DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is responsive to claims filed on 07/10/2024. Please note Claims 1-2 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder “module” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a static digital twin module”, “an input module”, “an integration module”, “a display module”, and “a navigation module” in claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18646820, in view of Badr (US 20190391716 A1).
Instant Application
Application No. 18646820
1. A system for displaying an immersive interactive live digital twin of an indoor area comprising:
1. A system for displaying an immersive live digital twin of an indoor area comprising:
a static digital twin module, wherein the static digital twin module comprises a static digital twin model of the indoor area;
a static digital twin module, wherein the static digital twin module comprises a static digital twin model of the indoor area;
an input module, wherein the input module is configured to receive live feeds of the indoor area from a plurality of cameras located in the indoor area;
an input module, wherein the input module is configured to receive live feeds of the indoor area from a plurality of cameras located in the indoor area;
an integration module, wherein the integration module is configured to stitch the live feeds of the indoor area to the static digital twin model to create the immersive live digital twin;
an integration module, wherein the integration module is configured to stitch the live feeds of the indoor area to the static digital twin model to create the immersive live digital twin;
an interactive area disposed in the digital twin model, wherein the interactive area includes an action button for controlling an interactive component, wherein the live feeds capture the interactive component being controlled by a user when the action button is selected;
a display module for displaying the immersive live digital twin to provide a user with the perception that the user is immersed with the immersive live digital twin; and
a display module for displaying the immersive live digital twin to provide a user with the perception that the user is immersed with the immersive live digital twin; and
a navigation module to navigate to different parts of the immersive live digital twin.
a navigation module to navigate to different parts of the immersive live digital twin.
Claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18646820 do not disclose “an interactive area disposed in the digital twin model, wherein the interactive area includes an action button for controlling an interactive component, wherein the live feeds capture the interactive component being controlled by a user when the action button is selected”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Badr discloses an interactive area disposed in the digital twin model, wherein the interactive area includes an action button for controlling an interactive component ([0023] “Systems, methods, and computer program products are described for using a virtual assistant application to identify a smart device (or physical controls for a smart device) based on image data (e.g., a single frame image, continuous video, a stream of images, etc.) and, for each identified smart device, presenting one or more user interface controls for controlling the smart device.”), wherein the live feeds capture the interactive component being controlled by a user when the action button is selected (see Fig. 3, [0023] “For example, a smart device or physical controls for a smart device may be identified (e.g. recognized using object recognition techniques) in image data that represents the viewfinder of the mobile device's camera. In response, user interface controls for controlling the smart device can be presented, e.g., within the viewfinder using augmented reality techniques, such that the user can control the smart device.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18646820 with the features of disposing an interactive area including an action button for controlling an interactive component in the digital twin model wherein the live feeds capture the interactive component being controlled by a user when the action button is selected. Doing so could allow real-time control of interactive components.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madonna (US 20210074062 A1), in view of Muir (US 20230236493 A1) and Badr (US 20190391716 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Madonna discloses a system for displaying an immersive live digital twin of an indoor area comprising:
a static digital twin module, wherein the static digital twin module comprises a static digital twin model of the indoor area ([0028] “As user herein, the term “virtual room” refers to a digital twin of a physical room that is represented by a depiction of an interior portion of a physical structure or an exterior space associated with a physical structure.”);
an input module, wherein the input module is configured to receive feeds of the indoor area from a plurality of cameras located in the indoor area ([0060] “At step 410, an installer places a 3-D camera at a plurality of positions in the physical room, and captures a plurality of overlapping sets of 2-D images (e.g., 2-D panoramic images) and a 3-D space model (e.g., 3-D mesh).”);
