DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 28, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to claim 1, Applicant submits that Hayashi does not teach “sharing the target video to the target sharing platform after the video sharing countdown ends,” as recited in the claim. Remarks, p. 14.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC §103 over a combination of Xue (US 2015/0154151), Hayashi (US 2010/0107078), Droll et al. (US 2016/0050525), Azout et al. (US 2018/0365270), and Zhang et al. (US 2019/0394520).
Azout teaches displaying a video sharing countdown in a video display interface, and sharing a target video to a target sharing platform after the video sharing countdown ends ([0148], “In some embodiments, release icon 1513 includes a countdown to the time the corresponding media will be released. For example, release icon 1513 includes a clock icon and the text ‘2 h 35 s’ indicating the media will be released for sharing in two hours and thirty-five seconds. In some embodiments, the release icon displays a countdown until the media will be released. In some embodiments, the release icon displays a countdown to the time when the media will have the first opportunity to be released. In some embodiments, the release icon displays the time of the release. In some embodiments, the release of a media corresponds to releasing the media for sharing with other users.” Fig. 15A).
In view of Azout’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include displaying a video sharing countdown in the video display interface in which a new video stream is displayed after the target video is downloaded, and sharing the target video to a target sharing platform after the video sharing countdown ends; displaying a video sharing canceling function control while displaying the video sharing countdown; and canceling a video sharing operation for the target video in response to a triggering operation for the video sharing canceling function control. The modification would allow users to time the sharing of content according to user preferences. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 11-12, 14-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Xue (US 2015/0154151), Hayashi (US 2010/0107078), Droll et al. (US 2016/0050525), Azout et al. (US 2018/0365270), and Zhang et al. (US 2019/0394520).
Regarding claim 1, Xue teaches a video display and interaction method, comprising:
playing a video on a video display interface ([0074], “In FIG. 5E, first region 5120 includes video A 518-1 and affordances 5122 for performing operations with video A 518-1. For example, video A 518-1 is playing or a series of stills from video A 518-1 are displayed.” Fig. 5E);
triggering a video download process and starting to download a target video associated with a first operation instruction, in response to receiving the first operation instruction on the video display interface ([0074], “In FIG. 5E, affordances 5122 include: download affordance 5122-1, which when activated (e.g., by a touch input from the user), causes mobile device 500 to download video A 518-1 (e.g., locally to mobile device 500 and/or to remote storage)” Fig. 5E),
wherein the target video is video data that a current video display interface is displaying ([0074], “In FIG. 5E, affordances 5122 include: download affordance 5122-1, which when activated (e.g., by a touch input from the user), causes mobile device 500 to download video A 518-1 (e.g., locally to mobile device 500 and/or to remote storage)” Fig. 5E).
Xue teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach the first operation instruction is an external sharing instruction or an external forwarding instruction, and implementing a corresponding interactive operation to the video in response to a second operation instruction on the video display interface, collapsing a selection menu for a target sharing platform, and returning the video display interface to a state before downloading the target video, while downloading the target video. Xue also does not expressly teach displaying a video sharing countdown in the video display interface in which a new video stream is displayed after the target video is downloaded, and sharing the target video to a target sharing platform after the video sharing countdown ends; displaying a video sharing canceling function control while displaying the video sharing countdown; and canceling a video sharing operation for the target video in response to a triggering operation for the video sharing canceling function control.
Hayashi teaches implementing a corresponding interactive operation to a video in response to a second operation instruction on the video display interface while downloading the target video ([0143], “FIG. 9 is an explanatory diagram showing the content list screen 30 generated after the download is started. As shown in FIG. 9, when the download is started, the display screen generation section 228 differentiates the display of the download button 36B for the content data ‘Town by the Lake’ from other download buttons, and also, changes the letters ‘Download’ to ‘Downloading . . . .‘ However, at this stage, the play button for the content data ‘Town by the Lake’ is not yet displayed.” [0109], “When one of the download buttons 36A to 36D or the play buttons 38A, 38D included in the content list screen 30 is selected by the user, the receiver 20 performs a playback control corresponding to the selected button.” For example, while “Town by the Lake” is downloading, a user may select play buttons 38A, 38D corresponding to other content. Figs. 7 and 9).
