This Final-Office action is in response to the Amendment filed on 2/25/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 10, line 4 recites “a mount surface”; meanwhile, line 6 recites “the mounting surface”. For the purpose of this examination, the examiner is considering that “a mount surface” is “a mounting surface”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20230087153 to Park.
Park discloses (Claim 1). A door assembly 100 for a refrigerator appliance, the door assembly 100 comprising: a door body having an inner surface configured to face rearward toward an interior compartment of the refrigerator appliance, an outer surface opposite the inner surface, and a peripheral edge surface 121-123 between the inner surface and the outer surface; a pocket handle 124 extending along at least a portion of a vertical extent 123 of the peripheral edge surface of the door body, the pocket handle 124 defining a recessed surface (such as shown in Figs. 3 & 5) disposed inward from the peripheral edge surface 123 and between the inner surface and the outer surface of the door body; and a handle assembly 130,140 having a handle portion 130 and a mounting portion 140 fixedly coupled with the recessed surface of the pocket handle 124, the mounting portion 140 extending forward and supporting the handle portion 130 at a spaced distance forward from the outer surface of the door body (Figs. 1-2); (Claim 2). The door assembly of claim 1, wherein the handle portion 130 of the handle assembly extends along a section of a length of the pocket handle; (Claim 3). The door assembly of claim 1, wherein the recessed surface of the pocket handle 124 comprises (Fig. 5) a front internal surface along an edge portion of a front wall of the door body that faces rearward on the door body; (Claim 4). The door assembly of claim 3, wherein the recessed surface of the pocket handle 124 comprises a rear internal surface along an intermediate wall of the door body that faces forward on the door body; (Claim 5). The door assembly of claim 4, wherein a width of the front internal surface is less than a width of the rear internal surface to position an edge of the front wall inboard from the peripheral edge surface of the door body (Fig. 5); (Claim 7). The door assembly of claim 4, wherein the mounting portion 140 of the handle assembly includes an internal section 143 (Fig. 5) that extends in a width direction of the door body along the front internal surface of the pocket handle; (Claim 8). The door assembly of claim 7, wherein the mounting portion 140 of the handle assembly includes an external section 142,141 that extends forward from the internal section 143 adjacent to and beyond an edge of the front wall (Fig. 5); (Claim 10). A refrigerator door handle for a refrigerator appliance, the refrigerator door handle comprising (such as shown in Figs. 1-5): a handle portion 130 configured for a user to grasp to open a refrigerator door; and a mounting portion 140 having a mounting surface 143 configured to attach in interface with a recessed surface forming a pocket handle 124 on a peripheral edge 123 of the refrigerator door and a fastener 146 that extends through the mounting surface 143 to fixedly engage into the refrigerator door, the mounting portion 140 extending outward from the mount surface 143 a distance configured to support the handle portion 130 at a spaced distance outward from an outer surface of the refrigerator door; (Claim 11). The refrigerator door handle of claim 10, wherein the mounting portion 140 includes an internal section 143 that extends in a width direction of the refrigerator door along a front internal surface of the pocket handle 124; (Claim 12). The refrigerator door handle of claim 11, wherein the mounting portion 140 includes an external section 142,141 that extends forward from the internal section 143 adjacent to and beyond an edge of the outer surface of the refrigerator door; (Claim 14). A refrigerator appliance comprising (such as shown in Figs. 1-5): a cabinet (not shown: “showcase”) defining an interior compartment with an opening; a door 100 movable movably mounted to the cabinet and operable to at least partially conceal the opening in a closed position, the door 100 having an inner surface facing the interior compartment, an outer surface opposite the inner surface; and a peripheral edge surface 121-123 between the inner surface and the outer surface; a pocket handle 124 extending at least partially along a vertical extent of the peripheral edge surface of the door 100, the pocket handle 124 defining a recessed surface disposed inward from the peripheral edge surface and between the inner surface and the outer surface of the door 100; and a handle assembly having a handle portion 130 and a mounting portion 140 fixedly coupled via a fastener 146 (Fig. 5) with the recessed surface of the pocket handle 124, the mounting portion 140 extending outward away from the interior compartment and supporting the handle portion 130 at a spaced distance outward from the outer surface of the door; (Claim 15). The refrigerator appliance of claim 14, wherein the handle portion 130 of the handle assembly extends along a section of a length of the pocket handle 124; (Claim 16). The refrigerator appliance of claim 14, wherein the recessed surface of the pocket handle 124 comprises (Fig. 5): a front internal surface along an edge portion of a front wall of the door that faces rearward on the door, and a rear internal surface along an intermediate wall of the door that faces forward on the door, and wherein a width of the front internal surface is less than a width of the rear internal surface; (Claim 18). The refrigerator appliance of claim 14, wherein the mounting portion 140 of the handle assembly includes an internal section 143 that extends in a width direction of the door 100 and an external section 142,141 that extends forward from the internal section and beyond the outer surface of the door.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of EP 0514798 to Anschuetz.
Park discloses all the elements as discussed above except for the limitations in claim 19.
