Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 22 recite the limitation "the first magnetic field sensing element" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1, 11 and 17 recite limitation “substantially” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Dependent claims 2-10, 12-16, 18-21, and 23-27 not specifically addressed are also rejected for reasons above due to dependence on rejected parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-11, 13, 15-16 and 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrich et al. (Pub NO. US 2012/0249133 A1; hereinafter Friedrich) in view of Briano et al. (Pub NO. US 2021/0285794 A1; hereinafter Briano).
Regarding Claim 1, Friedrich teaches a sensor (Sensor in Fig. 3B and Fig. below; See [0030-[0035]), comprising:
a conductor (conductor 14 in Fig. 1);
a first anchor magnetic field sensing element (SE1 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below) that is formed at an intersection of a first axis and a second axis that is substantially perpendicular to the first axis (See Fig. 3B and Fig. below),
a first magnetic field sensing element (SE3 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below) that is formed on the first axis (first sensing axis 46 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below; See Fig. 3B and Fig. below); and
a second magnetic field sensing element (SE2 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below) that is formed on the second axis (second sensing axis 44 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below; See Fig. 3B and Fig. below),
wherein the anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, and the second magnetic field sensing element are so positioned as to measure a level of electrical current through the conductor (See [0031]-[0040]).
Friedrich teaches conductor, first anchor magnetic field sensing element, first magnetic field sensing element and second magnetic field sensing element (14, SE1, SE2, SE3),
However, Friedrich is silent about conductor having a curved portion; the first magnetic field sensing element being formed on a space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion; the first magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element; the second magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element.
Briano teaches conductor having a curved portion (conductor 104 having curved portion in Fig. 4 and Fig. below); the first magnetic field sensing element being formed on a space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion (first magnetic field sensing element A1 is enclosed by curved portion in Fig. 4 and Fig. below); the first magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element (first magnetic field sensing element D2 is disposed on lower side is opposite from upper side of A1 on conductor 104 in Fig. 4 and Fig. below); the second magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element (second magnetic field sensing element A2 is disposed on lower side is opposite from upper side of A1 on conductor 104 in Fig. 4 and Fig. below).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich by using conductor having a curved portion; the first magnetic field sensing element being formed on a space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion; the first magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element; the second magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, as taught by Briano in order to reduce the effects of stray fields on the sensor (Briano; abstract).
Regarding Claim 2, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 1. Friedrich further teaches comprising:
one or more first terminals (terminal 74 in fig. 4A);
one or more second terminals (terminal 72 in Fig. 4A);
a first processing circuit (64b in Fig. 4A) configured to generate a first differential signal (output of 64b in fig. 4A), the first differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the first magnetic field sensing element (differential signal of SE3 and SE1 in Fig. 4A), the first differential signal being output on the one or more first terminals (output of terminal 74 in fig. 4A); and
a second processing circuit (64a in Fig. 4A) configured to generate a second differential signal (output of 64a in fig. 4A), the second differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the second magnetic field sensing element (differential signal of SE3 and SE2 in Fig. 4A), the second differential signal being output on the one or more second terminals (output of terminal 72 in fig. 4A).
Regarding Claim 3, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 1. Friedrich further teaches further comprising:
one or more terminals (terminal 84 in Fig. 4A); and
a processing circuitry (72, 74, 66, 78, 80 in fig. 4A) that is configured to generate an output signal (See [0039]-[0048]),
the output signal being based on respective outputs of the anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, and second magnetic field sensing element (output signal at 84 is from SE1, SE2 and SE3 in Fig. 4A),
the output signal being indicative of a level of electrical current through the conductor (See [0039]),
the output signal being output on the one or more terminals (output at terminal 84 in Fig. 4A).
Regarding Claim 7, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 1. Friedrich further teaches further comprising a substrate (substrate 40 in Fig. 3B; See [0030]), wherein the anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, and the second magnetic field sensing element are formed on the substrate (all components are on substrate 40 in Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 8, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 1. Friedrich is silent about further comprising: a second anchor magnetic field sensing element that is formed at the intersection of the first axis and the second axis; a first substrate, wherein the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the first magnetic field sensing element are formed on the first substrate; a second substrate that is disposed above or below the first substrate, wherein the second anchor magnetic field sensing element and the second magnetic field sensing element are formed on the second substrate.
