DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/24/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A) Applicant’s Argument towards Double Patenting Rejections:
“In contrast, the cited co-pending claims are directed to machine-learning-based CSI-RS measurement and reporting, including generating a beam measurement result for configured CSIRS resources. Thus, the claim 1 of the present application is not merely directed to general CSIRS measurement and reporting, but instead is directed to a distinct beam failure detection and link recovery framework in which the neural-network output corresponds to a beam failure detection result and determination of a recovery beam candidate” [Reply; page 2].
In response to applicant's argument:
Claim 1 does not specifically show a “distinct beam failure detection and link recovery framework in which the neural-network output corresponds to a beam failure detection result and determination of a recovery beam candidate”. Claim 1 only states generating a result which is labeled as “beam failure detection”. The claim does not have a step involving this result, so the label of the result could be anything. The intended use of claim 1 is for “determination of a recovery beam candidate” but that is not specifically claimed. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “determination of a recovery beam candidate”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection is maintained.
B) Applicant’s Argument towards Double Patenting Rejections:
Rather, claim 1 recites a specific application of the neural network to beam failure detection and link recovery. That distinction is material. A neural-network-assisted measurement/reporting scheme and a neural-network-assisted beam failure detection scheme do not define the same invention merely because both involve CSI-RS resources, measurements, and a neural network” [Reply; page 2].
In response to applicant's argument:
Claim 1 is neither specific to “beam failure detection” nor to “link recovery”. The three steps, within claim 1, do not disclose a process for detecting beam failure but only reports a result. Reporting a result is the same as reporting a result in the co-pending application 18/771,058. Therefore, the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection is maintained.
C) Applicant’s Argument towards 102 Rejection:
“It follows that, the CSI-RS resource received by the UE is for constructing the candidate beams, and the CSI-RS resource is irrelevant to the beam failure detection. Thus, Lee fails to anticipate the feature a” [Reply; page 3].
In response to applicant's argument:
The claim language states receiving a set of resources “for a beam failure detection”. It appears receiving the set of resources for the intended purpose of beam failure detection and not actually “beam failure detection”. The 102 rejection points out “set of candidate CSI-RS resources, in case of BFD (‘Beam Failure Detection’). The claim, as a whole, does not show a process of beam failure detection from the neural network result. It seems the abstract idea of generating a result may not be specifically confined to a practical application of the judicial exception. The statement of “CSI-RS resource is irrelevant to the beam failure detection” is irrelevant, since the receiving step is not “to” detect” but “for” detect. Therefore, the 102 rejection is maintained.
D) Applicant’s Argument towards 102 Rejection:
“However, Lee fails to disclose or suggest the ML model is used for or related to beam failure detection. The Office Action maps Lee's "candidate beam determination algorithm information" and related ML model to the claimed "configuration information of a first neural network for the beam failure detection." The applicant respectfully submits that the mapping is unsupported. A candidate-beam determination model is not the same as a neural network configured for beam failure detection. Thus, Lee fails to anticipate the feature b” [Reply; page 4].
In response to applicant's argument:
The claim language states “neural network for the beam failure detection”. This step does not show the neural network producing results to be used to detect a beam failure. This step only shows receiving configuration information (ie. data). The intended use of the data is for beam failure detection but that is missing from the claim language. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the ML model is used for or related to beam failure detection”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the 102 rejection is maintained.
E) Applicant’s Argument towards 102 Rejection:
“But that phrase is tied to the structure and operation of the claim” and “Those recitations define what the neural network does with the measurement result and what result is produced. They are not merely nonlimiting statements of use. Lee fails to disclose a first neural network for beam failure detection that generates a beam failure detection result from the measurement result on the claimed set of CSI-RS resources, and thus Lee fails to anticipate the feature c” [reply; page 4]
In response to applicant's argument:
The phrase “for a beam failure detection” is not tied to any structure or operation of the claim. The claim is not confined to a process of beam failure detection but only a neural network producing a result. That result could be used to detect beam failure but this is not within the instant claim language. The claim language does not disclose how the neural network produces a result that would be different from the result within the Lee reference. The adjective of “beam failure detection” of the result does not further show any actual detection of a beam failure. Therefore, the 102 rejection is maintained.
F) Applicant’s Argument towards 103 Rejection:
“However, Bi fails to disclose or suggest inputting the measurement result of the set of CSI-RS resources to the first neural network for beam failure detection, to output a beam failure detection result” [Reply; page 5].
