DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/24/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 16-20, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0201816), hereinafter referred to as Lee, in view of Blank et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0097469), hereinafter referred to as Blank.
In regard to claim 1, Lee teaches a vehicular vision system, the vehicular vision system (Lee abstract noting a rearview mirror system and a plurality of imaging devices for forming a single image across the LCDs of the mirror system) comprising:
a plurality of cameras disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular vision system (Lee paragraph 107 noting a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly), each camera of the plurality of cameras viewing exterior of the vehicle (Lee Figs. 28-29 showing the exterior fields of view of the plurality of cameras disposed at the vehicle);
wherein each camera of the plurality of cameras is operable to capture image data (Lee paragraph 107 noting that the cameras obtain images and provide video information);
a multiplexor disposed at the equipped vehicle (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle);
wherein image data captured by each camera of the plurality of cameras is transferred to the multiplexor (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly 2700);
wherein the multiplexor is operable to aggregate image data captured by each camera of the plurality of cameras into aggregated image data (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly 2700. Preferably, the cameras include a multi-view feature such that the output image can be dynamically modified based on command inputs from the main board. Multi-view features such as digital zoom and split view, as is commonplace for such cameras, are preferred whereby the output video signal represents one or more portions of the total image obtained by the camera sensor);
an interior rearview mirror assembly disposed at the equipped vehicle (Lee Figs. 25-26 showing an interior rearview mirror assembly);
wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly comprises a mirror head adjustably disposed at a mounting base configured to mount the interior rearview mirror assembly at an interior portion of the equipped vehicle (Lee Figs. 2-3 showing adjustable mount wedge 207 that is used for fastening the mirror housing to the automobile; and Lee paragraph 43 noting the mirror assembly and the adjustable mount), and wherein the mirror head comprises a mirror casing and a mirror reflective element (Lee Fig. 3 showing the mirror head comprising a mirror casing and a mirror reflective element 303);
wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly comprises an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software (Lee paragraph 106 noting a main PCB 2611 is mounted behind the LED board 2609 and is used to mount electrical components for controlling mirror operation. As best described in FIG. 27 hereinafter, the main PCB 2611 may include such components as the EC mirror drive and sense circuitry, microprocessor, and memory elements for controlling operation of the automotive mirror assembly 2600. Finally, a mirror housing 2613 is used to house each of the various mirror components within a cavity formed within the housing 2613. A control cable 2615 is routed to the rear of the housing 2613 for providing power, data and other control information to the mirror's electronic components);
wherein aggregated image data aggregated by the multiplexor is transferred from the multiplexor to the ECU of the interior rearview mirror assembly (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly 2700. Preferably, the cameras include a multi-view feature such that the output image can be dynamically modified based on command inputs from the main board. Multi-view features such as digital zoom and split view, as is commonplace for such cameras, are preferred whereby the output video signal represents one or more portions of the total image obtained by the camera sensor);
wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises an image processor for processing the transferred aggregated image data (Lee paragraph 71 noting intelligently process image data and subsequently display the graphical information; and Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle);
wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly comprises a video display that is operable to display video images for viewing by a driver of the vehicle (Lee paragraphs 109-110 noting the multi-display mirror which comprises displays that display images obtained by the cameras to the driver of the vehicle); and
wherein the vehicular vision system, via processing at the ECU of aggregated image data aggregated by the multiplexor and transferred to the ECU, displays at the video display video images derived at least in part from the aggregated image data (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly 2700. Preferably, the cameras include a multi-view feature such that the output image can be dynamically modified based on command inputs from the main board. Multi-view features such as digital zoom and split view, as is commonplace for such cameras, are preferred whereby the output video signal represents one or more portions of the total image obtained by the camera sensor).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose wherein each camera of the plurality of cameras comprises a CMOS imaging array having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns; wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly is remote from the multiplexor.
In the same field of endeavor, Blank teaches wherein each camera of the plurality of cameras comprises a CMOS imaging array (Blank paragraph 25 noting control the video display screen in response to an input or signal, such as a signal received from one or more cameras or image sensors of the vehicle, such as a video camera or sensor, such as a CMOS imaging array sensor, a CCD sensor or the like; and Blank paragraph 41 noting may receive inputs from sensors (such as imaging sensors or photosensors or the like)); wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly is remote from the multiplexor (Blank paragraph 69 noting the signal from the camera or image data may be communicated to the control via various communication links or video transmission medium, such as wires or cables (such as a CAT-3 shielded twisted pair wire or a CAT-5 coaxial cable or the like) or a fiber optic cable or via wireless communication, such as IR signals or VHF or UHF signals or the like, or via a multiplex bus system of the vehicle or the like. For example, the connection or link between the imaging sensor or controls and the mirror assembly and/or display screen module may be provided via vehicle electronic or communication systems and the like, and may be connected via various protocols or nodes, such as Bluetooth, etc. As such, it can be seen that the multiplex bus system that communicates image data can be remote from the rearview mirror, as it can be connected in various ways, including wireless protocols).
