DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Applicant filing on 7.9.26. Claims 1,4-8,10-16 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Specification objection is withdrawn in light of descriptive title amendment.
Drawing objection and claim objection related to claim 12 is withdrawn in light of claim 12 amendment and clarification in Application remarks regarding common use of screws.
The Applicant has made amendment to the independent claim 1 by combining with claims 2,3, 9 and adding new limitation “radially extending flange” , amended claims 4-5,8,12, cancelled dependents 2,3,9 and added new claim 16 which will be examined below.
With respect to 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 rejections, the Applicant provides arguments to which the
Examiner will respond accordingly:
Applicant Argument 1: Claim 1 calls for the outer ring to have a shoulder which forms a radially extending flange which provides a stop. A non-limiting example of such a radially extending flange is illustrated in Figure 1 of the present application and identified by reference number 9. The cited references fail to teach or suggest such an advantageous structure. In Figure 4 of Reimnitz, the axial end face of the bearing race which the Examiner equates with the stop of claim 1 bears against a snap ring which must also engage the motor component on which bearing race is mounted.
Examiner Response 1: Applicant has amended independent claim 1 by combining with claims 2,3, 9 and adding new limitation “radially extending flange” which will be examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,5-8,10-13,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reimnitz et al (US20230378847A1), hereinafter Reimnitz.
Regarding Claim 1, Reimnitz discloses (Figs 1,4) an electric motor (1), comprising:
a stator (4);
a rotor (8); and
a shaft (7) attached to the rotor and being supported by a rolling bearing (9), wherein the rolling bearing is a double-row angular rolling bearing [0046](Fig 1),
wherein the angular rolling bearing (9) comprises two rows (Fig 1) of rolling elements (48,49), the two rows of rolling elements abutting different components on one radial side (16, Para 0046) and bearing against the same component (15) on an opposite side (Fig 1);
wherein the angular rolling bearing (9) comprises an outer ring (Fig 4,15, Cl) which extends over both rows of rolling elements (48,49), and an inner ring (16, 46b or 46d) which extends over only one (48 or 49) of the two rows of rolling elements; and
wherein the outer ring (15, 34) has a shoulder (34) which forms a radially extending flange (34) which provides a stop (34 interfaces against stator shoulder 5s) for axial positioning of the angular rolling bearing (9).
Regarding Claim 5, Reimnitz discloses the electric motor according to claim 1. Reimnitz further discloses wherein the outer ring (15, 34)has a protrusion (15p) which protrudes between the two rows of rolling bearings (48,49) and which abuts the two rows of rolling bearings on opposite sides (S1,S2).
Regarding Claim 6, Reimnitz discloses the electric motor according to claim 5. Reimnitz further discloses wherein the shaft (7) has a stop (41) which, together with the protrusion (15p) of the outer ring (15), axially fixes (41 stops 35a which stops 46a of 16) one of the two rows (48) of rolling bearings.
Regarding Claim 7, Reimnitz discloses the electric motor according to claim 5. Reimnitz further discloses wherein the inner ring (16, 46b or 46d) has a stop (St1,St2) which, together with the protrusion (15p) of the outer ring (15), axially fixes (Figs 1,4) one of the two rows (48,49) of rolling bearings.
Regarding Claim 8, Reimnitz discloses the electric motor according to claim 1. Reimnitz further discloses wherein the inner ring (16) is fitted into a recess (7 has step into which 16 goes in Fig 4) in the shaft (7).
Regarding Claim 10, Reimnitz discloses the electric motor according to claim 1. Reimnitz further discloses wherein the angular rolling bearing (9) is a ball bearing [0046].
Regarding Claim 11, Reimnitz discloses the electric motor according to claim 1. Reimnitz further discloses wherein the angular rolling bearing (9) is fixed with a snap ring (34)[0044](There is no claim recitation whether snap ring is other than claim 1 limitation “radially extending flange).
Regarding Claim 12, Reimnitz discloses the electric motor according to claim 1. Reimnitz further discloses wherein the angular rolling bearing (9) is axially fixed relative to both the shaft and the rotor (Fig 1,36 which is a nut which keeps bearing fixed axially along with 34 and 32).
Regarding Claim 13, Reimnitz discloses the electric motor according to claim 1. Reimnitz further discloses wherein the shaft (7) is a hollow (Ho) shaft.
Regarding Claim 15, Reimnitz discloses the electric motor according to claim 1. Reimnitz further discloses wherein the angular rolling bearing (9) is surrounded over its entire length (27 which is part of stator 4) by the stator (4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reimnitz in view of Mori (JP2008074357A English translation).
Regarding Claim 4, Reimnitz discloses the electric motor according to claim 3. Reimnitz does not explicitly disclose wherein one of the two rows of rolling bearings abuts the shaft and the other row of rolling bearings abuts the inner ring.
Mori discloses (Fig 1) wherein one (5a) of the two rows (5a,5b) of rolling bearings abuts the shaft (30) and the other row (5b) of rolling bearings abuts the inner ring (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Reimnitz with shaft being part of inner raceway as taught by Mori in order to simplify assembly by reducing the number of press fit operation of the inner ring thereby additional operation and also improving quality by reducing burrs due to press fitting.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reimnitz in view of Takahashi(US20200161939A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Reimnitz discloses the electric motor according to claim 1. Reimnitz does not explicitly disclose wherein the rotor is an external rotor which surrounds the stator.
Takahashi discloses (Fig 2) wherein the rotor (40) is an external (Fig 2) rotor which surrounds the stator (50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Reimnitz with outer rotor configuration of Takahashi in order to take into account design considerations such as ability to retain magnets inside the rotor body without any detachment during rotation, thereby minimizing related structure.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reimnitz in view of Mori and Takahashi.
Regarding Claim 16, Reimnitz discloses the electric motor according to claim 1. Reimnitz further discloses wherein the outer ring (15, 34)has a protrusion (15p) which protrudes between the two rows of rolling bearings (48,49) and which abuts the two rows of rolling bearings on opposite sides (S1,S2);
wherein the shaft (7) has a stop (41) which, together with the protrusion (15p) of the outer ring (15), axially fixes (41 stops 35a which stops 46a of 16) one of the two rows (48) of rolling bearings.
wherein the inner ring (16, 46b or 46d) has a second stop (St1,St2) which, together with the protrusion (15p) of the outer ring (15), axially fixes (Figs 1,4) one of the two rows (48,49) of rolling bearings;
wherein the inner ring (16) is fitted into a recess (7 has step into which 16 goes in Fig 4) in the shaft (7);
wherein the angular rolling bearing (9) is axially fixed relative to both the shaft and the rotor (Fig 1,36 which is a nut which keeps bearing fixed axially along with 34 and 32), and
wherein the shaft (7) is a hollow (Ho) shaft but does not explicitly disclose wherein one of the two rows of rolling bearings abuts the shaft and the other row of rolling bearings abuts the inner ring and wherein the rotor is an external rotor which surrounds the stator.
Mori discloses (Fig 1) wherein one (5a) of the two rows (5a,5b) of rolling bearings abuts the shaft (30) and the other row (5b) of rolling bearings abuts the inner ring (4).
Takahashi discloses (Fig 2) wherein the rotor (40) is an external (Fig 2) rotor which surrounds the stator (50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Reimnitz with shaft being part of inner raceway as taught by Mori in order to simplify assembly by reducing the number of press fit operation of the inner ring thereby additional operation and also improving quality by reducing burrs due to press fitting and with outer rotor configuration of Takahashi in order to take into account design considerations such as ability to retain magnets inside the rotor body without any detachment during rotation, thereby minimizing related structure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834