DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shrivastava et al. (US20240334237 herein after Shriv).
Regarding claim 1, Shriv teaches A method for processing data by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving higher layer signaling ([0080] “ The FIG. 1 depicts a wireless communication network that comprises a user equipment (101) and a network apparatus (103). The UE (101) and the network apparatus (103) communicates with each other to handle the PSI based packet discarding for XR applications”) including packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration information for performing a protocol data unit (PDU) Set-based discard operation ([0097-0098] “the transmitting PDCP entity (200) is configured with multiple discard timer values for different PSI values for the PDU sets and starts the respective timer with the appropriate discard timer value based on the PSI of the PDU set received from the higher layer and is associated with… n an embodiment, a higher value of discard timer is configured for a higher PSI value (more importance) for the PDU set”;
receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element that indicates activation of a service data unit (SDU) discard operation based on PDU Set importance ([0104] “the PSI value …the UE (101) is informed or signaled by the network for a congestion situation in a broadcast signaling message like system information block or a dedicated signaling message like a RRC message, a MAC control element or a downlink control information, DCI signaling, [0134-136] “XRDiscardThresholdPdus are Number of PDUs to be discarded when congestion based discard is activated and is ongoing. XRDiscardThresholdBytes …XRCongestionTimer is a Timer which is started when congestion is detected and when running, the PSI based discard is performed at PDCP. Upon expiry, the PSI based discard is deactivated”, (Examiner’s Note: congestion == discard operation, since when congestion is determine discard occurs));
and controlling a PDCP entity to start a PDU Set importance-based discard timer when the SDU discard operation based on the PDU Set importance is activated ([0104] “the PSI value …the UE (101) is informed or signaled by the network for a congestion situation in a broadcast signaling message like system information block or a dedicated signaling message like a RRC message, a MAC control element or a downlink control information, DCI signaling, [0134-136] “XRDiscardThresholdPdus are Number of PDUs to be discarded when congestion based discard is activated and is ongoing. XRDiscardThresholdBytes …XRCongestionTimer is a Timer which is started when congestion is detected and when running, the PSI based discard is performed at PDCP. Upon expiry, the PSI based discard is deactivated”, (Examiner’s Note: congestion == discard operation, since when congestion is determine discard occurs)) and when a PDCP SDU belonging to the PDU Set importance of a preset criterion is received from a higher layer ([0034] “ the method includes starting, by the transmitting PDCP entity, the first discard timer for low importance upon reception of the PDCP SDU belonging to a low importance PDU set from the upper layer. Further, the method includes starting, by the transmitting PDCP entity, the second discard timer upon reception of the PDCP SDU not belonging to a low importance PDU set from the upper layer”),
where the PDU Set importance-based discard timer is configured in association with the PDCP SDU ([0034] “ the method includes starting, by the transmitting PDCP entity, the first discard timer for low importance upon reception of the PDCP SDU belonging to a low importance PDU set from the upper layer. Further, the method includes starting, by the transmitting PDCP entity, the second discard timer upon reception of the PDCP SDU not belonging to a low importance PDU set from the upper layer”).
Regarding claim 2, Shriv teaches wherein the PDCP configuration information includes information for instructing to perform the PDU Set-based discard operation and information about the PDU Set importance-based discard timer ([0024] “receive configuration message including information of a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a PDU set discard parameter, wherein the first discard timer is configured shorter than the second discard timer, obtain at least one packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU) from at least one upper layer, and perform, for the at least one PDCP SDU, a transmit operation including a PDCP SDU discard based on the first discard timer, the second discard timer, and the PDU set discard parameter”).
Regarding claim 3, Shriv teaches wherein: the PDU Set importance-based discard timer is indicated through an information element distinguished from a PDCP discard timer ([0104] “the PSI value …the UE (101) is informed or signaled by the network for a congestion situation in a broadcast signaling message like system information block or a dedicated signaling message like a RRC message, a MAC control element or a downlink control information, DCI signaling);
and a value of the PDU Set importance-based discard timer is set to a value that is equal to or greater than 0 and less than a value of the PDCP discard timer ([0033] “the duration of the first discard timer for low importance is less than the duration of the second discard timer and is configured in XR radio bearer configuration message by a RRC signaling message”, [0014] “The PSI based discard timer has shorter value than normal discard timer”).
Regarding claim 4, Shriv teaches wherein the SDU discard operation based on the PDU Set importance is deactivated ([0124] “when configured (or deconfigured) with pdcp-duplication, activates (or deactivates) the PDCP duplication for XR RB from the first PDCP SDU of the PDU set”) after receiving an RRC reconfiguration message ([0131] “the configurations for XR bearers are carried in RRCReconfiguration message as part of PDCP configuration or separately as part of XRBearerConfigurations”).
