Claims 8-11, 13-15, 19, 23-24, 26-29, 32-33, 35, 37-60 and 62-70 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 17, 22, 30-31 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and/or 102a2 as being anticipated by Lorber (US Des. 262,941), which discloses:
1. A plug apparatus for concealing fastener holes formed in planks, the plug apparatus comprising:
a support strip extending along a strip axis (see annotated Figure 1 below); and
a plurality of plugs connected to the support strip (see the first and second sets of plugs in the annotated Figure below), each of the plugs configured to be inserted into a fastener hole in a plank (due to their geometry, the plugs are so capable), the plurality of plugs comprising:
a first set of the plugs located on a first lateral side of the support strip; and
a second set of the plugs located on a second lateral side of the support strip opposite the first lateral side (see FIGS 1, 2, 3, 6, 7).
2. The plug apparatus according to claim 1 wherein each of the plugs is connected to the support strip by an arm that projects from the support strip (see annotated FIG 2 below).
3. The plug apparatus according to claim 2 wherein each of the arms comprises a fail section configured to break and release the plug from the support strip upon the plug being inserted into the fastener hole of the plank (see annotated FIG 2 above).
4. The plug apparatus according to claim 3 wherein, for each of the arms, the fail section is adjacent the plug (see annotated FIG 2 above).
5. The plug apparatus according to claim 3 wherein, for each of the arms, the fail section comprises a smallest transverse cross-sectional area of the arm (see annotated FIG 2 above).
6. The plug apparatus according to claim 2 wherein each of the arms extends along an arm axis that extends transversely from the support strip (see annotated FIG 2 above, arm axis is vertical, support strip extends horizontally).
7. The plug apparatus according to claim 1 wherein each of the plugs extends along a plug axis from a top surface of the plug to a bottom surface of the plug (see FIGS 1, 3, 4), and wherein each of the plugs comprises a central bore extending into the bottom surface along the plug axis (as shown in FIG 7, marking pins are inserted in the bores of the plugs).
17. The plug apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the plug apparatus is a monolithic injection-molded component (this product-by-process limitation does not define over the structure of the disclosed prior art).
22. The plug apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the support strip extends along the strip axis from a proximal end (right side of FIG 2) to a distal end (left side of FIG 2), further comprising a grip member (the ring-shaped portion at the right of FIG 2) connected to the proximal end of the support strip, the distal end of the support strip being a free end (see FIG 2), wherein the grip member comprises a tab having a first major surface (top) and a second major surface (bottom) opposite the first major surface.
30. A plug apparatus for concealing fastener holes formed in planks, the plug apparatus comprising:
a support member (the support strip of annotated FIG 1 above); and
a plurality of plugs (the first and second set of plugs of the annotated FIG 1 above) connected to the support member, each of the plurality of the plugs configured to be inserted into a fastener hole in a plank (they are so capable); and
wherein, for each of the plugs, a connection between the support member and the plug is configured to break to release the plug from the support member upon the plug being inserted into the fastener hole (they are configured to break at the fail sections, annotated FIG 1 above).
31. The plug apparatus according to claim 30 wherein each of the plugs extends along a plug axis from a top surface to a bottom surface (e.g., FIG 3); and wherein, for each of the plugs, the connection is located along an outer side surface of the plug (facing the strip, e.g., see FIG 7), wherein, for each of the plugs, the connection is spaced from the top surface of the plug by a first distance, wherein, for each of the plugs, the connection is spaced from the bottom surface of the plug by a second distance, the second distance being greater than the first distance (where the “connection” is specifically read as the bottom surface of the fail section, which can be seen in FIG 7, and which is closer to the top surface of the plug than to the bottom surface of the plug).
36. The plug apparatus according to claim 30 wherein, for each of the plugs, the connection comprises an arm protruding from the support member that spaces the plug from the support member (see annotated FIG 2 above), wherein, for each of the plugs, the arm comprises a fail section configured to break to release the plug from the support member, wherein the fail section has a smallest transverse cross-sectional arca of the arm (see annotated FIG 2 above).
Claim(s) 61 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and/or 102a2 as being anticipated by Shadwell (US 2015/0291330), which discloses:
61. A method of installing a decking system, the method comprising: a) aligning a first plug (12) with a first fastener hole formed in one or more planks (para. 0003, 0005, 0006), the first plug being one of a plurality of plugs connected to a support member (11, FIG 2); and b) inserting the first plug into the first fastener hole, the first plug breaking off of and being released from the support member (para. 0003, 0005, 0006, 0007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 18, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorber.
Regarding claim 16, Lorber discloses the bottom of the plug to be lower than a bottom of the support strip, but discloses a top of the plug to be at the same height as the top of the support strip (e.g., see FIGS 3-4). However it would have been obvious to store the strip by resting the bottoms of the plugs on a flat surface, in which case gravity would cause the top surface of the strip to slightly sag below the top of the plug. Alternatively it would have been obvious to store them in a staggered and stacked pattern, in which case the weight of an upper layer of the plugs would push down on the top surface of a strip of a lower layer, rendering it lower than the corresponding top surface of the plugs.
Regarding claims 18, 20 and 21, Lorber discloses the invention as claimed with exception to the base material and streaker additive as claimed. However it was well-known in the art at the time of filing to use base polymeric materials with a colored polypropylene/HDPE streaker as claimed, and it would have been obvious to use these materials to form Lorber’s caps in order to achieve durability and make them easy to visually locate.
Claim(s) 12 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorber in view of Shadwell.
Lorber discloses the invention as claimed with exception to the texture and taper features. However Shadwell teaches that it was known to use a texture (grain) feature (e.g., para. 0003, 0025) and a taper feature (39) on a bottom of a similar plug in order to fill a screw hole. To use Lorber’s plugs to fill a screw hole, it would have been obvious to use a wood grain texture and taper feature therewith, as claimed by Applicant and taught by Shadwell (note that “debossed” and “embossed” are product-by-process limitations that do not define over the prior art structure).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorber in view of Gregory (US D486,884).
Lorber discloses: 25. The plug apparatus according to claim 22 further comprising: the first set of the plugs arranged along the first lateral side of the support strip in a spaced apart manner; and the second set of the plugs arranged along the second lateral side of the support strip in a spaced apart manner (see annotated FIG 1 above); wherein adjacent ones of the plugs of the first set are equi-spaced from one another by a first distance; wherein adjacent ones of the plugs of the second set are equi-spaced from one another by a second distance, wherein the first distance is equal to the second distance (see FIG 2). Lorber does not disclose wherein the plugs of the first set are axially offset from the plugs of the second set along a length of the support strip. However Gregory teaches that it was known in the art to axially offset a similar groups of plug-like parts along a support strip (e.g., see FIGS 2, 3), and it would have been obvious to use such an offset arrangement of Lorber’s plugs in order to obtain a different spatial arrangement for storage or transport, or to visually differentiate product lines.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 7,581,361 discloses a conventional deck plug without a holding strip.
/WILLIAM M MCCALISTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
7/28/26