Briano further teaches further comprising: a second anchor magnetic field sensing element (B1 in Fig. 4) that is formed at the intersection of the first axis and the second axis (B1 is at intersection of axis of C1 and axis of C2 in Fig. 4); a first substrate (substrate of A1, D1 in Fig. 4), wherein the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the first magnetic field sensing element are formed on the first substrate (the first anchor magnetic field sensing element A1 and the first magnetic field sensing element D1 is on first substrate in Fig. 4); a second substrate that is disposed above or below the first substrate (substrate of B1, C1 in Fig. 4), wherein the second anchor magnetic field sensing element and the second magnetic field sensing element are formed on the second substrate (the second anchor magnetic field sensing element B1 and the second magnetic field sensing element C1 is on second substrate in Fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich by using a second anchor magnetic field sensing element that is formed at the intersection of the first axis and the second axis; a first substrate, wherein the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the first magnetic field sensing element are formed on the first substrate; a second substrate that is disposed above or below the first substrate, wherein the second anchor magnetic field sensing element and the second magnetic field sensing element are formed on the second substrate, as taught by Briano in order to reduce the effects of stray fields on the sensor (Briano; abstract).
Regarding Claim 9, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 1. Friedrich further teaches wherein each of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, and the second magnetic field sensing element includes a planar Hall element (See [0062]).
Regarding Claim 10, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 1. Friedrich is silent about wherein the curved portion defines a U-shape or a C-shape.
Briano teaches wherein the curved portion defines a U-shape or a C-shape (C-shaped curved portion of conductor 104 in Fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich by using the curved portion defines a U-shape or a C-shape, as taught by Briano in order to reduce the effects of stray fields on the sensor (Briano; abstract).
Regarding Claim 11, Friedrich teaches a sensor (Sensor in Fig. 3B and Fig. below; See [0030-[0035]), comprising:
one or more first terminals (terminal 74 in fig. 4A);
one or more second terminals (terminal 72 in Fig. 4A);
a conductor (conductor 14 in Fig. 1);
a first anchor magnetic field sensing element (SE1 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below) that is formed at an intersection of a first axis and a second axis that is substantially perpendicular to the first axis (See Fig. 3B and Fig. below),
a first magnetic field sensing element (SE3 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below) that is formed on the first axis (first sensing axis 46 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below; See Fig. 3B and Fig. below),
a second magnetic field sensing element (SE2 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below) that is formed on the second axis (second sensing axis 44 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below; See Fig. 3B and Fig. below);
a first processing circuit (64b in Fig. 4A) configured to generate a first differential signal (output of 64b in fig. 4A),
the first differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the first magnetic field sensing element (differential signal of SE3 and SE1 in Fig. 4A), the first differential signal being output on the one or more first terminals (output of terminal 74 in fig. 4A); and
a second processing circuit (64a in Fig. 4A) configured to generate a second differential signal, the second differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the second magnetic field sensing element (output of 64a in fig. 4A), the second differential signal being output on the one or more second terminals (differential signal of SE3 and SE2 in Fig. 4A), the second differential signal being output on the one or more second terminals (output of terminal 72 in fig. 4A),
wherein the anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, and the second magnetic field sensing element are so positioned as to measure a level of electrical current through the conductor (See [0031]-[0040]).
Friedrich teaches conductor, first anchor magnetic field sensing element, first magnetic field sensing element and second magnetic field sensing element (14, SE1, SE2, SE3),
However, Friedrich is silent about conductor having a curved portion; the first anchor magnetic field sensing element being disposed above or below a space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion; the first magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element; the second magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element.
