DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 2/24/2025.
Claims 53-72 are pending, with claims 1-52 being cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 7/11/2024, 7/30/2024, 2/24/2025, and 7/9/2025 have been considered by Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 53-72 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,069,578, over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,711,767, and over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,134,446. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the instant claims of the instant application are recited in the noted claims of the related patents (see correspondence table below):
Instant Application
US Patent No. 12,069,578
US Patent No. 11,711,767
US Patent No. 11,134,446
53. A method for wireless communications between a first electronic device and a second electronic device, the method comprising: repeatedly transmitting, by the first electronic device, a first plurality of advertising packets according to a wireless communications protocol, wherein the first plurality of advertising packets comprises a first set of payload data; receiving, by the first electronic device, a first transmission in response from the second electronic device; terminating, by the first electronic device, transmittal of the first plurality of advertising packets in response to the received first transmission; identifying, by the first electronic device, a second plurality of advertising packets comprising a second set of payload data that was not received by the second electronic device; and transmitting, by the first electronic device, a second transmission according to the wireless communications protocol, wherein the second transmission includes the second set of payload data.
54. The method of claim 53, wherein identifying the second plurality of advertising packets that was not received by the second electronic device comprises identifying, by the first electronic device, a missing first transmission from a plurality of received first transmissions.
55. The method of claim 53, wherein the wireless communication protocol comprises a Bluetooth or a Bluetooth Low Energy protocol.
56. The method of claim 53, wherein the first electronic device is a sensor control device and the second electronic device is a reader device.
57. The method of claim 53, wherein the first electronic device is a sensor control device and the second electronic device is a smart phone.
58. The method of claim 53, wherein the first set of payload data comprises a first set of data indicative of a sensed analyte level and the second set of payload data comprises a second set of data indicative of a sensed analyte level.
59. The method of claim 53, wherein at least a portion of the first set of data indicative of the sensed analyte level is different from the second set of data indicative of the sensed analyte level.
60. The method of claim 53, wherein transmitting the first plurality of advertising packets according to the wireless communications protocol further comprises transmitting the first plurality of advertising packets in a non-sequential order or randomized order.
61. The method of claim 53, wherein each advertising packet of the first plurality of advertising packets includes packet order information and the method further comprises reassembling, by the second electronic device, the first set of payload data based on the packet order information.
62. The method of claim 53, wherein each advertising packet of the first plurality of advertising packets is associated with a different Universal Unique Identifier (UUID).
63. The method of claim 62, further comprising, registering, by the second electronic device, each of the UUIDs with an application program interface (API) of the second electronic device.
64. The method of claim 53, wherein the first transmission is a scan request and the second transmission is a scan response.
65. The method of claim 54, further comprising: tracking, by the first electronic device, the plurality of received first transmissions received from the second electronic device; and associating, by the first electronic device, each of the plurality of received first transmissions with a corresponding plurality of advertising packets received by the second electronic device.
66. An analyte monitoring system, comprising: a sensor control device configured to be worn on a subject's body, comprising: one or more processors; a memory coupled with the one or more processors; wireless communications circuitry coupled with the one or more processors; and an analyte sensor, a portion of which is configured to be positioned through the subject's skin and in contact with a bodily fluid of the subject, wherein the memory is configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: cause transmittal of a first plurality of advertising packets according to a wireless communications protocol, the first plurality of advertising packets comprising a first payload data, terminate transmittal of the first plurality of advertising packets in response to receiving a first transmission from a reader device, identify a second plurality of advertising packets comprising a second payload data, and cause transmittal of a second transmission according to the wireless communications protocol, wherein the second transmission comprises the second payload data.
67. The method of claim 66, wherein identifying the second plurality of advertising packets that was not received by the second electronic device comprises identifying, by the first electronic device, a missing first transmission from a plurality of received first transmissions.
68. The method of claim 67, further comprising: tracking, by the first electronic device, the plurality of received first transmissions received from the second electronic device; and associating, by the first electronic device, each of the plurality of received first transmissions with a corresponding plurality of advertising packets received by the second electronic device.