However, Anschuetz discloses a cabinet door 1 comprising (such as shown in Fig. 14): a pocket handle 11 extending along at least a portion of a vertical extent of a peripheral edge surface of the door, the pocket handle defining a recessed surface disposed inward from the peripheral edge surface and between an inner surface and an outer surface of the door; and a handle assembly 10’ having a handle portion and a mounting portion fixedly coupled with the recessed surface of the pocket handle 11, the mounting portion extending forward and supporting the handle portion at a spaced distance forward from the outer surface of the door, wherein the handle portion comprises a cylindrical shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Anschuetz, to modify Park to include the limitations in Claim 19 of wherein the handle portion comprises a cylindrical shape with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator appliance.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2011018268 to Becke et al (hereinafter Becke) in view of KR 20230087153 to Park and DE 102018126811 to Georgiev.
Becke discloses (Claim 1). A door assembly for a refrigerator appliance, the door assembly comprising (such as shown in Figs. 9-10): a door body 1 having an inner surface configured to face rearward toward an interior compartment of the refrigerator appliance, an outer surface opposite the inner surface, and a peripheral edge surface between the inner surface and the outer surface; a pocket handle 5 extending along at least a portion of a vertical extent of the peripheral edge surface of the door body 1, the pocket handle 5 defining a recessed surface disposed inward from the peripheral edge surface and between the inner surface and the outer surface of the door body; and a handle assembly having a mounting portion 9 fixedly coupled with the recessed surface of the pocket handle 5, the mounting portion 9 extending forward; (Claim 3). The door assembly of claim 1, wherein the recessed surface of the pocket handle 5 comprises a front internal surface along an edge portion of a front wall of the door body that faces rearward on the door body 1; (Claim 4). The door assembly of claim 3, wherein the recessed surface of the pocket handle 5 comprises a rear internal surface along an intermediate wall of the door body 1 that faces forward on the door body 1; (Claim 6). The door assembly of claim 4, wherein the recessed surface of the pocket handle 5 comprises a connecting internal surface between the front and rear internal surfaces, and wherein the mounting portion 9 of the handle assembly includes a fastener 23 that extends through the connecting internal surface into the door body 1; (Claim 7). The door assembly of claim 4, wherein the mounting portion 9 of the handle assembly includes an internal section that extends in a width direction of the door body along the front internal surface of the pocket handle 5; (Claim 8). The door assembly of claim 7, wherein the mounting portion 9 of the handle assembly includes an external section that extends forward from the internal section adjacent to and beyond an edge of the front wall; (Claim 10). A refrigerator door handle for a refrigerator appliance, the refrigerator door handle comprising (such as shown in Figs. 9-10): a mounting portion 9 having a mounting surface configured to attach in interface with a recessed surface forming a pocket handle 5 on a peripheral edge of the refrigerator door and a fastener 23 that extends through the mounting surface to fixedly engage into the refrigerator door, the mounting portion 9 extending outward from the mounting surface a distance; (Claim 11). The refrigerator door handle of claim 10, wherein the mounting portion 9 includes an internal section that extends in a width direction of the refrigerator door along a front internal surface of the pocket handle 5; (Claim 12). The refrigerator door handle of claim 11, wherein the mounting portion 9 includes an external section that extends forward from the internal section adjacent to and beyond an edge of the outer surface of the refrigerator door; (Claim 14). A refrigerator appliance comprising: a cabinet defining an interior compartment with an opening; a door 1 movable movably mounted to the cabinet and operable to at least partially conceal the opening in a closed position, the door having an inner surface facing the interior compartment, an outer surface opposite the inner surface; and a peripheral edge surface between the inner surface and the outer surface; a pocket handle 5 extending at least partially along a vertical extent of the peripheral edge surface of the door, the pocket handle 5 defining a recessed surface disposed inward from the peripheral edge surface and between the inner surface and the outer surface of the door; and a handle assembly having a mounting portion 9 fixedly coupled via a fastener 23 with the recessed surface of the pocket handle 5, the mounting portion 9 extending outward away from the interior compartment; (Claim 18). The refrigerator appliance of claim 14, wherein the mounting portion 9 of the handle assembly includes an internal section that extends in a width direction of the door and an external section that extends forward from the internal section and beyond the outer surface of the door.
The differences being that Becke fails to clearly disclose the limitations in (i) claim 1 of the handle assembly having a handle portion, the mounting portion supporting the handle portion at a spaced distance forward from the outer surface of the door body; (ii) claim 2; (iii) claim 10 of the handle assembly comprising: a handle portion configured for a user to grasp to open a refrigerator door; and the mounting portion 9 extending outward from the mounting surface a distance configured to support the handle portion at a spaced distance outward from an outer surface of the refrigerator door; (iv) claim 14 of the handle assembly comprising: a handle portion, the mounting portion supporting the handle portion at a spaced distance outward from the outer surface of the door; (v) claim 15; and (vi) claim 19.