Briano teaches conductor having a curved portion (conductor 104 having curved portion in Fig. 4 and Fig. below); the first magnetic field sensing element being formed on a space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion (first magnetic field sensing element A1 is enclosed by curved portion in Fig. 4 and Fig. below); the first magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element (first magnetic field sensing element D2 is disposed on lower side is opposite from upper side of A1 on conductor 104 in Fig. 4 and Fig. below); the second magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element (second magnetic field sensing element A2 is disposed on lower side is opposite from upper side of A1 on conductor 104 in Fig. 4 and Fig. below).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich by using conductor having a curved portion; the first magnetic field sensing element being formed on a space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion; the first magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element; the second magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor
Regarding Claim 13, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 11. Friedrich further teaches further comprising a substrate (substrate 40 in Fig. 3B; See [0030]), wherein the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, the second magnetic field sensing element, the first processing circuit, and the second processing circuit are formed on the substrate (all components are on substrate 40 in Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 15, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 1. Friedrich further teaches wherein each of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, and the second magnetic field sensing element includes a planar Hall element (See [0062]).
Regarding Claim 16, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 1. Friedrich is silent about wherein the curved portion defines a U-shape or a C-shape.
Briano teaches wherein the curved portion defines a U-shape or a C-shape (C-shaped curved portion of conductor 104 in Fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich by using the curved portion defines a U-shape or a C-shape, as taught by Briano in order to reduce the effects of stray fields on the sensor (Briano; abstract).
Regarding Claim 20, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 18. Friedrich is silent about wherein the conductor defines a U-shape or a C-shape.
Briano teaches wherein the conductor defines a U-shape or a C-shape (C-shaped curved portion of conductor 104 in Fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich by using the conductor defines a U-shape or a C-shape, as taught by Briano in order to reduce the effects of stray fields on the sensor (Briano; abstract).
Regarding Claim 21, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 17. Friedrich further teaches wherein each of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, the second anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, and the second magnetic field sensing element includes a planar Hall element (See [0062]).
Regarding Claim 22, Friedrich teaches a sensor (Sensor in Fig. 3B and Fig. below; See [0030-[0035]), comprising:
a first anchor magnetic field sensing element (SE1 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below) that is formed at an intersection of a first axis and a second axis that is arranged at a first angle relative to the first axis (See Fig. 3B and Fig. below),
a first magnetic field sensing element (SE3 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below) that is formed on the first axis (first sensing axis 46 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below; See Fig. 3B and Fig. below),
a second magnetic field sensing element (SE2 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below) that is formed on the second axis (second sensing axis 44 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below; See Fig. 3B and Fig. below), and
a semiconductor package that is configured to encapsulate the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, and the second magnetic field sensing element (See [044], [0063]), wherein the anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, and the second magnetic field sensing element are configured to measure a level of electrical current through the conductor (See [0031]-[0040]).
Friedrich teaches conductor, first anchor magnetic field sensing element, first magnetic field sensing element and second magnetic field sensing element (14, SE1, SE2, SE3),
However, Friedrich is silent about conductor having a curved portion; the first magnetic field sensing element being formed on a space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion; the first magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element; the second magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element.
Briano teaches conductor having a curved portion (conductor 104 having curved portion in Fig. 4 and Fig. below); the first magnetic field sensing element being formed on a space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion (first magnetic field sensing element A1 is enclosed by curved portion in Fig. 4 and Fig. below); the first magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element (first magnetic field sensing element D2 is disposed on lower side is opposite from upper side of A1 on conductor 104 in Fig. 4 and Fig. below); the second magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element (second magnetic field sensing element A2 is disposed on lower side is opposite from upper side of A1 on conductor 104 in Fig. 4 and Fig. below).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich by using conductor having a curved portion; the first magnetic field sensing element being formed on a space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion; the first magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element; the second magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, as taught by Briano in order to reduce the effects of stray fields on the sensor (Briano; abstract).
Regarding Claim 23, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the system of claim 22. Friedrich teaches wherein the first angle is approximately 90 degrees (See angle between 44 and 46 is 90 degrees in Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 24, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the system of claim 22. Friedrich teaches wherein the first angle is approximately 45 degrees (See angle of Se3 and SE2 is 45 degrees in Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 25, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the system of claim 22. Friedrich is silent about wherein the conductor is at least partially encapsulated in the semiconductor package.
