DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Applicant’s reply filed 18 June 2026 (hereinafter “Reply”). This action is made Final.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, and 15-16 are currently amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall et al., US 2023/0394440 A1, in view of Moynihan et al, US 2023/0052258 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Marshall discloses a method comprising:
Generating, for display on a client device, a virtual space interface comprising a content block within a virtual space, wherein the content block comprises a modifiable sub-window for presenting and modifying embedded digital content. Marshall teaches generating a virtual space (“use interface”) comprising a “second region”. Marshall fig. 2 (user interface 142, second region 146). The second-region allows for presenting embedded content (“object”), such as a message comprising editable text. Id. ¶ 107, fig. 2 (indicator 212 of a message).
Providing, for display within the content block, a meeting association option selectable to tie the content block to a virtual meeting. Marshall ¶ 104, fig. 2 (affordance 148).
Based on a user interaction selecting the meeting association option, tying the content block to the virtual meeting. Marshall teaches selecting an affordance to associate embedded content (“object”) with a virtual meeting. Marshall ¶¶ 86, 160.
Marshall does not explicitly disclose, but Moynihan discloses:
Determining a topic associated with the content block. Moynihan teaches analyzing content items to rank the content items according to a natural language utterance and meeting context. Moynihan ¶ 86-89. The natural language utterance may be an expression of a topic (e.g., “sales figures”). Id. ¶¶ 89, 99, 101, 128, 132. Additionally, the meeting context may be, e.g., a topic. Id. ¶ 29.
Based on tying the content block to the virtual meeting, providing the content block tied to the virtual meeting for display on the client device in response to detecting the topic during the virtual meeting. Moynihan teaches detecting a natural language utterance during a meeting. Moynihan fig. 11 (step 1103), ¶¶ 149-150. The natural language utterance may be an expression of a topic (e.g., “sales figures”). Id. ¶¶ 89, 99, 101, 128, 132. In response to detecting the natural language utterance, a content item may be presented. Id. figs. 9A, 11 (step 1111), ¶¶ 160-164.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Marshall’s process of selecting content to be linked with a virtual meeting with Moynihan’s process of surfacing linked content upon detecting a topic during a virtual meeting. Such a modification would increase functionality and prevent visual clutter of a graphical user interface by presenting content when contextually relevant.
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Marshall discloses wherein providing the meeting association option comprises providing a selectable user interface element as part of the content block within the virtual space interface. Marshall fig. 2, ¶ 86.
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 1, Marshall discloses wherein tying the content block to the virtual meeting comprises:
Based on one or more user interactions selecting the meeting association option, tying a first content block and a second content block to the virtual meeting. Marshall teaches selecting an affordance to associate embedded content (“object”) with a virtual meeting. Marshall ¶¶ 86, 160.
Marshall does not explicitly disclose, but Moynihan discloses:
Providing the first content block for display on the client device in response to detecting initialization of the virtual meeting. Moynihan teaches presenting a content item when a meeting starts. Moynihan ¶ 172.
Determining the topic associated with the second content block. Moynihan teaches analyzing content items to rank the content items according to a natural language utterance and meeting context. Moynihan ¶ 86-89. The natural language utterance may be an expression of a topic (e.g., “sales figures”). Id. ¶¶ 89, 99, 101, 128, 132. Additionally, the meeting context may be, e.g., a topic. Id. ¶ 29.
Surfacing the second content block within the virtual meeting upon detecting the topic during the virtual meeting. Moynihan teaches detecting a natural language utterance during a meeting. Moynihan fig. 11 (step 1103), ¶¶ 149-150. The natural language utterance may be an expression of a topic (e.g., “sales figures”). Id. ¶¶ 89, 99, 101, 128, 132. In response to detecting the natural language utterance, a content item may be presented. Id. figs. 9A, 11 (step 1111), ¶¶ 160-164.
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claim 1, Marshall discloses in response to detecting initialization of the virtual meeting, surfacing the content block tied to the virtual meeting within the virtual space interface. Marshall teaches causing display of a collaborative document in response to initializing (i.e., scheduling) the virtual meeting. The embedded content (“object”) may be displayed within the collaborative document. Marshall figs. 4, 6, ¶¶ 28, 119, 164.
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claim 1, Marshall discloses embedding the embedded digital content into the content block from an external computer application, wherein the content block comprises a multilocational content block that includes a block identifier and a source identifier. Marshall teaches a “second region” comprising a data feed comprising identifiers. Marshall fig. 2 (second region 146), ¶ 85.
