Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palmer (US 20200179851).
As regarding claim 1, Palmer discloses the claimed invention for an environmental control system of an aircraft, comprising: a turbine (34) configured to extract energy and heat from an airflow; and a water extractor (100) arranged downstream from and in fluid communication with an outlet of the turbine (annotated fig. 1), the water extractor including: a separation mechanism (fig. 2) for separating the airflow into a first airflow (106) and a second airflow (108), the first airflow having water entrained therein; and a water extraction vessel (about 110 of fig. 3) axially aligned and in fluid communication with the separation mechanism, the water extraction vessel including a first portion for receiving the first airflow and a second portion for receiving the second airflow, the first portion being configured to collect and remove the water from the first airflow (figs. 2-3).
As regarding claim 2, Palmer discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Palmer discloses the claimed invention for wherein the airflow output from the turbine has water entrained therein, and the water within the airflow is a fog (abstract).
As regarding claim 3, Palmer discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Palmer discloses the claimed invention for wherein the airflow is provided to the separation mechanism at an angle to a central axis of the separation mechanism (figs. 2-3).
As regarding claim 4, Palmer discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Palmer discloses the claimed invention for wherein the separation mechanism includes a body (130) and at least one coalescing feature is arranged within the interior of the body.
As regarding claim 5, Palmer discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Palmer discloses the claimed invention for wherein the at least one coalescing feature includes a groove (130) formed in an interior surface of the body.
As regarding claim 8, Palmer discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Palmer discloses the claimed invention for wherein the separation mechanism includes a downstream end and the water extraction vessel includes a guide duct having a scupper (abstract) arranged within the separation mechanism adjacent to the downstream end, wherein an axial length of the scupper is equal to an axial length of the downstream end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer (US 20200179851).
As regarding claim 6, Palmer discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Palmer discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the at least one coalescing feature includes a protrusion extending from an interior surface of the body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the at least one coalescing feature includes a protrusion extending from an interior surface of the body in order to enhance system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Heumann (US 6837912; 32 of fig. 2).
As regarding claim 7, Palmer discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Palmer discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the at least one coalescing feature defines a spiral flow path through the body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the at least one coalescing feature defines a spiral flow path through the body in order to enhance system performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Regehr et al (US 4238210; hereinafter Regehr; swirl-generating vanes 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/02/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remark argues that Palmer fails to disclose or teach a water extractor arranged downstream from and in fluid communication with an outlet of the turbine.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. (MPEP § 2111.03)
Therefore, in this view, the disclosed device may include additional elements or method steps – for example, a condenser and/or heat exchanger positioned upstream of the water extractor.
Second, annotated fig. 1 (above) of Palmer clearly disclose or teach a water extractor (100) arranged downstream from and in fluid communication with an outlet of the turbine (34).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773