However, Blank does not expressly disclose having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns. It would have been obvious, to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, that imaging sensor arrays are arranged in rows and columns, and that modern image sensors can have at least one million photosensors, as it is extremely common in the art that CMOS imaging sensors have HD resolutions, and routinely use sensors that are 12 megapixels or higher, and as such, would have at least one million photosensors.
Additionally, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank because both disclosures relate to vehicular imaging systems that comprise multiple exterior cameras and combine the image data to present it onto a display on a rearview mirror system inside the vehicle to display the image data to the driver of the vehicle. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Blank, and incorporating that which would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, the teachings of Lee include all of the limitations presented in claim 1.
In regard to claim 4, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Lee teaches wherein the plurality of cameras comprises two or more selected from the group consisting of (i) a forward viewing camera, (ii) a sideward viewing camera, (iii) a rearward viewing camera, (iv) a center high mounted stop lamp camera, (v) a trailer camera, (vi) a driver monitoring camera and (vii) an occupant monitoring camera (Lee Fig. 28 showing three cameras, including a rearward viewing camera 2806 and sideward viewing cameras 2809a and 2809b. As such, the teachings of Lee include two or more options from the group).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 7, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Lee teaches wherein the plurality of cameras comprises four cameras (Lee Fig. 28 showing three cameras; and Lee paragraph 114 noting that additional cameras could be added within the scope of the invention. As such, it is implied that the system could be operated with four cameras).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 8, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Blank teaches wherein the multiplexor transfers the aggregated image data to the ECU using an Ethernet protocol (Blank paragraph 69 noting the signal from the camera or image data may be communicated to the control via various communication links or video transmission medium, such as wires or cables (such as a CAT-3 shielded twisted pair wire or a CAT-5 coaxial cable or the like) or a fiber optic cable or via wireless communication, such as IR signals or VHF or UHF signals or the like, or via a multiplex bus system of the vehicle or the like).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 9, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Blank teaches wherein the multiplexor transfers the aggregated image data to the ECU via wireless communication (Blank paragraph 69 noting the signal from the camera or image data may be communicated to the control via various communication links or video transmission medium, such as wires or cables (such as a CAT-3 shielded twisted pair wire or a CAT-5 coaxial cable or the like) or a fiber optic cable or via wireless communication, such as IR signals or VHF or UHF signals or the like, or via a multiplex bus system of the vehicle or the like).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 16, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Lee teaches wherein the vehicular vision system adjusts a field of view of at least one camera of the plurality of cameras (Lee paragraph 115 noting FIG. 30E illustrates a view where the left, rear, and right cameras are adjusted to show a panoramic image with a substantially wide angle; and Lee paragraph 116 noting adjusting the view of cameras based on scenarios such as turn signals activated; and Lee Figs. 30 F-G).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 17, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above. In addition, Lee teaches wherein the vehicular vision system adjusts the field of view of the at least one camera of the plurality of cameras based on at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a user input, (ii) a vehicle input and (iii) image processing of image data captured by the at least one camera of the plurality of cameras (Lee paragraph 115 noting FIG. 30E illustrates a view where the left, rear, and right cameras are adjusted to show a panoramic image with a substantially wide angle; and Lee paragraph 116 noting adjusting the view of cameras based on scenarios such as turn signals activated; and Lee Figs. 30 F-G).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 18, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Lee teaches wherein the vehicular vision system adjusts a display mode of the video display based on at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a user input, (ii) a vehicle input and (iii) image processing of image data captured by at least one camera of the plurality of cameras (Lee paragraph 115 noting FIG. 30E illustrates a view where the left, rear, and right cameras are adjusted to show a panoramic image with a substantially wide angle; and Lee paragraph 116 noting adjusting the view of cameras based on scenarios such as turn signals activated; and Lee Figs. 30 F-G; and Lee paragraph 37 noting FIG. 30A to 30H illustrate views of the multi-display mirror showing operation of the various display modes.).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 19, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Lee teaches wherein the vehicular vision system adjusts a scale of image data captured by a first camera of the plurality of cameras based on a position of the first camera of the plurality of cameras relative to a second camera of the plurality of cameras (Lee paragraph 111-112 noting scaling, cropping, and stretching the camera images to provide normal and matching proportions across the images to make the panoramic image on the rearview mirror displays).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 20, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Lee teaches wherein the vehicular vision system adjusts a scale of image data captured by a first camera of the plurality of cameras to adjust a size of a detected object captured by the image data of the first camera to be the same size as a size of the detected object captured by image data of a second camera of the plurality of cameras (Lee paragraph 111-112 noting scaling, cropping, and stretching the camera images to provide normal and matching proportions across the images to make the panoramic image on the rearview mirror displays).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 27, Lee teaches a vehicular vision system, the vehicular vision system (Lee abstract noting a rearview mirror system and a plurality of imaging devices for forming a single image across the LCDs of the mirror system) comprising:
a plurality of cameras disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular vision system (Lee paragraph 107 noting a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly), each camera of the plurality of cameras viewing exterior of the vehicle (Lee Figs. 28-29 showing the exterior fields of view of the plurality of cameras disposed at the vehicle);