Briano teaches wherein the conductor is at least partially encapsulated in the semiconductor package (See [0029]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich by using the conductor is at least partially encapsulated in the semiconductor package, as taught by Briano in order to reduce the effects of stray fields on the sensor (Briano; abstract).
Claim(s) 4-6, 12, 14, 17-19 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrich in view of Briano further in view of Bussan et al. (Pub NO. US 2019/0120659 A1; hereinafter Bussan).
Regarding Claim 4, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 1. Friedrich further teaches further comprising: a third magnetic field sensing element (SE4 in Fig. 3G).
Friedrich in view of Briano is silent about third magnetic field sensing element that is formed on a third axis, the third axis being positioned between the first axis and the second axis, the third axis lying on the intersection of the first axis and the second axis, the third axis being arranged at an angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to both the first axis and the second axis.
Bussan teaches regarding magnetic field sensing (See [0054]) third magnetic field sensing element that is formed on a third axis (third magnetic field sensing element 34 is in third axis in Fig. 8; See [0052]-[0054]), the third axis being positioned between the first axis and the second axis (third axis is between first axis of 37 and second axis of 36 in Fig. 8), the third axis lying on the intersection of the first axis and the second axis (third axis is intersection of 36 and 37 in Fig. 8), the third axis being arranged at an angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to both the first axis and the second axis (axis of 34 is 45 degree drawn between 36 and 37 in Fig. 8).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich and Briano by using third magnetic field sensing element that is formed on a third axis, the third axis being positioned between the first axis and the second axis, the third axis lying on the intersection of the first axis and the second axis, the third axis being arranged at an angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to both the first axis and the second axis, as taught by Bussan in order to utilize differential Hall sensor pair can be configured to produce an output comprising the difference in an output of the first Hall sensor and the second Hall sensor (Bussan; [0006]).
Regarding Claim 5, Friedrich in view of Briano further in view of Bussan teaches the sensor of claim 4. Friedrich further teaches comprising:
one or more first terminals (terminal at 74 in Fig. 4A);
one or more second terminals (terminal at 72 in Fig. 4A);
one or more third terminals (terminal at 76 in Fig. 4A);
a first processing circuit (64b in Fig. 4A) configured to generate a first differential signal, the first differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the first magnetic field sensing element (difference of SE1 and SE3 in Fig. 4A), the first differential signal being output on the one or more first terminals (output at terminal 74 in Fig. 4A); and
a second processing circuit (64a in Fig. 4A) configured to generate a second differential signal, the second differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the second magnetic field sensing element (difference of SE2 and SE3 in Fig. 4A), the second differential signal being output on the one or more second terminals (output at terminal 72 in Fig. 4A);
Bussan teaches the third magnetic field sensing element (third magnetic field sensing element 34 is in third axis in Fig. 8; See [0052]-[0054]), but Friedrich in view of Briano further in view of Bussan is silent about a third processing circuit configured to generate a third differential signal, the third differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the third magnetic field sensing element, the third differential signal being output on the one or more third terminals.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich, Briano and Bussan by using a third processing circuit configured to generate a third differential signal, the third differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the third magnetic field sensing element, the third differential signal being output on the one or more third terminals in order to utilize differential Hall sensor pair can be configured to produce an output comprising the difference in an output of the first Hall sensor and the second Hall sensor (Bussan; [0006]).
Regarding Claim 6, Friedrich in view of Briano further in view of Bussan teaches the sensor of claim 4. Friedrich further teaches further comprising: a processing circuit (66, 78 and 80 in Fig 4A) that is configured to generate an output signal, the output signal being based on respective outputs of the anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, the second magnetic field sensing element, and the third magnetic field sensing element, the output signal being indicative of a level of electrical current through the conductor, the output signal being output on the one or more first terminals (output at 84 is the processing signal of all elements Se1, SE2, SE3 in Fig. 4A).
Regarding Claim 12, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 11. Friedrich in view of Briano is silent about further comprising: a third magnetic field sensing element that is formed on a third axis, the third axis being positioned between the first axis and the second axis, the third axis lying on the intersection of the first axis and the second axis, the third axis being arranged at an angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to both the first axis and the second axis.
