DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to the communication filed on 7/11/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Examiner Note
The examiner is here to serve, to assist, and to help applicant to the very best of his ability. The Primary Patent Examiner position is a position of serving and it is an honor to externally serve the applicant and attorney and to internally serve junior examiners and supervisors. The goal of the examiner is to work with and assist applicant to move cases along as efficiently as possible.
Applicant is encouraged to call examiner to schedule an interview if applicant has any questions about this action, wants to discuss any possible paths forward, has proposed amendments to the claims to run by the examiner, or for any other issues that applicant would like to discuss.
Examiner can normally be reached at (571) 270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov, Monday-Friday, from about 6 AM - 10 PM EST and if your call is missed examiner will try to return call quickly, thank you.
Priority
This application claims priority of CN202210038913.7, filed 1/13/2022. The assignee of record is SHANGHAI TUILUO COMMUNICATION TECHNOLOGY PARTNERSHIP (LIMITED PARTNERSHIP). The listed inventor(s) is/are: HU, Yang; ZHANG, Xiaobo.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 7/15/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 12-13, 18-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims provided that all other rejections under 35 USC 101/112 (if any) are obviated upon upcoming amendments/arguments without raising new issues that necessitate further consideration/search.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: The abbreviation is DCI which should be first introduced as something similar to “downlink control information (DCI).”
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: The abbreviation is MSB which should be first introduced as something similar to “most significant bit (DCI).”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 20210105774 A1, published 4/8/2021; hereinafter Oh) in view of Kim et al. (US 20200396730 A1, published 12/17/2020; hereinafter Kim).
For Claim 1, Oh teaches a first node for wireless communications (Oh ¶ 0083-0088
[0088] The communicator 310 transmits or receives a signal as described above. All or part of the communicator 310 may be referred to as a transmitter, a receiver, or a transceiver. In the following description, transmission or reception performed by using a radio channel is used as having meaning that the aforementioned processes are performed by the communicator 310. In an embodiment of the disclosure, the communicator 310 may include at least one transceiver.
Please see Oh Fig. 3 screenshot below, thank you:
), comprising:
a first receiver, receiving first information and a first DCI, the first DCI comprising a first field (Oh ¶ 0112-0117 teaches DCI containing fields such as MCS field and frequency-domain resource allocation field.
Oh ¶ 0142 The information for configuring the PUSCH transmission time resource region 725 may be represented by a combination of a time or symbol to start PUSCH transmission, PUSCH length, and a time or symbol to terminate the PUSCH, and included as a field or a value in the DCI. The terminal may transmit a PUSCH in the PUSCH transmission resource region 740 determined based on the DCI.
Please see screenshot of Oh Fig. 7 below, thank you:
Please see Oh ¶ 0112-0117 below, thank you:
[0112] For example, a DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_0 of NR) corresponding to scheduling control information (DL grant) for DL data may include at least one of the following pieces of control information: [0113] DCI format identifier: an identifier for identifying a format of the DCI [0114] frequency domain resource allocation: indicates an RB allocated for data transmission [0115] time domain resource allocation: indicates slots and symbols allocated for data transmission [0116] virtual resource block (VRB)-to-PRB mapping: indicates whether to apply a VRB mapping scheme [0117] Modulation and coding scheme (MCS): indicates the size of a transport block (TB) that is data to be transmitted and modulation scheme used for data transmission); and
a first transmitter, transmitting a first bit block on a first wireless channel (Oh ¶ 0015 teaches UE transmits a PUSCH based on valid PRBs. Please see ¶ 0219 below which teaches selecting a TBS and generating a transport block and transmitting the TB.
[0219] Furthermore, in a case of determining a resource or bandwidth valid for UL/DL transmission or reception according to a method proposed in the disclosure, it is possible to select a TBS based on the resource determined to be valid, generate a TB based on the TBS, and transmit or receive the TB. In this case, it is also possible to select a TBS based on a frequency resource configured through the higher signal or scheduled through the DCI instead of the resource determined to be valid. The terminal may not transmit the resource that is invalid for UL/DL transmission or reception by e.g., puncturing, and may also perform UL/DL transmission with the resource determined as being invalid for the UL/DL transmission or reception.);
wherein the first DCI is used to schedule the first wireless channel (Oh ¶ 0139-0141 teaches the received DCI provides scheduling info for PUSCH transmission), the first field in the first DCI being used to determine one of a frequency-domain resource occupied by the first wireless channel (Oh ¶ 0114 frequency domain resource allocation: indicates an RB allocated for data transmission) or a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for the first wireless channel (Oh ¶ 0117 Modulation and coding scheme (MCS): indicates the size of a transport block (TB) that is data to be transmitted and modulation scheme used for data transmission);
… a field in the first DCI that is related to a method of indication of the first field in the first DCI (Oh ¶ 0208-0210 teaches higher-layer waveform configuration and different fallback and non-fallback modes) and is used to determine a waveform for the first wireless channel (Oh ¶ 0213 A waveform may be determined according to the DCI format or a scheduling signal or channel, or an indicator indicating the waveform may be included in the DCI.
Please see screenshot of Oh Fig. 10 below, thank you:
).
Oh does not explicitly teach the first information is used to determine whether there is a field in the first DCI.
