DETAILED ACTION
Claim file 07-10-2024
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pavlov US Publication 2020/0100021 A1 in view of Croft US Publication
2007/0003076 A1, in further view of Bisset US 2015/0382090 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Pavlov teaches a loudspeaker, comprising: a loudspeaker housing (Fig 7 [70]) having a receiving cavity; a loudspeaker body accommodated in the receiving cavity ((Fig 7 [78]), wherein the receiving cavity is separated by the loudspeaker body into a front cavity (Fig 7 [78]) and rear cavity (Fig 7 [74 a & b]), the loudspeaker body is provided with a sound hole (Fig 7 [72]), and the front cavity is in communication with outside of the loudspeaker housing (Fig 7 [70]) via the sound hole; and a resonator (Fig 7 [73b]) accommodated in the rear cavity, wherein the rear cavity comprises at least one cavity (Fig 7 [74a]) part and at least one port (Fig 7 [75b]) part inside, the at least one port Fig 10 [105b]) part extends along a second direction, at first side of the resonator (Fig 10 [103a]) is provided with one port (Fig 10 [105b]), and the other side of the resonator is provided with one cavity (Fig 7 [107b]) part or port part. [See para 93, 99.]
(In Fig 7, a top view of the housing, the sound hole leads into the receiving or first cavity, that has a direct connection with the external port. The front cavity has a port leading into two cavities that comprise of a respective cavity and port, see para 93. In Figure 10, the preset angle follows into the cavity, which comprises of a port and resonator, see para 99)
Pavlov does not explicitly teach the speaker body and a vibration direction of the resonator both extend along a first direction.
Croft discloses a loudspeaker (Fig 14a [10]), comprising: the speaker body (Fig 14a [13]) and a vibration direction of the resonator (Fig 14a [34]) both extend along a first direction (Following the flow in the vertical direction, the rear cavity comprises of sub chamber 22 & 21, the speaker body leading the resonator. The elements in figure 14a are defined in figure 5, see Col 4 line 55-59, Col 10 line 18-30)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of the speaker body and a vibration direction of the resonator both extend along a first direction as taught by Croft in Pavlov’s invention. The motivation would have been frequency may be lowered to a multiple of less than two to one in exchange for more passband ripple or reduced high frequency bandwidth (see Croft, see Col 7 line 5-8).
Pavlov does not explicitly teach a preset angle is formed between the first direction and the second direction.
Bisset discloses a preset angle (Fig 1 [31]) is formed between the first direction and the second direction (following the opening 31, there is a preset angle along the long feedback, or second direction, connecting to the ring resonator that is in an angle from 45°, or more preferably from 90°, or first direction, to 180°. See para 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a preset angle is formed between the first direction and the second direction, as taught by Bisset in Pavlov’s invention. The motivation would have been acoustical communication in which the spaces may be open between each area to form contiguous spaces, or a means of some other form of attenuated communication in which a diaphragm or sound transmitting barrier is located. The duct folded to increase the length while decreasing the volume of space needed to that the speaker can be more compact (see Bisset, see para 40).
Regarding claim 2, Pavlov teaches wherein the cavity part comprises a first cavity (Fig 7 [78]), a second cavity (Fig 7 [74a]) and a third cavity (Fig 7 [74b]), the port part comprises a first port (Fig 7 [75a]) and a second port (Fig 7 [75b]), and the resonator comprises a first resonator (Fig 7 [73b]), a second resonator (Fig 7 [73a]).
Pavlov does not explicitly teach a third resonator; wherein the loudspeaker body is provided corresponding to the first cavity; wherein a first side of the first resonator is provided corresponding to the first cavity, and a second side of the first resonator is provided corresponding to the first port, and the first port is in communication with the second cavity; wherein a first side of the second resonator is provided corresponding to the second cavity, a second side of the second resonator is provided corresponding to the second port, and the second port is in communication with the third cavity; and wherein a first side of the third resonator is provided corresponding to the third cavity, and a second side of the third resonator is exposed to the outside of the loudspeaker housing.
