Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 15-17 and 21-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SEREGEN et al. (US 2020/0186830) hereinafter “SEREGEN”.
As per claim 1, SEREGIN discloses a method of video decoding, comprising:
receiving a bitstream (paragraph 0082, the decoding device 112 receives the encoded video bitstream data) that includes first coded information of a current block in a current picture, the first coded information indicating an inter prediction of the current block based on a reference block in a reference picture for the current block (paragraph 0066, For inter-prediction, a set of motion parameters (e.g., one or more motion vectors, reference indices, or the like) is signaled in the bitstream for each PU and is used for inter-prediction of the luma PB and the one or more chroma PBs; paragraph 0069, a prediction mode may be signaled inside the bitstream using syntax data. A prediction mode may include intra-prediction (or intra-picture prediction) or inter-prediction (or inter-picture prediction); paragraph 0146, …an encoded video bitstream including video data...The video data can include a plurality of pictures, and the pictures can be divided into a plurality of blocks, as previously described. The video data can also include motion information for the pictures and/or blocks, which can be used to perform motion compensation), and local illumination compensation (LIC) to the inter prediction of the current block (paragraph 0129, one or more flags can be signaled between an encoder and a decoder at a block level to indicate whether particular tools have been applied (e.g., LIC, merge mode, among others) in the prediction of the block; paragraph 0162, the illumination compensation flag can be included in the encoded bitstream), the LIC generating a prediction sample of the current block based on a formula with one or more reconstructed samples in the reference block being input to the formula, the formula including one or more LIC parameters (see paragraphs 0111-0112, equation (I));
determining first LIC information for the potential application of the LIC to the current block (paragraph 0152, determining whether to apply illumination compensation for the current block…In some examples, the illumination compensation flag can indicate whether illumination compensation is to be applied) based on second coded information of a second block that is reconstructed before the current block (paragraph 0156, illumination compensation can be performed for the current block based on the value of the inherited illumination compensation flag), the first LIC information including at least one of a first control flag indicating whether the LIC is applied to the current block (paragraph 0152, determining whether to apply illumination compensation for the current block…In some examples, the illumination compensation flag can indicate whether illumination compensation is to be applied), a first template type for deriving the one or more LIC parameters, a first formula type of the formula, and/or a transform type for residual data of the LIC (only the first part of this limitation is examined), the second block being different from the reference block (i.e., a neighboring block or another block in a candidate list, see paragraph 0150); and
when the first control flag is true (paragraph 0156, if the illumination compensation flag is true),
applying, according to the first LIC information, the LIC to the current block (paragraph 0156, illumination compensation can be performed for the current block based on the value of the inherited illumination compensation flag) to generate at least a reconstructed sample of the current block ();
storing the first LIC information that has been applied to the current block as stored LIC information, the stored LIC information being available for at least one third block to inherit (paragraph 0145, an illumination compensation flag can be stored along with the motion vector predictor for a current block, where the illumination compensation flag and the motion information can be propagated to other blocks which can be predicted with this information (e.g., in the merge mode); paragraph 0150, in a merge mode, the motion information for the current block can be inherited from the motion information of a neighboring block or another block in a candidate list. In some examples, the illumination compensation flag can be stored along with motion information for the current block in a motion vector candidate list which includes the motion information for the current block; paragraph 00156, the illumination compensation flag can be stored along with motion information for block. In some examples, the stored illumination compensation flag can be inherited along with the associated motion information. For example, the illumination compensation flag and motion information of a neighboring block can be inherited and used for motion prediction of a current block (e.g., in the merge mode)); and
reconstructing the at least one third block with the LIC based on the stored LIC information (paragraph 0145, an illumination compensation flag can be stored along with the motion vector predictor for a current block, where the illumination compensation flag and the motion information can be propagated to other blocks which can be predicted with this information (e.g., in the merge mode); paragraph 0156, the illumination compensation flag can be stored along with motion information for block. In some examples, the stored illumination compensation flag can be inherited along with the associated motion information. For example, the illumination compensation flag and motion information of a neighboring block can be inherited and used for motion prediction of a current block (e.g., in the merge mode); paragraph 0293, applying…illumination compensation for the current block; and reconstructing a sample of the current block based on…illumination compensation applied to the current block).
As per claim 15, SEREGEN discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the stored LIC information comprises the one or more LIC parameters (paragraph 0082, the decoding device 112 receives the encoded video bitstream data and may provide the video bitstream data to the decoder engine 116, or to storage 118 for later use by the decoder engine 116; wherein the bitstream comprises the LIC parameters, see paragraph 0109, a set of IC parameters (e.g., a and b) are signaled to the decoder and is used for motion compensation).