In view of Hayashi’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xue to include implementing a corresponding interactive operation to the video in response to a second operation instruction on the video display interface while downloading the target video. The modification would allow users to choose to access and view other content when a first content items is in a downloading status. The modification would serve to improve the user experience.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach the first operation instruction is an external sharing instruction or an external forwarding instruction. The combination also does not expressly teach displaying a video sharing countdown in the video display interface in which a new video stream is displayed after the target video is downloaded, and sharing the target video to a target sharing platform after the video sharing countdown ends; displaying a video sharing canceling function control while displaying the video sharing countdown; and canceling a video sharing operation for the target video in response to a triggering operation for the video sharing canceling function control. The combination also does not expressly teach collapsing a selection menu for a target sharing platform, and returning the video display interface to a state before downloading the target video.
Droll teaches triggering a download process associated with a first operation instruction, wherein the first operation instruction is an external sharing instruction or an external forwarding instruction ([0069], “After computing device 600 displays post data in stage 130, method 100 may proceed to any of stage 115, stage 120, stage 125 or stage 135. In stage 135 computing device 600 may enable sharing of post data. For example, when displaying a particular post, the platform may receive a command to share the post (e.g., button 410 of FIGS. 4A and 4B). The command to share the post may specify a means of sharing, such as, for example, but not limited to, through Facebook, Twitter, or downloading an image of the post. The platform may be integrated with other platforms, such as Facebook and Twitter, such that upon receiving a command to share with another platform, computing device 600 may launch the selected platform and upload an image of the post to it. If the platform receives a command to download an image of the post, the platform may export an image of the post to memory storage of computing device 600.”).
In view of Droll’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein the first operation instruction is an external sharing instruction or an external forwarding instruction. The modification would allow for local processing and/or editing of content prior to sharing of the content to other platforms. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach displaying a video sharing countdown in the video display interface in which a new video stream is displayed after the target video is downloaded, and sharing the target video to a target sharing platform after the video sharing countdown ends; displaying a video sharing canceling function control while displaying the video sharing countdown; and canceling a video sharing operation for the target video in response to a triggering operation for the video sharing canceling function control. The combination also does not expressly teach collapsing a selection menu for a target sharing platform, and returning the video display interface to a state before downloading the target video.
Azout teaches:
displaying a video sharing countdown in a video display interface, and sharing a target video to a target sharing platform after the video sharing countdown ends ([0148], “In some embodiments, release icon 1513 includes a countdown to the time the corresponding media will be released. For example, release icon 1513 includes a clock icon and the text ‘2 h 35 s’ indicating the media will be released for sharing in two hours and thirty-five seconds. In some embodiments, the release icon displays a countdown until the media will be released. In some embodiments, the release icon displays a countdown to the time when the media will have the first opportunity to be released. In some embodiments, the release icon displays the time of the release. In some embodiments, the release of a media corresponds to releasing the media for sharing with other users.” Fig. 15A).
displaying a video sharing canceling function control while displaying the video sharing countdown ([0152], “In some embodiments, the time delay has a corresponding release countdown timer. In the event a user desires to bypass the release countdown for sharing photos, the user may performing a share now gesture and/or select the share now functionality. In some embodiments, the share now functionality corresponds to bypassing a time delay for sharing media. … In some embodiments, in the event the share now functionality is triggered, the user interface of FIG. 16 is presented.” Fig. 16, a countdown timer is present in the user interface of Fig. 16); and
canceling a video sharing operation for the target video in response to a triggering operation for the video sharing canceling function control ([0153], “Sharing confirmation dialog 1603 includes cancel and share buttons. In some embodiments, in the event the user selects ‘share’ corresponding to the share button, the media pending release is released for sharing and any countdowns are completed and set to zero. In some embodiments, all pending media are shared. In some embodiments, only the media selected is applied to the share now functionality. In the example shown in FIG. 16, four new photos are available for sharing. In the event the user selects the share button of sharing confirmation dialog 1603, the four photos are immediately shared. In the event the user selects the cancel button of sharing confirmation dialog 1603, the user interface does not share the photos and the user interface may return to its previous state prior to initiating the share now functionality. In some embodiments, the previous state is the user interface of FIG. 15A.” Fig. 16. That is, in response to selecting the cancel button for a countdown timer, the system cancels a video sharing operation, i.e., dialog 1603, and returns to a previous state of the user interface.).