69. The method of claim 66, wherein the wireless communication protocol comprises a Bluetooth or a Bluetooth Low Energy protocol.
70. The method of claim 66, wherein the first electronic device is a sensor control device and the second electronic device is a reader device.
71. The method of claim 66, wherein the first set of payload data comprises a first set of data indicative of a sensed analyte level and the second set of payload data comprises a second set of data indicative of a sensed analyte level that is different from the first set of data indicative of the sensed analyte level.
72. The method of claim 66, wherein the first transmission is a scan request and the second transmission is a scan response.
1. A method for monitoring an analyte level in a subject, the method comprising: detecting, by an analyte sensor, the analyte level in a bodily fluid of the subject; repeatedly transmitting, by a sensor control device comprising sensor electronics communicatively coupled with the analyte sensor, a first plurality of advertising packets according to a wireless communications protocol, wherein the first plurality of advertising packets comprises a first set of data indicative of the detected analyte level, wherein the first set of data indicative of the detected analyte level from the first plurality of advertising packets comprises a glucose level; receiving, by the sensor control device, a scan request from a reader; terminating, by the sensor control device, the transmission of the first plurality of advertising packets in response to receiving the scan request from the reader; identifying, by the sensor control device, a second plurality of advertising packets comprising a second set of data indicative of the detected analyte level that was not received by the reader; and transmitting, by the sensor control device, a scan response according to the wireless communications protocol, wherein the scan response includes the second set of data indicative of the detected analyte level.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless communications protocol comprises a Bluetooth or a Bluetooth Low Energy protocol.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising, transmitting, by the reader, the scan request to the sensor control device in response to receiving the first plurality of advertising packets.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the second plurality of advertising packets that was not received by the reader comprises identifying, by the sensor control device, a missing scan request from a plurality of received scan requests.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein at least a portion of the second set of data indicative of the detected analyte level from the second plurality of advertising packets is different from the first set of data indicative of the detected analyte level from the first plurality of advertising packets.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein each of the first plurality of advertising packets is associated with a different Universal Unique Identifier (UUID).
7. The method of claim 6, further comprising registering, by the reader, each of the UUID's with an application program interface (API) of the reader.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the first plurality of advertising packets according to a wireless communications protocol further comprises transmitting the first plurality of advertising packets in a non-sequential order.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the first plurality of advertising packets according to a wireless communications protocol further comprises transmitting the first plurality of advertising packets in a randomized order.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein each of the first plurality of advertising packets includes packet order information.
11. The method of claim 10, further comprising reassembling, by the reader, the first set of data indicative of the detected analyte level based on the packet order information.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of advertising packets comprises at least one set of duplicate advertising packets.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein each set of duplicate advertising packets comprises two or more advertising packets including the same first set of data indicative of the detected analyte level from the first plurality of advertising packets.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein each of the first plurality of advertising packets is associated with a different Universal Unique Identifier (UUID).
15. The method of claim 1, wherein the reader is a smart phone.
16. The method of claim 1, wherein the sensor electronic device comprises a sensor and a battery.
17. The method of claim 1 further comprising: tracking, by the sensor control device, the plurality of received scan requests received from the reader; and associating, by the sensor control device, each of the plurality of received scan requests with a corresponding plurality of advertising packets received by the reader.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein tracking the plurality of received scan requests further comprises tracking the plurality of received scan requests received within a predetermined time frame.
19. A method for monitoring an analyte level in a subject, the method comprising: detecting, by an analyte sensor, the analyte level in a bodily fluid of the subject; repeatedly transmitting, by a sensor control device comprising sensor electronics communicatively coupled with the analyte sensor, a first plurality of advertising packets according to a wireless communications protocol, wherein the first plurality of advertising packets comprises a first set of data indicative of the detected analyte level, wherein the first set of data indicative of the detected analyte level from the first plurality of advertising packets comprises a rate of change of a glucose level; receiving, by the sensor control device, a scan request from a reader; terminating, by the sensor control device, the transmission of the first plurality of advertising packets in response to receiving the scan request from the reader; identifying, by the sensor control device, a second plurality of advertising packets comprising a second set of data indicative of the detected analyte level that was not received by the reader; and transmitting, by the sensor control device, a scan response according to the wireless communications protocol, wherein the scan response includes the second set of data indicative of the detected analyte level.
