DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuyuzaki et al. (US Patent 10967908 B2), henceforth Tsuyuzaki ‘908.
Figure 2 from Tsuyuzaki ‘908
Regarding claim 1, Tsuyuzaki ‘908 discloses
a vehicle bottom structure (vehicle body lower structure, Abstract), comprising:
a floor panel (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, side frame 52, attachment frame 53 as detailed in annotated Fig. 4 below), forming a vehicle compartment;
a side beam (left and right side sills 14, Fig. 2), disposed on an outer side of the floor panel (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, side frame 52, attachment frame 53 as detailed in annotated Fig. 4 below) in a vehicle width direction and extending toward a vehicle front-rear direction (as can be seen in Fig. 2; Col. 4, Ln. 22-27);
and a floor cross member (floor cross members 34, 35, and 36, Fig. 2), extending along the vehicle width direction and having an end portion connected to the side beam (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 2 above; Col. 4, Ln. 41-47),
wherein an outer end portion (side frame 52 and attachment frame 53, as shown in annotated Fig. 4 below) of the floor panel (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, side frame 52, attachment frame 53 as detailed in annotated Fig. 4 below) in the vehicle width direction is formed lower in a vehicle up-down direction than a center portion (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, as detailed in annotated Fig. 4 below) of the floor panel in the vehicle width direction (as shown in annotated Fig. 4 below),
the floor cross member (floor cross members 34, 35, and 36, Fig. 2) is located above the floor panel (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, side frame 52, attachment frame 53 as detailed in annotated Fig. 4 below) in the vehicle up-down direction (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 4 below; Col. 4, Ln. 41-47),
and the floor cross member (floor cross members 34, 35, and 36, Fig. 2) and the outer end portion (side frame 52 and attachment frame 53, as shown in annotated Fig. 4 below) of the floor panel (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, side frame 52, attachment frame 53 as detailed in annotated Fig. 4 below) are away from each other (as shown in annotated Fig. 4 below).
Figure 4 from Tsuyuzaki ‘908
Regarding claim 2, Tsuyuzaki ‘908 discloses all the limitations of the claim as applied above and further discloses
wherein a lower surface of the side beam (left and right side sills 14, Fig. 2) is joined to the floor panel (as can be seen in Fig. 4 where the attachment frame and side sills attach by a bolt and nut; Col. 5, Ln. 51-54), and an upper surface of the side beam (left and right side sills 14, Fig. 2) is joined to the floor cross member (as can be seen in Fig. 4 where the floor cross members are disposed on an upper surface of the floor panel which attaches to the side sills; Col. 4, Ln. 28-35).
Claims 1-5, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuyuzaki et al. (US Patent 11370287 B2), henceforth Tsuyuzaki ‘287.
Regarding claim 1, Tsuyuzaki ‘287 discloses
a vehicle bottom structure (vehicle body substructure 12, Fig. 2), comprising:
a floor panel (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, left battery pack frame 29 as detailed in annotated Fig. 5(1) below), forming a vehicle compartment (as can be seen in Fig. 1);
a side beam (left side sill 14 and right side sill 15, Fig. 2), disposed on an outer side of the floor panel (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, left battery pack frame 29 as detailed in annotated Fig. 5(1) below) in a vehicle width direction and extending toward a vehicle front-rear direction (as can be seen in Fig. 2; Col. 1, Ln. 48-53);
and a floor cross member (floor cross members 34, 35, and 36, Fig. 2), extending along the vehicle width direction and having an end portion connected to the side beam (as can be seen in Fig. 2; Col. 21, Ln. 61-Col. 22, Ln. 9),
wherein an outer end portion (left battery pack frame 29, Fig. 5) of the floor panel (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, left battery pack frame 29 as detailed in annotated Fig. 5(1) below) in the vehicle width direction is formed lower in a vehicle up-down direction than a center portion (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, as detailed in annotated Fig. 5(1) below) of the floor panel in the vehicle width direction (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 5(1) below),
the floor cross member (floor cross members 34, 35, and 36, Fig. 2) is located above the floor panel (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, left battery pack 29 as detailed in annotated Fig. 5(1) below) in the vehicle up-down direction (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 5(1) below; Col. 21, Ln. 54-60),
and the floor cross member (floor cross members 34, 35, and 36, Fig. 2) and the outer end portion (left battery pack frame 29, Fig. 5) of the floor panel (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, left battery pack 29 as detailed in annotated Fig. 5(1) below) are away from each other (as shown in annotated Fig. 5(1) below).
