), hereinafter “3GPP’879”.
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP’910 in view of Tseng disclose the UE according to claim 1.
Neither 3GPP’910 nor Tseng explicitly discloses “the processor is further configured to: determine that a previous TA for the candidate cell is not valid; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the PRACH preamble when the previous TA is not valid”.
However, 3GPP’879 from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the processor is further configured to: determine that a previous TA for the candidate cell is not valid; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the PRACH preamble when the previous TA is not valid (page 6, 2.3, 2.4, Observation 1, timer and/or signal threshold to check the validly of the acquired TAs; acquired TA is valid as long as the timer (started upon TA acquisition); Assignment of CFRA preambles).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “determine that a previous TA for the candidate cell is not valid; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the PRACH preamble when the previous TA is not valid” as taught by 3GPP’879, in the combined system of 3GPP’910 and Tseng, so that it would provide validity check of acquired timing advance in case random access response reception configured (3GPP’879, 2.3.1).
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP’910 in view of Tseng disclose the UE according to claim 1.
Neither 3GPP’910 nor Tseng explicitly discloses “the processor is further configured to: determine whether the current TA of the candidate cell is valid; if the current TA of the candidate cell is valid, initiate an RA free cell switch procedure with the candidate cell; and if the current TA of the candidate cell is not valid, initiate an RA based cell switch procedure with the candidate cell”.
However, 3GPP’879 from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the processor is further configured to: determine whether the current TA of the candidate cell is valid; if the current TA of the candidate cell is valid, initiate an RA free cell switch procedure with the candidate cell; and if the current TA of the candidate cell is not valid, initiate an RA based cell switch procedure with the candidate cell (page 6, 2.3, 2.4, Observation 1, in case RAR reception is configured, UE needs to check if acquired TA for candidate cell shall be updated or can be used for LTM switch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “determine whether the current TA of the candidate cell is valid; if the current TA of the candidate cell is valid, initiate an RA free cell switch procedure with the candidate cell; and if the current TA of the candidate cell is not valid, initiate an RA based cell switch procedure with the candidate cell” as taught by 3GPP’879, in the combined system of 3GPP’910 and Tseng, so that it would provide validity check of acquired timing advance in case random access response reception configured (3GPP’879, 2.3.1).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
8. Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #122 (R2-23024910; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 16, 2025), hereinafter “3GPP’910” in view of TSENG et al. (US 2023/0112574 A1; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 16, 2025), hereinafter “Tseng” in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #122 (R2-2305879; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 16, 2025), hereinafter “3GPP’879” in view of Abdul et al. (US 2026/0129529 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 63/524,611 field on June 30, 2023), hereinafter “Abdul”.
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP’910 in view of Tseng and 3GPP’879 disclose the UE according to claim 2.
Neither 3GPP’910 nor Tseng nor 3GPP’879 explicitly discloses “the processor is further configured to determine whether a cell switch condition for the candidate cell is fulfilled; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the PRACH preamble in response to the cell switch condition for the candidate cell being fulfilled”.
However, Abdul from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the processor is further configured to determine whether a cell switch condition for the candidate cell is fulfilled (paragraph [0502], performing a HO and/or a CHO to the target PCell from a source PCell and performing the HO and/or the CHO to the target PCell); and
the transceiver is further configured to transmit the PRACH preamble in response to the cell switch condition for the candidate cell being fulfilled (paragraph [0502], by initiating an RA procedure based on the RACH resources configured on the target PCell; the wireless device receives a time alignment (TA) command in a RAR corresponding to a preamble transmitted by the wireless device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the processor is further configured to determine whether a cell switch condition for the candidate cell is fulfilled; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the PRACH preamble in response to the cell switch condition for the candidate cell being fulfilled” as taught by Abdul, in the combined system of 3GPP’910, Tseng and 3GPP’879, so that it would provide initiating a UE context modification procedure to perform downlink synchronization towards the target PCell (Abdul, paragraph [0502]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
9. Claims 5, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #122 (R2-23024910; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 16, 2025), hereinafter “3GPP’910” in view of TSENG et al. (US 2023/0112574 A1; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 16, 2025), hereinafter “Tseng” in view of Abdul et al. (US 2026/0129529 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 63/524,611 field on June 30, 2023), hereinafter “Abdul”.
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP’910 in view of Tseng disclose the UE according to claim 1.
While 3GPP’910 in view of Tseng implicitly refer to “the candidate cell is a candidate cell for one of: conditional handover (CHO); conditional primary secondary cell group (SCG) cell (PSCell) addition and change (CPAC); and an additional cell in an inter-cell multi-TRP operation”, Abdul from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the candidate cell is a candidate cell for one of: conditional handover (CHO); conditional primary secondary cell group (SCG) cell (PSCell) addition and change (CPAC); and an additional cell in an inter-cell multi-TRP operation (paragraphs [0185], [0441], [0456], [0476], [0631], conditional handover (CHO); conditional primary secondary cell group (SCG) cell (PSCell) addition and change (CPAC); and inter-cell multi-TRP operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the candidate cell is a candidate cell for one of: conditional handover (CHO); conditional primary secondary cell group (SCG) cell (PSCell) addition and change (CPAC); and an additional cell in an inter-cell multi-TRP operation” as taught by Abdul, in the combined system of 3GPP’910 and Tseng, so that it would provide initiating a UE context modification procedure to perform downlink synchronization towards the target PCell (Abdul, paragraph [0502]).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5 from the perspective of the base station.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
10. Claims 7, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #122 (R2-23024910; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 16, 2025), hereinafter “3GPP’910” in view of TSENG et al. (US 2023/0112574 A1; as submitted by the applicant with IDS dated January 16, 2025), hereinafter “Tseng” in view of Prasad et al. (US 2025/0234257 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 63/457,376 field on April 05, 2023), hereinafter “Prasad”.
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP’910 in view of Tseng disclose the UE according to claim 1.
Neither 3GPP’910 nor Tseng explicitly discloses “the message includes a MAC CE identified by a logical channel identifier (LCID) or an extended LCID (eLCID) for early TA acquisition; and the MAC CE includes at least one of: a field for the current TA of the candidate cell; a field indicating a timing advance group indicator (TAG ID); and a field indicating the candidate cell”.
However, Prasad from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the message includes a MAC CE identified by a logical channel identifier (LCID) or an extended LCID (eLCID) for early TA acquisition; and the MAC CE includes at least one of: a field for the current TA of the candidate cell; a field indicating a timing advance group indicator (TAG ID); and a field indicating the candidate cell (paragraphs [0320], [0322], timing advance command MAC CE may be identified by MAC subheader with LCID; A field of the one or more fields may comprise a TAG identity (TAG ID); The field may indicate/comprise the TAG identity of a TAG; The one or more TAGS may comprise the TAG; The TAG containing/comprising the SpCell may have the TAG identity that is equal to 0; The length of the field may be 2 bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the message includes a MAC CE identified by a logical channel identifier (LCID) or an extended LCID (eLCID) for early TA acquisition; and the MAC CE includes at least one of: a field for the current TA of the candidate cell; a field indicating a timing advance group indicator (TAG ID); and a field indicating the candidate cell” as taught by Prasad, in the combined system of 3GPP’910 and Tseng, so that it would provide timing advance command MAC CE comprising one or more fields relate to layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) cell switch command (Prasad, paragraph [0321]).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7 from the perspective of the base station.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
Conclusion
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414