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claim 1, Marshall discloses wherein tying the content block to the virtual meeting comprises tying a portion of the content block to the virtual meeting such that the portion is surfaced in response to detecting initialization of the virtual meeting. Marshall teaches causing display of a collaborative document in response to initializing (i.e., scheduling) the virtual meeting. The embedded content (“object”) may be displayed within the collaborative document. Marshall figs. 4, 6, ¶¶ 28, 119, 164.
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claim 1, Marshall discloses: providing a second meeting association option selectable to tie the virtual space presented in the virtual space interface to the virtual meeting; and based on a selection of the second meeting association option, tying the virtual space to the virtual meeting. Marshall ¶ 104, fig. 2 (affordance 210).
Claims 8, 11, and 13 are drawn to a system that implements the methods recited in claims 1, 7, and 2, respectively. Accordingly, these claims are rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejections of the corresponding claims.
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claim 8, Marshall discloses:
Provide a second meeting association option selectable to tie a portion of the content block to the virtual meeting. Marshall ¶ 104, fig. 2 (affordance 148).
Based on a selection of the second meeting association option, tying the virtual space to the virtual meeting. Marshall ¶¶ 86, 160.
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claim 8, Marshall discloses embed the embedded digital content into the content block from an external data source at a separate network location. Marshall ¶ 23.
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claim 11, Marshall discloses based on tying the virtual space to the virtual meeting, surface the virtual space in response to detecting initialization of the virtual meeting. Marshall teaches causing display of a collaborative document in response to initializing (i.e., scheduling) the virtual meeting. The embedded content (“object”) may be displayed within the collaborative document. Marshall figs. 4, 6, ¶¶ 28, 119, 164.
Regarding claim 14, which depends on claim 11, Marshall discloses provide a different meeting association option for a different content block within the virtual space interface, wherein the different meeting association option is selectable to tie the different content block to a different virtual meeting. Marshall ¶ 86.
Claims 15 and 17 are drawn to instructions stored in a medium that implement the methods recited in claims 1 and 7, respectively. Accordingly, these claims are rejected for substantially the same reasons as indicated in the above rejections of the corresponding claims.
Regarding claim 16, which depends on claim 15, Marshall does not explicitly disclose, but Moynihan discloses:
Determine a first topic and a second topic associated with the content block. Moynihan teaches analyzing content items to rank the content items according to a natural language utterance and meeting context. Moynihan ¶ 86-89. The natural language utterance may be an expression of a topic (e.g., “sales figures”). Id. ¶¶ 89, 99, 101, 128, 132. Additionally, the meeting context may be, e.g., a topic. Id. ¶ 29.
Surface the content block within the virtual meeting upon detecting at least one of the first topic or the second topic during the virtual meeting. Moynihan teaches detecting a natural language utterance during a meeting. Moynihan fig. 11 (step 1103), ¶¶ 149-150. The natural language utterance may be an expression of a topic (e.g., “sales figures”). Id. ¶¶ 89, 99, 101, 128, 132. In response to detecting the natural language utterance, a content item may be presented. Id. figs. 9A, 11 (step 1111), ¶¶ 160-164.
Regarding claim 18, which depends on claim 15, Marshall discloses provide a different meeting association option for a different content block within the virtual space interface, wherein the different meeting association option is selectable to tie the different content block to a different virtual meeting. Marshall ¶ 86.
Regarding claim 19, which depends on claim 18, Marshall discloses provide the meeting association option as a selectable user interface element part of the content block within the virtual space interface. Marshall fig. 2, ¶ 86.
Regarding claim 20, which depends on claim 19, Marshall discloses:
Embed the embedded digital content into the content block from an external computer application. Marshall ¶ 23.
Access the embedded digital content for the content block in response to detecting initialization of the virtual meeting. Marshall teaches causing display of a collaborative document in response to initializing (i.e., scheduling) the virtual meeting. The embedded content (“object”) may be displayed within the collaborative document. Marshall figs. 4, 6, ¶¶ 28, 119, 164.
Response to Arguments
The prior objection to the title has been withdrawn based on the corresponding amendment to the title.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the novelty/nonobviousness of the pending claims have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection to teach the newly amended/added limitations. Applicant is referred to the above detailed rejections for further explanation.
Conclusion
Although particular portions of the prior art may have been cited in support of the rejections, the specified citations are merely representative of the teachings. Other passages and figures in the cited prior art may apply. Accordingly, Applicant should consider the entirety of the cited prior art for potentially teaching all or part of the claims.
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Wadhwa et al., US 2017/0118259 A1, discloses a process for linking content to a virtual meeting.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Asher D. Kells
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2171
/Asher D Kells/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171