However, Kim teaches the first information is used to determine whether there is a field in the first DCI (Kim ¶ 0104 teaches determining when the field is present and ¶ 0105 teaches when the field is absent. Kim ¶ 0106 The terminal is capable of inferring the waveform to be used from the MCS as resource allocation information included in the random access response.
Please see Kim ¶ 0104-0105 below, thank you:
[0104] The second method is for a base station to transmit scheduling information for scheduling uplink transmission of a terminal via downlink control information (DCI) conveyed by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). Here, the base station may notify the terminal of the waveform to be used via the DCI for scheduling PUSCH transmission. It may also be possible to notify whether to apply DFT precoding for PUSCH transmission via DCI. For this purpose, a 1-bit field for indicating an uplink waveform may be included. The waveform field may consist of 1 bit and the waveform information field may, by way of example, be set to 0 for indicating use of OFDM and 1 for indicating use of DFT-S-OFDM. A 1-bit field for indicating whether to apply DFT precoding for uplink transmission may also be included.
[0105] The third method is for a terminal to infer the waveform to be used from uplink resource allocation information included in downlink control channel instead of adding a field indicating the uplink waveform to the downlink control channel for uplink scheduling as in the second method. In this case, the base station has to notify the terminal of simultaneous use of two waveforms via system information.)
Kim and Oh are analogous art because they are both related to DCI.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the DCI scheduling techniques of Kim with the system of Oh for coping promptly with a situation where the terminal enters a high-mobility state or the channel condition varies (Kim ¶ 0103).
For Claim 2, Oh-Kim teaches the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first information is used to determine whether the first DCI comprises a second field (Kim ¶ 0104-0105); when the first DCI comprises the second field: the second field in the first DCI is related to the method of indication of the first field in the first DCI and is used to determine the waveform for the first wireless channel (Kim ¶ 0110-0112).
For Claim 3, Oh-Kim teaches the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the method of indication of the first field in the first DCI comprises: whether the first field in the first DCI is used to indicate a frequency-domain resource in accordance with resource allocation type 0 (Oh ¶ 0173-0176 resource allocation type 0) or resource allocation type 1 (Oh ¶ 0177-0178 resource allocation type 1).
For Claim 4, Oh-Kim teaches the first node according to claim 2, characterized in that the first field is a frequency domain resource assignment field (Oh ¶ 0114 frequency domain resource allocation: indicates an RB allocated for data transmission).
For Claim 8, Oh teaches a second node for wireless communications (Oh ¶ 0071-0075), comprising: a second transmitter, transmitting first information and a first DCI, the first DCI comprising a first field (Oh ¶ 0111 scheduling information for DL data or UL data is transmitted through downlink control information (DCI) from the BS to the terminal, ¶ 0213 BS may transmit information relating to UL/DL transmission or reception frequency band and bandwidth, such as a carrier or a cell, a BWP of the carrier or the cell, etc., to the terminal, at operation 1000); and a second receiver, receiving a first bit block on a first wireless channel (Oh ¶ 0073-0076); wherein the first DCI is used to schedule the first wireless channel (Oh ¶ 0139-0141), the first field in the first DCI being used to determine one of a frequency-domain resource occupied by the first wireless channel (Oh ¶ 0114) or a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for the first wireless channel (Oh ¶ 0117); … a field in the first DCI that is related to a method of indication of the first field in the first DCI and is used to determine a waveform for the first wireless channel (Oh ¶ 0208-0210, 0213).
Oh does not explicitly teach the first information is used to determine whether there is a field in the first DCI. However, Kim teaches the first information is used to determine whether there is a field in the first DCI (Kim ¶ 0104).
Kim and Oh are analogous art because they are both related to DCI. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the DCI scheduling techniques of Kim with the system of Oh for coping promptly with a situation where the terminal enters a high-mobility state or the channel condition varies (Kim ¶ 0103).
For Claim 9, Oh-Kim teaches the second node according to claim 8, characterized in that the first information is used to determine whether the first DCI comprises a second field (Kim ¶ 0104-0105); when the first DCI comprises the second field: the second field in the first DCI is related to the method of indication of the first field in the first DCI and is used to determine the waveform for the first wireless channel (Kim ¶ 0110-0112).
For Claim 10, Oh-Kim teaches the second node according to claim 8, characterized in that the method of indication of the first field in the first DCI comprises: whether the first field in the first DCI is used to indicate a frequency-domain resource in accordance with resource allocation type 0 (Oh ¶ 0173-0176) or resource allocation type 1 (Oh ¶ 0177-0178).
For Claim 11, Oh-Kim teaches the second node according to claim 9, characterized in that the first field is a Frequency domain resource assignment field (Oh ¶ 0114).
For Claim(s) 14, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 1 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim(s) 15, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 2 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim(s) 16, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 3 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
For Claim(s) 17, the claim(s) is/are substantially similar to claim 4 and therefore is/are rejected for the same reasoning set forth above.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed below, thank you:
i. US 20200374852 A1, TECHNIQUES FOR RESOURCE BLOCK ALLOCATION IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS
Please see PTO-892 for additional listing of relevant prior art made of record but not relied upon, thank you.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael Keller at (571)270-3863 or michael.keller@uspto.gov. If attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Moo Jeong can be reached on 571-272-9617.
/MICHAEL A KELLER/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418