In view of Azout’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include displaying a video sharing countdown in the video display interface in which a new video stream is displayed after the target video is downloaded, and sharing the target video to a target sharing platform after the video sharing countdown ends; displaying a video sharing canceling function control while displaying the video sharing countdown; and canceling a video sharing operation for the target video in response to a triggering operation for the video sharing canceling function control. The modification would allow users to time the sharing of content according to user preferences. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach collapsing a selection menu for a target sharing platform, and returning the video display interface to a state before downloading the target video.
Zhang teaches implementing an operation, hiding a menu, and returning to a video display interface to a state before the operation ([0052], “Wherein, when the configuration entry is clicked, the configuration entry itself floats alone and is highlighted on the current page, for adjusting by the user. Further, the floating menu will be automatically hidden after the user has completed the adjustment, if there is no display instruction received during a first preset time threshold, and the first preset time threshold is 5-60 seconds, preferably, the first preset time threshold is 8 seconds. Further, the configuration entry will be automatically quit after the user has completed the adjustment, if there is no adjustment instruction received during a second preset time threshold, the second preset time threshold is 5-30 seconds, preferably, the second preset time threshold is 10 seconds. Of course, after the adjustment is finished, the user may also press the ‘signal source’ button to quit the floating menu.”).
In view of Zhang’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include collapsing a selection menu for a target sharing platform, and returning the video display interface to a state before downloading the target video. The modification would serve to facilitate user navigation and operation of the system user interface.
Regarding claim 11, Xue teaches an electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a storage apparatus configured to store a program, wherein the program, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1 ([0112], Fig. 8). The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Xue teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause at least a processor perform the method of claim 1 ([0112], Fig. 8). The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claims 3, 14, and 20, the combination further teaches wherein the implementing the corresponding interactive operation to the video in response to the second operation instruction on the video display interface comprises:
implementing a corresponding video interactive operation in response to a video interactive instruction other than a video download operation, an external video sharing operation, and external video forwarding on the video display interface (Hayashi: [0143], “FIG. 9 is an explanatory diagram showing the content list screen 30 generated after the download is started. As shown in FIG. 9, when the download is started, the display screen generation section 228 differentiates the display of the download button 36B for the content data ‘Town by the Lake’ from other download buttons, and also, changes the letters ‘Download’ to ‘Downloading . . . .‘ However, at this stage, the play button for the content data ‘Town by the Lake’ is not yet displayed.” [0109], “When one of the download buttons 36A to 36D or the play buttons 38A, 38D included in the content list screen 30 is selected by the user, the receiver 20 performs a playback control corresponding to the selected button.” For example, while “Town by the Lake” is downloading, a user may select play buttons 38A, 38D corresponding to other content. Figs. 7 and 9).
Regarding claims 4, 15, and 21, the combination further teaches wherein the implementing the corresponding video interactive operation in response to the video interactive instruction other than the video download operation, the external video sharing operation, and external video forwarding on the video display interface comprises:
switching and displaying the new video stream in response to a video stream switching operation on the video display interface ([0143], “FIG. 9 is an explanatory diagram showing the content list screen 30 generated after the download is started. As shown in FIG. 9, when the download is started, the display screen generation section 228 differentiates the display of the download button 36B for the content data ‘Town by the Lake’ from other download buttons, and also, changes the letters ‘Download’ to ‘Downloading . . . .‘ However, at this stage, the play button for the content data ‘Town by the Lake’ is not yet displayed.” [0109], “When one of the download buttons 36A to 36D or the play buttons 38A, 38D included in the content list screen 30 is selected by the user, the receiver 20 performs a playback control corresponding to the selected button.” For example, while “Town by the Lake” is downloading, a user may select play buttons 38A, 38D corresponding to other content. Figs. 7 and 9).
Claim(s) 5, 16, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Xue, Hayashi, Droll, Azout, Zhang, and Chen (US 2023/0300429).
Regarding claims 5, 16, and 22, the combination teaches the limitations specified above, and teaches
receiving a video download instruction and triggering the video download process ([0074], “In FIG. 5E, affordances 5122 include: download affordance 5122-1, which when activated (e.g., by a touch input from the user), causes mobile device 500 to download video A 518-1 (e.g., locally to mobile device 500 and/or to remote storage)” Fig. 5E), and
triggering a video sharing instruction for the target video and determining a target sharing platform ([0075], [0076], “Subsequent to detecting contact 5152, mobile device 500 detects contact 5154 at a location corresponding to ‘Share’ affordance 5132-3 on touch screen 506. In response to detecting contact 5154, mobile device 500 automatically shares video B 518-2 with another user via one of a plurality of social media platforms or applications.” Fig. 5E).