Regarding claim 5, Shriv teaches wherein the MAC control element ([0104] “the PSI value for the PDU set is only utilized based on the congestion status e.g., when the transmitting PDCP entity (200) determines a congestion situation or the UE (101) is informed or signaled by the network for a congestion situation in a broadcast signaling message like system information block or a dedicated signaling message like a RRC message, a MAC control element or a downlink control information, DCI signaling”) includes a field for indicating activation or deactivation of the SDU discard operation based on the PDU Set importance ([0049] “PDCP entity for handling a PDU set importance (PSI) while packet discarding for extended reality (XR) in wireless communication network. The transmitting PDCP entity comprises a processor and a packet discard handler communicatively coupled to the processor. The packet discard handler configures a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a PDU set integrated handling indication (PSIHI) represented by PDU set discard parameter configuration based on received XR radio bearer configuration message”).
Regarding claim 6, Shriv teaches wherein the controlling includes controlling the PDCP entity to discard all PDCP SDUs included in a PDU Set where the PDCP SDU belongs, together with a PDCP data PDU when the PDU Set importance-based discard timer expires ([0050 ]” Further, discard the at least one PDU set, when the first discard timer for low importance of the at least one PDCP SDU of the at least one PDU set expires”).
Regarding claim 7, Shriv teaches wherein the controlling includes, when receiving a PDCP SDU to be included in the PDU Set where the PDCP SDU belongs from the higher layer ([0036] “includes receiving, by the transmitting PDCP entity, a request for discard of PDU set from the upper layers”), controlling the PDCP entity to discard the received PDCP SDU ([0050] “Further, discard the at least one PDU set, when the first discard timer for low importance of the at least one PDCP SDU of the at least one PDU set expires or when a PDCP status report is received from the receiving PDCP entity”).
Regarding claim 8, Shriv teaches wherein the controlling includes controlling to initiate a PDCP discard timer associated with a corresponding PDCP SDU when the SDU discard operation based on the PDU Set importance is in an inactive state or when the PDU Set importance-based discard timer is not configured ([0101] “ is configured with and/or utilizes a single timer (e.g., the first discardTimer or a XRdiscardTimer) for a PDU set when the relevant QoS flow is configured with a PDU set integrated handling indication (PSIHI) set as TRUE. Otherwise, if the PSIHI for the QoS flow is set as FALSE, the transmitting PDCP entity (200) is configured with and/or utilizes a legacy timer (e.g., the second discardTimer) for each SDU of the PDU set for the relevant QoS flow”).
Regarding claim 9, Shriv teaches A method for controlling UE to process data by a base station, the method comprising:
configuring packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration information for performing a protocol data unit (PDU) Set-based discard operation ([0097-0098] “the transmitting PDCP entity (200) is configured with multiple discard timer values for different PSI values for the PDU sets and starts the respective timer with the appropriate discard timer value based on the PSI of the PDU set received from the higher layer and is associated with… n an embodiment, a higher value of discard timer is configured for a higher PSI value (more importance) for the PDU set”);
transmitting higher layer signaling including the PDCP configuration information to a user equipment (UE) ([0097-0098] “the transmitting PDCP entity (200) is configured with multiple discard timer values for different PSI values for the PDU sets and starts the respective timer with the appropriate discard timer value based on the PSI of the PDU set received from the higher layer and is associated with… n an embodiment, a higher value of discard timer is configured for a higher PSI value (more importance) for the PDU set”, [0094] “the transmitting PDCP entity (200) of the UE (101) is provided with PDU set importance (PSI) value for at least one PDU set in the uplink direction by the upper layer”);
and transmitting a medium access control (MAC) control element that indicates activation of a service data unit (SDU) discard operation based on a PDU Set importance to the UE ([0104] “the PSI value …the UE (101) is informed or signaled by the network for a congestion situation in a broadcast signaling message like system information block or a dedicated signaling message like a RRC message, a MAC control element or a downlink control information, DCI signaling, [0134-136] “XRDiscardThresholdPdus are Number of PDUs to be discarded when congestion based discard is activated and is ongoing. XRDiscardThresholdBytes …XRCongestionTimer is a Timer which is started when congestion is detected and when running, the PSI based discard is performed at PDCP”),
wherein when the SDU discard operation based on the PDU Set importance is activated and when a PDCP SDU belonging to the PDU Set importance of a preset criterion is received from a higher layer ([0024] “receive configuration message including information of a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a PDU set discard parameter, wherein the first discard timer is configured shorter than the second discard timer, obtain at least one packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU) from at least one upper layer, and perform, for the at least one PDCP SDU, a transmit operation including a PDCP SDU discard based on the first discard timer, the second discard timer, and the PDU set discard parameter”), the UE starts a PDU Set importance-based discard timer configured in connection with the PDCP SDU in a PDCP entity [0134-136] “XRDiscardThresholdPdus are Number of PDUs to be discarded when congestion based discard is activated and is ongoing. XRDiscardThresholdBytes …XRCongestionTimer is a Timer which is started when congestion is detected and when running, the PSI based discard is performed at PDCP”).