wherein each camera of the plurality of cameras is operable to capture image data (Lee paragraph 107 noting that the cameras obtain images and provide video information);
a multiplexor disposed at the equipped vehicle (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle);
wherein image data captured by each camera of the plurality of cameras is transferred to the multiplexor (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly 2700);
wherein the multiplexor is operable to aggregate image data captured by each camera of the plurality of cameras into aggregated image data (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly 2700. Preferably, the cameras include a multi-view feature such that the output image can be dynamically modified based on command inputs from the main board. Multi-view features such as digital zoom and split view, as is commonplace for such cameras, are preferred whereby the output video signal represents one or more portions of the total image obtained by the camera sensor);
an interior rearview mirror assembly disposed at the equipped vehicle (Lee Figs. 25-26 showing an interior rearview mirror assembly);
wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly comprises a mirror head adjustably disposed at a mounting base configured to mount the interior rearview mirror assembly at an interior portion of the equipped vehicle (Lee Figs. 2-3 showing adjustable mount wedge 207 that is used for fastening the mirror housing to the automobile; and Lee paragraph 43 noting the mirror assembly and the adjustable mount), and wherein the mirror head comprises a mirror casing and a mirror reflective element (Lee Fig. 3 showing the mirror head comprising a mirror casing and a mirror reflective element 303);
wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly comprises an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software (Lee paragraph 106 noting a main PCB 2611 is mounted behind the LED board 2609 and is used to mount electrical components for controlling mirror operation. As best described in FIG. 27 hereinafter, the main PCB 2611 may include such components as the EC mirror drive and sense circuitry, microprocessor, and memory elements for controlling operation of the automotive mirror assembly 2600. Finally, a mirror housing 2613 is used to house each of the various mirror components within a cavity formed within the housing 2613. A control cable 2615 is routed to the rear of the housing 2613 for providing power, data and other control information to the mirror's electronic components);
wherein aggregated image data aggregated by the multiplexor is transferred from the multiplexor to the ECU of the interior rearview mirror assembly (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly 2700. Preferably, the cameras include a multi-view feature such that the output image can be dynamically modified based on command inputs from the main board. Multi-view features such as digital zoom and split view, as is commonplace for such cameras, are preferred whereby the output video signal represents one or more portions of the total image obtained by the camera sensor);
wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises an image processor for processing the transferred aggregated image data (Lee paragraph 71 noting intelligently process image data and subsequently display the graphical information; and Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle);
wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly comprises a video display that is operable to display video images for viewing by a driver of the vehicle (Lee paragraphs 109-110 noting the multi-display mirror which comprises displays that display images obtained by the cameras to the driver of the vehicle); and
wherein the vehicular vision system, via processing at the ECU of aggregated image data aggregated by the multiplexor and transferred to the ECU, displays at the video display video images derived at least in part from the aggregated image data (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly 2700. Preferably, the cameras include a multi-view feature such that the output image can be dynamically modified based on command inputs from the main board. Multi-view features such as digital zoom and split view, as is commonplace for such cameras, are preferred whereby the output video signal represents one or more portions of the total image obtained by the camera sensor);
wherein the vehicular vision system adjusts the field of view of the at least one camera of the plurality of cameras based on at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a user input, (ii) a vehicle input and (iii) image processing of image data captured by the at least one camera of the plurality of cameras (Lee paragraph 115 noting FIG. 30E illustrates a view where the left, rear, and right cameras are adjusted to show a panoramic image with a substantially wide angle; and Lee paragraph 116 noting adjusting the view of cameras based on scenarios such as turn signals activated; and Lee Figs. 30 F-G); and
wherein the vehicular vision system adjusts a scale of image data captured by a first camera of the plurality of cameras based on a position of the first camera of the plurality of cameras relative to a second camera of the plurality of cameras (Lee paragraph 111-112 noting scaling, cropping, and stretching the camera images to provide normal and matching proportions across the images to make the panoramic image on the rearview mirror displays).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose wherein each camera of the plurality of cameras comprises a CMOS imaging array having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns; wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly is remote from the multiplexor.
In the same field of endeavor, Blank teaches wherein each camera of the plurality of cameras comprises a CMOS imaging array (Blank paragraph 25 noting control the video display screen in response to an input or signal, such as a signal received from one or more cameras or image sensors of the vehicle, such as a video camera or sensor, such as a CMOS imaging array sensor, a CCD sensor or the like; and Blank paragraph 41 noting may receive inputs from sensors (such as imaging sensors or photosensors or the like)); wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly is remote from the multiplexor (Blank paragraph 69 noting the signal from the camera or image data may be communicated to the control via various communication links or video transmission medium, such as wires or cables (such as a CAT-3 shielded twisted pair wire or a CAT-5 coaxial cable or the like) or a fiber optic cable or via wireless communication, such as IR signals or VHF or UHF signals or the like, or via a multiplex bus system of the vehicle or the like. For example, the connection or link between the imaging sensor or controls and the mirror assembly and/or display screen module may be provided via vehicle electronic or communication systems and the like, and may be connected via various protocols or nodes, such as Bluetooth, etc. As such, it can be seen that the multiplex bus system that communicates image data can be remote from the rearview mirror, as it can be connected in various ways, including wireless protocols).