Croft discloses a third resonator (Fig 10 [31]); wherein the loudspeaker body (Fig 10 [11]) is provided corresponding to the first cavity (Fig 10 [22]); wherein a first side (Fig 10 [22]) of the first resonator (Fig 10 [38]) is provided corresponding to the first cavity, and a second side (Fig 10 [25]) of the first resonator is provided corresponding to the first port, and the first port is in communication with the second cavity; wherein a first side (Fig 10 [25]) of the second resonator (Fig 10 [39]) is provided corresponding to the second cavity, a second side (Fig 10 [26]) of the second resonator is provided corresponding to the second port, and the second port is in communication with the third cavity; and wherein a first side (Fig 10 [26]) of the third resonator (Fig 10 [31]) is provided corresponding to the third cavity (Fig 10 [26]), and a second side of the third resonator is exposed to the outside of the loudspeaker housing (Fig 10 [10]).
(In Figure 10, a third sub chamber [or cavity] and an additional resonator was included to the enclosure. Following the sound flow through the speaker body, the corresponding side of the resonator is represented by the chamber sound enters and exists the resonator. The respective ports for the first and second resonators function as elongated vents/port [see Col 4 line 55-59]. The third cavity that has the last resonator is element 26. The second side of the third resonator is element 31 following outside the enclosure. See Col 9 line 28-31)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a third resonator; wherein the loudspeaker body is provided corresponding to the first cavity; wherein a first side of the first resonator is provided corresponding to the first cavity, and a second side of the first resonator is provided corresponding to the first port, and the first port is in communication with the second cavity; wherein a first side of the second resonator is provided corresponding to the second cavity, a second side of the second resonator is provided corresponding to the second port, and the second port is in communication with the third cavity;
and wherein a first side of the third resonator is provided corresponding to the third cavity, and a second side of the third resonator is exposed to the outside of the loudspeaker housing as taught by Croft in Pavlov’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide significant low pass filtering, or attenuation of any internal resonances and other unwanted outputs occurring above the bandpass, which is the pipe resonances (see Croft, Col 6 lines 12-18).
Regarding claim 3, Pavlov teaches wherein a projection of the sound hole (Fig 7 [72]) in the first direction falls on the first resonator (Fig 7 [73b]).
(In Figure 7, the projection through the sound hole moves in both the horizontal and vertical axis upon interacting with the diaphragm, which falls on the first resonator. See para 93 in Pavlov)
Regarding claim 4, Pavlov does not explicitly teach wherein the cavity part comprises a first cavity and a second cavity, the port part comprises a first port, a second port, and a third port, and the resonator comprises a first resonator and a second resonator; wherein the loudspeaker body is provided corresponding to the first cavity, and the first cavity is in communication with the first port; wherein a first side of the first resonator is provided corresponding to the first port, and a second side of the first resonator is provided corresponding to the second port, and the second port is in communication with the second cavity; and wherein a first side of the second resonator is provided corresponding to the second cavity, and a second side of the second resonator is provided corresponding to the third port.
