DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/24/26.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 8 each recite “mesh and/or other infill”. The term “and/or” should be replaced with --or--, as the screen system is understood to allow for either a mesh or a different type of infill to be provided, but not both a mesh and a different infill.
Claim 3 recites “a first frame assembly to a second frame assembly”. In the context of the disclosure, it is clear that these are frame assemblies provided as part of the “plurality of frame assemblies” introduced in claim 1, but it is recommended that the limitation in claim 3 be amended to recite --a first frame assembly to a second frame assembly of the plurality of frame assemblies--, or a similar recitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Veivers (AU 2013100323), hereinafter referred to as Veivers ‘323.
Regarding claim 1, Veivers ‘323 discloses a screen system (10) comprising:
a mesh and/or other infill (20);
a frame [FIG. 1] including a plurality of frame assemblies (12, 13) surrounding the mesh and/or other infill [FIG. 1];
at least one of the frame assemblies comprising:
an outer sash (18) comprising a first sidewall and a second sidewall (opposing sidewalls of the channel 25, shown in at least Figure 3) defining a first channel (25) therebetween, each sidewall including at least one first engagement feature (26-29);
an inner sash (19) received in the outer sash [FIG. 3], the inner sash comprising a first leg (43) and a second leg (46) configured for engagement with the first and second sidewall, respectively, each leg including at least one second engagement feature (32-35) configured for engagement with the at least one first engagement feature of a sidewall to facilitate retention of the inner sash within the first channel (paragraphs 0017-0018) [FIG. 3]; and
an insulator (22) received, at least in part, in the inner sash, the insulator configured to engage an end (23) of the mesh and/or other infill in the insulator (paragraph 0017) [FIG. 2].
Regarding claim 2, Veivers ‘323 discloses a first fastener (21) engaging and retaining the mesh and/or other infill, the inner sash, and the insulator, the first fastener disposed in the first channel (paragraph 0018; the retainer strip 21 engages each of the infill, the inner sash, and the insulator by providing a clamping or wedging force across the assembly to retain the components within the outer frame).
Regarding claim 3, Veivers ‘323 discloses that the outer sash further comprises a second fastener, the second fastener configured to connect a first frame assembly to a second frame assembly (the first and second frame assemblies 12, 13 are shown connected in Figure 1; paragraph 0015 discloses a “corner bracket” that reads on the claimed second fastener, as it connects the frame assemblies to each other at the corner 11).
Regarding claim 4, Veivers ‘323 discloses the two legs of the inner sash define a second channel (37) therebetween, the second channel configured for receiving the insulator therein (receipt of the insulator 22 within the second channel 37 is shown in at least Figure 4).
Regarding claims 10-13, Veivers ‘323 discloses that the at least one first engagement feature of each sidewall comprises a plurality of serrations (the term “serration” is defined as “a series or set of teeth or notches” per https://www.thefreedictionary.com/serration; the projections 26-29 defining the first engagement feature are at least a series of teeth or notches, and therefore meet the requirements of the term “serration”), the first sidewall comprising a first plurality of serrations and the second sidewall comprising a second plurality of serrations [FIG. 3]; and the at least one second engagement feature of each leg of the inner sash comprises a plurality of serrations (the notches 32-35 defining the second engagement feature also read on the definition of the term “serration” listed above), the first leg comprising a first plurality of serrations and the second leg comprising a second plurality of serrations [FIG. 3]; wherein the at least one first engagement feature of each sidewall comprises a serration disposed at an end of each sidewall [FIG. 3]; and the at least one second engagement feature of each leg of the inner sash comprises a serration disposed at an end of each leg [FIG. 3].
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Veivers ‘323 discloses the at least one first engagement feature of each sidewall comprises a hook disposed between a first end and a second end of each sidewall; wherein the at least one second engagement feature of each leg of the inner sash comprises a hook disposed between a first end and a second end of each leg (the term “hook” is defined as “a piece of material, usually metal, curved or bent and used to suspend, catch, hold, or pull something” per https://www.thefreedictionary.com/hook; the notches/projections at 27, 29, 33, and 35 read on the term “hook”, as they are pieces of material that are bent relative to the sidewalls/legs and used to hold the parts to each other).
Regarding claim 16, Veivers ‘323 discloses that each leg of the inner sash comprises a plug portion at an end of each leg, the plug portion being wider than other portions of the leg (as shown in Figure 3, the upper end of each leg of the inner sash widens towards the end to define a tapered shape that reads on the claimed plug portion).
Regarding claim 18, Veivers ‘323 discloses that the inner sash comprises a projection (26, 28) and the outer sash comprises a cavity (32, 34), the projection configured to be received in the cavity to seat the inner sash within the outer sash [FIG. 3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veivers ‘323 (AU 2013100323) in view of Allen (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0268098)
Regarding claim 5, Veivers ‘323 discloses the insulator but does not explicitly disclose that it comprises an elastomeric material.
Nonetheless, Allen discloses a screen system comprising an insulator (220) formed from an elastomeric material (paragraph 0110).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the screen system of Veivers ‘323 to include an elastomeric material, as taught by Allen, in order to provide additional wedging force retaining the screen, and to provide better sealing at the connection between the insulator and the screen.
Claims 6, 7, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veivers ‘323 (AU 2013100323) in view of Veivers (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0293087), hereinafter referred to as Veivers ‘087.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Veivers ‘323 discloses the insulator but does not disclose that it comprises an adhesive or adhesive strip composed of epoxy or polyurethane.
Nonetheless, Veivers ‘087 discloses a screen system comprising an insulator comprising glue or adhesive (24); wherein the insulator comprises an adhesive strip (paragraph 0070) [FIG. 5] composed at least in part of an epoxy or polyurethane material (paragraph 0059).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the screen system of Veivers ‘323 to include the adhesive taught by Veivers ‘087, in order to provide a more secure connection between the frame assembly and the screen, and to provide additional sealing properties around the perimeter of the screen.
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Veivers ‘323 discloses the insulator and the plug portion, but does not disclose a cap portion.
Nonetheless, Veivers ‘087 discloses an insulator (17) having a cap portion that overlies and engages first and second ends of respective first and second sidewalls [FIG. 5].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insulator of Veivers ‘323 to include a cap portion, as taught by Veivers ‘087, in order to provide a more finished exterior appearance around the perimeter of the frame, and to reduce or prevent the intrusion of dust or debris into the interior of the frame assemblies.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veivers ‘323 (AU 2013100323) in view of Veivers (WO 2014/036591), hereinafter referred to as Veivers ‘591.
Regarding claim 8, Veivers ‘323 discloses the insulator, but does not disclose that it has two lips that are configured for crimping.
Nonetheless, Veivers ‘591 discloses an insulator (15) having two lips that are configured for crimping [FIGS. 3, 4] to retain a mesh or other infill (13) therein.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insulator of Veivers ‘323 to include the lips configured for crimping taught by Veivers ‘591, in order to provide a more secure connection between the frame assemblies and the screen mesh/infill, so as to improve the longevity and security of the screen system.
Conclusion
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634