However, Blank does not expressly disclose having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns. It would have been obvious, to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, that imaging sensor arrays are arranged in rows and columns, and that modern image sensors can have at least one million photosensors, as it is extremely common in the art that CMOS imaging sensors have HD resolutions, and routinely use sensors that are 12 megapixels or higher, and as such, would have at least one million photosensors.
Additionally, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank because both disclosures relate to vehicular imaging systems that comprise multiple exterior cameras and combine the image data to present it onto a display on a rearview mirror system inside the vehicle to display the image data to the driver of the vehicle. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Blank, and incorporating that which would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, the teachings of Lee include all of the limitations presented in claim 27.
In regard to claim 28, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 27 as discussed above. In addition, Lee teaches wherein the vehicular vision system adjusts a display mode of the video display based on at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a user input, (ii) a vehicle input and (iii) image processing of image data captured by at least one camera of the plurality of cameras (Lee paragraph 115 noting FIG. 30E illustrates a view where the left, rear, and right cameras are adjusted to show a panoramic image with a substantially wide angle; and Lee paragraph 116 noting adjusting the view of cameras based on scenarios such as turn signals activated; and Lee Figs. 30 F-G; and Lee paragraph 37 noting FIG. 30A to 30H illustrate views of the multi-display mirror showing operation of the various display modes.).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 29, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 27 as discussed above. In addition, Lee teaches wherein the vehicular vision system adjusts a scale of image data captured by a first camera of the plurality of cameras to adjust a size of a detected object captured by the image data of the first camera to be the same size as a size of the detected object captured by image data of a second camera of the plurality of cameras (Lee paragraph 111-112 noting scaling, cropping, and stretching the camera images to provide normal and matching proportions across the images to make the panoramic image on the rearview mirror displays).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 30, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 27 as discussed above. In addition, Lee teaches wherein the plurality of cameras comprises two or more selected from the group consisting of (i) a forward viewing camera, (ii) a sideward viewing camera, (iii) a rearward viewing camera, (iv) a center high mounted stop lamp camera, (v) a trailer camera, (vi) a driver monitoring camera and (vii) an occupant monitoring camera (Lee Fig. 28 showing three cameras, including a rearward viewing camera 2806 and sideward viewing cameras 2809a and 2809b. As such, the teachings of Lee include two or more options from the group).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1.
Claims 2-3, 5-6, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0201816), hereinafter referred to as Lee, in view of Blank et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0097469), hereinafter referred to as Blank, in further view of Chu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0132555), hereinafter referred to as Chu.
In regard to claim 2, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Lee and Chu do not expressly disclose wherein the multiplexor comprises a deserializer, and wherein the multiplexor deserializes the image data from each camera of the plurality of cameras prior to aggregating the image data from each camera of the plurality of cameras.
In the same field of endeavor, Chu teaches wherein the multiplexor comprises a deserializer, and wherein the multiplexor deserializes the image data from each camera of the plurality of cameras prior to aggregating the image data from each camera of the plurality of cameras (Chu paragraph 30 noting the first ECU 504B has a multiplexer 530 which takes the raw data from the ECUs 502(1)-502(M) and provides a single output to the second ECU 512, where the data is deserialized by the deserializer/serializer 516; and Chu paragraph 28 noting cameras 108(1) and 108(2), may have no operator function and thus serializers/deserializers 404(1) and 404(2) may send their output to a computer vision ECU 406 and, in particular, to a deserializer/serializer 408 therein for processing by a computer vision system).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1. Additionally, it would have been obvious to combine these teachings with the teachings of Chu, because the disclosures of Lee and Blank include that of multiplexing the image data from multiple cameras to present the image data on a display via image processing through an ECU. The teachings of Chu include specifics as to the path of processing the image data from vehicular cameras and multiplex them and process them via ECU using a system that involves serializers/deserializers. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Chu, the teachings of Lee and Blank include all of the limitations presented in claim 2.
In regard to claim 3, Lee, Blank, and Chu teach all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. In addition, Chu teaches wherein the multiplexor comprises a serializer, and wherein the multiplexor serializes the aggregated image data prior to transferring the aggregated image data to the ECU (Chu paragraph 30 noting the first ECU 504B has a multiplexer 530 which takes the raw data from the ECUs 502(1)-502(M) and provides a single output to the second ECU 512, where the data is deserialized by the deserializer/serializer 516; and Chu paragraph 28 noting cameras 108(1) and 108(2), may have no operator function and thus serializers/deserializers 404(1) and 404(2) may send their output to a computer vision ECU 406 and, in particular, to a deserializer/serializer 408 therein for processing by a computer vision system).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee, Blank, and Chu for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 2.