Croft discloses wherein the cavity part comprises a first cavity (Fig 10 [22]) and a second cavity (Fig 10 [25]), the port part comprises a first port (Fig 10 [38]), a second port (Fig 10 [39]), and a third port (Fig 10 [31]), and the resonator comprises a first resonator (Fig 10 [38]) and a second resonator (Fig 10 [39]);
wherein the loudspeaker body is provided corresponding to the first cavity, and the first cavity is in communication with the first port (In Figure 10, the passive acoustic radiator intercouples first and second chambers, which acts as a vent or port between them. See Col 4 line 55-59, Col 9 line 28-31);
wherein a first side of the first resonator is provided corresponding to the first port, and a second side of the first resonator is provided corresponding to the second port, and the second port is in communication with the second cavity (In Figure 10, each side of the resonator is represented by the corresponding chamber the respective side. Following the sound projection through the speaker body, the first side of the first resonator is sub-chamber 22 and the second side betting sub-chamber 25. The resonator [passive acoustic radiator] intercouples first and second chambers, which acts as a vent or port between them. See Col 4 line 55-59, Col 9 line 28-31); and wherein a first side of the second resonator is provided corresponding to the second cavity, and a second side of the second resonator is provided corresponding to the third port (In Figure 10, each side of the resonator is represented by the corresponding chamber the respective side. Following the sound projection through the speaker body, the first side of the second resonator is sub-chamber 25 and the second side betting sub-chamber 26. The resonator [passive acoustic radiator] intercouples first and second chambers, which acts as a vent or port between them. See Col 4 line 55-59, Col 9 line 28-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the cavity part comprises a first cavity and a second cavity, the port part comprises a first port, a second port, and a third port, and the resonator comprises a first resonator and a second resonator; wherein the loudspeaker body is provided corresponding to the first cavity, and the first cavity is in communication with the first port; wherein a first side of the first resonator is provided corresponding to the first port, and a second side of the first resonator is provided corresponding to the second port, and the second port is in communication with the second cavity; and wherein a first side of the second resonator is provided corresponding to the second cavity, and a second side of the second resonator is provided corresponding to the third port as taught by Croft in Pavlov’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide significant low pass filtering, or attenuation of any internal resonances and other unwanted outputs occurring above the bandpass, which is the pipe resonances. In Croft, see Col 6 lines 12-18.
Regarding claim 7, Pavlov does not explicitly teach wherein the preset angle is 90ᵒ
Bisset discloses wherein the preset angle is 90ᵒ (Fig 1 [30], following the opening 31 along the horizontal path, or second direction, that doubles back on itself in a angle, a preset 90ᵒ angle, which acts as resonator. See para 40)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention wherein the preset angle is 90ᵒ as taught by Bisset in Pavlov’s invention. The motivation would have been the duct folded to increase the length while decreasing the volume of space needed to that the speaker can be more compact. In Bisset, see para 40.
Regarding claim 8, Pavlov does not explicitly teach where a length of the port part in the first direction is less than a length of the port in the second direction.
Bisset discloses where a length of the port part (Fig 1 [30]) in the first direction is less than a length of the port (Fig 1 [31]) in the second direction (Within the maze-like configuration, the feedback length of the resonator duct [first direction] has a smaller constant cross section compared to the front horn [fig 1(10)]. The length in the second direction increased due to pathway being folded. See para 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention where a length of the port part in the first direction is less than a length of the port in the second direction as taught by Bisset in Pavlov’s invention. The motivation would have been the duct folded to increase the length while decreasing the volume of space needed to that the speaker can be more compact. In Bisset, see para 40.
Regarding claim 8, Pavlov teaches an electronic device, comprising the loudspeaker as described in claim 1. (The acoustic enclosure is used within electronic device which has a loudspeaker. See para 41 and abstract)
Claims 9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Pavlov US Publication 2020/0100021 A1 in view of Croft US Publication
2007/0003076 A1, in further view of Bisset US 2015/0382090 A1, in further view of
Zhang US Patent 9820032 B1.
Regarding claim 9, Pavlov does not explicitly teach wherein an arc guide surface is provided on each of two inner surfaces on opposite sides of the port part to form a port part with a Venturi tube structure.
Zhang discloses wherein an arc guide surface is provided on each of two inner surfaces on opposite sides (Fig 1 [105b, 105d] of the port (Fig 1 [105b] part to form a port part with a Venturi tube structure (Fig 1 [105]). (In Figure 1, sound enters though the port into a chamber shaped as a venturi tube structure that has an arc guide surface. See col. 7, lines 3-7)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention wherein an arc guide surface is provided on each of two inner surfaces on opposite sides of the port part to form a port part with a Venturi tube structure as taught by Zhang in Pavlov’s invention. The motivation would have been enhancing the quality of the ultralow frequency quality perception, low frequency depth capacity, and reaction speed. In Zhang, see col. 6, lines 47-50.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 - 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Topliss (U.S Patent No. 20230379637 A1) teaches shape memory alloy valve for electronic device
Daley (U.S Patent No. 11490190 B1) teaches speaker with Multiple resonators.
/MARCUS A BARBOZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692