In response to applicant's argument:
The Bi reference was not cited within the rejection of the independent claims for “inputting the measurement result of the set of CSI-RS resources to the first neural network for beam failure detection”. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore, the 103 rejections are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 17 should have been provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 11, and 17 of application 18/771,058 [PGPUB 2024/0364405]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other (anticipatory).
Instant Application 18/769,304
Application 18/771,058
Claim 1: A method for configuring a terminal device for a link recovery, comprising:
Claim 1: 1. A method for machine learning based Channel State Information (CSI-RS) measurement and reporting, comprising:
receiving, by the terminal device, a set of Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resources for a beam failure detection;
Claim 1: receiving, by a terminal device, configuration information of a set of "N" CSI-RS resources;
receiving, by the terminal device, "M" CSI RS resources out of the "N" CSI RS resources;
receiving, by the terminal device, configuration information of a first neural network for the beam failure detection;
Claim 8: The method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, configuration information of the first neural network for beam measurement and reporting.
performing, by the terminal device, a measurement on the set of CSI-RS resources;
Claim 1: performing, by the terminal device, a measurement on the "M" CSI-RS resources; and
and generating, by the terminal device, a beam failure detection result by applying the first neural network on a result of the measurement on the set of CSI-RS resources.
Claim 1: generating, by the terminal device, a beam measurement result for the "N" CSI-RS resources by applying a first neural network on a result of the measurement on the "M" CSI-RS resources.
Instant Application 18/769,304
Application 18/771,058
Claim 17: A system comprising:
a processor; and a memory configured to store instructions, when executed by the processor, to:
Claim 11: A system comprising:
a processor; and a memory configured to store instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the
processor to:
receive, by the terminal device, a set of Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resources for a beam failure detection;
Claim 11: receive configuration information of a set of "N" Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resources;
receive "M" CSI RS resources out of the "N" CSI RS
resources;
receive, by the terminal device, configuration information of a first neural network for the beam failure detection;
Claim 17: The system according to claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: receive configuration information of the first neural network for beam measurement and reporting.
performing, by the terminal device, a measurement on the set of CSI-RS resources; and
Claim 11: perform a measurement on the "M" CSI-RS resources; and
generate, by the terminal device, a beam failure detection result by applying the first neural network on a result of the measurement on the set of CSI-RS resources.
Claim 11: generate a beam measurement result for the "N" CSI-RS resources by applying a first neural network on a result of the measurement on the "M" CSI-RS resources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under35 U.S.C.102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LEE et al. ("Lee") [PGPUB 2024/0292232].
Regarding claim 1, the Lee reference discloses a method for configuring a terminal device for a link recovery, comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, a set of Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resources for a beam failure detection [ie. set of candidate CSI-RS resources, in case of BFD (“Beam Failure Detection”); Lee; figures 2 and 13; paragraphs 0161-0162, 0174, 0199, and 0211-0212];
receiving, by the terminal device, configuration information of a first neural network for the beam failure detection [Lee; fig 13; para 0180-0181, 0186-0188, 0194, and 0214];
performing, by the terminal device, a measurement on the set of CSI-RS resources [ie. measure surrounding beams; Lee; fig 13 and 15; para 0189, 0213, and 0215]; and
generating, by the terminal device, a beam failure detection result by applying the first neural network on a result of the measurement on the set of CSI-RS resources [ie. based on ML model and measurements of the optimal candidate beams; Lee; fig 4, 13, and 17; para 0189, 0215, 0241-0246, and 0254].
Regarding claim 3, the Lee reference further discloses the first neural network is configured to consider one or more following measurements when generating the beam failure detection result: L1-RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power) measured from the set of CSI-RS resources, L1-RSRQ (Reference Signal Received Quality) measured from the set of CSI-RS resources, and L1-RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indication) measured from the set of CSI-RS resources [ie. RSRP (“L1-RSRP”); Lee; fig 10, para 0141, 0162-0163, and 0173].
Regarding claim 5, the Lee reference further discloses the first neural network is configured to consider one or more following measurements when generating the beam failure detection result: L1-RSRP measured from a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) transmission and L1-RSRQ measured from the PDCCH transmission [ie. candidate set is within PDCCH transmission (Layer 1 signaling) for L1-RSRP measurements; Lee; para 0078-0079, 0082, and 0173].
Regarding claim 7, the Lee reference further discloses the configuration information is received from a network device, and wherein the configuration information includes a current status of a communication link between the terminal device and the network device [ie. channel state information; Lee; para 0069, 0073, and 0141-0142].