In regard to claim 5, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In the same field of endeavor, Chu teaches wherein the transferred aggregated image data is serialized, and wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly comprises a deserializer that deserializes the aggregated image data transferred from the multiplexor (Chu paragraph 30 noting the first ECU 504B has a multiplexer 530 which takes the raw data from the ECUs 502(1)-502(M) and provides a single output to the second ECU 512, where the data is deserialized by the deserializer/serializer 516; and Chu paragraph 28 noting cameras 108(1) and 108(2), may have no operator function and thus serializers/deserializers 404(1) and 404(2) may send their output to a computer vision ECU 406 and, in particular, to a deserializer/serializer 408 therein for processing by a computer vision system).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee, Blank, and Chu for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 2.
In regard to claim 6, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Chu teaches wherein the aggregated image data is digitized and transferred from the multiplexor as digital aggregated image data (Chu paragraph 30 noting the first ECU 504B has a multiplexer 530 which takes the raw data from the ECUs 502(1)-502(M) and provides a single output to the second ECU 512, where the data is deserialized by the deserializer/serializer 516; and Chu paragraph 28 noting cameras 108(1) and 108(2), may have no operator function and thus serializers/deserializers 404(1) and 404(2) may send their output to a computer vision ECU 406 and, in particular, to a deserializer/serializer 408 therein for processing by a computer vision system).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee, Blank, and Chu for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 2.
In regard to claim 21, Lee teaches a vehicular vision system, the vehicular vision system (Lee abstract noting a rearview mirror system and a plurality of imaging devices for forming a single image across the LCDs of the mirror system) comprising:
a plurality of cameras disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular vision system (Lee paragraph 107 noting a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly), each camera of the plurality of cameras viewing exterior of the vehicle (Lee Figs. 28-29 showing the exterior fields of view of the plurality of cameras disposed at the vehicle);
wherein each camera of the plurality of cameras is operable to capture image data (Lee paragraph 107 noting that the cameras obtain images and provide video information);
a multiplexor disposed at the equipped vehicle (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle);
wherein image data captured by each camera of the plurality of cameras is transferred to the multiplexor (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly 2700);
wherein the multiplexor is operable to (ii) aggregate the image data into aggregated image data (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly 2700. Preferably, the cameras include a multi-view feature such that the output image can be dynamically modified based on command inputs from the main board. Multi-view features such as digital zoom and split view, as is commonplace for such cameras, are preferred whereby the output video signal represents one or more portions of the total image obtained by the camera sensor);
an interior rearview mirror assembly disposed at the equipped vehicle (Lee Figs. 25-26 showing an interior rearview mirror assembly),
wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly comprises a mirror head adjustably disposed at a mounting base configured to mount the interior rearview mirror assembly at an interior portion of the equipped vehicle (Lee Figs. 2-3 showing adjustable mount wedge 207 that is used for fastening the mirror housing to the automobile; and Lee paragraph 43 noting the mirror assembly and the adjustable mount), and wherein the mirror head comprises a mirror casing and a mirror reflective element (Lee Fig. 3 showing the mirror head comprising a mirror casing and a mirror reflective element 303);
wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly comprises an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software (Lee paragraph 106 noting a main PCB 2611 is mounted behind the LED board 2609 and is used to mount electrical components for controlling mirror operation. As best described in FIG. 27 hereinafter, the main PCB 2611 may include such components as the EC mirror drive and sense circuitry, microprocessor, and memory elements for controlling operation of the automotive mirror assembly 2600. Finally, a mirror housing 2613 is used to house each of the various mirror components within a cavity formed within the housing 2613. A control cable 2615 is routed to the rear of the housing 2613 for providing power, data and other control information to the mirror's electronic components);
wherein the electronic circuitry of the ECU comprises an image processor for processing the deserialized aggregated image data (Lee paragraph 71 noting intelligently process image data and subsequently display the graphical information; and Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle);
wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly comprises a video display that is operable to display video images for viewing by a driver of the vehicle (Lee paragraphs 109-110 noting the multi-display mirror which comprises displays that display images obtained by the cameras to the driver of the vehicle); and
wherein the vehicular vision system, via processing at the ECU of the deserialized aggregated image data, displays at the video display video images derived at least in part from the deserialized aggregated image data (Lee paragraph 107 noting a video multiplexer 2709 and microprocessor 2711 are used in combination with an EEPROM memory 2713 for controlling operation of the EC element 2727 as well as a plurality of cameras mounted outside the vehicle. These cameras include right camera 2717, center camera 2719 and left camera 2721 mounted about the vehicle for providing video information on one or more of the associated LCDs mounted in the automotive mirror assembly 2700. Preferably, the cameras include a multi-view feature such that the output image can be dynamically modified based on command inputs from the main board. Multi-view features such as digital zoom and split view, as is commonplace for such cameras, are preferred whereby the output video signal represents one or more portions of the total image obtained by the camera sensor).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose wherein each camera of the plurality of cameras comprises a CMOS imaging array having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns; wherein the multiplexor is operable to (i) deserialize image data captured by each camera of the plurality of cameras, (iii) serialize the aggregated image data; wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly is remote from the multiplexor; wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly comprises a deserializer;
wherein serialized aggregated image data aggregated by the multiplexor is transferred from the multiplexor to the deserializer of the interior rearview mirror assembly;
wherein the deserializer is operable to deserialize the serialized aggregated image data that is transferred from the multiplexor to the deserializer of the interior rearview mirror assembly.