1. An analyte monitoring system, comprising: a sensor control device configured to be worn on a subject's body, comprising: one or more processors; a memory coupled with the one or more processors; wireless communications circuitry coupled with the one or more processors; and an analyte sensor, a portion of which is configured to be positioned through the subject's skin and in contact with a bodily fluid of the subject, wherein the memory is configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: cause a transmission of a first plurality of advertising packets according to a wireless communications protocol, the first plurality of advertising packets comprising a first payload data, terminate the transmission of the first plurality of advertising packets in response to receiving a scan request from a reader device, identify a second plurality of advertising packets comprising a second payload data, and cause a transmission of a scan response according to the wireless communications protocol, wherein the scan response comprises the second payload data.
2. The analyte monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the reader device comprises: one or more processors of the reader device; a memory of the reader device coupled with the one or more processors of the reader device; and wireless communications circuitry of the reader device coupled with the one or more processors of the reader device; wherein the memory of the reader device is configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors of the reader device, cause the one or more processors of the reader device to cause a transmission of the scan request to the sensor control device in response to receiving the first plurality of advertising packets.
3. The analyte monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the memory of the sensor control device is further configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to identify a missing scan request from a plurality of received scan requests, and wherein the second plurality of advertising packets is based on the missing scan request.
4. The analyte monitoring system of claim 3, wherein at least a portion of the second payload data is different from the first payload data.
5. The analyte monitoring system of claim 2, wherein each of the first plurality of advertising packets is associated with a different Universal Unique Identifier (UUID).
6. The analyte monitoring system of claim 5, wherein the memory of the reader device is further configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors of the reader device, cause the one or more processors of the reader device to register each of the UUIDs with an application program interface (API).
7. The analyte monitoring system of claim 2, wherein the memory of the sensor control device is further configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to cause repeated transmissions of the first plurality of advertising packets.
8. The analyte monitoring system of claim 7, wherein the repeated transmissions of the first plurality of advertising packets comprises a non-sequential order.
9. The analyte monitoring system of claim 7, wherein the repeated transmissions of the first plurality of advertising packets comprises a randomized order.
10. The analyte monitoring system of claim 9, wherein each of the first plurality of advertising packets includes packet order information.
11. The analyte monitoring system of claim 10, wherein the memory of the reader device is further configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors of the reader device, cause the one or more processors of the reader device to reassemble the first payload data based on the packet order information.
12. The analyte monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of advertising packets comprises at least one set of duplicate advertising packets.
13. The analyte monitoring system of claim 12, wherein each set of duplicate advertising packets comprises two or more advertising packets comprising a same portion of the first payload data.
14. The analyte monitoring system of claim 12, wherein each of the first plurality of advertising packets is associated with a different Universal Unique Identifier (UUID).
15. The analyte monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the reader device is a smart phone.
16. The analyte monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the first payload data comprises data indicative of an analyte level sensed by the analyte sensor.
17. The analyte monitoring system of claim 16, wherein the data indicative of the analyte level sensed by the analyte sensor comprises a glucose level.
18. The analyte monitoring system of claim 16, wherein the data indicative of the analyte level sensed by the analyte sensor comprises a rate of change of a glucose level.
19. The analyte monitoring system of claim 1, wherein either of the first payload data or the second payload data comprises information indicative of a sensed measurement, wherein the sensed measurement is one or more of a measurement of temperature, pressure, force, acceleration, or another physiological parameter.
20. The analyte monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the wireless communications protocol comprises a Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low Energy protocol.
