DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Claims 12-13) and nonelected species (Claims 3-11 and 14), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 27 May 2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitations “shaft operating means” and “launching head rotating means”, in Claim 1, both invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of specific structure directly associated with the means for performing the claimed functions such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the intended scope of the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In Claim 1, limitations providing the target with trajectory stabilizing means, the limitation providing a fan comprising fan blade, the limitation providing a hub portion, the limitation providing a plurality of concentric ring members, the limitation providing first fan blades, and the limitation providing second fan blades, each purport to modify a feature which is not positively claimed. The scope of the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertini, U.S. Patent No. 4,508,093, in view of Steffensen, European Patent Application No. EP 1519137. As to Claim 1, Bertini teaches a launching device (10) comprising a launching head (17) configured such that a hub portion of a target (ring 12 of the hub or mounting portion of the pigeon 11) can be positioned on the launching head, Col. 4, ln. 49-53. Bertini teaches that the launching head may comprise a plurality of movably mounted retaining members (42) configured to be able to move between a first state, in which the retaining members retain the hub portion of the target to the launching head and a second state in which the retaining members release the hub portion from the launching head, Col. 5, ln. 35-44, noting that allowing the retaining members to retract radially inwardly serves to release the target. The device may be provided with a longitudinally displaceable shaft (40) that is functionally connected to the retaining members, such that longitudinal displacement of the shaft results in movement of the retaining members between first and second states, Col. 5, ln. 38-41. Bertini teaches that the device may be provided with shaft operating means (44) configured to displace the shaft in such a manner that the retaining members move between first and second states, Col. 5, ln. 35-44,and rotating means (34) may be configured to rotate the launching head to accelerate from substantially zero to a maximum rotational speed, at which the hub portion of the target may be released from the launching head, Col. 6, ln. 28-29 and 38-43 and Col. 7, ln. 15-19. Bertini does not disclose that retaining members may be configured as pivotally mounted claw members made to pivot by longitudinal displacement of the shaft. Steffensen teaches a launching device (device for launching a target pigeon), paragraph 0001. Steffensen teaches a shaft (5) functionally connected to a claw member (2), wherein the shaft may be displaced longitudinally to pivot the claw member to engage a target, paragraph 0017. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Bertini with pivotally mounted claw members engaging the target, as taught by Steffensen, to provide Bertini with retaining members configured as pivotally mounted claw members functionally connected with the shaft as a known substitute configuration for target retaining members.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 2 June 2026