DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: detection unit, transport unit, command generation unit, wheel identification unit, position estimation unit, wheel information acquisition unit and transport instruction unit in claim 1-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 5-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rana U.S. Patent Application 20210232989 in view of Watanabe U.S. Patent Application 20190232970, and further in view of Jammalamadaka U.S. Patent Application 20190186889.
Regarding claim 1, Rana discloses a vehicle detection apparatus, comprising:
a detection unit; This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the sensor with the algorithm described in the specification (detection and/or surveying algorithms (or units)) configured to detect, using at least one of state information indicating a state of a vehicle capable of running by unmanned driving obtained from a detector provided on the vehicle, an image of the vehicle, three-dimensional (3D) point cloud data of the vehicle, and position information of the vehicle (paragraph [0082]: an image from a camera 15c at the mobile vehicle 5m can be evaluated by a less accurate SLAM or collision avoidance algorithm (or unit) during the autonomous navigation when moving around in the manufacturing environment 1, while an image form the same camera 15c can be evaluated by a more accurate reference mark detection and/or surveying algorithms (or units) when the mobile vehicle 5 accurately positions or references itself with respect to a work piece 2 or a machine 3 for the execution of a specific task; paragraph [0143]: a quality inspection can be implemented with the mobile vehicles, which can comprise a comparison of point cloud data derived by one or more of the mobile vehicles to nominal model data from a design or CAD file, a statistical evaluation of 3D-scan or measurement data, computer vision for part recognition, completeness check, etc),
that the vehicle moves from a transport unit of a transport device (paragraph [0097]: a mobile vehicle 5 not at a single specific location at the conveyor belt 6 or manufacturing environment 1, but by one or multiple mobile measurement vehicles 5m at some arbitrary location which can be inferred on demand using machine learning, based on availability of resources, capacity and/or space; paragraph [0139]: The cars are moved along a conveyor belt, which is in this case not embodied as a classical belt, but with mobile vehicles 6b for carrying the work pieces 2 autonomously and not strictly bound to a fixed track in the manufacturing environment 1), and
output a detection result, the transport unit; This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the conveyor (conveyor belt 6) being capable of transporting the vehicle (paragraph [0040]: a deviation of the real-world work piece from the required properties can be detected by the machine learned system according to a measurement; paragraph [0148]: A software agent at the edge-computation system 33 of the machine 3 detects such and automatically dispatches an according information about this anomaly to a higher-level factory control system; paragraph [0139]: The cars are moved along a conveyor belt).
Rana discloses all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. However, Rana fails to disclose at least one wheel provided in the vehicle departs from a transport unit of a transport device.
Watanabe discloses at least one wheel provided in the vehicle departs (paragraph [0043]: a driving wheel is detected to be spinning when starting or accelerating the vehicle 100 to thereby minimize the occurrence of skidding of the vehicle 100. The TCS is also configured to output information indicating the time point of starting or ending such control over the brake system 3 or the powertrain system 2, to the advanced drive system 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rana’s to detect wheel spinning as taught by Watanabe, to minimize the occurrence of skidding of the vehicle.
Rana as modified by Watanabe discloses all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. However, Rana as modified by Watanabe fails to disclose departing from a transport unit of a transport device explicitly.
Jammalamadaka discloses departing from a transport unit of a transport device (paragraph [0076]: each of the pallets 106 are lowered in the vertical direction Z on the second lift mechanism 140B to the conveyor 104, the clamps are released, and each of the vehicle seats 102 departs the detector station 114 on the conveyor 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rana and Watanabe’s to depart transport device as taught by Jammalamadaka, to ensure smooth transition and avoid collisions with surrounding physical objects.
Regarding claim 5, Rana as modified by Watanabe and Jammalamadaka discloses the vehicle detection apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a position estimation unit; This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the circuitry, or the software and processor, with the algorithm described in the specification (Rana’s detection and/or surveying algorithms (or units)) configured to estimate a position of the vehicle using vehicle information, the vehicle information being at least one of the image of the vehicle and the 3D point cloud data of the vehicle and acquired by a vehicle detector that acquires the vehicle information (Rana’s paragraph [0082]: an image from a camera 15c at the mobile vehicle 5m can be evaluated by a less accurate SLAM or collision avoidance algorithm (or unit) during the autonomous navigation when moving around in the manufacturing environment 1, while an image form the same camera 15c can be evaluated by a more accurate reference mark detection and/or surveying algorithms (or units) when the mobile vehicle 5 accurately positions or references itself with respect to a work piece 2 or a machine 3 for the execution of a specific task).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rana’s to detect wheel spinning as taught by Watanabe, to minimize the occurrence of skidding of the vehicle; and combine Rana and Watanabe’s to depart transport device as taught by Jammalamadaka, to ensure smooth transition and avoid collisions with surrounding physical objects.
