DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 lacks a typical transition between the preamble and the body of the claim (comprising, consisting etc.). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation “substantially the same width”, and the claim also recites “exactly the same width” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 13 and 14, the phrase “in particular” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-10, 12-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 8,117,733 to Reggiani.
Regarding claim 1 Reggiani discloses an unpacking device which is designed to remove a thin-walled packaging wrapper (3) from a workpiece, having a processing station having a workpiece receptacle (see figure 6 area between rollers where 3 is situated) for receiving the workpiece (3), and having a pair of counter-rotating rollers (5/6) which are mounted so as to be rotatable about counter-rotating axles (see figure 6) and between which is formed an intake gap (see figure 6), at least one of the counter-rotating rollers being driven by a drive (col. 3 lines 12-15) so as to rotate about its counter-rotating axle; and the pair of counter-rotating rollers being disposed on a circumference of the processing station in such a manner and designed to draw the thin-walled packaging wrapper into the intake gap (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 5 Reggiani discloses the counter-rotating axles deviate by at most 15 degrees from a mutually parallel alignment (see figure 6, axes are parallel).
Regarding claim 7 Reggiani discloses the intake gap over its length has only substantially, at least substantially, or exactly the same width (see figure 6, axes are parallel).
Regarding claim 8 Reggiani discloses the intake gap has a width which is actively adjustable by an adjustment drive, and/or wherein the counter-rotating rollers are loaded toward one another by a spring force of a spring (col. 3 lines 35-55).
Regarding claim 9 Reggiani discloses the processing station has a bearing surface on which the workpiece is to be placed adjacent to the counter-rotating rollers (surface of rollers 10/11 when swung into contact with 3).
Regarding claim 10 Reggiani discloses said unpacking device has a loading device (21) which is designed to transport a workpiece (3) to the processing station and/or remove said workpiece from the processing station.
Regarding claim 12 Reggiani discloses a method for removing a thin-walled packaging wrapper from a workpiece (3), comprising the steps: a) offering up a workpiece having a thin-walled packaging wrapper to an intake gap (moving 3 into contact with 5/6 so 2 is inserted into the gap) between a pair of counter-rotating rollers which are mounted so as to be rotatable about counter-rotating axles (see figure 6); b) inducting the thin-walled packaging wrapper (intaking 2 into the gap, see figure 6) so far into the intake gap that the thin-walled packaging wrapper is stripped from the workpiece (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 13 Reggiani discloses rotating the workpiece, by way of a workpiece circumference, transversely past the intake gap, either prior to gripping the thin-walled packaging wrapper by way of the intake gap, in particular for increasing the probability that the thin-walled packaging wrapper makes its way into the intake gap; and/or when inducting the thin-walled packaging wrapper into the intake gap, in particular for facilitating the stripping of the thin-walled packaging wrapper from the workpiece (the work piece rotates into position in the removal station when being transferred from the conveyor 21 to the removal station 8).
Regarding claim 16 Reggiani discloses the method being carried out with an unpacking device (figure 4), which is designed to remove a thin-walled packaging wrapper (2) from a workpiece (3), the unpacking device comprising: a processing station (8) having a workpiece receptacle (see figure 6) for receiving the workpiece (3), and a pair of counter-rotating rollers (5/6) which are mounted so as to be rotatable about counter-rotating axles (figure 6) and between which is formed an intake gap (figure 6), at least one of the counter-rotating rollers being driven by a drive (col. 3 lines 10-15) so as to rotate about its counter-rotating axle; and the pair of counter-rotating rollers being disposed on a circumference of the processing station in such a manner and designed to draw the thin-walled packaging wrapper into the intake gap (see figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reggiani.
Reggiani does not explicitly disclose a processing machine, the unpacking device being disposed along an automated conveyor line in front of the processing machine, and unpacked workpieces being transported by the conveyor line from the unpacking device to the processing machine, the processing machine being from the following group: milling machine, turning machine, grinding machine, polishing machine, coating machine, cleaning machine, film-wrapping machine, and block-mounting machine.
That said it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claim to have modified Reggiani to include a processing machine, the unpacking device being disposed along an automated conveyor line in front of the processing machine, and unpacked workpieces being transported by the conveyor line from the unpacking device to the processing machine, the processing machine being from the following group: milling machine, turning machine, grinding machine, polishing machine, coating machine, cleaning machine, film-wrapping machine, and block-mounting machine because Reggiani is intended for use in an automated operation (in this instance opening objects such as stacks of lids to be seamed onto containers (col. 1 lines 10-13) and as such feeding the opened stack of container lids via a conveyor to either a machine for attaching them or for cleaning them would have been well known and part of a standard automated assembly for closing containers via the lids. See MPEP 2144.03.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6, and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the roller configuration of the work receptacle as set forth in claims 2 and 15 distinguishes the claims from the prior art when considered in combination with the other limitations of the claims. The changing of the direction of rotation of the workpiece (claim 14) distinguishes the claim from the prior art when considered in combination with the other limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited references show other roller based systems for removing film/packaging from an object.
/MARK C HAGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652