In the same field of endeavor, Blank teaches wherein each camera of the plurality of cameras comprises a CMOS imaging array (Blank paragraph 25 noting control the video display screen in response to an input or signal, such as a signal received from one or more cameras or image sensors of the vehicle, such as a video camera or sensor, such as a CMOS imaging array sensor, a CCD sensor or the like; and Blank paragraph 41 noting may receive inputs from sensors (such as imaging sensors or photosensors or the like)); wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly is remote from the multiplexor (Blank paragraph 69 noting the signal from the camera or image data may be communicated to the control via various communication links or video transmission medium, such as wires or cables (such as a CAT-3 shielded twisted pair wire or a CAT-5 coaxial cable or the like) or a fiber optic cable or via wireless communication, such as IR signals or VHF or UHF signals or the like, or via a multiplex bus system of the vehicle or the like. For example, the connection or link between the imaging sensor or controls and the mirror assembly and/or display screen module may be provided via vehicle electronic or communication systems and the like, and may be connected via various protocols or nodes, such as Bluetooth, etc. As such, it can be seen that the multiplex bus system that communicates image data can be remote from the rearview mirror, as it can be connected in various ways, including wireless protocols).
However, Blank does not expressly disclose having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns; wherein the multiplexor is operable to (i) deserialize image data captured by each camera of the plurality of cameras, (iii) serialize the aggregated image data; wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly comprises a deserializer;
wherein serialized aggregated image data aggregated by the multiplexor is transferred from the multiplexor to the deserializer of the interior rearview mirror assembly; and
wherein the deserializer is operable to deserialize the serialized aggregated image data that is transferred from the multiplexor to the deserializer of the interior rearview mirror assembly.
In the same field of endeavor, Chu teaches wherein the multiplexor is operable to (i) deserialize image data captured by each camera of the plurality of cameras, (iii) serialize the aggregated image data; wherein the interior rearview mirror assembly comprises a deserializer (Chu paragraph 30 noting the first ECU 504B has a multiplexer 530 which takes the raw data from the ECUs 502(1)-502(M) and provides a single output to the second ECU 512, where the data is deserialized by the deserializer/serializer 516; and Chu paragraph 28 noting cameras 108(1) and 108(2), may have no operator function and thus serializers/deserializers 404(1) and 404(2) may send their output to a computer vision ECU 406 and, in particular, to a deserializer/serializer 408 therein for processing by a computer vision system);
wherein serialized aggregated image data aggregated by the multiplexor is transferred from the multiplexor to the deserializer of the interior rearview mirror assembly; wherein the deserializer is operable to deserialize the serialized aggregated image data that is transferred from the multiplexor to the deserializer of the interior rearview mirror assembly (Chu paragraph 30 noting the first ECU 504B has a multiplexer 530 which takes the raw data from the ECUs 502(1)-502(M) and provides a single output to the second ECU 512, where the data is deserialized by the deserializer/serializer 516; and Chu paragraph 28 noting cameras 108(1) and 108(2), may have no operator function and thus serializers/deserializers 404(1) and 404(2) may send their output to a computer vision ECU 406 and, in particular, to a deserializer/serializer 408 therein for processing by a computer vision system).
However, Chu does not expressly disclose having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns. It would have been obvious, to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, that imaging sensor arrays are arranged in rows and columns, and that modern image sensors can have at least one million photosensors, as it is extremely common in the art that CMOS imaging sensors have HD resolutions, and routinely use sensors that are 12 megapixels or higher, and as such, would have at least one million photosensors.
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee, Blank, and Chu for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 2. As such, modified to incorporate that which would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, the teachings of Lee, Blank, and Chu include all of the limitations presented in claim 21.
In regard to claim 22, Lee, Blank, and Chu teach all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Lee teaches wherein the plurality of cameras comprises two or more selected from the group consisting of (i) a forward viewing camera, (ii) a sideward viewing camera, (iii) a rearward viewing camera, (iv) a center high mounted stop lamp camera, (v) a trailer camera, (vi) a driver monitoring camera and (vii) an occupant monitoring camera (Lee Fig. 28 showing three cameras, including a rearward viewing camera 2806 and sideward viewing cameras 2809a and 2809b. As such, the teachings of Lee include two or more options from the group).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee, Blank, and Chu for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 2.