Regarding claim 6, Rana as modified by Watanabe and Jammalamadaka discloses the vehicle detection apparatus according to claim 5, further comprising:
a command generation unit; This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the circuitry, or the software and processor, with the algorithm described in the specification (Rana’s detection and/or surveying algorithms (or units)) configured to generate and output a control command to move the vehicle to the transport unit using the position of the vehicle estimated by the position estimation unit when departure of the wheel is detected (Watanabe’s paragraph [0043]: a driving wheel is detected to be spinning when starting or accelerating the vehicle 100 to thereby minimize the occurrence of skidding of the vehicle 100. The TCS is also configured to output information indicating the time point of starting or ending such control over the brake system 3 or the powertrain system 2, to the advanced drive system 1; Jammalamadaka’s paragraph [0076]: each of the pallets 106 are lowered in the vertical direction Z on the second lift mechanism 140B to the conveyor 104, the clamps are released, and each of the vehicle seats 102 departs the detector station 114 on the conveyor 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rana’s to detect wheel spinning as taught by Watanabe, to minimize the occurrence of skidding of the vehicle; and combine Rana and Watanabe’s to depart transport device as taught by Jammalamadaka, to ensure smooth transition and avoid collisions with surrounding physical objects.
Claim 11 recites the functions of the apparatus recited in claim 1 as method steps. Accordingly, the mapping of the prior art to the corresponding functions of the apparatus in claim 1 applies to the method steps of claim 11.
Claim 2-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rana U.S. Patent Application 20210232989 in view of Watanabe U.S. Patent Application 20190232970, in view of Jammalamadaka U.S. Patent Application 20190186889, and further in view of Mochizuki U.S. Patent Application 20220219599.
Regarding claim 2, Rana as modified by Watanabe and Jammalamadaka discloses a command generation unit configured to generate, when departure of the wheel depart is detected, a control command to cause the departed wheel to be spinnable, and output the control command (Watanabe’s paragraph [0043]: a driving wheel is detected to be spinning when starting or accelerating the vehicle 100 to thereby minimize the occurrence of skidding of the vehicle 100. The TCS is also configured to output information indicating the time point of starting or ending such control over the brake system 3 or the powertrain system 2, to the advanced drive system 1). However, Rana as modified by Watanabe and Jammalamadaka fails to disclose causing the departed wheel to be spinnable with a force smaller than a force before the departure of the wheel is detected.
Mochizuki discloses causing the departed wheel to be spinnable with a force smaller than a force before the departure of the wheel is detected (paragraph [0018]: when switching information indicating that the brake is switched from a braking state to a releasing state is detected after a necessary target for a departure notification display is detected, the road surface rendering unit renders a vehicle departure notification display onto a road surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rana, Watanabe and Jammalamadaka’s to release brake as taught by Mochizuki, to notify departure of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 3, Rana as modified by Watanabe, Jammalamadaka and Mochizuki discloses the vehicle detection apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the state in which the departed wheel is spinnable includes at least one of a state in which the departed wheel is spinnable because power from a motor of the vehicle is not transmitted to the departed wheel, and a state in which the departed wheel is spinnable because a braking force applied to the departed wheel is weakened to be smaller than a braking force applied to the wheel before the wheel is departed (Mochizuki’s paragraph [0018]: when switching information indicating that the brake is switched from a braking state to a releasing state is detected after a necessary target for a departure notification display is detected, the road surface rendering unit renders a vehicle departure notification display onto a road surface; Watanabe’s paragraph [0043]: a driving wheel is detected to be spinning when starting or accelerating the vehicle 100 to thereby minimize the occurrence of skidding of the vehicle 100. The TCS is also configured to output information indicating the time point of starting or ending such control over the brake system 3 or the powertrain system 2, to the advanced drive system 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rana, Watanabe and Jammalamadaka’s to release brake as taught by Mochizuki, to notify departure of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 4, Rana as modified by Watanabe, Jammalamadaka and Mochizuki discloses the vehicle detection apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising:
a wheel identification unit; This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the circuitry, or the software and processor, with the algorithm described in the specification (Rana’s detection and/or surveying algorithms (or units)) configured to identify which wheel is departed using the at least one information, wherein, when departure of the wheel is detected, the command generation unit generates and outputs a control command to cause only the departed wheel to be spinnable (Watanabe’s paragraph [0043]: a driving wheel is detected to be spinning when starting or accelerating the vehicle 100 to thereby minimize the occurrence of skidding of the vehicle 100. The TCS is also configured to output information indicating the time point of starting or ending such control over the brake system 3 or the powertrain system 2, to the advanced drive system 1; Mochizuki’s paragraph [0018]: when switching information indicating that the brake is switched from a braking state to a releasing state is detected after a necessary target for a departure notification display is detected, the road surface rendering unit renders a vehicle departure notification display onto a road surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rana, Watanabe and Jammalamadaka’s to release brake as taught by Mochizuki, to notify departure of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, Rana as modified by Watanabe, Jammalamadaka and Mochizuki discloses the vehicle detection apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a wheel information acquisition unit; This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the circuitry, or the software and processor, with the algorithm described in the specification (Rana’s detection and/or surveying algorithms (or units)) configured to acquire wheel information indicating a state of the departed wheel using the acquired at least one information (Watanabe’s paragraph [0043]: a driving wheel is detected to be spinning when starting or accelerating the vehicle 100 to thereby minimize the occurrence of skidding of the vehicle 100. The TCS is also configured to output information indicating the time point of starting or ending such control over the brake system 3 or the powertrain system 2, to the advanced drive system 1); and