As per claim 16, SEREGEN discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the stored LIC information (see paragraphs 0145, 0150 and 0156) is stored in a unit of m x n samples, and m and n are positive integer numbers (paragraphs 0081 and 0199 teach that the storage device may include hard drive. paragraphs 0230 and 0234 also teach that the storage device may include magnetic disk or tape. It is known in the art that the type of media storage that stores data in a unit of m x n samples is typically magnetic storage devices, such as hard drives and magnetic tapes).
As per claim 17, the claim is directed to a method of video encoding corresponding to the method of video decoding of claim 1; therefore, since SEREGEN discloses encoding and decoding methods (see FIGs. 09-10), arguments analogous to those applied for claim 1 are applicable for claim 17.
As per claim 21, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 15 are appliable for claim 21.
As per claim 22, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 17 are applicable for claim 22; in addition, SEREGEN discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the method of encoding a bitstream (paragraphs 0204 and 0234); and transmitting the bitstream (paragraph 0204).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 2-6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEREGEN et al. (US 2020/0186830) in view of Bordes et al. (US 2022/0353517) hereinafter “Bordes”.
As per claim 2, SEREGIN discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the first LIC information comprises: when the second coded information of the second block indicates that a second control flag of the second block is true indicating the LIC being applied to the second block (paragraph 0156, illumination compensation can be performed for the current block based on the value of the inherited illumination compensation flag. For example, the inherited motion vectors from the neighboring block can be used as the motion vectors for the current block, and illumination compensation can be performed if the inherited illumination compensation flag from the neighboring block is true. In such examples, the LIC parameters can also be inherited from the neighboring block and used as the LIC parameters for the current block if the illumination compensation flag is true),
However, SEREGIN does not explicitly disclose determining the first control flag of the current block based on a comparison of a value of the one or more LIC parameters with a threshold value.
In the same field of endeavor, Bordes discloses determining the first control flag of the current block based on a comparison of a value of the one or more LIC parameters with a threshold value (paragraphs 0058-0062).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by SEREGIN, with those of Bordes, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed both references are related to local illumination compensation flag inheritance, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combinations of SEREGIN and Bordes used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
As per claim 3, the combination of SEREGIN and Bordes discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the determining the first control flag further comprises:
deriving the one or more LIC parameters based on a current template of the current block and a reference template of the reference picture (see SEREGIN, FIGs. 4A-4B and paragraph 0037, FIGs. 5A-5B and paragraph 0118);
determining that the first control flag is false when at least a first derived parameter value of a first parameter in the one or more LIC parameters is larger than an upper threshold value of a first range for the first parameter or smaller than a lower threshold value of the first range for the first parameter (see paragraph 0058 of Bordes, if the values of the LIC parameters are close to default, then LIC_flag_out[C]=false. For example, in case of LIC model (eq.1), “close to default”…can correspond to: abs(a−1)<th_a…, where (th_a;th_b) are pre-determined values (e.g. 0.1 and 10<<(bitdepth_8))); and determining that the first control flag is true when derived parameter values of the one or more LIC parameters are within respective ranges of the one or more LIC parameters (this limitation is not examined because the claim recites two conditional limitations that are mutually exclusive, such that if one is performed, then the other does not need to be performed. In Rebstock, the PTAB echoed the Schulhauser guidance, see Ex Parte Schulhauser, No. 2013-007847, 2016 WL 6277792 (P.T.A.B. Apr. 28, 2016), that when there are two mutually exclusive steps (as underlined above), “the broadest reasonable interpretation of [the claim] requires performance of only one of the two mutually exclusive steps.”).
As per claim 4, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 3 are applicable for claim 4.
As per claim 5, Bordes discloses wherein the threshold value is a constant value or the threshold value is decoded from at least one of a sequence header, a slice header, a. picture header, and a frame header in the bitstream (paragraph 0058).
As per claim 6, SEREGIN discloses wherein the threshold value is determined based on at least one of a quantization parameter of the current block, a block size of the current block, a shape of the current block, a temporal distance between the current block and/or the reference block (paragraph 0189).
As per claim 18, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 2 are applicable for claim 18.
9. Claim(s) 7-8 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEREGEN et al. (US 2020/0186830) in view of Bandyopadhyay et al. (US 2022/0094940) hereinafter “Bandyopadhyay”.
As per claim 7, SEREGEN discloses the method of claim 1; however, SEREGEN does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining the first LIC information comprises: determining the first template type according to a default template type associated with a shape of the current block.