In regard to claim 23, Lee, Blank, and Chu teach all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. In addition, Blank teaches wherein the multiplexor transfers the serialized aggregated image data to the deserializer of the interior rearview mirror assembly using an Ethernet protocol. (Blank paragraph 69 noting the signal from the camera or image data may be communicated to the control via various communication links or video transmission medium, such as wires or cables (such as a CAT-3 shielded twisted pair wire or a CAT-5 coaxial cable or the like) or a fiber optic cable or via wireless communication, such as IR signals or VHF or UHF signals or the like, or via a multiplex bus system of the vehicle or the like).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee, Blank, and Chu for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 2.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0201816), hereinafter referred to as Lee, in view of Blank et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0097469), hereinafter referred to as Blank, in further view of Habibi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0188122), hereinafter referred to as Habibi.
In regard to claim 10, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the vehicular vision system displays bird's eye view video images at the video display.
In the same field of endeavor, Habibi teaches wherein the vehicular vision system displays bird's eye view video images at the video display (Habibi paragraph 44 noting the display may operate to display video images captured by a plurality of exterior facing cameras of the vehicle, such as a rearward facing camera, a forward facing camera and a pair of opposite sideward facing cameras. Such a surround vision system may operate to receive video feeds from multiple cameras at the equipped vehicle and may process the video image data and seamlessly merge the image data or images in the multiple video feeds to generate, for display on a single video display screen, a surround view or top-view or panoramic view or "birds-eye" view of the area at and around the equipped vehicle).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee and Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1. Additionally, it would have been obvious to combine these teachings with the teachings of Habibi, because each disclosure relates to a vehicular vision system that involves combining the image data of multiple cameras surrounding the vehicle to aggregate the multiple feeds into a combined image to display on a display for the driver. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Habibi, the teachings of Lee and Blank include all of the limitations presented in claim 10.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0201816), hereinafter referred to as Lee, in view of Blank et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0097469), hereinafter referred to as Blank, in further view of Mizobata (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0238826), hereinafter referred to as Mizobata.
In regard to claim 11, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Lee and Blank do not expressly disclose wherein the video display comprises a backlight, and wherein intensity of light emitted by the backlight, when electrically operated to emit light, is based on a gaze direction of the driver of the equipped vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Mizobata teaches wherein the video display comprises a backlight, and wherein intensity of light emitted by the backlight, when electrically operated to emit light, is based on a gaze direction of the driver of the equipped vehicle (Mizobata paragraph 15 noting may further include a gaze detection section configured to detect a line of sight of a driver, wherein brightness is increased for the first display section, the second display section, or the third display section, according to a direction of the line of sight detected by the gaze detection section).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1. Additionally, it would have been obvious to combine these teachings with the teachings of Mizobata because each disclosure includes vehicle display devices with multiple sections that display camera images aggregated from multiple cameras and the image data is sent to an ECU to process the images and send them to displays to be viewed by the driver. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Mizobata, the teachings of Lee and Blank include all of the limitations presented in claim 11.
In regard to claim 12, Lee, Blank, and Mizobata teach all of the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. In addition, Mizobata teaches wherein intensity of light emitted by the backlight is increased when the gaze direction of the driver moves toward the interior rearview mirror assembly, and wherein intensity of light emitted by the backlight is decreased when the gaze direction of the driver moves away from the interior rearview mirror assembly (Mizobata paragraph 15 noting may further include a gaze detection section configured to detect a line of sight of a driver, wherein brightness is increased for the first display section, the second display section, or the third display section, according to a direction of the line of sight detected by the gaze detection section; and Mizobata paragraph 70 noting the state in which the brightness of the third image V3 is increased is continued for a predetermined duration after the driver has shifted their gaze away from the third display section 24. As such, it can be seen that when the gaze direction moves away from the display, after some predetermined duration, the brightness would decrease again).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee, Blank, and Mizobata for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 11.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0201816), hereinafter referred to as Lee, in view of Blank et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0097469), hereinafter referred to as Blank, in further view of Li et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0361360), hereinafter referred to as Li.
In regard to claim 13, Lee and Blank teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Lee does not expressly disclose wherein at least one camera of the plurality of cameras comprises a piezoelectric actuator, and wherein actuation of the piezoelectric actuator vibrates at least a portion of the at least one camera to clean the at least one camera.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein at least one camera of the plurality of cameras comprises a piezoelectric actuator, and wherein actuation of the piezoelectric actuator vibrates at least a portion of the at least one camera to clean the at least one camera (Li paragraph 2 noting Lenses are used for a variety of optical systems, such as camera lenses, light source lenses, etc. In outdoor applications, particularly vehicle-based systems, camera or light source lenses are subject to ambient weather conditions, dirt and debris, and other contaminants which can obstruct or interfere with optical transmission through the lens. It is desirable to provide a substantially clean or clear optical path through the lens for camera-based systems to facilitate proper imaging; and noting use of a piezoelectric actuator attached to the bottom of a lens element or lens cover plate, to vibrate the lens to remove debris from the lens surface).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee and Blank for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 1. Additionally, it would have been obvious to combine these teachings with the teachings of Li because Li relates to vehicle-based camera systems and provides benefit by teaching methods for facilitating proper imaging via camera cleaning methods. Thus, modified to incorporate the teachings of Li, the teachings of Lee and Blank include all of the limitations presented in claim 13.