Figure 5(1) from Tsuyuzaki ‘287
Regarding claim 2, Tsuyuzaki ‘287 discloses all the limitations of the claim as applied above and further discloses
wherein a lower surface of the side beam (left side sill 14 and right side sill 15, Fig. 2) is joined to the floor panel (as can be seen in Fig. 5(1) above where the left battery pack frame and side sills attach by a bolt and nut; Col. 33, Ln. 51-65),
and an upper surface of the side beam (left side sill 14 and right side sill 15, Fig. 2) is joined to the floor cross member (as can be seen in Fig. 5(1) above where the floor cross member is disposed on an upper surface of the floor panel which attaches to the side sills; Col. 28, Ln. 7-14).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuyuzaki ‘287 discloses all the limitations of the claim as applied above, and further discloses
wherein the outer end portion (left battery pack 29, Fig. 5) of the floor panel (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, left battery pack 29 as detailed in annotated Fig. 5 above) is provided with a bracket (fastening member 133, Fig. 5) positioned distantly above in the vehicle up-down direction (as can be seen in Fig. 5), the bracket is formed on a lower surface of the floor cross member (as can be seen in Fig. 5; Col. 28, Ln. 41-48; Col. 30, Ln. 32-41).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuyuzaki ‘287 discloses all the limitations of the claim as applied above, and further discloses
wherein the floor cross member comprises a body portion and a fragile portion (as shown in annotated Fig. 5(2) below),
the fragile portion is disposed at an end portion of the body portion in the vehicle width direction (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 5(2) below),
and the fragile portion is away from the floor panel (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 5(2) below).
Figure 5(2) from Tsuyuzaki ‘287
Regarding claim 5, Tsuyuzaki ‘287 discloses all the limitations of the claim as applied above, and further discloses
wherein the side beam (left side sill 14 and right side sill 15, Fig. 2) comprises an inner member (inner bulkhead 56, Fig. 5),
the inner member (inner bulkhead 56, Fig. 5) is formed by joining a cap-shaped inner outer component and a cap-saped inner interior component to form an inner closed section (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 5(2) above; Col. 24, Ln. 53-61),
and the inner closed section overlaps the floor cross member in the vehicle width direction (as shown in annotated Fig. 5(2) above).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuyuzaki ‘287 discloses all the limitations of the claim as applied above, and further discloses
wherein the floor panel (floor panel 16, battery pack 28, left battery pack 29 as detailed in annotated Fig. 5(1) above) comprises a frame (left battery pack 29, Fig. 5) and a power unit case (battery pack 28, Fig. 5),
the frame is disposed further outward than the power unit case in the vehicle width direction (as can be seen in Fig. 5),
and an upper surface of the frame (left battery pack 29, Fig. 5) is formed lower than an upper surface of the power unit case (battery pack 28, Fig. 5) in the vehicle up-down direction (as can be seen in Fig. 5),
the frame (left battery pack 29, Fig. 5) is joined to a flange portion (lid flange 137, Fig. 5) of the power unit case (battery pack 28, Fig. 5), the flange portion (lid flange 137, Fig. 5) extends outward from the power unit case (battery pack 28, Fig. 5) in the vehicle width direction (as can be seen in Fig. 5; Col. 32, Ln. 20-23).
Figure 10 from Tsuyuzaki ‘287
Regarding claim 9, Tsuyuzaki ‘287 discloses all the limitations of the claim as applied above, and further discloses
wherein a battery member (battery case 121, Fig. 10) extending along the vehicle width direction is disposed inside the power unit case (battery pack 28, Fig. 5; Col. 28, Ln. 49-54),
a cross section of the battery member is formed into two vertical sides and a horizontal side connecting the two vertical sides (as shown in annotated Fig. 10 above),
the horizontal side and the flange portion form a straight line in the vehicle width direction (as shown in annotated Fig. 5(2) above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 6 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitation of the inner member and outer member forming an inclined portion that inclines upward in the vehicle up-down direction when approaching a center pillar. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record is Tsuyuzaki ‘287, which teaches all the limitations of the claim, including the inner member and outer member, but does not disclose the inclined portion that inclines upward when approaching a center pillar. These deficiencies in Tsuyuzaki ‘287 are not made up by any other teachings in the prior art. Claim 7 is dependent on claim 6 and thus is indicated as being allowable.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 10 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitation of the frame comprises an upper frame and a lower frame, and the upper frame and the lower frame are joined to form a closed section, an inner end portion of the lower frame in the vehicle width direction is joined to the upper frame at a position away from the power unit case. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record is Tsuyuzaki ‘287, which teaches all the limitations of the claim including the frame and power unit case, but does not disclose the upper and lower frame structure where an inner end portion of the lower frame is joined to the upper frame away from the power unit case. These deficiencies in Tsuyuzaki ‘287 are not made up by any other teachings in the prior art. Claim 11 is dependent on claim 10 and thus is indicated as being allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. These references cited but not relied upon disclose similar vehicle bottom structures with a battery pack.
/D.G.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
June 5, 2026