Park discloses a door assembly 100 for a refrigerator appliance, the door assembly 100 comprising: a door body having an inner surface configured to face rearward toward an interior compartment of the refrigerator appliance, an outer surface opposite the inner surface, and a peripheral edge surface 121-123 between the inner surface and the outer surface; a pocket handle 124 extending along at least a portion of a vertical extent 123 of the peripheral edge surface of the door body, the pocket handle 124 defining a recessed surface (such as shown in Figs. 3 & 5) disposed inward from the peripheral edge surface 123 and between the inner surface and the outer surface of the door body; and a handle assembly 130,140 having a handle portion 130 and a mounting portion 140 fixedly coupled with the recessed surface of the pocket handle 124, the mounting portion 140 extending forward and supporting the handle portion 130 at a spaced distance forward from the outer surface of the door body (Figs. 1-2).
Meanwhile, Georgiev discloses a door assembly for a refrigerator appliance, the door assembly comprising: a door body 30 having an inner surface configured to face rearward toward an interior compartment of the refrigerator appliance, an outer surface opposite the inner surface, and a peripheral edge surface 31 between the inner surface and the outer surface; a pocket handle 32 extending along at least a portion of a vertical extent of the peripheral edge surface of the door body 30, the pocket handle 32 defining a recessed surface disposed inward from the peripheral edge surface 31 and between the inner surface and the outer surface of the door body; and a handle assembly 10 having a handle portion 11 and a mounting portion 12-13 coupled with the recessed surface of the pocket handle 32, the mounting portion 12-13 extending forward and supporting the handle portion 11 at a spaced distance forward from the outer surface of the door body, wherein the handle portion 11 of the handle assembly extends along a section of a length of the pocket handle, wherein the handle portion 11 comprises a cylindrical shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Park and Georgiev, to modify Becke to include the limitations in (i) claim 1 of the handle assembly having a handle portion, the mounting portion supporting the handle portion at a spaced distance forward from the outer surface of the door body; (ii) claim 2 of wherein the handle portion of the handle assembly extends along a section of a length of the pocket handle; (iii) claim 10 of the handle assembly comprising: a handle portion configured for a user to grasp to open a refrigerator door; and the mounting portion 9 extending outward from the mounting surface a distance configured to support the handle portion at a spaced distance outward from an outer surface of the refrigerator door; (iv) claim 14 of the handle assembly comprising: a handle portion, the mounting portion supporting the handle portion at a spaced distance outward from the outer surface of the door; (v) claim 15 of wherein the handle portion of the handle assembly extends along a section of a length of the pocket handle; and (vi) claim 19 of wherein the handle portion comprises a cylindrical shape with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator appliance.
Claim(s) 5, 9, 13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becke, as modified, as applied to claims 1, 10, and 14 above, and further in view of USP 10018403 to Lee et al (hereinafter Lee).
Becke, as modified, discloses all the elements as discussed above including the limitations in claim 16 of wherein the recessed surface of the pocket handle 5 comprises: a front internal surface along an edge portion of a front wall of the door that faces rearward on the door, and a rear internal surface along an intermediate wall of the door that faces forward on the door, and claim 17 of wherein the recessed surface of the pocket handle 5 comprises a connecting internal surface between the front and rear internal surfaces, and wherein the mounting portion 9 of the handle assembly engages the connecting internal surface.
The differences being that Becke, as modified, fails to clearly disclose the limitations in claims 5, 9, 13, and claim 16 of wherein a width of the front internal surface is less than a width of the rear internal surface.
However, Lee discloses a door assembly for a refrigerator appliance, the door assembly comprising (such as shown in Figs. 1 & 6): a door body 110,120 having an inner surface configured to face rearward toward an interior compartment of the refrigerator appliance, an outer surface opposite the inner surface, and a peripheral edge surface between the inner surface and the outer surface; a pocket handle 130 extending along at least a portion of a vertical extent of the peripheral edge surface of the door body, the pocket handle 130 defining a recessed surface disposed inward from the peripheral edge surface and between the inner surface and the outer surface of the door body; wherein the recessed surface of the pocket handle 130 comprises a front internal surface along an edge portion of a front wall of the door body that faces rearward on the door body; wherein the recessed surface of the pocket handle comprises a rear internal surface along an intermediate wall of the door body that faces forward on the door body; wherein a width of the front internal surface is less than a width of the rear internal surface to position an edge of the front wall inboard from the peripheral edge surface of the door body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Lee, to modify Becke, as modified, to include the limitations in (i) claim 5 of wherein a width of the front internal surface is less than a width of the rear internal surface to position an edge of the front wall inboard from the peripheral edge surface of the door body; (ii) claim 16 of wherein a width of the front internal surface is less than a width of the rear internal surface with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator appliance.
Regarding claims 9 and 13, it is inherent that Becke, as modified in view of Lee, meets the limitations in claim 9 of wherein the external section of the mounting portion of the handle assembly is disposed inboard in the width direction from the peripheral edge surface of the door body; and claim 13 of wherein the external section of the mounting portion is disposed inboard in the width direction from the peripheral edge of the refrigerator door with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator appliance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and all show structures similar to various elements of applicant’s disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HVT
April 23, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637