1. A method for wireless communications between a first electronic device and a second electronic device, the method comprising: repeatedly transmitting, by the first electronic device, a first plurality of advertising packets according to a wireless communications protocol, wherein the first plurality of advertising packets comprises a first set of payload data; receiving, by the first electronic device, a scan request from the second electronic device; terminating, by the first electronic device, a transmission of the first plurality of advertising packets in response to the received scan request; identifying, by the first electronic device, a second plurality of advertising packets comprising a second set of payload data that was not received by the second electronic device; and transmitting, by the first electronic device, a scan response according to the wireless communications protocol, wherein the scan response includes the second set of payload data.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, by the second electronic device, the scan request in response to receiving the first plurality of advertising packets.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the second plurality of advertising packets that was not received by the second electronic device comprises identifying, by the first electronic device, a missing scan request from a plurality of received scan requests.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication protocol comprises a Bluetooth or a Bluetooth Low Energy protocol.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the first electronic device is a sensor control device.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the second electronic device is a reader device.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the second electronic device is a smart phone.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the first set of payload data comprises one or more of a sensed analyte level, a sensed temperature measurement, a sensed pressure measurement, a sensed force measurement, a sensed acceleration measurement, and a sensed physiological measurement.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the first set of payload data comprises a first set of data indicative of a sensed analyte level.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the second set of payload data comprises a second set of data indicative of a sensed analyte level.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein at least a portion of the first set of data indicative of the sensed analyte level is different from the second set of data indicative of the sensed analyte level.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the first plurality of advertising packets according to the wireless communications protocol further comprises transmitting the first plurality of advertising packets in a non-sequential order.
13. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the first plurality of advertising packets according to the wireless communications protocol further comprises transmitting the first plurality of advertising packets in a randomized order.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein each advertising packet of the first plurality of advertising packets includes packet order information.
15. The method of claim 14, further comprising reassembling, by the second electronic device, the first set of payload data based on the packet order information.
16. The method of claim 1, wherein each advertising packet of the first plurality of advertising packets is associated with a different Universal Unique Identifier (UUID).
17. The method of claim 16, further comprising, registering, by the second electronic device, each of the UUIDs with an application program interface (API) of the second electronic device.
18. The method of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of advertising packets comprises at least one set of duplicate advertising packets.
19. The method of claim 3, further comprising: tracking, by the first electronic device, the plurality of received scan requests received from the second electronic device; and associating, by the first electronic device, each of the plurality of received scan requests with a corresponding plurality of advertising packets received by the second electronic device.
20. The method of claim 19, wherein tracking the plurality of received scan requests further comprises tracking the plurality of received scan requests received within a predetermined time frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 53-72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandapaka (USPAN 2018/0027412) in view of Denboer (USPAN 2017/0026777), Williamson (USPAN 2005/0059383), and Kwon (USPAN 2017/0325161).
Consider claim 53, Mandapaka discloses a method for wireless communication between a first electronic device and a second electronic device (see figure 1A, reproduced below for convenience, and the abstract) comprising:
transmitting, by the first electronic device, a first plurality of advertising packets according to a wireless communications protocol, wherein the first plurality of advertising packets comprises a first set of payload data (see paragraphs 248, 250, 267, 298, and 378, and figure 7e, wherein disclosed is said transmitting of a first plurality of advertising packets comprising a first set of payload data).
Mandapaka does not specifically disclose receiving, by a first electronic device, a first transmission from a second electronic device, and terminating, by the first electronic device, a transmission of the first plurality of advertising packets in response to the received first transmission.
Denboer teaches receiving, by a first electronic device, a first transmission from a second electronic device, and terminating, by the first electronic device, a transmission of the first plurality of advertising packets in response to the received first transmission (see paragraph 42 and figure 4: a determination is made as to whether a scan request has been received and, if so, the advertising is stopped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mandapaka and combine it with the noted teachings of Denboer. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for Bluetooth Low Energy interlaced advertising and scanning (see paragraphs 1 and 7 of Denboer).
Although Mandapaka discloses transmitting the first plurality of advertising packets according to the wireless communications protocol (see above), Mandapaka in view of Denboer do not specifically disclose repeatedly transmitting the first plurality of packets.
