DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “cable feedthrough opening”, “connection opening”, “contact element”, “connector module”, “expanding rivet” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 1-12. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 1, it is unclear about a relationship between the “first retention feature” and the “connector housing” and the “contact insert”. One skill in the art would not able to build it without undue experimentation.
Claim 5, the limitation “flag” does not have any structure support by the description. The member “flag 64” does not have a structure of a flag. It is a cylindrical sleeve.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “whereby engagement of the fastener (6) in the first retention feature (2) is signaled” is unclear.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “flag” in claim 5 is used by the claim to mean “flag” while the accepted meaning is “indicator” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US 6,758,690).
Regarding claim 1, Yu et al. discloses an electrical connector, comprising:
a connector housing (12) with a cable feedthrough opening and a connection opening (12);
a first retention feature (22);
and a contact insert (18), wherein the contact insert accommodates at least one contact element and/or at least one connector module (20) and/or a half connector module, and
wherein the contact insert has a fastening frame which has a second retention feature (24), wherein the second retention feature corresponds to the first retention feature, wherein
a fastener (36) interacts with the first retention feature and the second retention feature,
wherein the fastening frame is held in the connector housing by the fastener, and
wherein the fastener (36) has a fixing body (the shank), a spring element (16), and a fixing element (threaded end screw on to member 22).
Regarding claim 4, Yu et al. disclose the fastener has a release element (the head flange).
Regarding claim 6, Yu et al. disclose the fixing element is engaged with the first retention feature of the connector housing.
Regarding claim 13, the method claim is deemed inherence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 6,758,690) in view of Chang (US 6,475,030).
Regarding claim 2, Yu et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the fastener is an expanding rivet.
Chang teaches an expanding rivet fastener (1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the expanding rivet fastener into Yu’s connector, as taught by Chang for quick releasing.
Regarding claim 9, Yu et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the fastener operates according to a push-push principle.
Chang teaches a push-push principle fastener (1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the push-push principle fastener into Yu’s connector, as taught by Chang for quick releasing.
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 6,758,690) in view of Miki et al. (US 2014/0193994).
Regarding claim 3, Yu et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the fastener is a quarter-turn fastener.
Miki et al. teach a quarter turn fastener (7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the quarter turn fastener into Yu’s connector, as taught by Miki et al for quick releasing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834