Regarding claim 10, Shriv teaches wherein the PDCP configuration information includes information for instructing to perform the PDU Set-based discard operation and information about the PDU Set importance-based discard timer ([0024] “receive configuration message including information of a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a PDU set discard parameter, wherein the first discard timer is configured shorter than the second discard timer, obtain at least one packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU) from at least one upper layer, and perform, for the at least one PDCP SDU, a transmit operation including a PDCP SDU discard based on the first discard timer, the second discard timer, and the PDU set discard parameter”).
Regarding claim 11, Shriv teaches wherein: the PDU Set importance-based discard timer is indicated through an information element distinguished from a PDCP discard timer ([0104] “the PSI value …the UE (101) is informed or signaled by the network for a congestion situation in a broadcast signaling message like system information block or a dedicated signaling message like a RRC message, a MAC control element or a downlink control information, DCI signaling),
and a value of the PDU Set importance-based discard timer is set to a value that is equal to or greater than 0 and less than a value of the PDCP discard timer([0033] “the duration of the first discard timer for low importance is less than the duration of the second discard timer and is configured in XR radio bearer configuration message by a RRC signaling message”, [0014] “The PSI based discard timer has shorter value than normal discard timer”).
Regarding claim 12, Shriv teaches wherein the MAC control element ([0104] “the PSI value for the PDU set is only utilized based on the congestion status e.g., when the transmitting PDCP entity (200) determines a congestion situation or the UE (101) is informed or signaled by the network for a congestion situation in a broadcast signaling message like system information block or a dedicated signaling message like a RRC message, a MAC control element or a downlink control information, DCI signaling”) includes a field for indicating activation or deactivation of the SDU discard operation based on the PDU Set importance ([0049] “PDCP entity for handling a PDU set importance (PSI) while packet discarding for extended reality (XR) in wireless communication network. The transmitting PDCP entity comprises a processor and a packet discard handler communicatively coupled to the processor. The packet discard handler configures a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a PDU set integrated handling indication (PSIHI) represented by PDU set discard parameter configuration based on received XR radio bearer configuration message”).
Regarding claim 13, Shriv teaches A user equipment (UE) for processing data, comprising:
a receiver configured to receive higher layer signaling ([0080] “ The FIG. 1 depicts a wireless communication network that comprises a user equipment (101) and a network apparatus (103). The UE (101) and the network apparatus (103) communicates with each other to handle the PSI based packet discarding for XR applications”) including packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration information for configuring to perform a protocol data unit (PDU) Set-based discard operation ([0097-0098] “the transmitting PDCP entity (200) is configured with multiple discard timer values for different PSI values for the PDU sets and starts the respective timer with the appropriate discard timer value based on the PSI of the PDU set received from the higher layer and is associated with… n an embodiment, a higher value of discard timer is configured for a higher PSI value (more importance) for the PDU set”)
and receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element indicating activation of a service data unit (SDU) discard operation based on PDU Set importance ([0104] “the PSI value …the UE (101) is informed or signaled by the network for a congestion situation in a broadcast signaling message like system information block or a dedicated signaling message like a RRC message, a MAC control element or a downlink control information, DCI signaling, [0134-136] “XRDiscardThresholdPdus are Number of PDUs to be discarded when congestion based discard is activated and is ongoing. XRDiscardThresholdBytes …XRCongestionTimer is a Timer which is started when congestion is detected and when running, the PSI based discard is performed at PDCP. Upon expiry, the PSI based discard is deactivated”, (Examiner’s Note: congestion == discard operation, since when congestion is determine discard occurs));
and a controller configured to control a PDCP entity to start a PDU Set importance-based discard timer when the SDU discard operation based on the PDU Set importance is activated ([0104] “the PSI value …the UE (101) is informed or signaled by the network for a congestion situation in a broadcast signaling message like system information block or a dedicated signaling message like a RRC message, a MAC control element or a downlink control information, DCI signaling, [0134-136] “XRDiscardThresholdPdus are Number of PDUs to be discarded when congestion based discard is activated and is ongoing. XRDiscardThresholdBytes …XRCongestionTimer is a Timer which is started when congestion is detected and when running, the PSI based discard is performed at PDCP. Upon expiry, the PSI based discard is deactivated”, (Examiner’s Note: congestion == discard operation, since when congestion is determine discard occurs)) and when a PDCP SDU belonging to the PDU Set importance of a preset criterion is received from a higher layer ([0034] “ the method includes starting, by the transmitting PDCP entity, the first discard timer for low importance upon reception of the PDCP SDU belonging to a low importance PDU set from the upper layer. Further, the method includes starting, by the transmitting PDCP entity, the second discard timer upon reception of the PDCP SDU not belonging to a low importance PDU set from the upper layer”),
where the PDU Set importance-based discard timer is configured in associated with the PDCP SDU ([0034] “ the method includes starting, by the transmitting PDCP entity, the first discard timer for low importance upon reception of the PDCP SDU belonging to a low importance PDU set from the upper layer. Further, the method includes starting, by the transmitting PDCP entity, the second discard timer upon reception of the PDCP SDU not belonging to a low importance PDU set from the upper layer”).