However, the combination does not expressly teach wherein when the first operation instruction is an external sharing instruction, the triggering a video download process comprises: receiving a video download instruction and triggering the video download process when a video sharing instruction for the target video is triggered and a target sharing platform is determined.
Chen teaches receiving a download instruction and triggering a download process when a sharing instruction is triggered ([0028], “after the user performs a trigger operation on the ‘save/share’ control 540, options of save and share are displayed. In some embodiments, in response to receiving the trigger operation on a save option of the ‘save/share’ control 540, at least one of the clip line content and the clip audio is saved.” Fig. 5).
In view of Chen’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein when the first operation instruction is an external sharing instruction, the triggering a video download process comprises: receiving a video download instruction and triggering the video download process when a video sharing instruction for the target video is triggered and a target sharing platform is determined. By downloading a video before sharing, the modification would serve to ensure video content is shared in its entirety. The modification would serve to improve the user experience.
Claim(s) 6, 9, 17-18, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Xue, Hayashi, Droll, Azout, Zhang, Chen, and Wang (US 2020/0401420).
Regarding claims 6, 17, and 23, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach:
prompting a download completion state and
displaying a sharing confirming function control in the video display interface in which the new video stream is displayed, after the target video is downloaded; and
sharing the target video to the target sharing platform in response to a triggering operation for the sharing confirming function control.
Wang teaches prompting a download completion state and displaying a sharing confirming function control in a video display interface, after a target video is downloaded, and sharing the target video to a target sharing platform in response to a triggering operation for a sharing confirming function control ([0108], “In an embodiment, when the client determines that the user selects the first application configured with the download sharing, the client locally downloads the data content (such as pictures or short videos) to be shared currently in a set storage directory. After the download is completed, it is jumped to the application sharing interface matched with the first application until the user shares the downloaded data content.”).
In view of Wang’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include prompting a download completion state and displaying a sharing confirming function control in the video display interface in which the new video stream is displayed, after the target video is downloaded, and sharing the target video to the target sharing platform in response to a triggering operation for the sharing confirming function control. The modification would serve to facilitate sharing of content following the downloading of the content.
Regarding claims 9, 18, and 24, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach directly jumping, after the target video is downloaded, to a video sharing interface in response to the video display interface remains displaying the target video, and implementing the video sharing operation for the target video.
Wang teaches directly jumping, after a target video is downloaded, to a video sharing interface in response to a video display interface remains displaying the target video, and implementing the video sharing operation for the target video ([0108], “In an embodiment, when the client determines that the user selects the first application configured with the download sharing, the client locally downloads the data content (such as pictures or short videos) to be shared currently in a set storage directory. After the download is completed, it is jumped to the application sharing interface matched with the first application until the user shares the downloaded data content.”).
In view of Wang’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include directly jumping, after the target video is downloaded, to a video sharing interface in response to the video display interface remains displaying the target video, and implementing the video sharing operation for the target video. The modification would serve to further facilitate sharing of content to other users.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Xue, Hayashi, Droll, Azout, Zhang, and Hochart (US 2019/0075340).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach, after starting to download the target video associated with the first operation instruction, further comprising: displaying a video download progress in the video display interface at an edge position where there is no functional operation control displayed.
Hochart teaches, after starting to download a target video associated with a first operation instruction, comprising: displaying a video download progress in a video display interface at an edge position where there is no functional operation control displayed ([0068], “In some embodiments, a download progress widget 1006 indicates how much of the requested video content has been downloaded. In some embodiments, the widget can be a circular pie chart that fills in as the download completes. As would be recognized by a person of ordinary skill in the art, any other suitable download progress widget, such as a progress bar, percentage indicator, gauge, or other widget could likewise be used.” Fig. 10).
In view of Hochart’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include, after starting to download the target video associated with the first operation instruction, further comprising: displaying a video download progress in the video display interface at an edge position where there is no functional operation control displayed. The modification would serve to inform users regarding the download status of content, thereby improving convenience for users.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426