an integration module, wherein the integration module is configured to stitch the feeds of the indoor area to the static digital twin model to create the immersive live digital twin ([0061] “At step 420, the 2-D images (e.g., 2-D panoramic images) and 3-D space model (e.g., 3-D mesh) is imported from the 3-D camera to a stitching application, which may be executed in the cloud or on a local computing device. In one implementation, the stitching application may be the Matterport® cloud-based software package. At step 430, the installer utilizes the stitching application to stitch the 2-D images (e.g., 2-D panoramic images) and 3-D space model (e.g., 3-D mesh) together, to link (i.e. stitch) image data to corresponding locations in the 3-D space model.”);
an interactive area disposed in the digital twin model, wherein the interactive area includes an action button for controlling an interactive component ([0011] “By interacting with (e.g., touching, clicking on, etc.) substantially photo-realistic depictions of the devices within the user-navigable 3-D virtual room, a user may indicate changes to the state of corresponding devices in the physical room. As the state of devices in the physical room is changed, a 3-D graphics engine may dynamically update the appearance of the user-navigable 3-D virtual room to reflect the changes, such that what a user views within the virtual room will mimic their experience within the corresponding physical room.”);
a display module for displaying the immersive live digital twin to provide a user with the perception that the user is immersed with the immersive live digital twin ([0063] “At step 480, the artifact-corrected, tagged, appearance assigned, stitched 2-D images and 3-D space models (now referred to as a virtual room) is exported to the control app for inclusion in a user-navigable 3-D virtual room-based user interface.” [0064] “The virtual room is rendered by the graphics engine of the control app.”); and
a navigation module to navigate to different parts of the immersive live digital twin ([0064] “At step 485, the control app determines whether a virtual camera indicating the user's desired perspective is at a position that corresponds with the position from which one of the of 2-D images (e.g., 2-D panoramic images) was captured. If so, at step 485, the graphics engine of the control app renders the virtual room by using data from the 2-D image (e.g., 2-D panoramic image) captured from that location. If not, at step 495 the graphics engine of the control app blends (e.g., changes alpha channel and render layers) of available 2-D images (e.g., 2-D panoramic images) according to the 3-D space model (e.g., 3-D mesh), and uses the blended data to render the virtual room.”).
Madonna does not expressly disclose the camera feeds are live feeds, and wherein the live feeds capture the interactive component being controlled by a user when the action button is selected.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Muir discloses the input module is configured to receive live feeds of the indoor area from a plurality of cameras ([0103] “FIG. 10 then depicts an example electronics system diagram for a multi-camera capture device 300 of the type of FIG. 1, where the camera channels 120 are arranged in a dodecahedral geometry and directly image to the respective sensors.”) and the integration module is configured to stitch the live feeds of the indoor area ([0103] “Image data can be collected from each of the 11 cameras 320, and directed through an interface input-output module, through a cable or bundle of cables, to a portable computer that can provide image processing, including live image cropping and stitching or tiling, as well as camera and device control.”).
Badr discloses an interactive area disposed in the digital twin model, wherein the interactive area includes an action button for controlling an interactive component ([0023] “Systems, methods, and computer program products are described for using a virtual assistant application to identify a smart device (or physical controls for a smart device) based on image data (e.g., a single frame image, continuous video, a stream of images, etc.) and, for each identified smart device, presenting one or more user interface controls for controlling the smart device.”), wherein the live feeds capture the interactive component being controlled by a user when the action button is selected (see Fig. 3, [0023] “For example, a smart device or physical controls for a smart device may be identified (e.g. recognized using object recognition techniques) in image data that represents the viewfinder of the mobile device's camera. In response, user interface controls for controlling the smart device can be presented, e.g., within the viewfinder using augmented reality techniques, such that the user can control the smart device.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of Madonna with the features of receiving and stitching the live feeds from the cameras wherein the live feeds capture the interactive component being controlled by a user when the action button is selected. Doing so could allow real-time processing of data and real-time control of interactive components.
Regarding Claim 2, it recites similar limitations of claim 1 but in a method form. The rationale of claim 1 rejection is applied to reject claim 2.
Conclusion
/CHONG WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613