DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 July 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2023/0107417 to E. Pierce, effectively filed 04 October 2021, (“Pierce”).
With regard to Claim 1, Pierce teaches a seal application method for aircraft hat stringers, i.e. target objects featuring narrow and hollow features (see Pierce at Abstract; FIG. 9; ¶¶ [0017]-[0018]; compare Pierce FIGs. 3B, 6A, 10A-10D with instant FIGs. 1, 8, 9). The method of Pierce comprises forming a brush coat on a downward-facing target surface of a target object using a brush coating device 538 (see FIGs. 5A-5B; ¶¶ [0032], [0052]). The brush coating device is biased upward against the target surface thereby applying a film of sealing material thereon (see FIG. 5A; ¶ [0033]). Pierce further instructs application of a bead of sealant on the brush-coated film via a sealing device 638 (see FIGs. 6A-6B; 9, 10A-10D; ¶¶ [0052]-[0056]). Pierce discloses the layer deposited via brush coating as a film, and the additional sealant layer deposited as a bead with a thickness of 2mm or greater (see ¶¶ [0038], [0052], [0056]). Additionally, the applied sealant bead is portrayed as thicker than the underlying film (see FIGs. 10A-10D).
According to Pierce, brush coating device 538 exerts an upward force, F’, against the area to be coated 534 (see FIG. 5A; ¶ [0033]). Sealing device 638 is described as applying a downward force F against the area to be coated 634 (see FIG. 6A; ¶ [0038]). Accordingly, the method of Pierce is reasonably understood to comprise a step of inverting the target object between the steps of brush coating and sealant bead application. To the extent that the reference does not expressly teach such an operation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have inverted the target object as claimed in accordance with the manner of tool operation described by Pierce.
With regard to Claim 2, Pierce teaches abrading the target surface via an abrading device 738 biased against the target surface prior to forming the brush coat (see FIGs. 7A-7B, 9; ¶ [0040]).
With regard to Claims 3-4, Pierce teaches cleaning the target surface after abrading and before brush coating via a cleaning device akin to the described brush coating, sealing, and abrading devices (see ¶ [0048]). The cleaning measures include wiping with a solvent (Id.).
2. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierce.
With regard to Claim 5, Pierce teaches inspecting the adhesion of applied sealant via inspection device 838 including a contact portion 888 which rubs against the inspected seal (see FIGs. 8A-8B, 9; ¶¶ [0043]-[0044], [0053]). According to Pierce, contact with the inspected junction is facilitated by driving the inspection device in a perpendicular direction as claimed (see FIGs. 8A-8B). Pierce does not expressly teach a downward-protruding configuration of the contact portion as claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have configured the inspection device with a downward-protruding contact element as in the downward-facing sealant bead applicator of device 328 in order to preclude additional manipulation of the treated object to conduct inspection and testing after applying the sealant bead.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712