Williamson teaches repeatedly transmitting a first plurality of packets (see paragraph 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mandapaka and combine it with the noted teachings of Williamson, thus providing a method for broadcasting data segments in a substantially directional transmission beam (see paragraph 13 of Williamson).
Mandapaka does not specifically disclose identifying, by the first electronic device, a second plurality of advertising packets comprising a second set of payload data that was not received by the second electronic device, and transmitting, by the first electronic device, a second transmission according to the wireless communications protocol, wherein the second transmission includes the second set of payload data.
Kwon teaches identifying, by the first electronic device, a second plurality of advertising packets comprising a second set of payload data that was not received by the second electronic device, and transmitting, by the first electronic device, a second transmission according to the wireless communications protocol, wherein the second transmission includes the second set of payload data (see paragraphs 190 and 195).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mandapaka and combine it with the noted teachings of Kwon, thus providing a method for forming a connection between devices using a Bluetooth low energy technology (see paragraph 1 of Kwon).
Consider claims 54 and 67, Mandapaka does not specifically disclose identifying the second plurality of advertising packets that was not received by the second electronic device comprises identifying, by the first electronic device, a missing first transmission from a plurality of received first transmissions.
Kwon teaches identifying the second plurality of advertising packets that was not received by the second electronic device comprises identifying, by the first electronic device, a missing first transmission from a plurality of received first transmissions (see paragraphs 190, 195, and 133: retransmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mandapaka and combine it with the noted teachings of Kwon, thus providing a method for forming a connection between devices using a Bluetooth low energy technology (see paragraph 1 of Kwon).
Consider claims 55 and 69, Mandapaka discloses that the wireless communication protocol comprises a Bluetooth or a Bluetooth Low Energy protocol (see paragraph 286).
Consider claims 56 and 70, Mandapaka discloses that the first electronic device is a sensor control device (see figure 1A and paragraphs 257-266) and that the second electronic device is a reader device (see paragraphs 257-266).
Consider claim 57, Mandapaka discloses that the second electronic device is a smart phone (see paragraphs 257-266).
Consider claim 58, Mandapaka discloses that the first set of payload data comprises a first set of data indicative of a sensed analyte level (see abstract and paragraph 2) and the second set of payload data comprises a second set of data indicative of a sensed analyte level (see paragraphs 51 and 473).
Consider claims 59 and 71, Mandapaka discloses that at least a portion of the first set of data indicative of the sensed analyte level is different from the second set of data indicative of the sensed analyte level (see paragraphs 51 and 473).
Consider claim 60, although Mandapaka discloses transmitting the first plurality of advertising packets according to the wireless communications protocol (see above), Mandapaka in view of Denboer do not specifically disclose transmitting the packets in a non-sequential order or randomized order.
Williamson teaches transmitting the packets in a non-sequential order (see paragraphs 7 and 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mandapaka in view of Denboer and have transmitting the packets in a non-sequential order, as taught by Williamson, thus providing a method for broadcasting data segments in a substantially directional transmission beam (see paragraph 13 of Williamson).
Consider claim 61, Mandapaka in view of Denboer do not specifically disclose reassembling, by the second electronic device, the first set of payload data based on the packet order information.
Williamson teaches reassembling, by a second electronic device, the first set of payload data based on the packet order information (see paragraph 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mandapaka in view of Denboer and have reassembling, by the second electronic device, the first set of payload data based on the packet order information, as taught by Williamson, thus providing a method for broadcasting data segments in a substantially directional transmission beam (see paragraph 13 of Williamson).
Consider claim 62, although Mandapaka discloses transmitting a first plurality of advertising packets (see above), Mandapaka in view of Denboer do not specifically disclose that each packet is associated with a different Universal Unique Identifier (UUID).
Kwon teaches that each packet is associated with a different Universal Unique Identifier (UUID) (see paragraphs 157, 163, 258, and 259).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mandapaka in view of Denboer and have that each packet is associated with a different Universal Unique Identifier (UUID), as taught by Kwon, thus providing a method for forming a connection between devices using a Bluetooth low energy technology (see paragraph 1 of Kwon).