Regarding claim 9, the Lee reference discloses a method for configuring a terminal device for a link recovery, comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, a first set of Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resources for a beam failure detection [“for a beam failure detection” is intended use of the resources; ie. set of candidate CSI-RS resources, in case of BFD (“Beam Failure Detection”); Lee; figures 2 and 13; paragraphs 0161-0162, 0174, 0199, and 0211-0212];
receiving, by the terminal device, a second set of CSI-RS resources and Synchronization Signal and Physical Broadcast Channel Blocks (SSBs) for candidate beam RS [“for candidate beam RS” is intended use of the resources; ie. set of candidate CSI-RS/SSB resources, in case of BFD and a need for a candidate beam RS; Lee; figures 2 and 13; paragraphs 0139-0143, 0151, and 0211-0212];
receiving, by the terminal device, configuration information of a second neural network for determining new candidate beam RS [Lee; fig 13; para 0180-0181, 0186-0188, 0194, and 0214];
performing, by the terminal device, a first measurement on the first set of CSI-RS resources for the beam failure detection [“for a beam failure detection” is intended use of the measurement; ie. measure surrounding beams; Lee; fig 13 and 15; para 0189, 0213, and 0215];
performing, by the terminal device, a second measurement on the second set of CSI-RS resources and SSBs for determining new candidate beam RS [“for a beam failure detection” is intended use of the measurement; ie. measure surrounding beams; Lee; fig 13 and 15; para 0189, 0213, and 0216]; and
determining, by the terminal device, a candidate CSI-RS or SSB from the second set of CSI-RS resources and SSBs by applying the second neural network on results of the first and second measurements [ie. based on ML model and measurements (“first and second measurements”) for the optimal candidate beams; Lee; fig 4, 13, and 17; para 0165, 0173, 0189, 0215, 0241-0246, and 0254].
Regarding claim 11, the Lee reference further discloses the second neural network is configured to consider one or more following measurements when generating the beam failure detection result: L1-RSRP measured from the second set of CSI-RS resources and SSBs, L1-RSRQ measured from the second set of CSI-RS resources and SSBs, and L1-RSSI measured from the second set of CSI-RS resources and SSBs [ie. RSRP (“L1-RSRP”); Lee; fig 10, para 0141, 0162-0163, and 0173].
Regarding claim 13, the Lee reference further discloses the second neural network is configured to consider one or more following measurements when generating the beam failure detection result: L1-RSRP measured from a PDCCH transmission or L1-RSRQ measured from the PDCCH transmission [ie. candidate set is within PDCCH transmission (Layer 1 signaling) for L1-RSRP measurements; Lee; para 0078-0079, 0082, and 0173].
Regarding claim 15, the Lee reference further discloses the configuration information is received from a network device, and wherein the configuration information includes a current status of a communication link between the terminal device and the network device [ie. channel state information; Lee; para 0069, 0073, and 0141-0142].
Regarding claims 17, 19, and 20, the apparatus of claims 17, 19, and 20 perform the similar steps as the method of claims 1, 3, and 5. The Lee reference teaches the method of claims 1, 3, and 5, as referenced above. The additional limitations of a “processor” and a “memory” are rejected with the citation of figure 23 and paragraph 0315 of Lee. Therefore, claims 17, 19, and 20 are rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claims 1, 3, and 5, by the teachings of Lee.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Bl et al. ("Bi") [PGPUB 2023/0309174].
Regarding claim 2, the Lee reference further discloses a base station and BFD but does not specifically disclose the beam failure detection is for one carrier component (CC).
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Bi reference discloses the beam failure detection is for one carrier component (CC) [Bi; para 0072 and 0101-0102]. The Lee and Bi references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage beam failure recovery. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the terminology of CC, taught by Bi, into the system, taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to have a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable result [KSR; MPEP 2141 (III)].
Regarding claim 4, the Lee reference does disclose measurements from the set of CSI-RS resources [Lee; fig 13 and 15; para 0189, 0213, and 0215] but does not specifically disclose the first neural network is configured to consider one or more following measurements when generating the beam failure detection result: L1-SINR (Signal to Interference Noise Ratio) measured from the set of CSI-RS resources, a time stamp of the measurement on the set of CSI-RS resources, and BLER (Block Error Rate) measured from the set of CSI-RS resources.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Bi reference discloses the first neural network is configured to consider one or more following measurements when generating the beam failure detection result: L1-SINR (Signal to Interference Noise Ratio) measured from the set of CSI-RS resources, a time stamp of the measurement on the set of CSI-RS resources, and BLER (Block Error Rate) measured from the set of CSI-RS resources [Bi; para 0102-0104 and 0149]. The Lee and Bi references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage beam failure recovery. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of measuring BLER, taught by Bi, into the system, taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to have another measurement for BFD.