Bussan teaches regarding magnetic field sensing (See [0054]) third magnetic field sensing element that is formed on a third axis (third magnetic field sensing element 34 is in third axis in Fig. 8; See [0052]-[0054]), the third axis being positioned between the first axis and the second axis (third axis is between first axis of 37 and second axis of 36 in Fig. 8), the third axis lying on the intersection of the first axis and the second axis (third axis is intersection of 36 and 37 in Fig. 8), the third axis being arranged at an angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to both the first axis and the second axis (axis of 34 is 45 degree drawn between 36 and 37 in Fig. 8).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich and Briano by using third magnetic field sensing element that is formed on a third axis, the third axis being positioned between the first axis and the second axis, the third axis lying on the intersection of the first axis and the second axis, the third axis being arranged at an angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to both the first axis and the second axis, as taught by Bussan in order to utilize differential Hall sensor pair can be configured to produce an output comprising the difference in an output of the first Hall sensor and the second Hall sensor (Bussan; [0006]).
Regarding Claim 14, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the sensor of claim 11. Friedrich in view of Briano is silent about further comprising: one or more third terminals; a third magnetic field sensing element that is formed on a third axis, the third axis being positioned between the first axis and the second axis, the third axis lying on the intersection of the first axis and the second axis, the third axis being arranged at an angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to both the first axis and the second axis; and a third processing circuit configured to generate a third differential signal, the third differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, the third magnetic field sensing element, the third differential signal being output on the one or more third terminals.
Bussan teaches regarding magnetic field sensing (See [0054]) one or more third terminals (See terminal in Fig. 8); third magnetic field sensing element that is formed on a third axis (third magnetic field sensing element 34 is in third axis in Fig. 8; See [0052]-[0054]), the third axis being positioned between the first axis and the second axis (third axis is between first axis of 37 and second axis of 36 in Fig. 8), the third axis lying on the intersection of the first axis and the second axis (third axis is intersection of 36 and 37 in Fig. 8), the third axis being arranged at an angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to both the first axis and the second axis (axis of 34 is 45 degree drawn between 36 and 37 in Fig. 8).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich and Briano by using third magnetic field sensing element that is formed on a third axis, the third axis being positioned between the first axis and the second axis, the third axis lying on the intersection of the first axis and the second axis, the third axis being arranged at an angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to both the first axis and the second axis, as taught by Bussan in order to utilize differential Hall sensor pair can be configured to produce an output comprising the difference in an output of the first Hall sensor and the second Hall sensor (Bussan; [0006]).
Bussan teaches the third magnetic field sensing element (third magnetic field sensing element 34 is in third axis in Fig. 8; See [0052]-[0054]), but Friedrich in view of Briano further in view of Bussan is silent about a third processing circuit configured to generate a third differential signal, the third differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the third magnetic field sensing element, the third differential signal being output on the one or more third terminals.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich, Briano and Bussan by using a third processing circuit configured to generate a third differential signal, the third differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the third magnetic field sensing element, the third differential signal being output on the one or more third terminals in order to utilize differential Hall sensor pair can be configured to produce an output comprising the difference in an output of the first Hall sensor and the second Hall sensor (Bussan; [0006]).