a transport instruction unit; This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as the circuitry, or the software and processor, with the algorithm described in the specification (Rana’s detection and/or surveying algorithms (or units)) configured to output an instruction to stop transport by the transport device when the acquired state of the departed wheel satisfies a predetermined stopping condition (Mochizuki’s paragraph [0074]: The control unit 5 of the departure notification display device 3 controls the road surface rendering unit 6 again to stop rendering a departure notification display onto a road surface… when a total distance meter or the like (not shown) provided in the vehicle C detects information indicating that the vehicle C travels for a predetermined distance since the vehicle C starts to travel; Watanabe’s paragraph [0043]: a driving wheel is detected to be spinning when starting or accelerating the vehicle 100 to thereby minimize the occurrence of skidding of the vehicle 100. The TCS is also configured to output information indicating the time point of starting or ending such control over the brake system 3 or the powertrain system 2, to the advanced drive system 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rana, Watanabe and Jammalamadaka’s to release brake as taught by Mochizuki, to notify departure of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 8, Rana as modified by Watanabe, Jammalamadaka and Mochizuki discloses the vehicle detection apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the wheel information includes at least one of information regarding an orientation of the departed wheel with respect to a transport direction in which the transport device transports the vehicle, information regarding a distance from the transport unit to the departed wheel, and information regarding a height difference between the transport unit and the departed wheel (Mochizuki’s paragraph [0074]: The control unit 5 of the departure notification display device 3 controls the road surface rendering unit 6 again to stop rendering a departure notification display onto a road surface… when a total distance meter or the like (not shown) provided in the vehicle C detects information indicating that the vehicle C travels for a predetermined distance since the vehicle C starts to travel; Jammalamadaka’s paragraph [0076]: each of the pallets 106 are lowered in the vertical direction Z on the second lift mechanism 140B to the conveyor 104, the clamps are released, and each of the vehicle seats 102 departs the detector station 114 on the conveyor 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rana, Watanabe and Jammalamadaka’s to release brake as taught by Mochizuki, to notify departure of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 9, Rana as modified by Watanabe, Jammalamadaka and Mochizuki discloses the vehicle detection apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a command generation unit configured to generate and output a control signal to activate at least one of a lamp or a horn provided in the vehicle when departure of the wheel is detected (Mochizuki’s paragraph [0041]: Directions shown in the drawings (upper: Up, lower: Lo, left: Le, Right: Ri, front: Fr, rear: Re) are directions viewing from a driver of a vehicle equipped with a departure notification display device or a part of a vehicle lamp including the departure notification display device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rana, Watanabe and Jammalamadaka’s to release brake as taught by Mochizuki, to notify departure of a vehicle.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rana U.S. Patent Application 20210232989 in view of Mochizuki U.S. Patent Application 20220219599, and further in view of Jammalamadaka U.S. Patent Application 20190186889.
Regarding claim 10, Rana discloses a vehicle capable of running by unmanned driving, comprising:
at least one wheel (paragraph [0058]: an autonomous ground vehicle (AGV), comprising wheels);
the transport unit (conveyor belt) being capable of transporting the vehicle (paragraph [0139]: The cars are moved along a conveyor belt).
Rana discloses all the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above. However, Rana fails to disclose a command generation unit configured to generate, when the at least one wheel departs from a transport unit of a transport device, a control command to cause the departed wheel to be spinnable with a force smaller than a force before departure of the wheel is detected, and output the control command.
Mochizuki discloses a command generation unit (control unit) configured to generate, when the at least one wheel departs, a control command to cause the departed wheel to be spinnable with a force smaller than a force before departure of the wheel is detected, and output the control command (paragraph [0018]: when switching information indicating that the brake is switched from a braking state to a releasing state is detected after a necessary target for a departure notification display is detected, the road surface rendering unit renders a vehicle departure notification display onto a road surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rana’s to switch brake state as taught by Mochizuki, to notify departure of a vehicle.
Rana as modified by Mochizuki discloses all the features with respect to claim 10 as outlined above. However, Rana as modified by Mochizuki fails to disclose departing from a transport unit of a transport device.
Jammalamadaka discloses departing from a transport unit of a transport device (paragraph [0076]: each of the pallets 106 are lowered in the vertical direction Z on the second lift mechanism 140B to the conveyor 104, the clamps are released, and each of the vehicle seats 102 departs the detector station 114 on the conveyor 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rana and Mochizuki’s to depart transport device as taught by Jammalamadaka, to ensure smooth transition and avoid collisions with surrounding physical objects.
Conclusion
/YI YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616