In the same field of endeavor, Bandyopadhyay discloses wherein the determining the first LIC information comprises: determining the first template type according to a default template type associated with a shape of the current block (paragraph 0113, For a coding block having a square shape, the Eq. (6) are applied directly).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video coding system of SEREGEN with the support for default templates of Bandyopadhyay, because such systems and methods allow for establishing a default template for coding a video bitstream (Bandyopadhyay, paragraph 0113).
As per claim 8, Bandyopadhyay discloses wherein the default template type is an above and left template type when the shape of the current block is a square and an above template and a left template are available (paragraph 0113, C(n) represents top and left neighboring reconstructed chroma samples).
As per claim 11, SEREGEN discloses the method of claim 1; however, SEREGEN does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining the first LIC information comprises: determining the first template type according to a second template type for the second block when a second control flag for the second block is true.
In the same field of endeavor, Bandyopadhyay discloses wherein the determining the first LIC information comprises: determining the first template type according to a second template type for the second block when a second control flag for the second block is true (paragraph 0103, A first flag for (e.g., each) inter coded CU may be signaled to indicate whether the translational motion model or the affine motion model is applied for inter prediction. If the affine motion model is applied, a second flag may be sent to indicate whether the model is four-parameter or six-parameter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video coding system of SEREGEN with the support for establishing template types based on other template types and flags of Bandyopadhyay, because such systems and methods allow for signaling the use of a template type based on a second flag (Bandyopadhyay, paragraph 0103). This rationale applies to all the combination of SEREGEN and Bandyopadhyay used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
As per claim 12, Bandyopadhyay discloses wherein the determining the first LIC information comprises: determining that the first template type of the current block is of a same type as the second template type of the second block when the first control flag of the current block is determined to be a same flag as the second control flag of the second block (paragraph 0108, When each CU is coded in a 2N×2N merge mode, a LIC flag is copied from neighboring blocks selected as the merge candidate in a way similar to motion information copy in merge mode. Otherwise, the LIC flag is signaled for the CU to indicate whether LIC applies or not).
As per claim 13, SEREGEN discloses the method of claim 1; however, SEREGEN does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining the first LIC information comprises: determining that the first control flag of the current block is of a same flag as a second control flag of the second block regardless whether the second block uses the reference picture for inter prediction.
In the same field of endeavor, Bandyopadhyay discloses wherein the determining the first LIC information comprises: determining that the first control flag of the current block is of a same flag as a second control flag of the second block regardless whether the second block uses the reference picture for inter prediction (paragraph 0108, When each CU is coded in a 2N×2N merge mode, a LIC flag is copied from neighboring blocks selected as the merge candidate in a way similar to motion information copy in merge mode. Otherwise, the LIC flag is signaled for the CU to indicate whether LIC applies or not).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video coding system of SEREGEN with the support for identical control flags of Bandyopadhyay, because such systems and methods allow for determining when the same flag is signaled repeatedly (Bandyopadhyay, paragraph 0108).
10. Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEREGEN et al. (US 2020/0186830) in view of Bandyopadhyay et al. (US 2022/0094940) in further view of WANG et al. (US 2022/0224915) cited in IDS, hereinafter “WANG”.
As per claim 9, SEREGEN and Bandyopadhyay disclose the method of claim 7; however, SEREGEN or Bandyopadhyay do not explicitly disclose wherein the default template type is a left template type when the shape of the current block is rectangular, a ratio of a height to a width of the current block is larger than a predefined threshold value, and a left template of the current block is available.
In the same field of endeavor, WANG discloses wherein the default template type is a left template type when the shape of the current block is rectangular, a ratio of a height to a width of the current block is larger than a predefined threshold value, and a left template of the current block is available (paragraph 0009, the at least one template set is selected from the plurality of sub-templates based on a coding information for the current block, wherein the coding information includes a block dimension or block shape. The at least one template set may be selected from the plurality of sub-templates based on a relationship between the dimension and a pre-defined threshold. BW may represent a block width of the current video block and BH may represent a block height of the current video block. In some implementations, a left sub-template is not selected in a case that the BW divided by the BH is greater than or equal to a first threshold. In some implementations, an above sub-template is not selected in a case that the BH divided by the BW is greater than or equal to a second threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the video coding systems of SEREGEN and Bandyopadhyay with the support for default template types for rectangular blocks of WANG, because such systems and methods allow for defaulting to a template type where a current block fits certain criteria (WANG, paragraph 0009).
As per claim 10, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 9 are applicable for claim 10.
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (US 20180063531, US 20200288158, US 20210344909, US 20190230376, US 20210235073)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED JEBARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482