In regard to claim 14, Lee, Blank, and Li teach all of the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above. In addition, Li teaches wherein actuation of the piezoelectric actuator vibrates at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a glass cover of the camera, (ii) a lens of the camera and (iii) a housing of the camera (Li paragraph 2 noting Lenses are used for a variety of optical systems, such as camera lenses, light source lenses, etc. In outdoor applications, particularly vehicle-based systems, camera or light source lenses are subject to ambient weather conditions, dirt and debris, and other contaminants which can obstruct or interfere with optical transmission through the lens. It is desirable to provide a substantially clean or clear optical path through the lens for camera-based systems to facilitate proper imaging; and noting use of a piezoelectric actuator attached to the bottom of a lens element or lens cover plate, to vibrate the lens to remove debris from the lens surface).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee, Blank, and Li for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 13.
In regard to claim 15, Lee, Blank, and Li teach all of the limitations of claim 13 as discussed above. In addition, Li teaches wherein the piezoelectric actuator vibrates the at least the portion of the at least one camera at a frequency greater than 1 kHz (Li paragraph 26 noting the signal generator 130 is an analog circuit capable of providing an oscillating output signal VS of any suitable waveform shape in a range of frequencies from 1 kHz through 3 MHz).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee, Blank, and Li for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 13.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0201816), hereinafter referred to as Lee, in view of Blank et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0097469), hereinafter referred to as Blank, in further view of Chu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0132555), hereinafter referred to as Chu, and in further view of Habibi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0188122), hereinafter referred to as Habibi.
In regard to claim 24, Lee, Blank, and Chu teach all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. However, Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the vehicular vision system displays bird's eye view video images at the video display.
In the same field of endeavor, Habibi teaches wherein the vehicular vision system displays bird's eye view video images at the video display (Habibi paragraph 44 noting the display may operate to display video images captured by a plurality of exterior facing cameras of the vehicle, such as a rearward facing camera, a forward facing camera and a pair of opposite sideward facing cameras. Such a surround vision system may operate to receive video feeds from multiple cameras at the equipped vehicle and may process the video image data and seamlessly merge the image data or images in the multiple video feeds to generate, for display on a single video display screen, a surround view or top-view or panoramic view or "birds-eye" view of the area at and around the equipped vehicle).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee, Blank, and Chu for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 2. Additionally, it would have been obvious to combine these teachings with the teachings of Habibi, because each disclosure relates to a vehicular vision system that involves combining the image data of multiple cameras surrounding the vehicle to aggregate the multiple feeds into a combined image to display on a display for the driver. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Habibi, the teachings of Lee and Blank include all of the limitations presented in claim 24.
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0201816), hereinafter referred to as Lee, in view of Blank et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0097469), hereinafter referred to as Blank, in further view of Chu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0132555), hereinafter referred to as Chu, in further view of Mizobata (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0238826), hereinafter referred to as Mizobata.
In regard to claim 25, Lee, Blank, and Chu teach all of the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above. However, Lee, Blank, and Chu do not expressly disclose wherein the video display comprises a backlight, and wherein intensity of light emitted by the backlight, when electrically operated to emit light, is based on a gaze direction of the driver of the equipped vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Mizobata teaches wherein the video display comprises a backlight, and wherein intensity of light emitted by the backlight, when electrically operated to emit light, is based on a gaze direction of the driver of the equipped vehicle (Mizobata paragraph 15 noting may further include a gaze detection section configured to detect a line of sight of a driver, wherein brightness is increased for the first display section, the second display section, or the third display section, according to a direction of the line of sight detected by the gaze detection section).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee, Blank, and Chu for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 2. Additionally, it would have been obvious to combine these teachings with the teachings of Mizobata because each disclosure includes vehicle display devices with multiple sections that display camera images aggregated from multiple cameras and the image data is sent to an ECU to process the images and send them to displays to be viewed by the driver. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Mizobata, the teachings of Lee, Blank, and Chu include all of the limitations presented in claim 25.
In regard to claim 26, Lee, Blank, Chu, and Mizobata teach all of the limitations of claim 25 as discussed above. In addition, Mizobata teaches wherein intensity of light emitted by the backlight is increased when the gaze direction of the driver moves toward the interior rearview mirror assembly, and wherein intensity of light emitted by the backlight is decreased when the gaze direction of the driver moves away from the interior rearview mirror assembly (Mizobata paragraph 15 noting may further include a gaze detection section configured to detect a line of sight of a driver, wherein brightness is increased for the first display section, the second display section, or the third display section, according to a direction of the line of sight detected by the gaze detection section; and Mizobata paragraph 70 noting the state in which the brightness of the third image V3 is increased is continued for a predetermined duration after the driver has shifted their gaze away from the third display section 24. As such, it can be seen that when the gaze direction moves away from the display, after some predetermined duration, the brightness would decrease again).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Lee, Blank, Chu and Mizobata for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 25.
Conclusion
/TYLER B EDWARDS/Examiner, Art Unit 2488