Regarding Claim 17, Friedrich teaches a sensor, comprising:
a first substrate (substrate 40 in Fig. 3B; See [0030]);
a conductor (conductor 14 in Fig. 1);
a first anchor magnetic field sensing element (SE1 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below) that is formed on the first substrate (See Fig. 3B and Fig. below), the first anchor magnetic field sensing element being formed at an intersection of a first axis and a second axis that is substantially perpendicular to the first axis (See Fig. 3B and Fig. below),
a first magnetic field sensing element (SE3 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below) that is formed on the first substrate, the first magnetic field sensing element being formed on the first axis (first sensing axis 46 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below; See Fig. 3B and Fig. below);
a second magnetic field sensing element (SE2 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below) that is formed on the second substrate, the second magnetic field sensing element being formed on the second axis (second sensing axis 44 in Fig. 3B and Fig. below; See Fig. 3B and Fig. below),
the first magnetic field sensing element, and the second magnetic field sensing element are so positioned as to measure a level of electrical current through the conductor (See [0031]-[0040]);
Friedrich teaches conductor, first anchor magnetic field sensing element, first magnetic field sensing element and second magnetic field sensing element (14, SE1, SE2, SE3),
However, Friedrich is silent about the conductor, wherein the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, the second anchor magnetic field sensing element; conductor having a curved portion; the first anchor magnetic field sensing element being disposed above or below a space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion; a second anchor magnetic field sensing element that is formed on the first substrate, the second anchor magnetic field sensing element being formed at the intersection of the first axis and the second axis, the second anchor magnetic field sensing element being disposed above or below the space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion; the first magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element; the second magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the second anchor magnetic field sensing element; a semiconductor package that is configured to encapsulate, at least in part, the first substrate, the second substrate, the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, the second anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, the second magnetic field sensing element.
Briano teaches conductor having a curved portion (conductor 104 having curved portion in Fig. 4); a second substrate that is disposed above or below the first substrate (See second substrate in Fig. 4); the first magnetic field sensing element being formed on a space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion (first magnetic field sensing element A1 is enclosed by curved portion in Fig. 4); the first magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element (first magnetic field sensing element D2 is disposed on lower side is opposite from upper side of A1 on conductor 104 in Fig. 4); the second magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element (second magnetic field sensing element A2 is disposed on lower side is opposite from upper side of A1 on conductor 104 in Fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich by using conductor having a curved portion; a second substrate that is disposed above or below the first substrate; the first magnetic field sensing element being formed on a space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion; the first magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element; the second magnetic field sensing element being disposed on an opposite side of the conductor from the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, as taught by Briano in order to reduce the effects of stray fields on the sensor (Briano; abstract).
Friedrich in view of Briano is silent about a second anchor magnetic field sensing element that is formed on the first substrate, the second anchor magnetic field sensing element being formed at the intersection of the first axis and the second axis, the second anchor magnetic field sensing element being disposed above or below the space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion; a semiconductor package that is configured to encapsulate, at least in part, the first substrate, the second substrate, the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, the second anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, the second magnetic field sensing element.
Bussan teaches regarding magnetic field sensing (See [0054]) a second anchor magnetic field sensing element that is formed on the first substrate, the second anchor magnetic field sensing element (magnetic field sensing element 34 is in third axis in Fig. 8; See [0052]-[0054]) being formed at the intersection of the first axis and the second axis (third axis is between first axis of 37 and second axis of 36 in Fig. 8), the second anchor magnetic field sensing element being disposed above or below the space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion (See substrate in Fig. 8); a semiconductor package that is configured to encapsulate, at least in part, the first substrate, the second substrate, the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, the second anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, the second magnetic field sensing element (See [0060]-[0061]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich and Briano by using a second anchor magnetic field sensing element that is formed on the first substrate, the second anchor magnetic field sensing element being formed at the intersection of the first axis and the second axis, the second anchor magnetic field sensing element being disposed above or below the space that is partially enclosed by the curved portion; a semiconductor package that is configured to encapsulate, at least in part, the first substrate, the second substrate, the first anchor magnetic field sensing element, the second anchor magnetic field sensing element, the first magnetic field sensing element, the second magnetic field sensing element, as taught by Bussan in order to utilize differential Hall sensor pair can be configured to produce an output comprising the difference in an output of the first Hall sensor and the second Hall sensor (Bussan; [0006]).
Regarding Claim 18, Friedrich in view of Briano further in view of Bussan teaches the sensor of claim 17. Friedrich further teaches comprising:
one or more first terminals (terminal 84 in Fig. 4A);
one or more second terminals (terminal 72 in Fig. 4A);
a first processing circuit (64b in Fig. 4A) that is formed on the first substrate (See Fig. 4A),
the first processing circuit being configured to generate a first differential signal (output of 64b in fig. 4A), the first differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the first magnetic field sensing element (differential signal of SE3 and SE1 in Fig. 4A), the first differential signal being output on the one or more first terminals (output of terminal 74 in fig. 4A); and
a second processing circuit (64a in Fig. 4A), the second processing circuit configured to generate a second differential signal (output of 64a in fig. 4A), the second differential signal being based on respective outputs of the second anchor magnetic field sensing element and the second magnetic field sensing element (differential signal of SE3 and SE2 in Fig. 4A), the second differential signal being output on the one or more second terminals (output of terminal 72 in fig. 4A).