Regarding claim 6, the Lee reference does disclose measurements from the set of CSI-RS resources [Lee; fig 13 and 15; para 0189, 0213, and 0215] but does not specifically disclose the first neural network is configured to consider one or more following measurements when generating the beam failure detection result: L1-SINR measured from a PDCCH transmission and BLER measured from the PDCCH transmission.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Bi reference discloses the first neural network is configured to consider one or more following measurements when generating the beam failure detection result: L1-SINR measured from a PDCCH transmission and BLER measured from the PDCCH transmission. [Bi; para 0102-0104 and 0149]. The Lee and Bi references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage beam failure recovery. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of measuring BLER, taught by Bi, into the system, taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to have another measurement for BFD.
Regarding claim 8, the Lee reference does disclose the current status of the communication link [Lee; para 0069, 0073, 0141-0142, and 0295] but does not specifically disclose the current status of the communication link includes a first indicator "failed" or a second indicator "non-failed."
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Bi reference discloses the current status of the communication link includes a first indicator "failed" or a second indicator "non-failed” [ie. beam direction (“non-failed”) Bi; para 0123 and 0128-0129]. The Lee and Bi references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage beam failure recovery. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of an indicator, taught by Bi, into the system, taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to give the beam direction status to the UE.
Regarding claim 10, the Lee reference further discloses a base station and BFD but does not specifically disclose the beam failure detection is for one carrier component (CC).
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Bi reference discloses the beam failure detection is for one carrier component (CC) [Bi; para 0072 and 0101-0102]. The Lee and Bi references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage beam failure recovery. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the terminology of CC, taught by Bi, into the system, taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to have a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable result [KSR; MPEP 2141 (III)].
Regarding claim 12, the Lee reference does disclose measurements from the set of CSI-RS resources [Lee; fig 13 and 15; para 0189, 0213, and 0215] but does not specifically disclose the second neural network is configured to consider one or more following measurements when generating the beam failure detection result: L1-SINR measured from the second set of CSI-RS resources and SSBs, a time stamp of the second measurement, or BLER measured from the second set of CSI-RS resources and SSBs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Bi reference discloses the second neural network is configured to consider one or more following measurements when generating the beam failure detection result: L1-SINR measured from the second set of CSI-RS resources and SSBs, a time stamp of the second measurement, or BLER measured from the second set of CSI-RS resources and SSBs [Bi; para 0102-0104 and 0149]. The Lee and Bi references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage beam failure recovery. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of measuring BLER, taught by Bi, into the system, taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to have another measurement for BFD.
Regarding claim 14, the Lee reference does disclose measurements from the set of CSI-RS resources [Lee; fig 13 and 15; para 0189, 0213, and 0215] but does not specifically disclose the second neural network is configured to consider one or more following measurements when generating the beam failure detection result: L1-SINR measured from a PDCCH transmission or BLER measured from the PDCCH transmission.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Bi reference discloses the second neural network is configured to consider one or more following measurements when generating the beam failure detection result: L1-SINR measured from a PDCCH transmission or BLER measured from the PDCCH transmission [Bi; para 0102-0104 and 0149]. The Lee and Bi references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage beam failure recovery. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of measuring BLER, taught by Bi, into the system, taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to have another measurement for BFD.
Regarding claim 16, the Lee reference does disclose the current status of the communication link [Lee; para 0069, 0073, 0141-0142, and 0295] but does not specifically disclose the current status of the communication link includes a first indicator "failed" or a second indicator "non-failed."
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Bi reference discloses the current status of the communication link includes a first indicator "failed" or a second indicator "non-failed” [ie. beam direction (“non-failed”) Bi; para 0123 and 0128-0129]. The Lee and Bi references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage beam failure recovery. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of an indicator, taught by Bi, into the system, taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to give the beam direction status to the UE.
Regarding claim 18, the apparatus of claim 18 performs the similar steps as the method of claim 2. The combination of Lee-Bi teaches the method of claim 2, as referenced above. The additional limitations of a “processor” and a “memory” are rejected with the citation of figure 23 and paragraph 0315 of Lee. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 2, by the teachings of Lee-Bi.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON D CARDONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458