Consider claim 63, although Mandapaka discloses registering, by the second electronic device, data with an application program interface (API) of the second electronic device (see paragraphs 322, 323, and 334), Mandapaka in view of Denboer do not specifically disclose that each packet is associated with a different Universal Unique Identifier (UUID).
Kwon teaches that each packet is associated with a different Universal Unique Identifier (UUID) (see paragraphs 157, 163, 258, and 259).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mandapaka in view of Denboer and have that each packet is associated with a different Universal Unique Identifier (UUID), as taught by Kwon, thus providing a method for forming a connection between devices using a Bluetooth low energy technology (see paragraph 1 of Kwon).
Consider claims 64 and 72 , Mandapaka does not specifically disclose that the first transmission is a scan request and the second transmission is a scan response.
Kwon teaches that the first transmission is a scan request and the second transmission is a scan response (see paragraphs 190 and 195).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mandapaka, as taught by Kwon, thus providing a method for forming a connection between devices using a Bluetooth low energy technology (see paragraph 1 of Kwon).
Consider claims 65 and 68, Mandapaka discloses tracking, by the first eelectronic deice, the plurality of received first transmissions received from the second electronic device; and associating, by the first electronic device, each of the plurality of received first transmissions with a corresponding plurality of advertising packets received by the second electronic device (see paragraphs 248, 250, 267, 298, and 378).
Consider claim 66, Mandapaka discloses an analyte monitoring system, comprising: a sensor control device configured to be worn on a subject's body, comprising: one or more processors; a memory coupled with the one or more processors; wireless communications circuitry coupled with the one or more processors; and an analyte sensor, a portion of which is configured to be positioned through the subject's skin and in contact with a bodily fluid of the subject, wherein the memory is configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors (see figure 1A, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said analyte monitoring system; also, see figure 3A as well) to:
cause transmittal of a first plurality of advertising packets according to a wireless communications protocol, the first plurality of advertising packets comprising a first payload data (see paragraphs 248, 250, 267, 298, and 378, and figure 7e, wherein disclosed is said transmitting of a first plurality of advertising packets comprising a first set of payload data),
Mandapaka does not specifically disclose receiving, by a first electronic device, a first transmission from a second electronic device, and terminating, by the first electronic device, a transmission of the first plurality of advertising packets in response to the received first transmission.
Denboer teaches receiving, by a first electronic device, a first transmission from a second electronic device, and terminating, by the first electronic device, a transmission of the first plurality of advertising packets in response to the received first transmission (see paragraph 42 and figure 4: a determination is made as to whether a scan request has been received and, if so, the advertising is stopped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mandapaka and combine it with the noted teachings of Denboer. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for Bluetooth Low Energy interlaced advertising and scanning (see paragraphs 1 and 7 of Denboer).
Although Mandapaka discloses transmitting the first plurality of advertising packets according to the wireless communications protocol (see above), Mandapaka in view of Denboer do not specifically disclose repeatedly transmitting the first plurality of packets.
Williamson teaches repeatedly transmitting a first plurality of packets (see paragraph 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mandapaka and combine it with the noted teachings of Williamson, thus providing a method for broadcasting data segments in a substantially directional transmission beam (see paragraph 13 of Williamson).
Mandapaka does not specifically disclose identifying, by the first electronic device, a second plurality of advertising packets comprising a second set of payload data that was not received by the second electronic device, and transmitting, by the first electronic device, a second transmission according to the wireless communications protocol, wherein the second transmission includes the second set of payload data.
Kwon teaches identifying, by the first electronic device, a second plurality of advertising packets comprising a second set of payload data that was not received by the second electronic device, and transmitting, by the first electronic device, a second transmission according to the wireless communications protocol, wherein the second transmission includes the second set of payload data (see paragraphs 190 and 195).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mandapaka and combine it with the noted teachings of Kwon, thus providing a method for forming a connection between devices using a Bluetooth low energy technology (see paragraph 1 of Kwon).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412