Friedrich is silent about second processing circuit that is formed on the second substrate.
Briano teaches a second substrate that is disposed above or below the first substrate (substrate of B1, C1 in Fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich and Briano by using second processing circuit that is formed on the second substrate in order to reduce the effects of stray fields on the sensor (Briano; abstract).
Regarding Claim 19, Friedrich in view of Briano further in view of Bussan teaches the sensor of claim 18. Bussan teaches further comprising: one or more third terminals (See terminals in Fig. 4);
a third magnetic field sensing element (third magnetic field sensing element 34 is in third axis in Fig. 8; See [0052]-[0054]) that is formed on one of the first and second substrate, the third magnetic field sensing element being formed on a third axis (third axis is between first axis of 37 and second axis of 36 in Fig. 8),
the third axis being positioned between the first axis and the second axis (third axis is intersection of 36 and 37 in Fig. 8), the third axis lying on the intersection of the first axis and the second axis, the third axis being arranged at an angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to both the first axis and the second axis (axis of 34 is 45 degree drawn between 36 and 37 in Fig. 8);
Bussan teaches the third magnetic field sensing element (third magnetic field sensing element 34 is in third axis in Fig. 8; See [0052]-[0054]), but Friedrich in view of Briano further in view of Bussan is silent about a third processing circuit configured to generate a third differential signal, the third differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the third magnetic field sensing element, the third differential signal being output on the one or more third terminals.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich, Briano and Bussan by using a third processing circuit configured to generate a third differential signal, the third differential signal being based on respective outputs of the first anchor magnetic field sensing element and the third magnetic field sensing element, the third differential signal being output on the one or more third terminals in order to utilize differential Hall sensor pair can be configured to produce an output comprising the difference in an output of the first Hall sensor and the second Hall sensor (Bussan; [0006]).
Regarding Claim 26, Friedrich in view of Briano teaches the system of claim 22. Friedrich in view of Briano is silent about further comprising a third magnetic field sensing element that is formed on a third axis, the third axis passing through the intersection of the first and second axes, the third axis being arranged at a second angle relative to the first and second axes.
Bussan teaches regarding magnetic field sensing (See [0054]) third magnetic field sensing element that is formed on a third axis (third magnetic field sensing element 34 is in third axis in Fig. 8; See [0052]-[0054]), the third axis passing through the intersection of the first and second axes (third axis is between first axis of 37 and second axis of 36 in Fig. 8), the third axis being arranged at a second angle relative to the first and second axes (third axis is intersection of 36 and 37 in Fig. 8).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Friedrich and Briano by using third magnetic field sensing element that is formed on a third axis, the third axis being positioned between the first axis and the second axis, the third axis lying on the intersection of the first axis and the second axis, the third axis being arranged at an angle of approximately 45 degrees relative to both the first axis and the second axis, as taught by Bussan in order to utilize differential Hall sensor pair can be configured to produce an output comprising the difference in an output of the first Hall sensor and the second Hall sensor (Bussan; [0006]).
Regarding Claim 27, Friedrich in view of Briano further in view of Bussan teaches the system of claim 26. Bussan teaches wherein the first angle is equal to approximately 90 degrees and the second angle is equal to approximately 45 degrees (axis of 34 is 45 degrees drawn between 36 and 37 in Fig. 8).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Foletto et al. (Pub NO. US 2019/0234763 A1) discloses Magnetic Field Sensor.
b. Yuan et al. (Pub NO. US 2018/0238973 A1) discloses Magnetic Field Sensor.
c. Doogue et al. (Patent NO. US 9,859,489 B2) discloses Integrated Circuit.
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858