DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a main shaft; should be amended to --a main shaft and a crushing head-- since “the crushing head” is claimed in line 4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a seal ring” is claimed in both lines 5 and 6. Line 6 must be amended to --the seal ring--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “retraced” in line 2 must be amended to --retracted--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the seal ring channel" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 18-20 are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potratz (US Pub. No. 2023/0323952) in view of Allen (US Patent No. 8,177,238).
Regarding claim 1, the Potratz reference discloses a seal ring assembly (Fig. 13) for use with main shaft and crushing head of a gyratory crusher (Title), comprising:
a retaining ring assembly (46) configured to mount to the crushing head;
a seal ring (50) positioned to extend from the retaining ring assembly.
However, the Potratz reference fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of seal ring retention assemblies that are each positioned to contact the seal ring to hold the seal ring in a centered position.
The Allen reference, a centering system for a seal, discloses a plurality of seal ring retention assemblies (54) that are each positioned to contact the seal ring to hold the seal ring in a centered position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a plurality of seal ring retention assemblies to the Potratz reference in view of the teachings of the Allen reference in order to allow for longer lasting centering of the sealing ring.
Regarding claim 2, the Potratz reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses each of the plurality of seal ring retention assemblies are positioned in the retaining ring assembly (Allen, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, the Potratz reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses each of the plurality of seal ring retention assemblies is movable between an engaged centering position that holds the seal ring in the centered position and a retracted operating position in which the seal ring is movable within the retaining ring assembly (Allen, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, the Potratz reference, as modified in claim 3, discloses, each of the plurality of seal ring retention assemblies is positively retained in the engaged centering position and biased into the retracted operating position (Allen, Figs. 4-7).
Regarding claim 6, the Potratz reference, as modified in claim 3, discloses each of the plurality of seal ring retention assemblies are rotatable between the engaged centering position and the retracted operating position (Allen, Figs. 4-7).
Regarding claim 7, the Potratz reference, as modified in claim 3, discloses each of the plurality of seal ring retention assemblies are longitudinally movable along a radius of the seal ring between the engaged centering position and the retracted operating position (Allen, Figs. 4-7).
Regarding claim 8, the Potratz reference, as modified in claim 3, discloses radial movement of the seal ring moves the seal ring retention assemblies from the engaged centering position and the retracted operating position (Allen, Figs. 3-7).
Regarding claim 9, the Potratz reference discloses a seal ring assembly (Fig. 13) for use with main shaft and crushing head of a gyratory crusher (Title), comprising:
a retaining ring assembly (46) configured to mount to the crushing head, the retaining ring assembly including a seal ring channel (Fig. 13);
a seal ring (50) positioned within the seal ring channel and extending from the retaining ring assembly during operation of the gyratory crusher (Fig. 13).
However, the Potratz reference fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of seal ring retention assemblies each positioned in the retaining ring assembly and movable between an engaged centering position that holds the seal ring in a centered position and a retracted operating position in which the seal ring is movable within the seal ring channel, wherein each seal ring retention assembly contacts the seal ring to hold the seal ring in the centered position.
The Allen reference, a centering system for a seal, discloses a plurality of seal ring retention assemblies (54) that are each positioned to contact the seal ring to hold the seal ring in a centered position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a plurality of seal ring retention assemblies to the Potratz reference in view of the teachings of the Allen reference in order to allow for longer lasting centering of the sealing ring.
Regarding claim 10, the Potratz reference, as modified in claim 9, discloses the retaining ring assembly includes an upper retaining ring and a lower retaining ring (Figs. 12A-13 of Allen clearly shows element 46 being made of two parts), wherein the seal ring channel is located between the upper retaining ring and the lower retaining ring (Allen, Figs. 12A-13).
Regarding claim 11, the Potratz reference, as modified in claim 9, discloses each of the plurality of seal ring retention assemblies is positively retained in the engaged centering position and biased into the retracted operating position (Allen, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, the Potratz reference, as modified in claim 9, discloses each of the plurality of seal ring retention assemblies are rotatable between the engaged centering position and the retracted operating position (Allen, Figs. 4-7).
Regarding claim 15, the Potratz reference, as modified in claim 9, discloses each of the plurality of seal ring retention assemblies are movable longitudinally along a radius of the seal ring between the engaged, centering position and the retracted, operating position (Allen, Figs. 4-7).
Regarding claim 17, the Potratz reference, as modified in claim 9, discloses radial movement of the seal ring moves the seal ring retention assemblies from the engaged centering position and the retracted operating position (Allen, Figs. 4-7).
Regarding claim 18, the Potratz reference, as best understood, discloses a gyratory crusher (Title), comprising:
a main shaft (12); and
a seal ring assembly (Fig. 13) mounted to the main shaft, comprising:
a retaining ring assembly (46) mounted to the crushing head, the retaining ring assembly
including a seal ring (50);
the seal ring positioned within the seal ring channel (channel between two elements of 46) and extending from the retaining ring assembly during operation of the gyratory crusher (Fig. 13); and
However, the Potratz reference fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of seal ring retention assemblies each positioned in the retaining ring assembly and movable between an engaged centering position that holds the seal ring in a centered position and a retracted operating position out of contact with the seal ring such that the seal ring is movable within the seal ring channel, wherein each seal ring retention assembly contacts the seal ring to hold the seal ring in the centered position.
The Allen reference, a centering system for a seal, discloses a plurality of seal ring retention assemblies (54) that are each positioned to contact the seal ring to hold the seal ring in a centered position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a plurality of seal ring retention assemblies to the Potratz reference in view of the teachings of the Allen reference in order to allow for longer lasting centering of the sealing ring.
Regarding claim 19, the Potratz reference, as modified in claim 18, discloses each of the seal ring retention assemblies are selectively movable into the engaged centering position to hold the seal ring in the centered position and are moved by the seal ring to the retracted operating position (Allen, Figs. 3-7).
Claim(s) 5, 12, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potratz in view of Allen as applied to claims 1-4, 6-11, 13, 15, and 17-19 above, and further in view of Glawion et al. (US Patent No. 10,094,182).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, the modified Potratz reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claims 4 and 11.
However, the modified Potratz reference fails to explicitly disclose each of the plurality of seal ring retention assemblies includes a ball received in a detent to positively retain the seal ring retention assembly in the engaged centering position.
The Glawion reference, a positioning screw, discloses the addition of a ball (Col. 7, Lines 17-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a ball and detent to the modified Potratz reference in view of the teachings of the Glawion reference in order to ensure proper centering.
Regarding claims 16 and 20, the modified Potratz reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claims 15 and 19.
However, the modified Potratz reference fails to explicitly disclose each of the plurality of seal ring retention assemblies includes a spring to bias the seal ring retention assembly toward the retracted operating position.
The Glawion reference, a positioning screw, discloses the addition of a spring (Col. 7, Lines 17-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a spring to the modified Potratz reference in view of the teachings of the Glawion reference in order to ensure proper centering.
biased to move into the retraced operating position by a bias spring.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675