Regarding claim 14, Shriv teaches wherein the PDCP configuration information includes information for instructing to perform the PDU Set-based discard operation and information about the PDU Set importance-based discard timer ([0024] “receive configuration message including information of a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a PDU set discard parameter, wherein the first discard timer is configured shorter than the second discard timer, obtain at least one packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data unit (SDU) from at least one upper layer, and perform, for the at least one PDCP SDU, a transmit operation including a PDCP SDU discard based on the first discard timer, the second discard timer, and the PDU set discard parameter”).
Regarding claim 15, Shriv teaches wherein: the PDU Set importance-based discard timer is indicated through an information element distinguished from a PDCP discard timer ([0104] “the PSI value …the UE (101) is informed or signaled by the network for a congestion situation in a broadcast signaling message like system information block or a dedicated signaling message like a RRC message, a MAC control element or a downlink control information, DCI signaling),
and a value of the PDU Set importance-based discard timer is set to a value that is equal to or greater than 0 and less than a value of the PDCP discard timer timer ([0033] “the duration of the first discard timer for low importance is less than the duration of the second discard timer and is configured in XR radio bearer configuration message by a RRC signaling message”, [0014] “The PSI based discard timer has shorter value than normal discard timer”).
Regarding claim 16, Shriv teaches wherein the SDU discard operation based on the PDU Set importance is deactivated ([0124] “when configured (or deconfigured) with pdcp-duplication, activates (or deactivates) the PDCP duplication for XR RB from the first PDCP SDU of the PDU set”) after receiving an RRC reconfiguration message ([0131] “the configurations for XR bearers are carried in RRCReconfiguration message as part of PDCP configuration or separately as part of XRBearerConfigurations”).
Regarding claim 17, Shriv teaches wherein the MAC control element ([0104] “the PSI value for the PDU set is only utilized based on the congestion status e.g., when the transmitting PDCP entity (200) determines a congestion situation or the UE (101) is informed or signaled by the network for a congestion situation in a broadcast signaling message like system information block or a dedicated signaling message like a RRC message, a MAC control element or a downlink control information, DCI signaling”) includes a field for indicating activation or deactivation of the SDU discard operation based on the PDU Set importance ([0049] “PDCP entity for handling a PDU set importance (PSI) while packet discarding for extended reality (XR) in wireless communication network. The transmitting PDCP entity comprises a processor and a packet discard handler communicatively coupled to the processor. The packet discard handler configures a first discard timer for low importance, a second discard timer, and a PDU set integrated handling indication (PSIHI) represented by PDU set discard parameter configuration based on received XR radio bearer configuration message”).
Regarding claim 18, Shriv wherein the controller controls the PDCP entity to discard all PDCP SDUs included in a PDU Set where the PDCP SDU belongs, together with a PDCP data PDU when the PDU Set importance-based discard timer expires ([0050 ]” Further, discard the at least one PDU set, when the first discard timer for low importance of the at least one PDCP SDU of the at least one PDU set expires”).
Regarding claim 19, Shriv teaches wherein the controller, when receiving a PDCP SDU to be included in the PDU Set where the PDCP SDU belongs from the higher layer ([0036] “includes receiving, by the transmitting PDCP entity, a request for discard of PDU set from the upper layers”), controls the PDCP entity to discard the received PDCP SDU ([0050] “Further, discard the at least one PDU set, when the first discard timer for low importance of the at least one PDCP SDU of the at least one PDU set expires or when a PDCP status report is received from the receiving PDCP entity”).
Regarding claim 20, Shriv teaches wherein the controller controls to initiate a PDCP discard timer associated with a PDCP SDU when the SDU discard operation based on the PDU Set importance is in an inactive state, or the PDU Set importance-based discard timer is not configured ([0101] “ is configured with and/or utilizes a single timer (e.g., the first discardTimer or a XRdiscardTimer) for a PDU set when the relevant QoS flow is configured with a PDU set integrated handling indication (PSIHI) set as TRUE. Otherwise, if the PSIHI for the QoS flow is set as FALSE, the transmitting PDCP entity (200) is configured with and/or utilizes a legacy timer (e.g., the second discardTimer) for each SDU of the PDU set for the relevant QoS flow”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yu et al. (US20240049047) is about priority configured based on importance of PDU set for discard operation.
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411